Curwensville Area SD

Public school district · Clearfield County · Pennsylvania · NCES district ID 4207140

Curwensville Area SD spent $17,381 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23, below the middle: 70% of the other Pennsylvania districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022 spent more (median $19,062). Its 2 schools enrolled 962 students in 2024-25; 64.7% of its revenue came from the state. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $17,777 per student, up 2.3% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year). Its four-year graduation rate for the class of 2023 was 85-89% (Pennsylvania: 87.5%).

Spending per student among Pennsylvania districts of similar size

Current spending per student excludes construction and debt. The 9 districts closest to Curwensville Area SD in enrollment (983 to 998 students) and Curwensville Area SD itself.

Current spending per student, Pennsylvania districts closest in size to Curwensville Area SD, FY23Burgettstown Area SD $19,976; Wilmington Area SD $19,591; Shenango Area SD $19,562; The Philadelphia CS for Arts and Sciences at HR Edmunds $19,175; Newport SD $18,889; Laurel SD $17,984; Curwensville Area SD $17,381; Bethlehem-Center SD $17,307; Esperanza Cyber Charter School $17,289; Kane Area SD $17,109; State median, under 1,000 students $19,062.14k16k18k20k22kBurgettstown Area SD$19,976Wilmington Area SD$19,591Shenango Area SD$19,562The Philadelphia CS for Arts a…$19,175Newport SD$18,889Laurel SD$17,984Curwensville Area SD$17,381Bethlehem-Center SD$17,307Esperanza Cyber Charter School$17,289Kane Area SD$17,109State median, under 1,000 students $19,062
Current spending per student, Pennsylvania districts closest in size to Curwensville Area SD, FY23Burgettstown Area SD $19,976; Wilmington Area SD $19,591; Shenango Area SD $19,562; The Philadelphia CS for Arts and Sciences at HR Edmunds $19,175; Newport SD $18,889; Laurel SD $17,984; Curwensville Area SD $17,381; Bethlehem-Center SD $17,307; Esperanza Cyber Charter School $17,289; Kane Area SD $17,109; State median, under 1,000 students $19,062.14k16k18k20k22kBurgettstown Area SD$19,976Wilmington Area SD$19,591Shenango Area SD$19,562The Philadelphia CS for Arts and Sc…$19,175Newport SD$18,889Laurel SD$17,984Curwensville Area SD$17,381Bethlehem-Center SD$17,307Esperanza Cyber Charter School$17,289Kane Area SD$17,109State median, under 1,000 students $19,062
Current spending per student, Pennsylvania districts closest in size to Curwensville Area SD, FY23Burgettstown Area SD $19,976; Wilmington Area SD $19,591; Shenango Area SD $19,562; The Philadelphia CS for Arts and Sciences at HR Edmunds $19,175; Newport SD $18,889; Laurel SD $17,984; Curwensville Area SD $17,381; Bethlehem-Center SD $17,307; Esperanza Cyber Charter School $17,289; Kane Area SD $17,109; State median, under 1,000 students $19,062.14k18k22kBurgettstown Area SD$19,976Wilmington Area SD$19,591Shenango Area SD$19,562The Philadelphia CS for Arts and Sciences a…$19,175Newport SD$18,889Laurel SD$17,984Curwensville Area SD$17,381Bethlehem-Center SD$17,307Esperanza Cyber Charter School$17,289Kane Area SD$17,109State median, under 1,000 students $19,062
Current spending per student, Pennsylvania districts closest in size to Curwensville Area SD, FY23Burgettstown Area SD $19,976; Wilmington Area SD $19,591; Shenango Area SD $19,562; The Philadelphia CS for Arts and Sciences at HR Edmunds $19,175; Newport SD $18,889; Laurel SD $17,984; Curwensville Area SD $17,381; Bethlehem-Center SD $17,307; Esperanza Cyber Charter School $17,289; Kane Area SD $17,109; State median, under 1,000 students $19,062.14k18k22kBurgettstown Area SD$19,976Wilmington Area SD$19,591Shenango Area SD$19,562The Philadelphia CS for Arts and Scienc…$19,175Newport SD$18,889Laurel SD$17,984Curwensville Area SD$17,381Bethlehem-Center SD$17,307Esperanza Cyber Charter School$17,289Kane Area SD$17,109State median, under 1,000 students $19,062

Where the money came from

$21,289,000 in revenue: 64.7% state, 24.1% local and 11.2% federal. Total spending including $481,000 of capital outlay was $19,965,000, or $20,187 per student; the figure above leaves capital out.

Curwensville Area SD revenue by source, fiscal year 2022-23State $13,776,000; Local $5,121,000; Federal $2,392,000; total $21,289,000.
  • State$13,776,000 65%
  • Local$5,121,000 24%
  • Federal$2,392,000 11%

Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23: current expenditures for elementary and secondary education divided by fall membership; the state median covers 254 districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022. Revenue by source (TOTALREV, TFEDREV, TSTREV, TLOCREV).

