Corsica-Stickney Schools

Listed by NCES as Corsica-Stickney 21-3 (district ID 4680445)

Public school district · Douglas County · South Dakota · NCES district ID 4680445

Corsica-Stickney Schools spent $12,670 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23, below the middle: 60% of the other South Dakota districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022 spent more (median $13,524). Its 3 schools enrolled 274 students in 2024-25; 21.2% of its revenue came from the state. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $13,820 per student, up 9.1% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year). Its four-year graduation rate for the class of 2023 was 50% or more (South Dakota: 84%).

Spending per student among South Dakota districts of similar size

Current spending per student excludes construction and debt. The 9 districts closest to Corsica-Stickney Schools in enrollment (271 to 288 students) and Corsica-Stickney Schools itself.

Current spending per student, South Dakota districts closest in size to Corsica-Stickney Schools, FY23Menno School District 33-2 $15,003; Estelline School District 28-2 $14,690; Plankinton School District 01-1 $14,643; Wall $14,254; Lemmon School District 52-4 $13,696; Corsica-Stickney Schools $12,670; Waverly School District 14-5 $12,520; Mount Vernon $12,363; Woonsocket School District 55-4 $12,340; Ethan School District 17-1 $10,901; State median, under 1,000 students $13,524.8k10k12k14k16kMenno School District 33-2$15,003Estelline School District 28-2$14,690Plankinton School District 01-1$14,643Wall$14,254Lemmon School District 52-4$13,696Corsica-Stickney Schools$12,670Waverly School District 14-5$12,520Mount Vernon$12,363Woonsocket School District 55-4$12,340Ethan School District 17-1$10,901State median, under 1,000 students $13,524
Current spending per student, South Dakota districts closest in size to Corsica-Stickney Schools, FY23Menno School District 33-2 $15,003; Estelline School District 28-2 $14,690; Plankinton School District 01-1 $14,643; Wall $14,254; Lemmon School District 52-4 $13,696; Corsica-Stickney Schools $12,670; Waverly School District 14-5 $12,520; Mount Vernon $12,363; Woonsocket School District 55-4 $12,340; Ethan School District 17-1 $10,901; State median, under 1,000 students $13,524.8k10k12k14k16kMenno School District 33-2$15,003Estelline School District 28-2$14,690Plankinton School District 01-1$14,643Wall$14,254Lemmon School District 52-4$13,696Corsica-Stickney Schools$12,670Waverly School District 14-5$12,520Mount Vernon$12,363Woonsocket School District 55-4$12,340Ethan School District 17-1$10,901State median, under 1,000 students $13,524
Current spending per student, South Dakota districts closest in size to Corsica-Stickney Schools, FY23Menno School District 33-2 $15,003; Estelline School District 28-2 $14,690; Plankinton School District 01-1 $14,643; Wall $14,254; Lemmon School District 52-4 $13,696; Corsica-Stickney Schools $12,670; Waverly School District 14-5 $12,520; Mount Vernon $12,363; Woonsocket School District 55-4 $12,340; Ethan School District 17-1 $10,901; State median, under 1,000 students $13,524.8k12k16kMenno School District 33-2$15,003Estelline School District 28-2$14,690Plankinton School District 01-1$14,643Wall$14,254Lemmon School District 52-4$13,696Corsica-Stickney Schools$12,670Waverly School District 14-5$12,520Mount Vernon$12,363Woonsocket School District 55-4$12,340Ethan School District 17-1$10,901State median, under 1,000 students $13,524
Current spending per student, South Dakota districts closest in size to Corsica-Stickney Schools, FY23Menno School District 33-2 $15,003; Estelline School District 28-2 $14,690; Plankinton School District 01-1 $14,643; Wall $14,254; Lemmon School District 52-4 $13,696; Corsica-Stickney Schools $12,670; Waverly School District 14-5 $12,520; Mount Vernon $12,363; Woonsocket School District 55-4 $12,340; Ethan School District 17-1 $10,901; State median, under 1,000 students $13,524.8k12k16kMenno School District 33-2$15,003Estelline School District 28-2$14,690Plankinton School District 01-1$14,643Wall$14,254Lemmon School District 52-4$13,696Corsica-Stickney Schools$12,670Waverly School District 14-5$12,520Mount Vernon$12,363Woonsocket School District 55-4$12,340Ethan School District 17-1$10,901State median, under 1,000 students $13,524

Where the money came from

$4,670,000 in revenue: 21.2% state, 58.3% local and 20.5% federal. Total spending including $7,091,000 of capital outlay was $10,795,000, or $39,112 per student; the figure above leaves capital out.

Corsica-Stickney Schools revenue by source, fiscal year 2022-23State $990,000; Local $2,721,000; Federal $959,000; total $4,670,000.
  • State$990,000 21%
  • Local$2,721,000 58%
  • Federal$959,000 21%

Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23: current expenditures for elementary and secondary education divided by fall membership; the state median covers 125 districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022. Revenue by source (TOTALREV, TFEDREV, TSTREV, TLOCREV).

