Deerfield

Public school district · Franklin County · Massachusetts · NCES district ID 2504080

Deerfield spent $25,658 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23, more than 54% of the other Massachusetts districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022 (median $24,952). Its one school enrolled 301 students in 2024-25; 59.7% of its revenue came from the state. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $25,751 per student, up 0.4% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year).

Spending per student among Massachusetts districts of similar size

Current spending per student excludes construction and debt. The 9 districts closest to Deerfield in enrollment (287 to 334 students) and Deerfield itself.

Current spending per student, Massachusetts districts closest in size to Deerfield, FY23Bridge Boston Charter School $36,260; Boston Day and Evening Academy $32,894; Berkshire Arts and Technology Charter Public (District) $28,943; Benjamin Banneker Charter Public (District) $27,437; Christa McAuliffe Charter School $27,106; Deerfield $25,658; River Valley Charter School $20,538; Brimfield $19,990; Hill View Montessori Charter Public (District) $19,745; Brookfield $17,285; State median, under 1,000 students $24,952.10k20k30k40kBridge Boston Charter School$36,260Boston Day and Evening Academy$32,894Berkshire Arts and Technology …$28,943Benjamin Banneker Charter Publ…$27,437Christa McAuliffe Charter Scho…$27,106Deerfield$25,658River Valley Charter School$20,538Brimfield$19,990Hill View Montessori Charter P…$19,745Brookfield$17,285State median, under 1,000 students $24,952
Current spending per student, Massachusetts districts closest in size to Deerfield, FY23Bridge Boston Charter School $36,260; Boston Day and Evening Academy $32,894; Berkshire Arts and Technology Charter Public (District) $28,943; Benjamin Banneker Charter Public (District) $27,437; Christa McAuliffe Charter School $27,106; Deerfield $25,658; River Valley Charter School $20,538; Brimfield $19,990; Hill View Montessori Charter Public (District) $19,745; Brookfield $17,285; State median, under 1,000 students $24,952.10k20k30k40kBridge Boston Charter School$36,260Boston Day and Evening Academy$32,894Berkshire Arts and Technology Chart…$28,943Benjamin Banneker Charter Public (D…$27,437Christa McAuliffe Charter School$27,106Deerfield$25,658River Valley Charter School$20,538Brimfield$19,990Hill View Montessori Charter Public…$19,745Brookfield$17,285State median, under 1,000 students $24,952
Current spending per student, Massachusetts districts closest in size to Deerfield, FY23Bridge Boston Charter School $36,260; Boston Day and Evening Academy $32,894; Berkshire Arts and Technology Charter Public (District) $28,943; Benjamin Banneker Charter Public (District) $27,437; Christa McAuliffe Charter School $27,106; Deerfield $25,658; River Valley Charter School $20,538; Brimfield $19,990; Hill View Montessori Charter Public (District) $19,745; Brookfield $17,285; State median, under 1,000 students $24,952.10k20k30k40kBridge Boston Charter School$36,260Boston Day and Evening Academy$32,894Berkshire Arts and Technology Charter Publi…$28,943Benjamin Banneker Charter Public (District)$27,437Christa McAuliffe Charter School$27,106Deerfield$25,658River Valley Charter School$20,538Brimfield$19,990Hill View Montessori Charter Public (Distri…$19,745Brookfield$17,285State median, under 1,000 students $24,952
Current spending per student, Massachusetts districts closest in size to Deerfield, FY23Bridge Boston Charter School $36,260; Boston Day and Evening Academy $32,894; Berkshire Arts and Technology Charter Public (District) $28,943; Benjamin Banneker Charter Public (District) $27,437; Christa McAuliffe Charter School $27,106; Deerfield $25,658; River Valley Charter School $20,538; Brimfield $19,990; Hill View Montessori Charter Public (District) $19,745; Brookfield $17,285; State median, under 1,000 students $24,952.10k20k30k40kBridge Boston Charter School$36,260Boston Day and Evening Academy$32,894Berkshire Arts and Technology Charter P…$28,943Benjamin Banneker Charter Public (Distr…$27,437Christa McAuliffe Charter School$27,106Deerfield$25,658River Valley Charter School$20,538Brimfield$19,990Hill View Montessori Charter Public (Di…$19,745Brookfield$17,285State median, under 1,000 students $24,952

Where the money came from

$3,602,000 in revenue: 59.7% state, 28.8% local and 11.4% federal. Total spending including $156,000 of capital outlay was $8,634,000, or $27,852 per student; the figure above leaves capital out.

