Cumberland Academy

Public school district · Smith County · Texas · NCES district ID 4800034

Cumberland Academy spent $9,608 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23, below the middle: 97% of the other Texas districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 spent more (median $12,244). Its 5 schools enrolled 2,047 students in 2024-25; 80.5% of its revenue came from the state. Its four-year graduation rate for the class of 2023 was 95% or more (Texas: 90.3%).

Spending per student among Texas districts of similar size

Current spending per student excludes construction and debt. The 9 districts closest to Cumberland Academy in enrollment (2,008 to 2,065 students) and Cumberland Academy itself.

Current spending per student, Texas districts closest in size to Cumberland Academy, FY23Raymondville ISD $15,656; Hillsboro ISD $13,289; Bridgeport ISD $13,081; Ingleside ISD $12,842; Rusk ISD $12,789; Pearsall ISD $12,782; Perryton ISD $11,356; Hamshire-Fannett ISD $10,079; Cumberland Academy $9,608; Universal Academy $8,590; State median, 1,000+ students $12,244.5k7.5k10k12.5k15k17.5kRaymondville ISD$15,656Hillsboro ISD$13,289Bridgeport ISD$13,081Ingleside ISD$12,842Rusk ISD$12,789Pearsall ISD$12,782Perryton ISD$11,356Hamshire-Fannett ISD$10,079Cumberland Academy$9,608Universal Academy$8,590State median, 1,000+ students $12,244
Current spending per student, Texas districts closest in size to Cumberland Academy, FY23Raymondville ISD $15,656; Hillsboro ISD $13,289; Bridgeport ISD $13,081; Ingleside ISD $12,842; Rusk ISD $12,789; Pearsall ISD $12,782; Perryton ISD $11,356; Hamshire-Fannett ISD $10,079; Cumberland Academy $9,608; Universal Academy $8,590; State median, 1,000+ students $12,244.5k7.5k10k12.5k15k17.5kRaymondville ISD$15,656Hillsboro ISD$13,289Bridgeport ISD$13,081Ingleside ISD$12,842Rusk ISD$12,789Pearsall ISD$12,782Perryton ISD$11,356Hamshire-Fannett ISD$10,079Cumberland Academy$9,608Universal Academy$8,590State median, 1,000+ students $12,244
Current spending per student, Texas districts closest in size to Cumberland Academy, FY23Raymondville ISD $15,656; Hillsboro ISD $13,289; Bridgeport ISD $13,081; Ingleside ISD $12,842; Rusk ISD $12,789; Pearsall ISD $12,782; Perryton ISD $11,356; Hamshire-Fannett ISD $10,079; Cumberland Academy $9,608; Universal Academy $8,590; State median, 1,000+ students $12,244.5k10k15k17.5kRaymondville ISD$15,656Hillsboro ISD$13,289Bridgeport ISD$13,081Ingleside ISD$12,842Rusk ISD$12,789Pearsall ISD$12,782Perryton ISD$11,356Hamshire-Fannett ISD$10,079Cumberland Academy$9,608Universal Academy$8,590State median, 1,000+ students $12,244
Current spending per student, Texas districts closest in size to Cumberland Academy, FY23Raymondville ISD $15,656; Hillsboro ISD $13,289; Bridgeport ISD $13,081; Ingleside ISD $12,842; Rusk ISD $12,789; Pearsall ISD $12,782; Perryton ISD $11,356; Hamshire-Fannett ISD $10,079; Cumberland Academy $9,608; Universal Academy $8,590; State median, 1,000+ students $12,244.5k10k15k17.5kRaymondville ISD$15,656Hillsboro ISD$13,289Bridgeport ISD$13,081Ingleside ISD$12,842Rusk ISD$12,789Pearsall ISD$12,782Perryton ISD$11,356Hamshire-Fannett ISD$10,079Cumberland Academy$9,608Universal Academy$8,590State median, 1,000+ students $12,244

Where the money came from

$24,965,000 in revenue: 80.5% state, 4.6% local and 14.9% federal. Total spending was $19,821,000, or $9,730 per student; the district reported no capital outlay that year.

Cumberland Academy revenue by source, fiscal year 2022-23State $20,097,000; Local $1,151,000; Federal $3,717,000; total $24,965,000.
  • State$20,097,000 81%
  • Local$1,151,000 5%
  • Federal$3,717,000 15%

Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23: current expenditures for elementary and secondary education divided by fall membership; the state median covers 577 districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022. Revenue by source (TOTALREV, TFEDREV, TSTREV, TLOCREV).

Enrollment held steady from 2022-23 to 2024-25

2,037 students in 2022-23, 2,035 students in 2023-24, 2,047 students in 2024-25, counted across the schools that reported each year.

