Chase County Schools

Public school district · Chase County · Nebraska · NCES district ID 3100163

Chase County Schools spent $14,899 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23, below the middle: 89% of the other Nebraska districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022 spent more (median $18,474). Its 2 schools enrolled 429 students in 2024-25; 14.2% of its revenue came from the state. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $15,901 per student, up 6.7% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year). Its four-year graduation rate for the class of 2023 was 90% or more (Nebraska: 87.3%).

Spending per student among Nebraska districts of similar size

Current spending per student excludes construction and debt. The 9 districts closest to Chase County Schools in enrollment (590 to 649 students) and Chase County Schools itself.

Current spending per student, Nebraska districts closest in size to Chase County Schools, FY23Umo N Ho N Nation Public Schs $32,260; Winnebago Public Schools District 17 $25,245; Valentine Community Schools $20,396; Boone Central Schools $16,835; Fillmore Central Public Schs $15,223; Logan View Public Schools $15,086; Chase County Schools $14,899; Mitchell Public Schools $14,595; Wilber-Clatonia Public Schools $14,564; Malcolm Public Schools $14,376; State median, under 1,000 students $18,474.10k20k30k40kUmo N Ho N Nation Public Schs$32,260Winnebago Public Schools Distr…$25,245Valentine Community Schools$20,396Boone Central Schools$16,835Fillmore Central Public Schs$15,223Logan View Public Schools$15,086Chase County Schools$14,899Mitchell Public Schools$14,595Wilber-Clatonia Public Schools$14,564Malcolm Public Schools$14,376State median, under 1,000 students $18,474
Current spending per student, Nebraska districts closest in size to Chase County Schools, FY23Umo N Ho N Nation Public Schs $32,260; Winnebago Public Schools District 17 $25,245; Valentine Community Schools $20,396; Boone Central Schools $16,835; Fillmore Central Public Schs $15,223; Logan View Public Schools $15,086; Chase County Schools $14,899; Mitchell Public Schools $14,595; Wilber-Clatonia Public Schools $14,564; Malcolm Public Schools $14,376; State median, under 1,000 students $18,474.10k20k30k40kUmo N Ho N Nation Public Schs$32,260Winnebago Public Schools District 17$25,245Valentine Community Schools$20,396Boone Central Schools$16,835Fillmore Central Public Schs$15,223Logan View Public Schools$15,086Chase County Schools$14,899Mitchell Public Schools$14,595Wilber-Clatonia Public Schools$14,564Malcolm Public Schools$14,376State median, under 1,000 students $18,474
Current spending per student, Nebraska districts closest in size to Chase County Schools, FY23Umo N Ho N Nation Public Schs $32,260; Winnebago Public Schools District 17 $25,245; Valentine Community Schools $20,396; Boone Central Schools $16,835; Fillmore Central Public Schs $15,223; Logan View Public Schools $15,086; Chase County Schools $14,899; Mitchell Public Schools $14,595; Wilber-Clatonia Public Schools $14,564; Malcolm Public Schools $14,376; State median, under 1,000 students $18,474.10k20k30k40kUmo N Ho N Nation Public Schs$32,260Winnebago Public Schools District 17$25,245Valentine Community Schools$20,396Boone Central Schools$16,835Fillmore Central Public Schs$15,223Logan View Public Schools$15,086Chase County Schools$14,899Mitchell Public Schools$14,595Wilber-Clatonia Public Schools$14,564Malcolm Public Schools$14,376State median, under 1,000 students $18,474
Current spending per student, Nebraska districts closest in size to Chase County Schools, FY23Umo N Ho N Nation Public Schs $32,260; Winnebago Public Schools District 17 $25,245; Valentine Community Schools $20,396; Boone Central Schools $16,835; Fillmore Central Public Schs $15,223; Logan View Public Schools $15,086; Chase County Schools $14,899; Mitchell Public Schools $14,595; Wilber-Clatonia Public Schools $14,564; Malcolm Public Schools $14,376; State median, under 1,000 students $18,474.10k20k30k40kUmo N Ho N Nation Public Schs$32,260Winnebago Public Schools District 17$25,245Valentine Community Schools$20,396Boone Central Schools$16,835Fillmore Central Public Schs$15,223Logan View Public Schools$15,086Chase County Schools$14,899Mitchell Public Schools$14,595Wilber-Clatonia Public Schools$14,564Malcolm Public Schools$14,376State median, under 1,000 students $18,474

Where the money came from

$10,645,000 in revenue: 14.2% state, 78.4% local and 7.4% federal. Total spending including $1,023,000 of capital outlay was $10,384,000, or $16,614 per student; the figure above leaves capital out.

Chase County Schools revenue by source, fiscal year 2022-23State $1,509,000; Local $8,346,000; Federal $790,000; total $10,645,000.
  • State$1,509,000 14%
  • Local$8,346,000 78%
  • Federal$790,000 7%

Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23: current expenditures for elementary and secondary education divided by fall membership; the state median covers 201 districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022. Revenue by source (TOTALREV, TFEDREV, TSTREV, TLOCREV).

