Butterfield-Odin Public Schools

Public school district · Watonwan County · Minnesota · NCES district ID 2707320

Butterfield-Odin Public Schools spent $17,533 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23, more than 74% of the other Minnesota districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022 (median $15,094). Its 2 schools enrolled 213 students in 2024-25; 76.7% of its revenue came from the state. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $18,595 per student, up 6.1% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year). Its four-year graduation rate for the class of 2023 was 80% or more (Minnesota: 83.3%).

Spending per student among Minnesota districts of similar size

Current spending per student excludes construction and debt. The 9 districts closest to Butterfield-Odin Public Schools in enrollment (219 to 235 students) and Butterfield-Odin Public Schools itself.

Current spending per student, Minnesota districts closest in size to Butterfield-Odin Public Schools, FY23SciTech Academy Charter School $20,485; Greenbush Middle River School District 2683 $20,359; Badger Independent School District 676 $18,453; Cannon River STEM School $17,932; Butterfield-Odin Public Schools $17,533; Fisher-School $17,116; Cyber Village Academy $16,278; St. Paul School of Northern Lights $15,800; Marine Area Community School $15,091; Minnesota Online High School $13,175; State median, under 1,000 students $15,094.10k12.5k15k17.5k20k22.5kSciTech Academy Charter School$20,485Greenbush Middle River School …$20,359Badger Independent School Dist…$18,453Cannon River STEM School$17,932Butterfield-Odin Public Schools$17,533Fisher-School$17,116Cyber Village Academy$16,278St. Paul School of Northern Li…$15,800Marine Area Community School$15,091Minnesota Online High School$13,175State median, under 1,000 students $15,094
Current spending per student, Minnesota districts closest in size to Butterfield-Odin Public Schools, FY23SciTech Academy Charter School $20,485; Greenbush Middle River School District 2683 $20,359; Badger Independent School District 676 $18,453; Cannon River STEM School $17,932; Butterfield-Odin Public Schools $17,533; Fisher-School $17,116; Cyber Village Academy $16,278; St. Paul School of Northern Lights $15,800; Marine Area Community School $15,091; Minnesota Online High School $13,175; State median, under 1,000 students $15,094.10k12.5k15k17.5k20k22.5kSciTech Academy Charter School$20,485Greenbush Middle River School Distr…$20,359Badger Independent School District …$18,453Cannon River STEM School$17,932Butterfield-Odin Public Schools$17,533Fisher-School$17,116Cyber Village Academy$16,278St. Paul School of Northern Lights$15,800Marine Area Community School$15,091Minnesota Online High School$13,175State median, under 1,000 students $15,094
Current spending per student, Minnesota districts closest in size to Butterfield-Odin Public Schools, FY23SciTech Academy Charter School $20,485; Greenbush Middle River School District 2683 $20,359; Badger Independent School District 676 $18,453; Cannon River STEM School $17,932; Butterfield-Odin Public Schools $17,533; Fisher-School $17,116; Cyber Village Academy $16,278; St. Paul School of Northern Lights $15,800; Marine Area Community School $15,091; Minnesota Online High School $13,175; State median, under 1,000 students $15,094.10k15k20k22.5kSciTech Academy Charter School$20,485Greenbush Middle River School District 2683$20,359Badger Independent School District 676$18,453Cannon River STEM School$17,932Butterfield-Odin Public Schools$17,533Fisher-School$17,116Cyber Village Academy$16,278St. Paul School of Northern Lights$15,800Marine Area Community School$15,091Minnesota Online High School$13,175State median, under 1,000 students $15,094
Current spending per student, Minnesota districts closest in size to Butterfield-Odin Public Schools, FY23SciTech Academy Charter School $20,485; Greenbush Middle River School District 2683 $20,359; Badger Independent School District 676 $18,453; Cannon River STEM School $17,932; Butterfield-Odin Public Schools $17,533; Fisher-School $17,116; Cyber Village Academy $16,278; St. Paul School of Northern Lights $15,800; Marine Area Community School $15,091; Minnesota Online High School $13,175; State median, under 1,000 students $15,094.10k15k20k22.5kSciTech Academy Charter School$20,485Greenbush Middle River School District…$20,359Badger Independent School District 676$18,453Cannon River STEM School$17,932Butterfield-Odin Public Schools$17,533Fisher-School$17,116Cyber Village Academy$16,278St. Paul School of Northern Lights$15,800Marine Area Community School$15,091Minnesota Online High School$13,175State median, under 1,000 students $15,094

Where the money came from

$3,849,000 in revenue: 76.7% state, 14.0% local and 9.3% federal. Total spending including $276,000 of capital outlay was $4,519,000, or $19,907 per student; the figure above leaves capital out.

Butterfield-Odin Public Schools revenue by source, fiscal year 2022-23State $2,952,000; Local $538,000; Federal $359,000; total $3,849,000.
  • State$2,952,000 77%
  • Local$538,000 14%
  • Federal$359,000 9%

Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23: current expenditures for elementary and secondary education divided by fall membership; the state median covers 346 districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022. Revenue by source (TOTALREV, TFEDREV, TSTREV, TLOCREV).

