Chamberlain School District

Listed by NCES as Chamberlain School District 07-1 (district ID 4612000)

Public school district · Brule County · South Dakota · NCES district ID 4612000

Chamberlain School District spent $14,079 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23, more than 55% of the other South Dakota districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022 (median $13,524). Its 3 schools enrolled 858 students in 2024-25; 14.4% of its revenue came from the state. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $13,940 per student, down 1.0% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year). Its four-year graduation rate for the class of 2023 was 80-89% (South Dakota: 84%).

Spending per student among South Dakota districts of similar size

Current spending per student excludes construction and debt. The 9 districts closest to Chamberlain in enrollment (736 to 945 students) and Chamberlain itself.

Current spending per student, South Dakota districts closest in size to Chamberlain, FY23Lead-Deadwood $18,954; Wagner Community School District 11-4 $15,825; Custer School District 16-1 $14,663; Chamberlain $14,079; Tri-Valley School District 49-6 $12,004; Canton School District 41-1 $11,514; Winner $10,722; Hot Springs School District 23-2 $10,609; Sioux Valley $9,934; Hamlin $9,580; State median, under 1,000 students $13,524.5k10k15k20kLead-Deadwood$18,954Wagner Community School Distri…$15,825Custer School District 16-1$14,663Chamberlain$14,079Tri-Valley School District 49-6$12,004Canton School District 41-1$11,514Winner$10,722Hot Springs School District 23…$10,609Sioux Valley$9,934Hamlin$9,580State median, under 1,000 students $13,524
Current spending per student, South Dakota districts closest in size to Chamberlain, FY23Lead-Deadwood $18,954; Wagner Community School District 11-4 $15,825; Custer School District 16-1 $14,663; Chamberlain $14,079; Tri-Valley School District 49-6 $12,004; Canton School District 41-1 $11,514; Winner $10,722; Hot Springs School District 23-2 $10,609; Sioux Valley $9,934; Hamlin $9,580; State median, under 1,000 students $13,524.5k10k15k20kLead-Deadwood$18,954Wagner Community School District 11…$15,825Custer School District 16-1$14,663Chamberlain$14,079Tri-Valley School District 49-6$12,004Canton School District 41-1$11,514Winner$10,722Hot Springs School District 23-2$10,609Sioux Valley$9,934Hamlin$9,580State median, under 1,000 students $13,524
Current spending per student, South Dakota districts closest in size to Chamberlain, FY23Lead-Deadwood $18,954; Wagner Community School District 11-4 $15,825; Custer School District 16-1 $14,663; Chamberlain $14,079; Tri-Valley School District 49-6 $12,004; Canton School District 41-1 $11,514; Winner $10,722; Hot Springs School District 23-2 $10,609; Sioux Valley $9,934; Hamlin $9,580; State median, under 1,000 students $13,524.5k10k15k20kLead-Deadwood$18,954Wagner Community School District 11-4$15,825Custer School District 16-1$14,663Chamberlain$14,079Tri-Valley School District 49-6$12,004Canton School District 41-1$11,514Winner$10,722Hot Springs School District 23-2$10,609Sioux Valley$9,934Hamlin$9,580State median, under 1,000 students $13,524
Current spending per student, South Dakota districts closest in size to Chamberlain, FY23Lead-Deadwood $18,954; Wagner Community School District 11-4 $15,825; Custer School District 16-1 $14,663; Chamberlain $14,079; Tri-Valley School District 49-6 $12,004; Canton School District 41-1 $11,514; Winner $10,722; Hot Springs School District 23-2 $10,609; Sioux Valley $9,934; Hamlin $9,580; State median, under 1,000 students $13,524.5k10k15k20kLead-Deadwood$18,954Wagner Community School District 11-4$15,825Custer School District 16-1$14,663Chamberlain$14,079Tri-Valley School District 49-6$12,004Canton School District 41-1$11,514Winner$10,722Hot Springs School District 23-2$10,609Sioux Valley$9,934Hamlin$9,580State median, under 1,000 students $13,524

Where the money came from

$27,650,000 in revenue: 14.4% state, 25.0% local and 60.6% federal. Total spending including $13,821,000 of capital outlay was $26,270,000, or $30,870 per student; the figure above leaves capital out.

Chamberlain School District revenue by source, fiscal year 2022-23State $3,975,000; Local $6,914,000; Federal $16,761,000; total $27,650,000.
  • State$3,975,000 14%
  • Local$6,914,000 25%
  • Federal$16,761,000 61%

Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23: current expenditures for elementary and secondary education divided by fall membership; the state median covers 125 districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022. Revenue by source (TOTALREV, TFEDREV, TSTREV, TLOCREV).

Enrollment held steady from 2022-23 to 2024-25

851 students in 2022-23, 848 students in 2023-24, 858 students in 2024-25, counted across the schools that reported each year.