Deerfield revenue by source, fiscal year 2022-23State $2,151,000; Local $1,039,000; Federal $412,000; total $3,602,000.
  • State$2,151,000 60%
  • Local$1,039,000 29%
  • Federal$412,000 11%

Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23: current expenditures for elementary and secondary education divided by fall membership; the state median covers 153 districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022. Revenue by source (TOTALREV, TFEDREV, TSTREV, TLOCREV).

Enrollment fell from 2022-23 to 2024-25

309 students in 2022-23, 313 students in 2023-24, 301 students in 2024-25, counted across the schools that reported each year.

Deerfield enrollment by school year2022-23: 309, 2023-24: 313, 2024-25: 30101002003004002022-233092023-243132024-25301
Deerfield enrollment by school year2022-23: 309, 2023-24: 313, 2024-25: 30101002003004002022-233092023-243132024-25301
Deerfield enrollment by school year2022-23: 309, 2023-24: 313, 2024-25: 30101002003004002022-233092023-243132024-25301
Deerfield enrollment by school year2022-23: 309, 2023-24: 313, 2024-25: 30101002003004002022-233092023-243132024-25301

Teachers and students per teacher

School yearStudentsTeachers (FTE)Per teacher
2022-2330933.09.4
2023-2431333.29.4
2024-2530134.08.8

Source: NCES Common Core of Data membership and staff files, 2022-23, 2023-24, 2024-25; sums over the schools reporting each year.

$2,359,000 in teacher salaries in fiscal year 2022-23, $7,610 per student

Deerfield booked $2,359,000 of teacher salaries in its 2022-23 finance report and counted 33 full-time teachers in its Common Core of Data district staff file for 2022-23 (the school files behind the staffing figures on this page count teachers separately, so the two can differ), or $71,420 of salary spending per teacher. That is more than 21 in 100 Massachusetts districts with a figure (state median $83,840, 276 districts). It is spending, not what a teacher is paid: the salary lines and the teacher count come from different files, so the result can differ widely from the average salary the district publishes (its salary schedule gives pay); benefits are left out, and states book salaries differently, so compare districts within one state. For pay, the National Education Association put the average Massachusetts teacher salary at $88,903 in 2021-22 (NCES Digest table 211.60).

ProgramTeacher salariesShare
Regular programs$2,002,00084.9%
Special education$357,00015.1%

Teacher salaries per student, fiscal years 2018-19 to 2022-23

The district's teacher salary bill divided by its fall enrollment each year: $5,230 in 2018-19, $6,039 in 2019-20, $6,788 in 2020-21, $6,650 in 2021-22, $7,610 in 2022-23.

Deerfield teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $5,230, 2019-20: $6,039, 2020-21: $6,788, 2021-22: $6,650, 2022-23: $7,61002k4k6k8k2018-19$5,2302019-20$6,0392020-21$6,7882021-22$6,6502022-23$7,610
Deerfield teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $5,230, 2019-20: $6,039, 2020-21: $6,788, 2021-22: $6,650, 2022-23: $7,61002k4k6k8k2018-19$5,2302019-20$6,0392020-21$6,7882021-22$6,6502022-23$7,610
Deerfield teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $5,230, 2019-20: $6,039, 2020-21: $6,788, 2021-22: $6,650, 2022-23: $7,61002k4k6k8k2018-19$5,2302019-20$6,0392020-21$6,7882021-22$6,6502022-23$7,610
Deerfield teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $5,230, 2019-20: $6,039, 2020-21: $6,788, 2021-22: $6,650, 2022-23: $7,61002k4k6k8k2018-19$5,2302019-20$6,0392020-21$6,7882021-22$6,6502022-23$7,610

Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal years 2019 to 2023: teacher salaries in regular, special, vocational and other programs (Z35 to Z38) and fall membership (V33); NCES Common Core of Data LEA staff file 2022-23, teachers (full-time equivalent).

State test results, 2021-22

In 2021-22, the students tested in Deerfield scored proficient or above: 45-49% in reading and 45-49% in math, against 43.7% in reading and 40.7% in math across Massachusetts. Each state writes its own test and sets its own proficiency bar, so compare these within Massachusetts, not across states.

Students proficient or above, 2021-22
SubjectThis districtMassachusettsStudents tested
Reading and language arts45-49%43.7%179
Math45-49%40.7%178

Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results 2021-22, all students, from ED Data Express (the Data Rescue Project archive; ED has no 2022-23 result for this district): ED shows district results as ranges (for example 20-24%) to protect small groups.

