Jackson Co School Dist

Public school district · Jackson County · Mississippi · NCES district ID 2802160

Jackson Co School Dist spent $10,899 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23, below the middle: 83% of the other Mississippi districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 spent more (median $12,203). Its 13 schools enrolled 8,845 students in 2024-25; 48.9% of its revenue came from the state. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $10,661 per student, down 2.2% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year). Its four-year graduation rate for the class of 2023 was 92% (Mississippi: 89.4%).

Spending per student among Mississippi's largest districts

Current spending per student excludes construction and debt. Among the 10 districts shown, Jackson Co School Dist ranks 8.

Current spending per student, largest Mississippi districts, FY23Vicksburg Warren School Dist $13,723; Jackson $13,713; Tupelo $13,155; Madison County Schools $12,248; Rankin County $11,323; Harrison County $11,305; Lamar County Schools $11,188; Jackson Co School Dist $10,899; Jones County $9,972; DeSoto County Schools $9,525; State median, 1,000+ students $12,203.8k10k12k14kVicksburg Warren School Dist$13,723Jackson$13,713Tupelo$13,155Madison County Schools$12,248Rankin County$11,323Harrison County$11,305Lamar County Schools$11,188Jackson Co School Dist$10,899Jones County$9,972DeSoto County Schools$9,525State median, 1,000+ students $12,203
Current spending per student, largest Mississippi districts, FY23Vicksburg Warren School Dist $13,723; Jackson $13,713; Tupelo $13,155; Madison County Schools $12,248; Rankin County $11,323; Harrison County $11,305; Lamar County Schools $11,188; Jackson Co School Dist $10,899; Jones County $9,972; DeSoto County Schools $9,525; State median, 1,000+ students $12,203.8k10k12k14kVicksburg Warren School Dist$13,723Jackson$13,713Tupelo$13,155Madison County Schools$12,248Rankin County$11,323Harrison County$11,305Lamar County Schools$11,188Jackson Co School Dist$10,899Jones County$9,972DeSoto County Schools$9,525State median, 1,000+ students $12,203
Current spending per student, largest Mississippi districts, FY23Vicksburg Warren School Dist $13,723; Jackson $13,713; Tupelo $13,155; Madison County Schools $12,248; Rankin County $11,323; Harrison County $11,305; Lamar County Schools $11,188; Jackson Co School Dist $10,899; Jones County $9,972; DeSoto County Schools $9,525; State median, 1,000+ students $12,203.8k10k12k14kVicksburg Warren School Dist$13,723Jackson$13,713Tupelo$13,155Madison County Schools$12,248Rankin County$11,323Harrison County$11,305Lamar County Schools$11,188Jackson Co School Dist$10,899Jones County$9,972DeSoto County Schools$9,525State median, 1,000+ students $12,203
Current spending per student, largest Mississippi districts, FY23Vicksburg Warren School Dist $13,723; Jackson $13,713; Tupelo $13,155; Madison County Schools $12,248; Rankin County $11,323; Harrison County $11,305; Lamar County Schools $11,188; Jackson Co School Dist $10,899; Jones County $9,972; DeSoto County Schools $9,525; State median, 1,000+ students $12,203.8k10k12k14kVicksburg Warren School Dist$13,723Jackson$13,713Tupelo$13,155Madison County Schools$12,248Rankin County$11,323Harrison County$11,305Lamar County Schools$11,188Jackson Co School Dist$10,899Jones County$9,972DeSoto County Schools$9,525State median, 1,000+ students $12,203

Where the money came from

$116,546,000 in revenue: 48.9% state, 35.2% local and 16.0% federal. Total spending including $8,326,000 of capital outlay was $105,659,000, or $11,864 per student; the figure above leaves capital out.

Jackson Co School Dist revenue by source, fiscal year 2022-23State $56,947,000; Local $40,967,000; Federal $18,632,000; total $116,546,000.
  • State$56,947,000 49%
  • Local$40,967,000 35%
  • Federal$18,632,000 16%

Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23: current expenditures for elementary and secondary education divided by fall membership; the state median covers 112 districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022. Revenue by source (TOTALREV, TFEDREV, TSTREV, TLOCREV).

Enrollment held steady from 2022-23 to 2024-25

8,906 students in 2022-23, 8,936 students in 2023-24, 8,845 students in 2024-25, counted across the schools that reported each year.

Jackson Co School Dist enrollment by school year2022-23: 8,906, 2023-24: 8,936, 2024-25: 8,84502.5k5k7.5k10k2022-238,9062023-248,9362024-258,845
Jackson Co School Dist enrollment by school year2022-23: 8,906, 2023-24: 8,936, 2024-25: 8,84502.5k5k7.5k10k2022-238,9062023-248,9362024-258,845
Jackson Co School Dist enrollment by school year2022-23: 8,906, 2023-24: 8,936, 2024-25: 8,84502.5k5k7.5k10k2022-238,9062023-248,9362024-258,845
Jackson Co School Dist enrollment by school year2022-23: 8,906, 2023-24: 8,936, 2024-25: 8,84502.5k5k7.5k10k2022-238,9062023-248,9362024-258,845

Teachers and students per teacher

School yearStudentsTeachers (FTE)Per teacher
2022-238,906579.115.4
2023-248,936570.015.7
2024-258,845570.015.5

Source: NCES Common Core of Data membership and staff files, 2022-23, 2023-24, 2024-25; sums over the schools reporting each year.