Enrollment held steady from 2022-23 to 2024-25

276 students in 2022-23, 267 students in 2023-24, 274 students in 2024-25, counted across the schools that reported each year.

Corsica-Stickney Schools enrollment by school year2022-23: 276, 2023-24: 267, 2024-25: 27401002003002022-232762023-242672024-25274
Corsica-Stickney Schools enrollment by school year2022-23: 276, 2023-24: 267, 2024-25: 27401002003002022-232762023-242672024-25274
Corsica-Stickney Schools enrollment by school year2022-23: 276, 2023-24: 267, 2024-25: 27401002003002022-232762023-242672024-25274
Corsica-Stickney Schools enrollment by school year2022-23: 276, 2023-24: 267, 2024-25: 27401002003002022-232762023-242672024-25274

Teachers and students per teacher

School yearStudentsTeachers (FTE)Per teacher
2022-2327622.812.1
2023-2426722.511.9
2024-2527423.511.7

Source: NCES Common Core of Data membership and staff files, 2022-23, 2023-24, 2024-25; sums over the schools reporting each year.

$1,139,000 in teacher salaries in fiscal year 2022-23, $4,127 per student

Corsica-Stickney Schools booked $1,139,000 of teacher salaries in its 2022-23 finance report and counted 23 full-time teachers in its Common Core of Data district staff file for 2022-23 (the school files behind the staffing figures on this page count teachers separately, so the two can differ), or $50,044 of salary spending per teacher. That is more than 51 in 100 South Dakota districts with a figure (state median $49,840, 141 districts). It is spending, not what a teacher is paid: the salary lines and the teacher count come from different files, so the result can differ widely from the average salary the district publishes (its salary schedule gives pay); benefits are left out, and states book salaries differently, so compare districts within one state. For pay, the National Education Association put the average South Dakota teacher salary at $49,761 in 2021-22 (NCES Digest table 211.60).

ProgramTeacher salariesShare
Regular programs$865,00075.9%
Special education$99,0008.7%
Vocational$115,00010.1%
Other programs$60,0005.3%

Teacher salaries per student, fiscal years 2018-19 to 2022-23

The district's teacher salary bill divided by its fall enrollment each year: $3,813 in 2018-19, $3,835 in 2019-20, $4,024 in 2020-21, $3,972 in 2021-22, $4,127 in 2022-23.

Corsica-Stickney Schools teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $3,813, 2019-20: $3,835, 2020-21: $4,024, 2021-22: $3,972, 2022-23: $4,12702k4k6k2018-19$3,8132019-20$3,8352020-21$4,0242021-22$3,9722022-23$4,127
Corsica-Stickney Schools teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $3,813, 2019-20: $3,835, 2020-21: $4,024, 2021-22: $3,972, 2022-23: $4,12702k4k6k2018-19$3,8132019-20$3,8352020-21$4,0242021-22$3,9722022-23$4,127
Corsica-Stickney Schools teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $3,813, 2019-20: $3,835, 2020-21: $4,024, 2021-22: $3,972, 2022-23: $4,12702k4k6k2018-19$3,8132019-20$3,8352020-21$4,0242021-22$3,9722022-23$4,127
Corsica-Stickney Schools teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $3,813, 2019-20: $3,835, 2020-21: $4,024, 2021-22: $3,972, 2022-23: $4,12702k4k6k2018-19$3,8132019-20$3,8352020-21$4,0242021-22$3,9722022-23$4,127

Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal years 2019 to 2023: teacher salaries in regular, special, vocational and other programs (Z35 to Z38) and fall membership (V33); NCES Common Core of Data LEA staff file 2022-23, teachers (full-time equivalent).

State test results, 2021-22

In 2021-22, the students tested in Corsica-Stickney Schools scored proficient or above: 60-64% in reading and 60-64% in math, against 51% in reading and 42.2% in math across South Dakota. Each state writes its own test and sets its own proficiency bar, so compare these within South Dakota, not across states.

Students proficient or above, 2021-22
SubjectThis districtSouth DakotaStudents tested
Reading and language arts60-64%51%134
Math60-64%42.2%134

Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results 2021-22, all students, from ED Data Express (the Data Rescue Project archive; ED has no 2022-23 result for this district): ED shows district results as ranges (for example 20-24%) to protect small groups.

Graduation rate, class of 2023

50% or more of the 15 students in Corsica-Stickney Schools' class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 84% across South Dakota. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out, and counts those who earned a regular diploma by 2023. Every state computes it the same way under federal law, though each sets its own diploma requirements.

Four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rate, class of 2023
This districtSouth Dakota
Four-year graduation rate50% or more84%
Students in the class159,963

Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates 2022-23, all students, from ED Data Express: ED shows district rates as ranges (for example 90-94%) and leaves out small classes.

1 elementary school, 150 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Corsica-Stickney Elementary - 0215014.09.3%Schoolwide program

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

1 middle school, 52 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Corsica-Stickney Jr. High - 035210.617.3%Eligible, no program

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

1 high school, 72 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Corsica-Stickney High School - 01729.28.3%Eligible, no program

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

Contact Corsica-Stickney Schools

Source: NCES Common Core of Data, local education agency directory 2024-25. Enrollment, boundaries and school assignment are the district's to confirm.