Enrollment fell from 2022-23 to 2024-25

989 students in 2022-23, 988 students in 2023-24, 962 students in 2024-25, counted across the schools that reported each year.

Curwensville Area SD enrollment by school year2022-23: 989, 2023-24: 988, 2024-25: 96202505007501k2022-239892023-249882024-25962
Curwensville Area SD enrollment by school year2022-23: 989, 2023-24: 988, 2024-25: 96202505007501k2022-239892023-249882024-25962
Curwensville Area SD enrollment by school year2022-23: 989, 2023-24: 988, 2024-25: 96202505007501k2022-239892023-249882024-25962
Curwensville Area SD enrollment by school year2022-23: 989, 2023-24: 988, 2024-25: 96202505007501k2022-239892023-249882024-25962

Teachers and students per teacher

School yearStudentsTeachers (FTE)Per teacher
2022-2398982.612.0
2023-2498884.611.7
2024-2596282.711.6

Source: NCES Common Core of Data membership and staff files, 2022-23, 2023-24, 2024-25; sums over the schools reporting each year.

$5,831,000 in teacher salaries in fiscal year 2022-23, $5,896 per student

Curwensville Area SD booked $5,831,000 of teacher salaries in its 2022-23 finance report and counted 83 full-time teachers in its Common Core of Data district staff file for 2022-23 (the school files behind the staffing figures on this page count teachers separately, so the two can differ), or $70,593 of salary spending per teacher. That is more than 20 in 100 Pennsylvania districts with a figure (state median $81,309, 647 districts). It is spending, not what a teacher is paid: the salary lines and the teacher count come from different files, so the result can differ widely from the average salary the district publishes (its salary schedule gives pay); benefits are left out, and states book salaries differently, so compare districts within one state. For pay, the National Education Association put the average Pennsylvania teacher salary at $72,248 in 2021-22 (NCES Digest table 211.60).

ProgramTeacher salariesShare
Regular programs$4,236,00072.6%
Special education$1,067,00018.3%
Vocational$230,0003.9%
Other programs$298,0005.1%

Teacher salaries per student, fiscal years 2018-19 to 2022-23

The district's teacher salary bill divided by its fall enrollment each year: $5,139 in 2018-19, $5,136 in 2019-20, $5,251 in 2020-21, $5,601 in 2021-22, $5,896 in 2022-23.

Curwensville Area SD teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $5,139, 2019-20: $5,136, 2020-21: $5,251, 2021-22: $5,601, 2022-23: $5,89602k4k6k2018-19$5,1392019-20$5,1362020-21$5,2512021-22$5,6012022-23$5,896
Curwensville Area SD teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $5,139, 2019-20: $5,136, 2020-21: $5,251, 2021-22: $5,601, 2022-23: $5,89602k4k6k2018-19$5,1392019-20$5,1362020-21$5,2512021-22$5,6012022-23$5,896
Curwensville Area SD teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $5,139, 2019-20: $5,136, 2020-21: $5,251, 2021-22: $5,601, 2022-23: $5,89602k4k6k2018-19$5,1392019-20$5,1362020-21$5,2512021-22$5,6012022-23$5,896
Curwensville Area SD teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $5,139, 2019-20: $5,136, 2020-21: $5,251, 2021-22: $5,601, 2022-23: $5,89602k4k6k2018-19$5,1392019-20$5,1362020-21$5,2512021-22$5,6012022-23$5,896

Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal years 2019 to 2023: teacher salaries in regular, special, vocational and other programs (Z35 to Z38) and fall membership (V33); NCES Common Core of Data LEA staff file 2022-23, teachers (full-time equivalent).

State test results, 2021-22

In 2021-22, the students tested in Curwensville Area SD scored proficient or above: 65-71% in reading and 47-52% in math, against 54% in reading and 34% in math across Pennsylvania. Each state writes its own test and sets its own proficiency bar, so compare these within Pennsylvania, not across states. Where a state published results by grade only, the grades tested are combined, weighted by the students tested in each.

Students proficient or above, 2021-22
SubjectThis districtPennsylvaniaStudents tested
Reading and language arts65-71%54%405
Math47-52%34%405

Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results 2021-22, all students, from ED Data Express (the Data Rescue Project archive; ED has no 2022-23 result for this district): ED shows district results as ranges (for example 20-24%) to protect small groups.

Graduation rate, class of 2023

85-89% of the 84 students in Curwensville Area SD's class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 87.5% across Pennsylvania. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out, and counts those who earned a regular diploma by 2023. Every state computes it the same way under federal law, though each sets its own diploma requirements.

Four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rate, class of 2023
This districtPennsylvania
Four-year graduation rate85‑89%87.5%
Students in the class84136,045

Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates 2022-23, all students, from ED Data Express: ED shows district rates as ranges (for example 90-94%) and leaves out small classes.

