Lift for Life Academy
Public school district · St. Louis city · Missouri · NCES district ID 2900574
Lift for Life Academy spent $18,408 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23, more than 83% of the other Missouri districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022 (median $13,479). Its 3 schools enrolled 865 students in 2024-25; 50.7% of its revenue came from the state. Its four-year graduation rate for the class of 2023 was 80-84% (Missouri: 89.3%).
NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23 · NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 · method
Spending per student among Missouri districts of similar size
Current spending per student excludes construction and debt. The 9 districts closest to Lift for Life Academy in enrollment (788 to 828 students) and Lift for Life Academy itself.
Where the money came from
$21,811,000 in revenue: 50.7% state, 27.2% local and 22.1% federal. Total spending including $5,257,000 of capital outlay was $20,246,000, or $25,026 per student; the figure above leaves capital out.
- State$11,069,000 51%
- Local$5,929,000 27%
- Federal$4,813,000 22%
Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23: current expenditures for elementary and secondary education divided by fall membership; the state median covers 376 districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022. Revenue by source (TOTALREV, TFEDREV, TSTREV, TLOCREV).
Enrollment rose from 2022-23 to 2024-25
809 students in 2022-23, 816 students in 2023-24, 865 students in 2024-25, counted across the schools that reported each year.
Teachers and students per teacher
| School year | Students | Teachers (FTE) | Per teacher |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2022-23 | 809 | 69.0 | 11.7 |
| 2023-24 | 816 | 73.3 | 11.1 |
| 2024-25 | 865 | 70.2 | 12.3 |
Source: NCES Common Core of Data membership and staff files, 2022-23, 2023-24, 2024-25; sums over the schools reporting each year.
$2,977,000 in teacher salaries in fiscal year 2022-23, $3,680 per student
Lift for Life Academy booked $2,977,000 of teacher salaries in its 2022-23 finance report and counted 69 full-time teachers in its Common Core of Data district staff file for 2022-23 (the school files behind the staffing figures on this page count teachers separately, so the two can differ), or $43,145 of salary spending per teacher. That is more than 9 in 100 Missouri districts with a figure (state median $50,410, 484 districts). It is spending, not what a teacher is paid: the salary lines and the teacher count come from different files, so the result can differ widely from the average salary the district publishes (its salary schedule gives pay); benefits are left out, and states book salaries differently, so compare districts within one state. For pay, the National Education Association put the average Missouri teacher salary at $52,481 in 2021-22 (NCES Digest table 211.60).
| Program | Teacher salaries | Share |
|---|---|---|
| Regular programs | $2,259,000 | 75.9% |
| Special education | $285,000 | 9.6% |
| Vocational | $178,000 | 6.0% |
| Other programs | $255,000 | 8.6% |
Teacher salaries per student, fiscal years 2018-19 to 2022-23
The district's teacher salary bill divided by its fall enrollment each year: $3,390 in 2018-19, $3,305 in 2019-20, $3,370 in 2020-21, $3,594 in 2021-22, $3,680 in 2022-23.
Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal years 2019 to 2023: teacher salaries in regular, special, vocational and other programs (Z35 to Z38) and fall membership (V33); NCES Common Core of Data LEA staff file 2022-23, teachers (full-time equivalent).
State test results, 2021-22
In 2021-22, the students tested in Lift for Life Academy scored proficient or above: 12% in reading and 17% in math, against 43.2% in reading and 39.2% in math across Missouri. Each state writes its own test and sets its own proficiency bar, so compare these within Missouri, not across states.
| Subject | This district | Missouri | Students tested |
|---|---|---|---|
| Reading and language arts | 12% | 43.2% | 328 |
| Math | 17% | 39.2% | 326 |
Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results 2021-22, all students, from ED Data Express (the Data Rescue Project archive; ED has no 2022-23 result for this district): ED shows district results as ranges (for example 20-24%) to protect small groups.
Graduation rate, class of 2023
80-84% of the 91 students in Lift for Life Academy's class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 89.3% across Missouri. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out, and counts those who earned a regular diploma by 2023. Every state computes it the same way under federal law, though each sets its own diploma requirements.
| This district | Missouri | |
|---|---|---|
| Four-year graduation rate | 80‑84% | 89.3% |
| Students in the class | 91 | 67,017 |
Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates 2022-23, all students, from ED Data Express: ED shows district rates as ranges (for example 90-94%) and leaves out small classes.
1 elementary school, 222 students
| School | Students | Per teacher | Free lunch | Title I, 2021‑22 |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Lift for Life Academy Elementary | 222 | 16.6 | 100.0% | Schoolwide program |
Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.