Enrollment fell from 2022-23 to 2024-25

625 students in 2022-23, 437 students in 2023-24, 429 students in 2024-25, counted across the schools that reported each year.

Chase County Schools enrollment by school year2022-23: 625, 2023-24: 437, 2024-25: 42902004006008002022-236252023-244372024-25429
Chase County Schools enrollment by school year2022-23: 625, 2023-24: 437, 2024-25: 42902004006008002022-236252023-244372024-25429
Chase County Schools enrollment by school year2022-23: 625, 2023-24: 437, 2024-25: 42902004006008002022-236252023-244372024-25429
Chase County Schools enrollment by school year2022-23: 625, 2023-24: 437, 2024-25: 42902004006008002022-236252023-244372024-25429

Teachers and students per teacher

School yearStudentsTeachers (FTE)Per teacher
2022-2362549.512.6
2023-2443739.311.1
2024-2542941.010.5

Source: NCES Common Core of Data membership and staff files, 2022-23, 2023-24, 2024-25; sums over the schools reporting each year.

$3,181,000 in teacher salaries in fiscal year 2022-23, $5,090 per student

Chase County Schools booked $3,181,000 of teacher salaries in its 2022-23 finance report and counted 50 full-time teachers in its Common Core of Data district staff file for 2022-23 (the school files behind the staffing figures on this page count teachers separately, so the two can differ), or $64,263 of salary spending per teacher. That is more than 68 in 100 Nebraska districts with a figure (state median $61,845, 215 districts). It is spending, not what a teacher is paid: the salary lines and the teacher count come from different files, so the result can differ widely from the average salary the district publishes (its salary schedule gives pay); benefits are left out, and states book salaries differently, so compare districts within one state. For pay, the National Education Association put the average Nebraska teacher salary at $57,420 in 2021-22 (NCES Digest table 211.60).

ProgramTeacher salariesShare
Regular programs$2,665,00083.8%
Special education$239,0007.5%
Other programs$277,0008.7%

Teacher salaries per student, fiscal years 2018-19 to 2022-23

The district's teacher salary bill divided by its fall enrollment each year: $4,371 in 2018-19, $4,804 in 2019-20, $4,303 in 2020-21, $4,860 in 2021-22, $5,090 in 2022-23.

Chase County Schools teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $4,371, 2019-20: $4,804, 2020-21: $4,303, 2021-22: $4,860, 2022-23: $5,09002k4k6k2018-19$4,3712019-20$4,8042020-21$4,3032021-22$4,8602022-23$5,090
Chase County Schools teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $4,371, 2019-20: $4,804, 2020-21: $4,303, 2021-22: $4,860, 2022-23: $5,09002k4k6k2018-19$4,3712019-20$4,8042020-21$4,3032021-22$4,8602022-23$5,090
Chase County Schools teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $4,371, 2019-20: $4,804, 2020-21: $4,303, 2021-22: $4,860, 2022-23: $5,09002k4k6k2018-19$4,3712019-20$4,8042020-21$4,3032021-22$4,8602022-23$5,090
Chase County Schools teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $4,371, 2019-20: $4,804, 2020-21: $4,303, 2021-22: $4,860, 2022-23: $5,09002k4k6k2018-19$4,3712019-20$4,8042020-21$4,3032021-22$4,8602022-23$5,090

Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal years 2019 to 2023: teacher salaries in regular, special, vocational and other programs (Z35 to Z38) and fall membership (V33); NCES Common Core of Data LEA staff file 2022-23, teachers (full-time equivalent).

State test results, 2021-22

In 2021-22, the students tested in Chase County Schools scored proficient or above: 57% in reading and 66% in math, against 47.1% in reading and 46% in math across Nebraska. Each state writes its own test and sets its own proficiency bar, so compare these within Nebraska, not across states.

Students proficient or above, 2021-22
SubjectThis districtNebraskaStudents tested
Reading and language arts57%47.1%337
Math66%46%337

Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results 2021-22, all students, from ED Data Express (the Data Rescue Project archive; ED has no 2022-23 result for this district): ED shows district results as ranges (for example 20-24%) to protect small groups.

Graduation rate, class of 2023

90% or more of the 37 students in Chase County Schools' class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 87.3% across Nebraska. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out, and counts those who earned a regular diploma by 2023. Every state computes it the same way under federal law, though each sets its own diploma requirements.

Four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rate, class of 2023
This districtNebraska
Four-year graduation rate90% or more87.3%
Students in the class3724,336

Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates 2022-23, all students, from ED Data Express: ED shows district rates as ranges (for example 90-94%) and leaves out small classes.