$33,934,000 in teacher salaries in fiscal year 2022-23, $3,810 per student

Jackson Co School Dist booked $33,934,000 of teacher salaries in its 2022-23 finance report and counted 584 full-time teachers in its Common Core of Data district staff file for 2022-23 (the school files behind the staffing figures on this page count teachers separately, so the two can differ), or $58,060 of salary spending per teacher. That is more than 94 in 100 Mississippi districts with a figure (state median $51,076, 146 districts). It is spending, not what a teacher is paid: the salary lines and the teacher count come from different files, so the result can differ widely from the average salary the district publishes (its salary schedule gives pay); benefits are left out, and states book salaries differently, so compare districts within one state. For pay, the National Education Association put the average Mississippi teacher salary at $47,162 in 2021-22 (NCES Digest table 211.60).

ProgramTeacher salariesShare
Regular programs$26,135,00077.0%
Special education$4,689,00013.8%
Vocational$1,398,0004.1%
Other programs$1,712,0005.0%

Teacher salaries per student, fiscal years 2018-19 to 2022-23

The district's teacher salary bill divided by its fall enrollment each year: $3,158 in 2018-19, $3,386 in 2019-20, $3,734 in 2020-21, $3,599 in 2021-22, $3,810 in 2022-23.

Jackson Co School Dist teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $3,158, 2019-20: $3,386, 2020-21: $3,734, 2021-22: $3,599, 2022-23: $3,81001k2k3k4k2018-19$3,1582019-20$3,3862020-21$3,7342021-22$3,5992022-23$3,810
Jackson Co School Dist teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $3,158, 2019-20: $3,386, 2020-21: $3,734, 2021-22: $3,599, 2022-23: $3,81001k2k3k4k2018-19$3,1582019-20$3,3862020-21$3,7342021-22$3,5992022-23$3,810
Jackson Co School Dist teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $3,158, 2019-20: $3,386, 2020-21: $3,734, 2021-22: $3,599, 2022-23: $3,81001k2k3k4k2018-19$3,1582019-20$3,3862020-21$3,7342021-22$3,5992022-23$3,810
Jackson Co School Dist teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $3,158, 2019-20: $3,386, 2020-21: $3,734, 2021-22: $3,599, 2022-23: $3,81001k2k3k4k2018-19$3,1582019-20$3,3862020-21$3,7342021-22$3,5992022-23$3,810

Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal years 2019 to 2023: teacher salaries in regular, special, vocational and other programs (Z35 to Z38) and fall membership (V33); NCES Common Core of Data LEA staff file 2022-23, teachers (full-time equivalent).

State test results, 2021-22

In 2021-22, the students tested in Jackson Co School Dist scored proficient or above: 53% in reading and 61% in math, against 41.7% in reading and 47% in math across Mississippi. Each state writes its own test and sets its own proficiency bar, so compare these within Mississippi, not across states.

Students proficient or above, 2021-22
SubjectThis districtMississippiStudents tested
Reading and language arts53%41.7%4,837
Math61%47%4,792

Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results 2021-22, all students, from ED Data Express (the Data Rescue Project archive; ED has no 2022-23 result for this district): ED shows district results as ranges (for example 20-24%) to protect small groups.

Graduation rate, class of 2023

92% of the 653 students in Jackson Co School Dist's class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 89.4% across Mississippi. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out, and counts those who earned a regular diploma by 2023. Every state computes it the same way under federal law, though each sets its own diploma requirements.

Four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rate, class of 2023
This districtMississippi
Four-year graduation rate92%89.4%
Students in the class65331,998

Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates 2022-23, all students, from ED Data Express: ED shows district rates as ranges (for example 90-94%) and leaves out small classes.

7 elementary schools, 3,993 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
St Martin East Elementary School70417.249.7%Schoolwide program
Vancleave Lower Elementary68617.147.8%Schoolwide program
St Martin Upper Elementary60015.851.8%Schoolwide program
East Central Lower Elementary56719.444.4%Schoolwide program
East Central Upper Elementary56615.842.6%Schoolwide program
St Martin N Elementary School53716.660.1%Schoolwide program
Vancleave Upper Elementary33316.347.4%Schoolwide program

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

3 middle schools, 2,049 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
St. Martin Middle School94614.549.5%Eligible, no program
Vancleave Middle School56213.543.2%Eligible, no program
East Central Middle School54114.138.8%Eligible, no program

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

3 high schools, 2,803 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
St Martin High School1,28915.642.0%Eligible, no program
East Central High School77715.133.3%Eligible, no program
Vancleave High School73713.734.9%Eligible, no program

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

Contact Jackson Co School Dist

Source: NCES Common Core of Data, local education agency directory 2024-25. Enrollment, boundaries and school assignment are the district's to confirm.

