Elmwood School District

Public school district · Pierce County · Wisconsin · NCES district ID 5504350

Elmwood School District spent $16,579 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23, more than 63% of the other Wisconsin districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022 (median $15,995). Its 4 schools enrolled 330 students in 2024-25; 46.5% of its revenue came from the state. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $19,600 per student, up 18.2% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year). Its four-year graduation rate for the class of 2023 was 80% or more (Wisconsin: 90.5%).

Spending per student among Wisconsin districts of similar size

Current spending per student excludes construction and debt. The 9 districts closest to Elmwood in enrollment (309 to 331 students) and Elmwood itself.

Current spending per student, Wisconsin districts closest in size to Elmwood, FY23Bowler $20,977; Suring $20,859; Cambria-Friesland $20,126; Potosi $19,506; Elmwood $16,579; Northwood $16,463; Shullsburg $16,375; Princeton $15,884; North Lake $13,894; Herman-Neosho-Rubicon $13,657; State median, under 1,000 students $15,995.10k12.5k15k17.5k20k22.5kBowler$20,977Suring$20,859Cambria-Friesland$20,126Potosi$19,506Elmwood$16,579Northwood$16,463Shullsburg$16,375Princeton$15,884North Lake$13,894Herman-Neosho-Rubicon$13,657State median, under 1,000 students $15,995
Current spending per student, Wisconsin districts closest in size to Elmwood, FY23Bowler $20,977; Suring $20,859; Cambria-Friesland $20,126; Potosi $19,506; Elmwood $16,579; Northwood $16,463; Shullsburg $16,375; Princeton $15,884; North Lake $13,894; Herman-Neosho-Rubicon $13,657; State median, under 1,000 students $15,995.10k12.5k15k17.5k20k22.5kBowler$20,977Suring$20,859Cambria-Friesland$20,126Potosi$19,506Elmwood$16,579Northwood$16,463Shullsburg$16,375Princeton$15,884North Lake$13,894Herman-Neosho-Rubicon$13,657State median, under 1,000 students $15,995
Current spending per student, Wisconsin districts closest in size to Elmwood, FY23Bowler $20,977; Suring $20,859; Cambria-Friesland $20,126; Potosi $19,506; Elmwood $16,579; Northwood $16,463; Shullsburg $16,375; Princeton $15,884; North Lake $13,894; Herman-Neosho-Rubicon $13,657; State median, under 1,000 students $15,995.10k15k20k22.5kBowler$20,977Suring$20,859Cambria-Friesland$20,126Potosi$19,506Elmwood$16,579Northwood$16,463Shullsburg$16,375Princeton$15,884North Lake$13,894Herman-Neosho-Rubicon$13,657State median, under 1,000 students $15,995
Current spending per student, Wisconsin districts closest in size to Elmwood, FY23Bowler $20,977; Suring $20,859; Cambria-Friesland $20,126; Potosi $19,506; Elmwood $16,579; Northwood $16,463; Shullsburg $16,375; Princeton $15,884; North Lake $13,894; Herman-Neosho-Rubicon $13,657; State median, under 1,000 students $15,995.10k15k20k22.5kBowler$20,977Suring$20,859Cambria-Friesland$20,126Potosi$19,506Elmwood$16,579Northwood$16,463Shullsburg$16,375Princeton$15,884North Lake$13,894Herman-Neosho-Rubicon$13,657State median, under 1,000 students $15,995

Where the money came from

$7,239,000 in revenue: 46.5% state, 45.4% local and 8.1% federal. Total spending including $690,000 of capital outlay was $6,702,000, or $20,879 per student; the figure above leaves capital out.

Elmwood School District revenue by source, fiscal year 2022-23State $3,365,000; Local $3,286,000; Federal $588,000; total $7,239,000.
  • State$3,365,000 46%
  • Local$3,286,000 45%
  • Federal$588,000 8%

Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23: current expenditures for elementary and secondary education divided by fall membership; the state median covers 233 districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022. Revenue by source (TOTALREV, TFEDREV, TSTREV, TLOCREV).

Enrollment rose from 2022-23 to 2024-25

321 students in 2022-23, 325 students in 2023-24, 330 students in 2024-25, counted across the schools that reported each year.

Elmwood School District enrollment by school year2022-23: 321, 2023-24: 325, 2024-25: 33001002003004002022-233212023-243252024-25330
Elmwood School District enrollment by school year2022-23: 321, 2023-24: 325, 2024-25: 33001002003004002022-233212023-243252024-25330
Elmwood School District enrollment by school year2022-23: 321, 2023-24: 325, 2024-25: 33001002003004002022-233212023-243252024-25330
Elmwood School District enrollment by school year2022-23: 321, 2023-24: 325, 2024-25: 33001002003004002022-233212023-243252024-25330

Teachers and students per teacher

School yearStudentsTeachers (FTE)Per teacher
2022-2332131.910.1
2023-2432531.910.2
2024-2533031.910.3

Source: NCES Common Core of Data membership and staff files, 2022-23, 2023-24, 2024-25; sums over the schools reporting each year.

