Hendricks Public School
Listed by NCES as Hendricks Public School District (district ID 2713680)
Public school district · Lincoln County · Minnesota · NCES district ID 2713680
Hendricks Public School spent $13,109 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23, below the middle: 78% of the other Minnesota districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022 spent more (median $15,094). Its 3 schools enrolled 244 students in 2024-25; 62.7% of its revenue came from the state. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $14,779 per student, up 12.7% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year). Its four-year graduation rate for the class of 2023 was 60-69% (Minnesota: 83.3%).
NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23 · Census Bureau school finances 2023-24 · NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 · method
Spending per student among Minnesota districts of similar size
Current spending per student excludes construction and debt. The 9 districts closest to Hendricks Public School in enrollment (205 to 215 students) and Hendricks Public School itself.
Where the money came from
$4,194,000 in revenue: 62.7% state, 30.2% local and 7.2% federal. Total spending including $220,000 of capital outlay was $3,218,000, or $15,251 per student; the figure above leaves capital out.
- State$2,628,000 63%
- Local$1,266,000 30%
- Federal$300,000 7%
Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23: current expenditures for elementary and secondary education divided by fall membership; the state median covers 346 districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022. Revenue by source (TOTALREV, TFEDREV, TSTREV, TLOCREV).
Enrollment rose from 2022-23 to 2024-25
211 students in 2022-23, 231 students in 2023-24, 244 students in 2024-25, counted across the schools that reported each year.
Teachers and students per teacher
| School year | Students | Teachers (FTE) | Per teacher |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2022-23 | 211 | 9.1 | 23.2 |
| 2023-24 | 231 | 25.3 | 9.1 |
| 2024-25 | 244 | 37.2 | 6.6 |
Source: NCES Common Core of Data membership and staff files, 2022-23, 2023-24, 2024-25; sums over the schools reporting each year.
$751,000 in teacher salaries in fiscal year 2022-23, $3,559 per student
Hendricks Public School booked $751,000 of teacher salaries in its 2022-23 finance report and counted 11 full-time teachers in its Common Core of Data district staff file for 2022-23 (the school files behind the staffing figures on this page count teachers separately, so the two can differ), or $68,584 of salary spending per teacher. That is more than 68 in 100 Minnesota districts with a figure (state median $62,418, 464 districts). It is spending, not what a teacher is paid: the salary lines and the teacher count come from different files, so the result can differ widely from the average salary the district publishes (its salary schedule gives pay); benefits are left out, and states book salaries differently, so compare districts within one state. For pay, the National Education Association put the average Minnesota teacher salary at $68,491 in 2021-22 (NCES Digest table 211.60).
| Program | Teacher salaries | Share |
|---|---|---|
| Regular programs | $675,000 | 89.9% |
| Special education | $63,000 | 8.4% |
| Vocational | $13,000 | 1.7% |
Teacher salaries per student, fiscal years 2018-19 to 2022-23
The district's teacher salary bill divided by its fall enrollment each year: $5,413 in 2018-19, $5,786 in 2019-20, $5,120 in 2020-21, $4,217 in 2021-22, $3,559 in 2022-23.
Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal years 2019 to 2023: teacher salaries in regular, special, vocational and other programs (Z35 to Z38) and fall membership (V33); NCES Common Core of Data LEA staff file 2022-23, teachers (full-time equivalent).
State test results, 2021-22
In 2021-22, the students tested in Hendricks Public School scored proficient or above: 45-49% in reading and 40-49% in math, against 51.1% in reading and 44.8% in math across Minnesota. Each state writes its own test and sets its own proficiency bar, so compare these within Minnesota, not across states.
| Subject | This district | Minnesota | Students tested |
|---|---|---|---|
| Reading and language arts | 45-49% | 51.1% | 70 |
| Math | 40-49% | 44.8% | 60 |
Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results 2021-22, all students, from ED Data Express (the Data Rescue Project archive; ED has no 2022-23 result for this district): ED shows district results as ranges (for example 20-24%) to protect small groups.
Graduation rate, class of 2023
60-69% of the 33 students in Hendricks Public School's class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 83.3% across Minnesota. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out, and counts those who earned a regular diploma by 2023. Every state computes it the same way under federal law, though each sets its own diploma requirements.
| This district | Minnesota | |
|---|---|---|
| Four-year graduation rate | 60‑69% | 83.3% |
| Students in the class | 33 | 69,945 |
Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates 2022-23, all students, from ED Data Express: ED shows district rates as ranges (for example 90-94%) and leaves out small classes.
1 elementary school, 74 students
| School | Students | Per teacher | Free lunch | Title I, 2021‑22 |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Hendricks Elementary | 74 | 6.4 | 28.4% | Targeted program |
Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.
2 high schools, 170 students
| School | Students | Per teacher | Free lunch | Title I, 2021‑22 |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Mnvss | 111 | 5.8 | 40.5% | Eligible, no program |
| Hendricks Senior High | 59 | 8.9 | 33.9% | Targeted program |
Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.