1 elementary school, 301 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Deerfield Elementary3018.8not reportedTargeted program

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

Contact Deerfield

Source: NCES Common Core of Data, local education agency directory 2024-25. Enrollment, boundaries and school assignment are the district's to confirm.

What to look at next about Deerfield

  1. Massachusetts districts by spending per studentDeerfield ranks 71 of 153 Massachusetts districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022 on current spending per student in fiscal year 2022-23 ($25,658).#71 of 153
  2. Every school district in MassachusettsDeerfield is the number 345 by size of 397 Massachusetts districts, with 310 students in fall 2022 (F-33).#345 of 397
  3. Berkshire Arts and Technology Charter Public (District)The next larger Massachusetts district: 316 students in fall 2022, $28,943 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$28,943
  4. Hill View Montessori Charter Public (District)The next smaller Massachusetts district: 306 students in fall 2022, $19,745 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$19,745
  5. Compare Deerfield with Berkshire Arts and Technology Charter Public (District)Enrollment, spending, revenue sources and schools, side by side.
  6. Teacher salary spending across MassachusettsDeerfield spent $71,420 in salaries per full-time teacher in fiscal year 2022-23 (state median $83,840); spending, not a salary.$71,420
  7. Find the school district for an addressA home's district decides which public schools it can enroll in.

Source: NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23 (spending per student and fall 2022 membership; ranks among the state's districts that reported them); NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (schools).

Questions about Deerfield

  1. How many schools and students are in Deerfield?
    One school was open in 2024-25 (1 elementary), enrolling 301 students, according to the NCES Common Core of Data.
  2. How much does Deerfield spend per student?
    $25,658 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), which leaves out construction and debt; the Massachusetts median for districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022 is $24,952 and the U.S. figure is $16,260. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $25,751 per student, up 0.4% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year).
  3. Where does Deerfield's money come from?
    $3,602,000 in revenue in fiscal year 2022-23: 59.7% state, 28.8% local and 11.4% federal (NCES F-33).
  4. How many children in Deerfield live in poverty?
    The Census Bureau estimates that 24 of the 361 children aged 5 to 17 living within the district's boundaries in 2024, 6.6%, were in families in poverty (Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates). It is a model-based estimate for everyone living in the district, not a count of its students; the free-meal shares in the school tables are counts of enrolled students.
  5. How much does Deerfield spend on teacher salaries?
    $2,359,000 in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), or $7,610 per student. Divided by the 33 full-time teachers in the NCES Common Core of Data for 2022-23 that is $71,420 per teacher, more than 21 in 100 Massachusetts districts (state median $83,840). That is spending, not what a teacher is paid: the salary lines and the teacher count come from different files, and the result can differ widely from the average salary a district publishes. The district's salary schedule gives pay. For pay, the National Education Association put the average Massachusetts teacher salary at $88,903 in 2021-22 (NCES Digest table 211.60).
  6. How do students in Deerfield do on state tests?
    In 2021-22, the students tested in Deerfield scored proficient or above: 45-49% in reading and 45-49% in math, against 43.7% in reading and 40.7% in math across Massachusetts. Massachusetts's own test sets what proficient means, so results compare within the state, not across states. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22.
  7. What is Deerfield's NCES district ID?
    2504080. Each of its schools' 12-digit NCES IDs begins with these seven digits.

Reading these figures: how to choose a school district, what Title I means and what an absenteeism rate means. They are for information and are not a substitute for the school's or district's own records.

Sources

Every federal file behind this record
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2024-25: directory, membership, staff and lunch files. nces.ed.gov
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2021-22 school characteristics: Title I status. nces.ed.gov
  • Civil Rights Data Collection, 2021-22: AP courses, gifted programs, counselors, discipline. civilrightsdata.ed.gov
  • EDFacts, 2022-23: chronic absenteeism. ed.gov
  • EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22: reading and math proficiency for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
  • NCES Digest of Education Statistics, table 211.60 (2021-22): the state's average teacher salary, from the National Education Association. nces.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau, Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates, 2024: children aged 5 to 17 and those in families in poverty, by school district. census.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances, fiscal year 2023-24: per pupil current spending for 2023-24 and 2022-23. census.gov
  • NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey, fiscal year 2022-23: district spending and revenue. nces.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau geocoder and TIGER school districts: the district boundary used by the district finder. census.gov

Source: U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances Per pupil current spending by school system · FY 2023-24

Source: NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey Revenue and expenditures by district · FY 2022-23

Source: NCES Common Core of Data School directory, membership, staff and lunch files · 2024-25