Cumberland Academy enrollment by school year2022-23: 2,037, 2023-24: 2,035, 2024-25: 2,04701k2k3k2022-232,0372023-242,0352024-252,047
Cumberland Academy enrollment by school year2022-23: 2,037, 2023-24: 2,035, 2024-25: 2,04701k2k3k2022-232,0372023-242,0352024-252,047
Cumberland Academy enrollment by school year2022-23: 2,037, 2023-24: 2,035, 2024-25: 2,04701k2k3k2022-232,0372023-242,0352024-252,047
Cumberland Academy enrollment by school year2022-23: 2,037, 2023-24: 2,035, 2024-25: 2,04701k2k3k2022-232,0372023-242,0352024-252,047

Teachers and students per teacher

School yearStudentsTeachers (FTE)Per teacher
2022-232,037179.411.4
2023-242,035170.312.0
2024-252,047165.912.3

Source: NCES Common Core of Data membership and staff files, 2022-23, 2023-24, 2024-25; sums over the schools reporting each year.

$7,289,000 in teacher salaries in fiscal year 2022-23, $3,578 per student

Cumberland Academy booked $7,289,000 of teacher salaries in its 2022-23 finance report and counted 179 full-time teachers in its Common Core of Data district staff file for 2022-23 (the school files behind the staffing figures on this page count teachers separately, so the two can differ), or $40,641 of salary spending per teacher. That is more than 9 in 100 Texas districts with a figure (state median $50,660, 1,054 districts). It is spending, not what a teacher is paid: the salary lines and the teacher count come from different files, so the result can differ widely from the average salary the district publishes (its salary schedule gives pay); benefits are left out, and states book salaries differently, so compare districts within one state. For pay, the National Education Association put the average Texas teacher salary at $58,887 in 2021-22 (NCES Digest table 211.60).

ProgramTeacher salariesShare
Regular programs$6,523,00089.5%
Special education$443,0006.1%
Vocational$233,0003.2%
Other programs$90,0001.2%

Teacher salaries per student, fiscal years 2018-19 to 2022-23

The district's teacher salary bill divided by its fall enrollment each year: $2,669 in 2018-19, $2,734 in 2019-20, $3,018 in 2020-21, $2,927 in 2021-22, $3,578 in 2022-23.

Cumberland Academy teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $2,669, 2019-20: $2,734, 2020-21: $3,018, 2021-22: $2,927, 2022-23: $3,57801k2k3k4k2018-19$2,6692019-20$2,7342020-21$3,0182021-22$2,9272022-23$3,578
Cumberland Academy teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $2,669, 2019-20: $2,734, 2020-21: $3,018, 2021-22: $2,927, 2022-23: $3,57801k2k3k4k2018-19$2,6692019-20$2,7342020-21$3,0182021-22$2,9272022-23$3,578
Cumberland Academy teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $2,669, 2019-20: $2,734, 2020-21: $3,018, 2021-22: $2,927, 2022-23: $3,57801k2k3k4k2018-19$2,6692019-20$2,7342020-21$3,0182021-22$2,9272022-23$3,578
Cumberland Academy teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $2,669, 2019-20: $2,734, 2020-21: $3,018, 2021-22: $2,927, 2022-23: $3,57801k2k3k4k2018-19$2,6692019-20$2,7342020-21$3,0182021-22$2,9272022-23$3,578

Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal years 2019 to 2023: teacher salaries in regular, special, vocational and other programs (Z35 to Z38) and fall membership (V33); NCES Common Core of Data LEA staff file 2022-23, teachers (full-time equivalent).

State test results, 2021-22

In 2021-22, the students tested in Cumberland Academy scored proficient or above: 45-49% in reading and 29-33% in math, against 52% in reading and 42% in math across Texas. Each state writes its own test and sets its own proficiency bar, so compare these within Texas, not across states. Where a state published results by grade only, the grades tested are combined, weighted by the students tested in each.

Students proficient or above, 2021-22
SubjectThis districtTexasStudents tested
Reading and language arts45-49%52%816
Math29-33%42%816

Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results 2021-22, all students, from ED Data Express (the Data Rescue Project archive; ED has no 2022-23 result for this district): ED shows district results as ranges (for example 20-24%) to protect small groups.

Graduation rate, class of 2023

95% or more of the 186 students in Cumberland Academy's class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 90.3% across Texas. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out, and counts those who earned a regular diploma by 2023. Every state computes it the same way under federal law, though each sets its own diploma requirements.

Four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rate, class of 2023
This districtTexas
Four-year graduation rate95% or more90.3%
Students in the class186403,301

Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates 2022-23, all students, from ED Data Express: ED shows district rates as ranges (for example 90-94%) and leaves out small classes.