1 elementary school, 221 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Chase County Elementary School22110.037.6%Schoolwide program

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

1 high school, 208 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Chase County High School20811.135.1%Not Title I

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

Contact Chase County Schools

Source: NCES Common Core of Data, local education agency directory 2024-25. Enrollment, boundaries and school assignment are the district's to confirm.

What to look at next about Chase County Schools

  1. Nebraska districts by spending per studentChase County Schools ranks 180 of 201 Nebraska districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022 on current spending per student in fiscal year 2022-23 ($14,899).#180 of 201
  2. Every school district in NebraskaChase County Schools is the number 73 by size of 251 Nebraska districts, with 625 students in fall 2022 (F-33).#73 of 251
  3. Winnebago Public Schools District 17The next larger Nebraska district: 629 students in fall 2022, $25,245 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$25,245
  4. Wilber-Clatonia Public SchoolsThe next smaller Nebraska district: 624 students in fall 2022, $14,564 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$14,564
  5. Compare Chase County Schools with Winnebago Public Schools District 17Enrollment, spending, revenue sources and schools, side by side.
  6. Chase County High School, its largest high school208 students in 2024-25, 11.1 per teacher.208
  7. Teacher salary spending across NebraskaChase County Schools spent $64,263 in salaries per full-time teacher in fiscal year 2022-23 (state median $61,845); spending, not a salary.$64,263
  8. Find the school district for an addressA home's district decides which public schools it can enroll in.

Source: NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23 (spending per student and fall 2022 membership; ranks among the state's districts that reported them); NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (schools).

Questions about Chase County Schools

  1. How many schools and students are in Chase County Schools?
    2 schools were open in 2024-25 (1 elementary, 1 high), enrolling 429 students, according to the NCES Common Core of Data.
  2. How much does Chase County Schools spend per student?
    $14,899 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), which leaves out construction and debt; the Nebraska median for districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022 is $18,474 and the U.S. figure is $16,260. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $15,901 per student, up 6.7% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year).
  3. Where does Chase County Schools' money come from?
    $10,645,000 in revenue in fiscal year 2022-23: 14.2% state, 78.4% local and 7.4% federal (NCES F-33).
  4. How many children in Chase County Schools live in poverty?
    The Census Bureau estimates that 60 of the 588 children aged 5 to 17 living within the district's boundaries in 2024, 10.2%, were in families in poverty (Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates). It is a model-based estimate for everyone living in the district, not a count of its students; the free-meal shares in the school tables are counts of enrolled students.
  5. How much does Chase County Schools spend on teacher salaries?
    $3,181,000 in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), or $5,090 per student. Divided by the 50 full-time teachers in the NCES Common Core of Data for 2022-23 that is $64,263 per teacher, more than 68 in 100 Nebraska districts (state median $61,845). That is spending, not what a teacher is paid: the salary lines and the teacher count come from different files, and the result can differ widely from the average salary a district publishes. The district's salary schedule gives pay. For pay, the National Education Association put the average Nebraska teacher salary at $57,420 in 2021-22 (NCES Digest table 211.60).
  6. How do students in Chase County Schools do on state tests?
    In 2021-22, the students tested in Chase County Schools scored proficient or above: 57% in reading and 66% in math, against 47.1% in reading and 46% in math across Nebraska. Nebraska's own test sets what proficient means, so results compare within the state, not across states. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22.
  7. What is the graduation rate in Chase County Schools?
    90% or more of the 37 students in Chase County Schools' class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 87.3% across Nebraska. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23.
  8. What is Chase County Schools' NCES district ID?
    3100163. Each of its schools' 12-digit NCES IDs begins with these seven digits.

Reading these figures: how to choose a school district, what Title I means and what an absenteeism rate means. They are for information and are not a substitute for the school's or district's own records.

Sources

Every federal file behind this record
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2024-25: directory, membership, staff and lunch files. nces.ed.gov
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2021-22 school characteristics: Title I status. nces.ed.gov
  • Civil Rights Data Collection, 2021-22: AP courses, gifted programs, counselors, discipline. civilrightsdata.ed.gov
  • EDFacts, 2022-23: chronic absenteeism. ed.gov
  • EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23: the class of 2023 for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
  • EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22: reading and math proficiency for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
  • NCES Digest of Education Statistics, table 211.60 (2021-22): the state's average teacher salary, from the National Education Association. nces.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau, Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates, 2024: children aged 5 to 17 and those in families in poverty, by school district. census.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances, fiscal year 2023-24: per pupil current spending for 2023-24 and 2022-23. census.gov
  • NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey, fiscal year 2022-23: district spending and revenue. nces.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau geocoder and TIGER school districts: the district boundary used by the district finder. census.gov

Source: U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances Per pupil current spending by school system · FY 2023-24

Source: NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey Revenue and expenditures by district · FY 2022-23

Source: NCES Common Core of Data School directory, membership, staff and lunch files · 2024-25