1 elementary school, 533 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Curwensville Area Elementary School53312.499.4%Targeted program

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

1 high school, 429 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Curwensville Area JSHS42910.899.3%Eligible, no program

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

Contact Curwensville Area SD

Source: NCES Common Core of Data, local education agency directory 2024-25. Enrollment, boundaries and school assignment are the district's to confirm.

What to look at next about Curwensville Area SD

  1. Pennsylvania districts by spending per studentCurwensville Area SD ranks 177 of 254 Pennsylvania districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022 on current spending per student in fiscal year 2022-23 ($17,381).#177 of 254
  2. Every school district in PennsylvaniaCurwensville Area SD is the number 427 by size of 775 Pennsylvania districts, with 989 students in fall 2022 (F-33).#427 of 775
  3. Esperanza Cyber Charter SchoolThe next larger Pennsylvania district: 990 students in fall 2022, $17,289 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$17,289
  4. Newport SDThe next smaller Pennsylvania district: 988 students in fall 2022, $18,889 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$18,889
  5. Compare Curwensville Area SD with Esperanza Cyber Charter SchoolEnrollment, spending, revenue sources and schools, side by side.
  6. Curwensville Area JSHS, its largest high school429 students in 2024-25, 10.8 per teacher.429
  7. Teacher salary spending across PennsylvaniaCurwensville Area SD spent $70,593 in salaries per full-time teacher in fiscal year 2022-23 (state median $81,309); spending, not a salary.$70,593
  8. Find the school district for an addressA home's district decides which public schools it can enroll in.

Source: NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23 (spending per student and fall 2022 membership; ranks among the state's districts that reported them); NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (schools).

Questions about Curwensville Area SD

  1. How many schools and students are in Curwensville Area SD?
    2 schools were open in 2024-25 (1 elementary, 1 high), enrolling 962 students, according to the NCES Common Core of Data.
  2. How much does Curwensville Area SD spend per student?
    $17,381 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), which leaves out construction and debt; the Pennsylvania median for districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022 is $19,062 and the U.S. figure is $16,260. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $17,777 per student, up 2.3% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year).
  3. Where does Curwensville Area SD's money come from?
    $21,289,000 in revenue in fiscal year 2022-23: 64.7% state, 24.1% local and 11.2% federal (NCES F-33).
  4. How many children in Curwensville Area SD live in poverty?
    The Census Bureau estimates that 218 of the 1,107 children aged 5 to 17 living within the district's boundaries in 2024, 19.7%, were in families in poverty (Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates). It is a model-based estimate for everyone living in the district, not a count of its students; the free-meal shares in the school tables are counts of enrolled students.
  5. How much does Curwensville Area SD spend on teacher salaries?
    $5,831,000 in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), or $5,896 per student. Divided by the 83 full-time teachers in the NCES Common Core of Data for 2022-23 that is $70,593 per teacher, more than 20 in 100 Pennsylvania districts (state median $81,309). That is spending, not what a teacher is paid: the salary lines and the teacher count come from different files, and the result can differ widely from the average salary a district publishes. The district's salary schedule gives pay. For pay, the National Education Association put the average Pennsylvania teacher salary at $72,248 in 2021-22 (NCES Digest table 211.60).
  6. How do students in Curwensville Area SD do on state tests?
    In 2021-22, the students tested in Curwensville Area SD scored proficient or above: 65-71% in reading and 47-52% in math, against 54% in reading and 34% in math across Pennsylvania. Pennsylvania's own test sets what proficient means, so results compare within the state, not across states. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22.
  7. What is the graduation rate in Curwensville Area SD?
    85-89% of the 84 students in Curwensville Area SD's class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 87.5% across Pennsylvania. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23.
  8. What is Curwensville Area SD's NCES district ID?
    4207140. Each of its schools' 12-digit NCES IDs begins with these seven digits.

Reading these figures: how to choose a school district, what Title I means and what an absenteeism rate means. They are for information and are not a substitute for the school's or district's own records.

Sources

Every federal file behind this record
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2024-25: directory, membership, staff and lunch files. nces.ed.gov
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2021-22 school characteristics: Title I status. nces.ed.gov
  • Civil Rights Data Collection, 2021-22: AP courses, gifted programs, counselors, discipline. civilrightsdata.ed.gov
  • EDFacts, 2022-23: chronic absenteeism. ed.gov
  • EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23: the class of 2023 for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
  • EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22: reading and math proficiency for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
  • NCES Digest of Education Statistics, table 211.60 (2021-22): the state's average teacher salary, from the National Education Association. nces.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau, Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates, 2024: children aged 5 to 17 and those in families in poverty, by school district. census.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances, fiscal year 2023-24: per pupil current spending for 2023-24 and 2022-23. census.gov
  • NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey, fiscal year 2022-23: district spending and revenue. nces.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau geocoder and TIGER school districts: the district boundary used by the district finder. census.gov

Source: U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances Per pupil current spending by school system · FY 2023-24

Source: NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey Revenue and expenditures by district · FY 2022-23

Source: NCES Common Core of Data School directory, membership, staff and lunch files · 2024-25