3 elementary schools, 1,183 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Cumberland Academy Lower Elementary45913.058.0%Schoolwide program
Cumberland Academy Upper Elementary39213.144.9%Schoolwide program
The Leadership Academy33210.418.7%Not Title I

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

1 middle school, 361 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Cumberland Academy Middle36112.436.3%Not reported

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

1 high school, 503 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Cumberland High School50312.628.2%Eligible, no program

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

Contact Cumberland Academy

Source: NCES Common Core of Data, local education agency directory 2024-25. Enrollment, boundaries and school assignment are the district's to confirm.

What to look at next about Cumberland Academy

  1. Texas districts by spending per studentCumberland Academy ranks 559 of 577 Texas districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 on current spending per student in fiscal year 2022-23 ($9,608).#559 of 577
  2. Every school district in TexasCumberland Academy is the number 361 by size of 1,212 Texas districts, with 2,037 students in fall 2022 (F-33).#361 of 1,212
  3. Universal AcademyThe next larger Texas district: 2,042 students in fall 2022, $8,590 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$8,590
  4. Pearsall ISDThe next smaller Texas district: 2,026 students in fall 2022, $12,782 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$12,782
  5. Compare Cumberland Academy with Universal AcademyEnrollment, spending, revenue sources and schools, side by side.
  6. Cumberland High School, its largest high school503 students in 2024-25, 12.6 per teacher.503
  7. Teacher salary spending across TexasCumberland Academy spent $40,641 in salaries per full-time teacher in fiscal year 2022-23 (state median $50,660); spending, not a salary.$40,641
  8. Find the school district for an addressA home's district decides which public schools it can enroll in.

Source: NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23 (spending per student and fall 2022 membership; ranks among the state's districts that reported them); NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (schools).

Questions about Cumberland Academy

  1. How many schools and students are in Cumberland Academy?
    5 schools were open in 2024-25 (3 elementary, 1 middle, 1 high), enrolling 2,047 students, according to the NCES Common Core of Data.
  2. How much does Cumberland Academy spend per student?
    $9,608 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), which leaves out construction and debt; the Texas median for districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 is $12,244 and the U.S. figure is $16,260.
  3. Where does Cumberland Academy's money come from?
    $24,965,000 in revenue in fiscal year 2022-23: 80.5% state, 4.6% local and 14.9% federal (NCES F-33).
  4. How much does Cumberland Academy spend on teacher salaries?
    $7,289,000 in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), or $3,578 per student. Divided by the 179 full-time teachers in the NCES Common Core of Data for 2022-23 that is $40,641 per teacher, more than 9 in 100 Texas districts (state median $50,660). That is spending, not what a teacher is paid: the salary lines and the teacher count come from different files, and the result can differ widely from the average salary a district publishes. The district's salary schedule gives pay. For pay, the National Education Association put the average Texas teacher salary at $58,887 in 2021-22 (NCES Digest table 211.60).
  5. How do students in Cumberland Academy do on state tests?
    In 2021-22, the students tested in Cumberland Academy scored proficient or above: 45-49% in reading and 29-33% in math, against 52% in reading and 42% in math across Texas. Texas's own test sets what proficient means, so results compare within the state, not across states. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22.
  6. What is the graduation rate in Cumberland Academy?
    95% or more of the 186 students in Cumberland Academy's class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 90.3% across Texas. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23.
  7. What is Cumberland Academy's NCES district ID?
    4800034. Each of its schools' 12-digit NCES IDs begins with these seven digits.

Reading these figures: how to choose a school district, what Title I means and what an absenteeism rate means. They are for information and are not a substitute for the school's or district's own records.

Sources

Every federal file behind this record
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2024-25: directory, membership, staff and lunch files. nces.ed.gov
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2021-22 school characteristics: Title I status. nces.ed.gov
  • Civil Rights Data Collection, 2021-22: AP courses, gifted programs, counselors, discipline. civilrightsdata.ed.gov
  • EDFacts, 2022-23: chronic absenteeism. ed.gov
  • EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23: the class of 2023 for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
  • EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22: reading and math proficiency for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
  • NCES Digest of Education Statistics, table 211.60 (2021-22): the state's average teacher salary, from the National Education Association. nces.ed.gov
  • NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey, fiscal year 2022-23: district spending and revenue. nces.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau geocoder and TIGER school districts: the district boundary used by the district finder. census.gov

Source: NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey Revenue and expenditures by district · FY 2022-23

Source: NCES Common Core of Data School directory, membership, staff and lunch files · 2024-25