1 middle school, 260 students
| School | Students | Per teacher | Free lunch | Title I, 2021‑22 |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Lift for Life Academy | 260 | 9.3 | 100.0% | Schoolwide program |
Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.
1 high school, 383 students
| School | Students | Per teacher | Free lunch | Title I, 2021‑22 |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Lift for Life Academy High School | 383 | 13.3 | 100.0% | Schoolwide program |
Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.
Contact Lift for Life Academy
- Website: liftforlifeacademy.org
- Phone: (314) 231-2337
- Office: 1731 S Broadway, St Louis, MO 63104
Source: NCES Common Core of Data, local education agency directory 2024-25. Enrollment, boundaries and school assignment are the district's to confirm.
What to look at next about Lift for Life Academy
- Missouri districts by spending per studentLift for Life Academy ranks 63 of 376 Missouri districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022 on current spending per student in fiscal year 2022-23 ($18,408).#63 of 376
- Every school district in MissouriLift for Life Academy is the number 207 by size of 558 Missouri districts, with 809 students in fall 2022 (F-33).#207 of 558
- Elsberry R-II School DistrictThe next larger Missouri district: 814 students in fall 2022, $11,423 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$11,423
- South Harrison R-II School DistrictThe next smaller Missouri district: 808 students in fall 2022, $13,615 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$13,615
- Compare Lift for Life Academy with Elsberry R-II School DistrictEnrollment, spending, revenue sources and schools, side by side.
- Lift for Life Academy High School, its largest high school383 students in 2024-25, 13.3 per teacher.383
- Teacher salary spending across MissouriLift for Life Academy spent $43,145 in salaries per full-time teacher in fiscal year 2022-23 (state median $50,410); spending, not a salary.$43,145
- Find the school district for an addressA home's district decides which public schools it can enroll in.
Source: NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23 (spending per student and fall 2022 membership; ranks among the state's districts that reported them); NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (schools).
Questions about Lift for Life Academy
How many schools and students are in Lift for Life Academy?
3 schools were open in 2024-25 (1 elementary, 1 middle, 1 high), enrolling 865 students, according to the NCES Common Core of Data.How much does Lift for Life Academy spend per student?
$18,408 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), which leaves out construction and debt; the Missouri median for districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022 is $13,479 and the U.S. figure is $16,260.Where does Lift for Life Academy's money come from?
$21,811,000 in revenue in fiscal year 2022-23: 50.7% state, 27.2% local and 22.1% federal (NCES F-33).How much does Lift for Life Academy spend on teacher salaries?
$2,977,000 in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), or $3,680 per student. Divided by the 69 full-time teachers in the NCES Common Core of Data for 2022-23 that is $43,145 per teacher, more than 9 in 100 Missouri districts (state median $50,410). That is spending, not what a teacher is paid: the salary lines and the teacher count come from different files, and the result can differ widely from the average salary a district publishes. The district's salary schedule gives pay. For pay, the National Education Association put the average Missouri teacher salary at $52,481 in 2021-22 (NCES Digest table 211.60).How do students in Lift for Life Academy do on state tests?
In 2021-22, the students tested in Lift for Life Academy scored proficient or above: 12% in reading and 17% in math, against 43.2% in reading and 39.2% in math across Missouri. Missouri's own test sets what proficient means, so results compare within the state, not across states. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22.What is the graduation rate in Lift for Life Academy?
80-84% of the 91 students in Lift for Life Academy's class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 89.3% across Missouri. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23.What is Lift for Life Academy's NCES district ID?
2900574. Each of its schools' 12-digit NCES IDs begins with these seven digits.
Reading these figures: how to choose a school district, what Title I means and what an absenteeism rate means. They are for information and are not a substitute for the school's or district's own records.
Sources
Every federal file behind this record
- NCES Common Core of Data, 2024-25: directory, membership, staff and lunch files. nces.ed.gov
- NCES Common Core of Data, 2021-22 school characteristics: Title I status. nces.ed.gov
- Civil Rights Data Collection, 2021-22: AP courses, gifted programs, counselors, discipline. civilrightsdata.ed.gov
- EDFacts, 2022-23: chronic absenteeism. ed.gov
- EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23: the class of 2023 for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
- EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22: reading and math proficiency for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
- NCES Digest of Education Statistics, table 211.60 (2021-22): the state's average teacher salary, from the National Education Association. nces.ed.gov
- NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey, fiscal year 2022-23: district spending and revenue. nces.ed.gov
- U.S. Census Bureau geocoder and TIGER school districts: the district boundary used by the district finder. census.gov
Source: NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey Revenue and expenditures by district · FY 2022-23
Source: NCES Common Core of Data School directory, membership, staff and lunch files · 2024-25