What to look at next about Corsica-Stickney Schools

  1. South Dakota districts by spending per studentCorsica-Stickney Schools ranks 76 of 125 South Dakota districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022 on current spending per student in fiscal year 2022-23 ($12,670).#76 of 125
  2. Every school district in South DakotaCorsica-Stickney Schools is the number 103 by size of 150 South Dakota districts, with 276 students in fall 2022 (F-33).#103 of 150
  3. Ethan School District 17-1The next larger South Dakota district: 283 students in fall 2022, $10,901 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$10,901
  4. Estelline School District 28-2The next smaller South Dakota district: 274 students in fall 2022, $14,690 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$14,690
  5. Compare Corsica-Stickney Schools with Ethan School District 17-1Enrollment, spending, revenue sources and schools, side by side.
  6. Corsica-Stickney High School - 01, its largest high school72 students in 2024-25, 9.2 per teacher.72
  7. Teacher salary spending across South DakotaCorsica-Stickney Schools spent $50,044 in salaries per full-time teacher in fiscal year 2022-23 (state median $49,840); spending, not a salary.$50,044
  8. Find the school district for an addressA home's district decides which public schools it can enroll in.

Source: NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23 (spending per student and fall 2022 membership; ranks among the state's districts that reported them); NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (schools).

Questions about Corsica-Stickney Schools

  1. How many schools and students are in Corsica-Stickney Schools?
    3 schools were open in 2024-25 (1 elementary, 1 middle, 1 high), enrolling 274 students, according to the NCES Common Core of Data.
  2. How much does Corsica-Stickney Schools spend per student?
    $12,670 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), which leaves out construction and debt; the South Dakota median for districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022 is $13,524 and the U.S. figure is $16,260. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $13,820 per student, up 9.1% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year).
  3. Where does Corsica-Stickney Schools' money come from?
    $4,670,000 in revenue in fiscal year 2022-23: 21.2% state, 58.3% local and 20.5% federal (NCES F-33).
  4. How many children in Corsica-Stickney Schools live in poverty?
    The Census Bureau estimates that 51 of the 374 children aged 5 to 17 living within the district's boundaries in 2024, 13.6%, were in families in poverty (Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates). It is a model-based estimate for everyone living in the district, not a count of its students; the free-meal shares in the school tables are counts of enrolled students.
  5. How much does Corsica-Stickney Schools spend on teacher salaries?
    $1,139,000 in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), or $4,127 per student. Divided by the 23 full-time teachers in the NCES Common Core of Data for 2022-23 that is $50,044 per teacher, more than 51 in 100 South Dakota districts (state median $49,840). That is spending, not what a teacher is paid: the salary lines and the teacher count come from different files, and the result can differ widely from the average salary a district publishes. The district's salary schedule gives pay. For pay, the National Education Association put the average South Dakota teacher salary at $49,761 in 2021-22 (NCES Digest table 211.60).
  6. How do students in Corsica-Stickney Schools do on state tests?
    In 2021-22, the students tested in Corsica-Stickney Schools scored proficient or above: 60-64% in reading and 60-64% in math, against 51% in reading and 42.2% in math across South Dakota. South Dakota's own test sets what proficient means, so results compare within the state, not across states. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22.
  7. What is the graduation rate in Corsica-Stickney Schools?
    50% or more of the 15 students in Corsica-Stickney Schools' class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 84% across South Dakota. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23.
  8. What is Corsica-Stickney Schools' NCES district ID?
    4680445. Each of its schools' 12-digit NCES IDs begins with these seven digits.

Reading these figures: how to choose a school district, what Title I means and what an absenteeism rate means. They are for information and are not a substitute for the school's or district's own records.

Sources

Every federal file behind this record
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2024-25: directory, membership, staff and lunch files. nces.ed.gov
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2021-22 school characteristics: Title I status. nces.ed.gov
  • Civil Rights Data Collection, 2021-22: AP courses, gifted programs, counselors, discipline. civilrightsdata.ed.gov
  • EDFacts, 2022-23: chronic absenteeism. ed.gov
  • EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23: the class of 2023 for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
  • EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22: reading and math proficiency for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
  • NCES Digest of Education Statistics, table 211.60 (2021-22): the state's average teacher salary, from the National Education Association. nces.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau, Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates, 2024: children aged 5 to 17 and those in families in poverty, by school district. census.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances, fiscal year 2023-24: per pupil current spending for 2023-24 and 2022-23. census.gov
  • NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey, fiscal year 2022-23: district spending and revenue. nces.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau geocoder and TIGER school districts: the district boundary used by the district finder. census.gov

Source: U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances Per pupil current spending by school system · FY 2023-24

Source: NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey Revenue and expenditures by district · FY 2022-23

Source: NCES Common Core of Data School directory, membership, staff and lunch files · 2024-25