Enrollment fell from 2022-23 to 2024-25

227 students in 2022-23, 210 students in 2023-24, 213 students in 2024-25, counted across the schools that reported each year.

Butterfield-Odin Public Schools enrollment by school year2022-23: 227, 2023-24: 210, 2024-25: 21301002003002022-232272023-242102024-25213
Butterfield-Odin Public Schools enrollment by school year2022-23: 227, 2023-24: 210, 2024-25: 21301002003002022-232272023-242102024-25213
Butterfield-Odin Public Schools enrollment by school year2022-23: 227, 2023-24: 210, 2024-25: 21301002003002022-232272023-242102024-25213
Butterfield-Odin Public Schools enrollment by school year2022-23: 227, 2023-24: 210, 2024-25: 21301002003002022-232272023-242102024-25213

Teachers and students per teacher

School yearStudentsTeachers (FTE)Per teacher
2022-2322720.810.9
2023-2421020.610.2
2024-2521322.19.6

Source: NCES Common Core of Data membership and staff files, 2022-23, 2023-24, 2024-25; sums over the schools reporting each year.

$1,307,000 in teacher salaries in fiscal year 2022-23, $5,758 per student

Butterfield-Odin Public Schools booked $1,307,000 of teacher salaries in its 2022-23 finance report and counted 24 full-time teachers in its Common Core of Data district staff file for 2022-23 (the school files behind the staffing figures on this page count teachers separately, so the two can differ), or $53,391 of salary spending per teacher. That is more than 18 in 100 Minnesota districts with a figure (state median $62,418, 464 districts). It is spending, not what a teacher is paid: the salary lines and the teacher count come from different files, so the result can differ widely from the average salary the district publishes (its salary schedule gives pay); benefits are left out, and states book salaries differently, so compare districts within one state. For pay, the National Education Association put the average Minnesota teacher salary at $68,491 in 2021-22 (NCES Digest table 211.60).

ProgramTeacher salariesShare
Regular programs$1,102,00084.3%
Special education$182,00013.9%
Vocational$23,0001.8%

Teacher salaries per student, fiscal years 2018-19 to 2022-23

The district's teacher salary bill divided by its fall enrollment each year: $5,361 in 2018-19, $4,932 in 2019-20, $4,945 in 2020-21, $5,226 in 2021-22, $5,758 in 2022-23.

Butterfield-Odin Public Schools teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $5,361, 2019-20: $4,932, 2020-21: $4,945, 2021-22: $5,226, 2022-23: $5,75802k4k6k2018-19$5,3612019-20$4,9322020-21$4,9452021-22$5,2262022-23$5,758
Butterfield-Odin Public Schools teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $5,361, 2019-20: $4,932, 2020-21: $4,945, 2021-22: $5,226, 2022-23: $5,75802k4k6k2018-19$5,3612019-20$4,9322020-21$4,9452021-22$5,2262022-23$5,758
Butterfield-Odin Public Schools teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $5,361, 2019-20: $4,932, 2020-21: $4,945, 2021-22: $5,226, 2022-23: $5,75802k4k6k2018-19$5,3612019-20$4,9322020-21$4,9452021-22$5,2262022-23$5,758
Butterfield-Odin Public Schools teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $5,361, 2019-20: $4,932, 2020-21: $4,945, 2021-22: $5,226, 2022-23: $5,75802k4k6k2018-19$5,3612019-20$4,9322020-21$4,9452021-22$5,2262022-23$5,758

Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal years 2019 to 2023: teacher salaries in regular, special, vocational and other programs (Z35 to Z38) and fall membership (V33); NCES Common Core of Data LEA staff file 2022-23, teachers (full-time equivalent).

State test results, 2021-22

In 2021-22, the students tested in Butterfield-Odin Public Schools scored proficient or above: 25-29% in reading and 25-29% in math, against 51.1% in reading and 44.8% in math across Minnesota. Each state writes its own test and sets its own proficiency bar, so compare these within Minnesota, not across states.

Students proficient or above, 2021-22
SubjectThis districtMinnesotaStudents tested
Reading and language arts25-29%51.1%110
Math25-29%44.8%109

Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results 2021-22, all students, from ED Data Express (the Data Rescue Project archive; ED has no 2022-23 result for this district): ED shows district results as ranges (for example 20-24%) to protect small groups.

Graduation rate, class of 2023

80% or more of the 22 students in Butterfield-Odin Public Schools' class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 83.3% across Minnesota. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out, and counts those who earned a regular diploma by 2023. Every state computes it the same way under federal law, though each sets its own diploma requirements.

Four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rate, class of 2023
This districtMinnesota
Four-year graduation rate80% or more83.3%
Students in the class2269,945

Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates 2022-23, all students, from ED Data Express: ED shows district rates as ranges (for example 90-94%) and leaves out small classes.