Contact Hendricks Public School
- Website: hendrickspublicschools.org
- Phone: (507) 203-3425
- Office: 200 E Lincoln St, Hendricks, MN 56136
Source: NCES Common Core of Data, local education agency directory 2024-25. Enrollment, boundaries and school assignment are the district's to confirm.
What to look at next about Hendricks Public School
- Minnesota districts by spending per studentHendricks Public School ranks 271 of 346 Minnesota districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022 on current spending per student in fiscal year 2022-23 ($13,109).#271 of 346
- Every school district in MinnesotaHendricks Public School is the number 408 by size of 543 Minnesota districts, with 211 students in fall 2022 (F-33).#408 of 543
- Sherburne and Northern Wright SpeciThe next larger Minnesota district: 212 students in fall 2022.
- Schoolcraft Learning Community ChtrThe next smaller Minnesota district: 207 students in fall 2022, $13,391 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$13,391
- Compare Hendricks Public School with Sherburne and Northern Wright SpeciEnrollment, spending, revenue sources and schools, side by side.
- Mnvss, its largest high school111 students in 2024-25, 5.8 per teacher.111
- Teacher salary spending across MinnesotaHendricks Public School spent $68,584 in salaries per full-time teacher in fiscal year 2022-23 (state median $62,418); spending, not a salary.$68,584
- Find the school district for an addressA home's district decides which public schools it can enroll in.
Source: NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23 (spending per student and fall 2022 membership; ranks among the state's districts that reported them); NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (schools).
Questions about Hendricks Public School
How many schools and students are in Hendricks Public School?
3 schools were open in 2024-25 (1 elementary, 2 high), enrolling 244 students, according to the NCES Common Core of Data.How much does Hendricks Public School spend per student?
$13,109 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), which leaves out construction and debt; the Minnesota median for districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022 is $15,094 and the U.S. figure is $16,260. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $14,779 per student, up 12.7% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year).Where does Hendricks Public School's money come from?
$4,194,000 in revenue in fiscal year 2022-23: 62.7% state, 30.2% local and 7.2% federal (NCES F-33).How many children in Hendricks Public School live in poverty?
The Census Bureau estimates that 15 of the 145 children aged 5 to 17 living within the district's boundaries in 2024, 10.3%, were in families in poverty (Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates). It is a model-based estimate for everyone living in the district, not a count of its students; the free-meal shares in the school tables are counts of enrolled students.How much does Hendricks Public School spend on teacher salaries?
$751,000 in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), or $3,559 per student. Divided by the 11 full-time teachers in the NCES Common Core of Data for 2022-23 that is $68,584 per teacher, more than 68 in 100 Minnesota districts (state median $62,418). That is spending, not what a teacher is paid: the salary lines and the teacher count come from different files, and the result can differ widely from the average salary a district publishes. The district's salary schedule gives pay. For pay, the National Education Association put the average Minnesota teacher salary at $68,491 in 2021-22 (NCES Digest table 211.60).How do students in Hendricks Public School do on state tests?
In 2021-22, the students tested in Hendricks Public School scored proficient or above: 45-49% in reading and 40-49% in math, against 51.1% in reading and 44.8% in math across Minnesota. Minnesota's own test sets what proficient means, so results compare within the state, not across states. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22.What is the graduation rate in Hendricks Public School?
60-69% of the 33 students in Hendricks Public School's class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 83.3% across Minnesota. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23.What is Hendricks Public School's NCES district ID?
2713680. Each of its schools' 12-digit NCES IDs begins with these seven digits.
Reading these figures: how to choose a school district, what Title I means and what an absenteeism rate means. They are for information and are not a substitute for the school's or district's own records.
Sources
Every federal file behind this record
- NCES Common Core of Data, 2024-25: directory, membership, staff and lunch files. nces.ed.gov
- NCES Common Core of Data, 2021-22 school characteristics: Title I status. nces.ed.gov
- Civil Rights Data Collection, 2021-22: AP courses, gifted programs, counselors, discipline. civilrightsdata.ed.gov
- EDFacts, 2022-23: chronic absenteeism. ed.gov
- EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23: the class of 2023 for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
- EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22: reading and math proficiency for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
- NCES Digest of Education Statistics, table 211.60 (2021-22): the state's average teacher salary, from the National Education Association. nces.ed.gov
- U.S. Census Bureau, Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates, 2024: children aged 5 to 17 and those in families in poverty, by school district. census.gov
- U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances, fiscal year 2023-24: per pupil current spending for 2023-24 and 2022-23. census.gov
- NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey, fiscal year 2022-23: district spending and revenue. nces.ed.gov
- U.S. Census Bureau geocoder and TIGER school districts: the district boundary used by the district finder. census.gov
Source: U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances Per pupil current spending by school system · FY 2023-24
Source: NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey Revenue and expenditures by district · FY 2022-23
Source: NCES Common Core of Data School directory, membership, staff and lunch files · 2024-25