Chamberlain School District enrollment by school year2022-23: 851, 2023-24: 848, 2024-25: 85802505007501k2022-238512023-248482024-25858
Chamberlain School District enrollment by school year2022-23: 851, 2023-24: 848, 2024-25: 85802505007501k2022-238512023-248482024-25858
Chamberlain School District enrollment by school year2022-23: 851, 2023-24: 848, 2024-25: 85802505007501k2022-238512023-248482024-25858
Chamberlain School District enrollment by school year2022-23: 851, 2023-24: 848, 2024-25: 85802505007501k2022-238512023-248482024-25858

Teachers and students per teacher

School yearStudentsTeachers (FTE)Per teacher
2022-2385179.510.7
2023-2484879.210.7
2024-2585880.610.6

Source: NCES Common Core of Data membership and staff files, 2022-23, 2023-24, 2024-25; sums over the schools reporting each year.

$3,742,000 in teacher salaries in fiscal year 2022-23, $4,397 per student

Chamberlain School District booked $3,742,000 of teacher salaries in its 2022-23 finance report and counted 80 full-time teachers in its Common Core of Data district staff file for 2022-23 (the school files behind the staffing figures on this page count teachers separately, so the two can differ), or $47,057 of salary spending per teacher. That is more than 28 in 100 South Dakota districts with a figure (state median $49,840, 141 districts). It is spending, not what a teacher is paid: the salary lines and the teacher count come from different files, so the result can differ widely from the average salary the district publishes (its salary schedule gives pay); benefits are left out, and states book salaries differently, so compare districts within one state. For pay, the National Education Association put the average South Dakota teacher salary at $49,761 in 2021-22 (NCES Digest table 211.60).

ProgramTeacher salariesShare
Regular programs$3,187,00085.2%
Special education$233,0006.2%
Vocational$113,0003.0%
Other programs$209,0005.6%

Teacher salaries per student, fiscal years 2018-19 to 2022-23

The district's teacher salary bill divided by its fall enrollment each year: $4,181 in 2018-19, $4,160 in 2019-20, $4,218 in 2020-21, $4,298 in 2021-22, $4,397 in 2022-23.

Chamberlain School District teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $4,181, 2019-20: $4,160, 2020-21: $4,218, 2021-22: $4,298, 2022-23: $4,39702k4k6k2018-19$4,1812019-20$4,1602020-21$4,2182021-22$4,2982022-23$4,397
Chamberlain School District teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $4,181, 2019-20: $4,160, 2020-21: $4,218, 2021-22: $4,298, 2022-23: $4,39702k4k6k2018-19$4,1812019-20$4,1602020-21$4,2182021-22$4,2982022-23$4,397
Chamberlain School District teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $4,181, 2019-20: $4,160, 2020-21: $4,218, 2021-22: $4,298, 2022-23: $4,39702k4k6k2018-19$4,1812019-20$4,1602020-21$4,2182021-22$4,2982022-23$4,397
Chamberlain School District teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $4,181, 2019-20: $4,160, 2020-21: $4,218, 2021-22: $4,298, 2022-23: $4,39702k4k6k2018-19$4,1812019-20$4,1602020-21$4,2182021-22$4,2982022-23$4,397

Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal years 2019 to 2023: teacher salaries in regular, special, vocational and other programs (Z35 to Z38) and fall membership (V33); NCES Common Core of Data LEA staff file 2022-23, teachers (full-time equivalent).

State test results, 2021-22

In 2021-22, the students tested in Chamberlain School District scored proficient or above: 46% in reading and 38% in math, against 51% in reading and 42.2% in math across South Dakota. Each state writes its own test and sets its own proficiency bar, so compare these within South Dakota, not across states.

Students proficient or above, 2021-22
SubjectThis districtSouth DakotaStudents tested
Reading and language arts46%51%436
Math38%42.2%436

Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results 2021-22, all students, from ED Data Express (the Data Rescue Project archive; ED has no 2022-23 result for this district): ED shows district results as ranges (for example 20-24%) to protect small groups.

Graduation rate, class of 2023

80-89% of the 55 students in Chamberlain School District's class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 84% across South Dakota. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out, and counts those who earned a regular diploma by 2023. Every state computes it the same way under federal law, though each sets its own diploma requirements.

Four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rate, class of 2023
This districtSouth Dakota
Four-year graduation rate80‑89%84%
Students in the class559,963

Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates 2022-23, all students, from ED Data Express: ED shows district rates as ranges (for example 90-94%) and leaves out small classes.

1 elementary school, 407 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Chamberlain Elementary - 0340710.251.4%Schoolwide program

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

1 middle school, 208 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Chamberlain Jr. High - 0220811.742.8%Schoolwide program

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

1 high school, 243 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Chamberlain High School - 0124310.639.1%Schoolwide program

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

Contact Chamberlain School District

Source: NCES Common Core of Data, local education agency directory 2024-25. Enrollment, boundaries and school assignment are the district's to confirm.