$2,173,000 in teacher salaries in fiscal year 2022-23, $6,769 per student

Elmwood School District booked $2,173,000 of teacher salaries in its 2022-23 finance report and counted 32 full-time teachers in its Common Core of Data district staff file for 2022-23 (the school files behind the staffing figures on this page count teachers separately, so the two can differ), or $68,205 of salary spending per teacher. That is more than 39 in 100 Wisconsin districts with a figure (state median $69,818, 412 districts). It is spending, not what a teacher is paid: the salary lines and the teacher count come from different files, so the result can differ widely from the average salary the district publishes (its salary schedule gives pay); benefits are left out, and states book salaries differently, so compare districts within one state. For pay, the National Education Association put the average Wisconsin teacher salary at $60,453 in 2021-22 (NCES Digest table 211.60).

ProgramTeacher salariesShare
Regular programs$1,553,00071.5%
Special education$330,00015.2%
Vocational$212,0009.8%
Other programs$78,0003.6%

Teacher salaries per student, fiscal years 2018-19 to 2022-23

The district's teacher salary bill divided by its fall enrollment each year: $5,622 in 2018-19, $5,625 in 2019-20, $5,680 in 2020-21, $6,233 in 2021-22, $6,769 in 2022-23.

Elmwood School District teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $5,622, 2019-20: $5,625, 2020-21: $5,680, 2021-22: $6,233, 2022-23: $6,76902k4k6k8k2018-19$5,6222019-20$5,6252020-21$5,6802021-22$6,2332022-23$6,769
Elmwood School District teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $5,622, 2019-20: $5,625, 2020-21: $5,680, 2021-22: $6,233, 2022-23: $6,76902k4k6k8k2018-19$5,6222019-20$5,6252020-21$5,6802021-22$6,2332022-23$6,769
Elmwood School District teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $5,622, 2019-20: $5,625, 2020-21: $5,680, 2021-22: $6,233, 2022-23: $6,76902k4k6k8k2018-19$5,6222019-20$5,6252020-21$5,6802021-22$6,2332022-23$6,769
Elmwood School District teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $5,622, 2019-20: $5,625, 2020-21: $5,680, 2021-22: $6,233, 2022-23: $6,76902k4k6k8k2018-19$5,6222019-20$5,6252020-21$5,6802021-22$6,2332022-23$6,769

Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal years 2019 to 2023: teacher salaries in regular, special, vocational and other programs (Z35 to Z38) and fall membership (V33); NCES Common Core of Data LEA staff file 2022-23, teachers (full-time equivalent).

State test results, 2021-22

In 2021-22, the students tested in Elmwood School District scored proficient or above: 40-59% in reading and 44-63% in math, against 38% in reading and 40% in math across Wisconsin. Each state writes its own test and sets its own proficiency bar, so compare these within Wisconsin, not across states. Where a state published results by grade only, the grades tested are combined, weighted by the students tested in each.

Students proficient or above, 2021-22
SubjectThis districtWisconsinStudents tested
Reading and language arts40-59%38%136
Math44-63%40%136

Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results 2021-22, all students, from ED Data Express (the Data Rescue Project archive; ED has no 2022-23 result for this district): ED shows district results as ranges (for example 20-24%) to protect small groups.

Graduation rate, class of 2023

80% or more of the 29 students in Elmwood School District's class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 90.5% across Wisconsin. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out, and counts those who earned a regular diploma by 2023. Every state computes it the same way under federal law, though each sets its own diploma requirements.

Four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rate, class of 2023
This districtWisconsin
Four-year graduation rate80% or more90.5%
Students in the class2965,638

Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates 2022-23, all students, from ED Data Express: ED shows district rates as ranges (for example 90-94%) and leaves out small classes.

1 elementary school, 130 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Elmwood Elementary1309.329.2%Schoolwide program

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

1 middle school, 92 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Elmwood Middle9212.525.0%Eligible, no program

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

1 high school, 90 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Elmwood High908.731.1%Eligible, no program

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

1 other school, 18 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Western Wisconsin Virtual Charter School (WWVC)1881.820.0%Eligible, no program

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

Contact Elmwood School District

Source: NCES Common Core of Data, local education agency directory 2024-25. Enrollment, boundaries and school assignment are the district's to confirm.