What to look at next about Jackson Co School Dist

  1. Mississippi districts by spending per studentJackson Co School Dist ranks 93 of 112 Mississippi districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 on current spending per student in fiscal year 2022-23 ($10,899).#93 of 112
  2. Every school district in MississippiJackson Co School Dist is the number 7 by size of 152 Mississippi districts, with 8,906 students in fall 2022 (F-33).#7 of 152
  3. Lamar County SchoolsThe next larger Mississippi district: 10,276 students in fall 2022, $11,188 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$11,188
  4. Jones County School DistrictThe next smaller Mississippi district: 8,524 students in fall 2022, $9,972 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$9,972
  5. Compare Jackson Co School Dist with Lamar County SchoolsEnrollment, spending, revenue sources and schools, side by side.
  6. St Martin High School, its largest high school1,289 students in 2024-25, 15.6 per teacher.1,289
  7. Teacher salary spending across MississippiJackson Co School Dist spent $58,060 in salaries per full-time teacher in fiscal year 2022-23 (state median $51,076); spending, not a salary.$58,060
  8. Find the school district for an addressA home's district decides which public schools it can enroll in.

Source: NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23 (spending per student and fall 2022 membership; ranks among the state's districts that reported them); NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (schools).

Questions about Jackson Co School Dist

  1. How many schools and students are in Jackson Co School Dist?
    13 schools were open in 2024-25 (7 elementary, 3 middle, 3 high), enrolling 8,845 students, according to the NCES Common Core of Data.
  2. How much does Jackson Co School Dist spend per student?
    $10,899 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), which leaves out construction and debt; the Mississippi median for districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 is $12,203 and the U.S. figure is $16,260. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $10,661 per student, down 2.2% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year).
  3. Where does Jackson Co School Dist's money come from?
    $116,546,000 in revenue in fiscal year 2022-23: 48.9% state, 35.2% local and 16.0% federal (NCES F-33).
  4. How many children in Jackson Co School Dist live in poverty?
    The Census Bureau estimates that 1,415 of the 9,408 children aged 5 to 17 living within the district's boundaries in 2024, 15.0%, were in families in poverty (Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates). It is a model-based estimate for everyone living in the district, not a count of its students; the free-meal shares in the school tables are counts of enrolled students.
  5. How much does Jackson Co School Dist spend on teacher salaries?
    $33,934,000 in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), or $3,810 per student. Divided by the 584 full-time teachers in the NCES Common Core of Data for 2022-23 that is $58,060 per teacher, more than 94 in 100 Mississippi districts (state median $51,076). That is spending, not what a teacher is paid: the salary lines and the teacher count come from different files, and the result can differ widely from the average salary a district publishes. The district's salary schedule gives pay. For pay, the National Education Association put the average Mississippi teacher salary at $47,162 in 2021-22 (NCES Digest table 211.60).
  6. How do students in Jackson Co School Dist do on state tests?
    In 2021-22, the students tested in Jackson Co School Dist scored proficient or above: 53% in reading and 61% in math, against 41.7% in reading and 47% in math across Mississippi. Mississippi's own test sets what proficient means, so results compare within the state, not across states. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22.
  7. What is the graduation rate in Jackson Co School Dist?
    92% of the 653 students in Jackson Co School Dist's class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 89.4% across Mississippi. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23.
  8. What is Jackson Co School Dist's NCES district ID?
    2802160. Each of its schools' 12-digit NCES IDs begins with these seven digits.

Reading these figures: how to choose a school district, what Title I means and what an absenteeism rate means. They are for information and are not a substitute for the school's or district's own records.

Sources

Every federal file behind this record
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2024-25: directory, membership, staff and lunch files. nces.ed.gov
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2021-22 school characteristics: Title I status. nces.ed.gov
  • Civil Rights Data Collection, 2021-22: AP courses, gifted programs, counselors, discipline. civilrightsdata.ed.gov
  • EDFacts, 2022-23: chronic absenteeism. ed.gov
  • EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23: the class of 2023 for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
  • EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22: reading and math proficiency for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
  • NCES Digest of Education Statistics, table 211.60 (2021-22): the state's average teacher salary, from the National Education Association. nces.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau, Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates, 2024: children aged 5 to 17 and those in families in poverty, by school district. census.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances, fiscal year 2023-24: per pupil current spending for 2023-24 and 2022-23. census.gov
  • NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey, fiscal year 2022-23: district spending and revenue. nces.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau geocoder and TIGER school districts: the district boundary used by the district finder. census.gov

Source: U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances Per pupil current spending by school system · FY 2023-24

Source: NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey Revenue and expenditures by district · FY 2022-23

Source: NCES Common Core of Data School directory, membership, staff and lunch files · 2024-25