What to look at next about Chamberlain School District

  1. South Dakota districts by spending per studentChamberlain School District ranks 57 of 125 South Dakota districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022 on current spending per student in fiscal year 2022-23 ($14,079).#57 of 125
  2. Every school district in South DakotaChamberlain School District is the number 32 by size of 150 South Dakota districts, with 851 students in fall 2022 (F-33).#32 of 150
  3. Hamlin School DistrictThe next larger South Dakota district: 870 students in fall 2022, $9,580 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$9,580
  4. Winner School DistrictThe next smaller South Dakota district: 814 students in fall 2022, $10,722 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$10,722
  5. Compare Chamberlain School District with Hamlin School DistrictEnrollment, spending, revenue sources and schools, side by side.
  6. Chamberlain High School - 01, its largest high school243 students in 2024-25, 10.6 per teacher.243
  7. Teacher salary spending across South DakotaChamberlain School District spent $47,057 in salaries per full-time teacher in fiscal year 2022-23 (state median $49,840); spending, not a salary.$47,057
  8. Find the school district for an addressA home's district decides which public schools it can enroll in.

Source: NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23 (spending per student and fall 2022 membership; ranks among the state's districts that reported them); NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (schools).

Questions about Chamberlain School District

  1. How many schools and students are in Chamberlain School District?
    3 schools were open in 2024-25 (1 elementary, 1 middle, 1 high), enrolling 858 students, according to the NCES Common Core of Data.
  2. How much does Chamberlain School District spend per student?
    $14,079 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), which leaves out construction and debt; the South Dakota median for districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022 is $13,524 and the U.S. figure is $16,260. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $13,940 per student, down 1.0% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year).
  3. Where does Chamberlain School District's money come from?
    $27,650,000 in revenue in fiscal year 2022-23: 14.4% state, 25.0% local and 60.6% federal (NCES F-33).
  4. How many children in Chamberlain School District live in poverty?
    The Census Bureau estimates that 300 of the 1,235 children aged 5 to 17 living within the district's boundaries in 2024, 24.3%, were in families in poverty (Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates). It is a model-based estimate for everyone living in the district, not a count of its students; the free-meal shares in the school tables are counts of enrolled students.
  5. How much does Chamberlain School District spend on teacher salaries?
    $3,742,000 in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), or $4,397 per student. Divided by the 80 full-time teachers in the NCES Common Core of Data for 2022-23 that is $47,057 per teacher, more than 28 in 100 South Dakota districts (state median $49,840). That is spending, not what a teacher is paid: the salary lines and the teacher count come from different files, and the result can differ widely from the average salary a district publishes. The district's salary schedule gives pay. For pay, the National Education Association put the average South Dakota teacher salary at $49,761 in 2021-22 (NCES Digest table 211.60).
  6. How do students in Chamberlain School District do on state tests?
    In 2021-22, the students tested in Chamberlain School District scored proficient or above: 46% in reading and 38% in math, against 51% in reading and 42.2% in math across South Dakota. South Dakota's own test sets what proficient means, so results compare within the state, not across states. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22.
  7. What is the graduation rate in Chamberlain School District?
    80-89% of the 55 students in Chamberlain School District's class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 84% across South Dakota. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23.
  8. What is Chamberlain School District's NCES district ID?
    4612000. Each of its schools' 12-digit NCES IDs begins with these seven digits.

Reading these figures: how to choose a school district, what Title I means and what an absenteeism rate means. They are for information and are not a substitute for the school's or district's own records.

Sources

Every federal file behind this record
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2024-25: directory, membership, staff and lunch files. nces.ed.gov
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2021-22 school characteristics: Title I status. nces.ed.gov
  • Civil Rights Data Collection, 2021-22: AP courses, gifted programs, counselors, discipline. civilrightsdata.ed.gov
  • EDFacts, 2022-23: chronic absenteeism. ed.gov
  • EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23: the class of 2023 for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
  • EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22: reading and math proficiency for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
  • NCES Digest of Education Statistics, table 211.60 (2021-22): the state's average teacher salary, from the National Education Association. nces.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau, Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates, 2024: children aged 5 to 17 and those in families in poverty, by school district. census.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances, fiscal year 2023-24: per pupil current spending for 2023-24 and 2022-23. census.gov
  • NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey, fiscal year 2022-23: district spending and revenue. nces.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau geocoder and TIGER school districts: the district boundary used by the district finder. census.gov

Source: U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances Per pupil current spending by school system · FY 2023-24

Source: NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey Revenue and expenditures by district · FY 2022-23

Source: NCES Common Core of Data School directory, membership, staff and lunch files · 2024-25