1 elementary school, 110 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Butterfield Elementary1108.661.8%Targeted program

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

1 high school, 103 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Butterfield Secondary10311.049.5%Eligible, no program

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

Contact Butterfield-Odin Public Schools

Source: NCES Common Core of Data, local education agency directory 2024-25. Enrollment, boundaries and school assignment are the district's to confirm.

What to look at next about Butterfield-Odin Public Schools

  1. Minnesota districts by spending per studentButterfield-Odin Public Schools ranks 92 of 346 Minnesota districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022 on current spending per student in fiscal year 2022-23 ($17,533).#92 of 346
  2. Every school district in MinnesotaButterfield-Odin Public Schools is the number 394 by size of 543 Minnesota districts, with 227 students in fall 2022 (F-33).#394 of 543
  3. Fisher-SchoolThe next larger Minnesota district: 232 students in fall 2022, $17,116 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$17,116
  4. St. Paul School of Northern LightsThe next smaller Minnesota district: 225 students in fall 2022, $15,800 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$15,800
  5. Compare Butterfield-Odin Public Schools with Fisher-SchoolEnrollment, spending, revenue sources and schools, side by side.
  6. Butterfield Secondary, its largest high school103 students in 2024-25, 11.0 per teacher.103
  7. Teacher salary spending across MinnesotaButterfield-Odin Public Schools spent $53,391 in salaries per full-time teacher in fiscal year 2022-23 (state median $62,418); spending, not a salary.$53,391
  8. Find the school district for an addressA home's district decides which public schools it can enroll in.

Source: NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23 (spending per student and fall 2022 membership; ranks among the state's districts that reported them); NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (schools).

Questions about Butterfield-Odin Public Schools

  1. How many schools and students are in Butterfield-Odin Public Schools?
    2 schools were open in 2024-25 (1 elementary, 1 high), enrolling 213 students, according to the NCES Common Core of Data.
  2. How much does Butterfield-Odin Public Schools spend per student?
    $17,533 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), which leaves out construction and debt; the Minnesota median for districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022 is $15,094 and the U.S. figure is $16,260. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $18,595 per student, up 6.1% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year).
  3. Where does Butterfield-Odin Public Schools' money come from?
    $3,849,000 in revenue in fiscal year 2022-23: 76.7% state, 14.0% local and 9.3% federal (NCES F-33).
  4. How many children in Butterfield-Odin Public Schools live in poverty?
    The Census Bureau estimates that 20 of the 224 children aged 5 to 17 living within the district's boundaries in 2024, 8.9%, were in families in poverty (Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates). It is a model-based estimate for everyone living in the district, not a count of its students; the free-meal shares in the school tables are counts of enrolled students.
  5. How much does Butterfield-Odin Public Schools spend on teacher salaries?
    $1,307,000 in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), or $5,758 per student. Divided by the 24 full-time teachers in the NCES Common Core of Data for 2022-23 that is $53,391 per teacher, more than 18 in 100 Minnesota districts (state median $62,418). That is spending, not what a teacher is paid: the salary lines and the teacher count come from different files, and the result can differ widely from the average salary a district publishes. The district's salary schedule gives pay. For pay, the National Education Association put the average Minnesota teacher salary at $68,491 in 2021-22 (NCES Digest table 211.60).
  6. How do students in Butterfield-Odin Public Schools do on state tests?
    In 2021-22, the students tested in Butterfield-Odin Public Schools scored proficient or above: 25-29% in reading and 25-29% in math, against 51.1% in reading and 44.8% in math across Minnesota. Minnesota's own test sets what proficient means, so results compare within the state, not across states. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22.
  7. What is the graduation rate in Butterfield-Odin Public Schools?
    80% or more of the 22 students in Butterfield-Odin Public Schools' class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 83.3% across Minnesota. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23.
  8. What is Butterfield-Odin Public Schools' NCES district ID?
    2707320. Each of its schools' 12-digit NCES IDs begins with these seven digits.

Reading these figures: how to choose a school district, what Title I means and what an absenteeism rate means. They are for information and are not a substitute for the school's or district's own records.

Sources

Every federal file behind this record
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2024-25: directory, membership, staff and lunch files. nces.ed.gov
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2021-22 school characteristics: Title I status. nces.ed.gov
  • Civil Rights Data Collection, 2021-22: AP courses, gifted programs, counselors, discipline. civilrightsdata.ed.gov
  • EDFacts, 2022-23: chronic absenteeism. ed.gov
  • EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23: the class of 2023 for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
  • EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22: reading and math proficiency for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
  • NCES Digest of Education Statistics, table 211.60 (2021-22): the state's average teacher salary, from the National Education Association. nces.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau, Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates, 2024: children aged 5 to 17 and those in families in poverty, by school district. census.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances, fiscal year 2023-24: per pupil current spending for 2023-24 and 2022-23. census.gov
  • NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey, fiscal year 2022-23: district spending and revenue. nces.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau geocoder and TIGER school districts: the district boundary used by the district finder. census.gov

Source: U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances Per pupil current spending by school system · FY 2023-24

Source: NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey Revenue and expenditures by district · FY 2022-23

Source: NCES Common Core of Data School directory, membership, staff and lunch files · 2024-25