What to look at next about Elmwood School District

  1. Wisconsin districts by spending per studentElmwood School District ranks 87 of 233 Wisconsin districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022 on current spending per student in fiscal year 2022-23 ($16,579).#87 of 233
  2. Every school district in WisconsinElmwood School District is the number 374 by size of 451 Wisconsin districts, with 321 students in fall 2022 (F-33).#374 of 451
  3. Suring Public School DistrictThe next larger Wisconsin district: 326 students in fall 2022, $20,859 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$20,859
  4. Herman-Neosho-Rubicon School DistrictThe next smaller Wisconsin district: 318 students in fall 2022, $13,657 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$13,657
  5. Compare Elmwood School District with Suring Public School DistrictEnrollment, spending, revenue sources and schools, side by side.
  6. Elmwood High, its largest high school90 students in 2024-25, 8.7 per teacher.90
  7. Teacher salary spending across WisconsinElmwood School District spent $68,205 in salaries per full-time teacher in fiscal year 2022-23 (state median $69,818); spending, not a salary.$68,205
  8. Find the school district for an addressA home's district decides which public schools it can enroll in.

Source: NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23 (spending per student and fall 2022 membership; ranks among the state's districts that reported them); NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (schools).

Questions about Elmwood School District

  1. How many schools and students are in Elmwood School District?
    4 schools were open in 2024-25 (1 elementary, 1 middle, 1 high, 1 other), enrolling 330 students, according to the NCES Common Core of Data.
  2. How much does Elmwood School District spend per student?
    $16,579 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), which leaves out construction and debt; the Wisconsin median for districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022 is $15,995 and the U.S. figure is $16,260. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $19,600 per student, up 18.2% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year).
  3. Where does Elmwood School District's money come from?
    $7,239,000 in revenue in fiscal year 2022-23: 46.5% state, 45.4% local and 8.1% federal (NCES F-33).
  4. How many children in Elmwood School District live in poverty?
    The Census Bureau estimates that 24 of the 305 children aged 5 to 17 living within the district's boundaries in 2024, 7.9%, were in families in poverty (Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates). It is a model-based estimate for everyone living in the district, not a count of its students; the free-meal shares in the school tables are counts of enrolled students.
  5. How much does Elmwood School District spend on teacher salaries?
    $2,173,000 in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), or $6,769 per student. Divided by the 32 full-time teachers in the NCES Common Core of Data for 2022-23 that is $68,205 per teacher, more than 39 in 100 Wisconsin districts (state median $69,818). That is spending, not what a teacher is paid: the salary lines and the teacher count come from different files, and the result can differ widely from the average salary a district publishes. The district's salary schedule gives pay. For pay, the National Education Association put the average Wisconsin teacher salary at $60,453 in 2021-22 (NCES Digest table 211.60).
  6. How do students in Elmwood School District do on state tests?
    In 2021-22, the students tested in Elmwood School District scored proficient or above: 40-59% in reading and 44-63% in math, against 38% in reading and 40% in math across Wisconsin. Wisconsin's own test sets what proficient means, so results compare within the state, not across states. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22.
  7. What is the graduation rate in Elmwood School District?
    80% or more of the 29 students in Elmwood School District's class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 90.5% across Wisconsin. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23.
  8. What is Elmwood School District's NCES district ID?
    5504350. Each of its schools' 12-digit NCES IDs begins with these seven digits.

Reading these figures: how to choose a school district, what Title I means and what an absenteeism rate means. They are for information and are not a substitute for the school's or district's own records.

Sources

Every federal file behind this record
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2024-25: directory, membership, staff and lunch files. nces.ed.gov
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2021-22 school characteristics: Title I status. nces.ed.gov
  • Civil Rights Data Collection, 2021-22: AP courses, gifted programs, counselors, discipline. civilrightsdata.ed.gov
  • EDFacts, 2022-23: chronic absenteeism. ed.gov
  • EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23: the class of 2023 for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
  • EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22: reading and math proficiency for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
  • NCES Digest of Education Statistics, table 211.60 (2021-22): the state's average teacher salary, from the National Education Association. nces.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau, Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates, 2024: children aged 5 to 17 and those in families in poverty, by school district. census.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances, fiscal year 2023-24: per pupil current spending for 2023-24 and 2022-23. census.gov
  • NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey, fiscal year 2022-23: district spending and revenue. nces.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau geocoder and TIGER school districts: the district boundary used by the district finder. census.gov

Source: U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances Per pupil current spending by school system · FY 2023-24

Source: NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey Revenue and expenditures by district · FY 2022-23

Source: NCES Common Core of Data School directory, membership, staff and lunch files · 2024-25