Caledonia Cooperative Unified School District #78
Public school district · Caledonia County · Vermont · NCES district ID 5000412
Caledonia Cooperative Unified School District #78 spent $13,576 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23, below the middle: 84% of the other Vermont districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022 spent more (median $18,200). Its 3 schools enrolled 348 students in 2024-25; 97.0% of its revenue came from the state. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $14,491 per student, up 6.7% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year).
NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23 · Census Bureau school finances 2023-24 · NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 · method
Spending per student among Vermont districts of similar size
Current spending per student excludes construction and debt. The 9 districts closest to Caledonia Cooperative Unified School District #78 in enrollment (411 to 644 students) and Caledonia Cooperative Unified School District #78 itself.
Where the money came from
$13,162,000 in revenue: 97.0% state, 3.0% local and not reported federal. Total spending including $53,000 of capital outlay was $13,700,000, or $25,046 per student; the figure above leaves capital out.
- State$12,768,000 97%
- Local$394,000 3%
- Federal$0 0%
Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23: current expenditures for elementary and secondary education divided by fall membership; the state median covers 70 districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022. Revenue by source (TOTALREV, TFEDREV, TSTREV, TLOCREV).
Enrollment fell from 2022-23 to 2024-25
363 students in 2022-23, 375 students in 2023-24, 348 students in 2024-25, counted across the schools that reported each year.
Teachers and students per teacher
| School year | Students | Teachers (FTE) | Per teacher |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2022-23 | 363 | 43.0 | 8.4 |
| 2023-24 | 375 | 44.2 | 8.5 |
| 2024-25 | 348 | 40.3 | 8.6 |
Source: NCES Common Core of Data membership and staff files, 2022-23, 2023-24, 2024-25; sums over the schools reporting each year.
$2,875,000 in teacher salaries in fiscal year 2022-23, $5,256 per student
Caledonia Cooperative Unified School District #78 booked $2,875,000 of teacher salaries in its 2022-23 finance report and counted 43 full-time teachers in its Common Core of Data district staff file for 2022-23 (the school files behind the staffing figures on this page count teachers separately, so the two can differ), or $66,876 of salary spending per teacher. That is more than 47 in 100 Vermont districts with a figure (state median $67,643, 97 districts). It is spending, not what a teacher is paid: the salary lines and the teacher count come from different files, so the result can differ widely from the average salary the district publishes (its salary schedule gives pay); benefits are left out, and states book salaries differently, so compare districts within one state. For pay, the National Education Association put the average Vermont teacher salary at $62,866 in 2021-22 (NCES Digest table 211.60).
Teacher salaries per student, fiscal years 2018-19 to 2022-23
The district's teacher salary bill divided by its fall enrollment each year: $3,950 in 2018-19, $5,556 in 2019-20, $4,860 in 2020-21, $4,714 in 2021-22, $5,256 in 2022-23.
Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal years 2019 to 2023: teacher salaries in regular, special, vocational and other programs (Z35 to Z38) and fall membership (V33); NCES Common Core of Data LEA staff file 2022-23, teachers (full-time equivalent).
3 elementary schools, 348 students
| School | Students | Per teacher | Free lunch | Title I, 2021‑22 |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Waterford Elementary School | 140 | 12.0 | 37.1% | Schoolwide program |
| Barnet Elementary School | 135 | 7.1 | 41.5% | Schoolwide program |
| Walden School | 73 | 7.5 | 56.2% | Schoolwide program |
Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.
Contact Caledonia Cooperative Unified School District #78
- Website: ccsuonline.org
- Phone: (802) 684-3801
- Office: US Route 2 West, Danville, VT 05828
Source: NCES Common Core of Data, local education agency directory 2024-25. Enrollment, boundaries and school assignment are the district's to confirm.
What to look at next about Caledonia Cooperative Unified School District #78
- Vermont districts by spending per studentCaledonia Cooperative Unified School District #78 ranks 59 of 70 Vermont districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022 on current spending per student in fiscal year 2022-23 ($13,576).#59 of 70
- Every school district in VermontCaledonia Cooperative Unified School District #78 is the number 47 by size of 116 Vermont districts, with 547 students in fall 2022 (F-33).#47 of 116
- Lamoille North Modified Union School District #058AThe next larger Vermont district: 629 students in fall 2022, $24,385 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$24,385
- Rockingham School DistrictThe next smaller Vermont district: 532 students in fall 2022, $13,184 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$13,184
- Compare Caledonia Cooperative Unified School District #78 with Lamoille North Modified Union School District #058AEnrollment, spending, revenue sources and schools, side by side.
- Teacher salary spending across VermontCaledonia Cooperative Unified School District #78 spent $66,876 in salaries per full-time teacher in fiscal year 2022-23 (state median $67,643); spending, not a salary.$66,876
- Find the school district for an addressA home's district decides which public schools it can enroll in.
Source: NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23 (spending per student and fall 2022 membership; ranks among the state's districts that reported them); NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (schools).
Questions about Caledonia Cooperative Unified School District #78
How many schools and students are in Caledonia Cooperative Unified School District #78?
3 schools were open in 2024-25 (3 elementary), enrolling 348 students, according to the NCES Common Core of Data.How much does Caledonia Cooperative Unified School District #78 spend per student?
$13,576 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), which leaves out construction and debt; the Vermont median for districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022 is $18,200 and the U.S. figure is $16,260. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $14,491 per student, up 6.7% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year).Where does Caledonia Cooperative Unified School District #78's money come from?
$13,162,000 in revenue in fiscal year 2022-23: 97.0% state, 3.0% local and not reported federal (NCES F-33).How much does Caledonia Cooperative Unified School District #78 spend on teacher salaries?
$2,875,000 in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), or $5,256 per student. Divided by the 43 full-time teachers in the NCES Common Core of Data for 2022-23 that is $66,876 per teacher, more than 47 in 100 Vermont districts (state median $67,643). That is spending, not what a teacher is paid: the salary lines and the teacher count come from different files, and the result can differ widely from the average salary a district publishes. The district's salary schedule gives pay. For pay, the National Education Association put the average Vermont teacher salary at $62,866 in 2021-22 (NCES Digest table 211.60).What is Caledonia Cooperative Unified School District #78's NCES district ID?
5000412. Each of its schools' 12-digit NCES IDs begins with these seven digits.
Reading these figures: how to choose a school district, what Title I means and what an absenteeism rate means. They are for information and are not a substitute for the school's or district's own records.
Sources
Every federal file behind this record
- NCES Common Core of Data, 2024-25: directory, membership, staff and lunch files. nces.ed.gov
- NCES Common Core of Data, 2021-22 school characteristics: Title I status. nces.ed.gov
- Civil Rights Data Collection, 2021-22: AP courses, gifted programs, counselors, discipline. civilrightsdata.ed.gov
- EDFacts, 2022-23: chronic absenteeism. ed.gov
- NCES Digest of Education Statistics, table 211.60 (2021-22): the state's average teacher salary, from the National Education Association. nces.ed.gov
- U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances, fiscal year 2023-24: per pupil current spending for 2023-24 and 2022-23. census.gov
- NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey, fiscal year 2022-23: district spending and revenue. nces.ed.gov
- U.S. Census Bureau geocoder and TIGER school districts: the district boundary used by the district finder. census.gov
Source: U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances Per pupil current spending by school system · FY 2023-24
Source: NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey Revenue and expenditures by district · FY 2022-23
Source: NCES Common Core of Data School directory, membership, staff and lunch files · 2024-25