Bishop CISD

Public school district · Nueces County · Texas · NCES district ID 4810260

Bishop CISD spent $14,962 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23, more than 93% of the other Texas districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 (median $12,244). Its 5 schools enrolled 1,463 students in 2024-25; 34.0% of its revenue came from the state. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $15,819 per student, up 5.7% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year). Its four-year graduation rate for the class of 2023 was 95% or more (Texas: 90.3%).

Spending per student among Texas districts of similar size

Current spending per student excludes construction and debt. The 9 districts closest to Bishop CISD in enrollment (1,396 to 1,432 students) and Bishop CISD itself.

Current spending per student, Texas districts closest in size to Bishop CISD, FY23Lyford CISD $16,721; Bishop CISD $14,962; Westwood ISD $12,562; Breckenridge ISD $12,038; Luling ISD $11,902; High Point Academy $10,429; Grandview ISD $10,391; Beta Academy $9,492; Imagine International Academy of North Texas $8,679; Compass Academy Charter School $7,401; State median, 1,000+ students $12,244.5k10k15k20kLyford CISD$16,721Bishop CISD$14,962Westwood ISD$12,562Breckenridge ISD$12,038Luling ISD$11,902High Point Academy$10,429Grandview ISD$10,391Beta Academy$9,492Imagine International Academy …$8,679Compass Academy Charter School$7,401State median, 1,000+ students $12,244
Current spending per student, Texas districts closest in size to Bishop CISD, FY23Lyford CISD $16,721; Bishop CISD $14,962; Westwood ISD $12,562; Breckenridge ISD $12,038; Luling ISD $11,902; High Point Academy $10,429; Grandview ISD $10,391; Beta Academy $9,492; Imagine International Academy of North Texas $8,679; Compass Academy Charter School $7,401; State median, 1,000+ students $12,244.5k10k15k20kLyford CISD$16,721Bishop CISD$14,962Westwood ISD$12,562Breckenridge ISD$12,038Luling ISD$11,902High Point Academy$10,429Grandview ISD$10,391Beta Academy$9,492Imagine International Academy of No…$8,679Compass Academy Charter School$7,401State median, 1,000+ students $12,244
Current spending per student, Texas districts closest in size to Bishop CISD, FY23Lyford CISD $16,721; Bishop CISD $14,962; Westwood ISD $12,562; Breckenridge ISD $12,038; Luling ISD $11,902; High Point Academy $10,429; Grandview ISD $10,391; Beta Academy $9,492; Imagine International Academy of North Texas $8,679; Compass Academy Charter School $7,401; State median, 1,000+ students $12,244.5k10k15k20kLyford CISD$16,721Bishop CISD$14,962Westwood ISD$12,562Breckenridge ISD$12,038Luling ISD$11,902High Point Academy$10,429Grandview ISD$10,391Beta Academy$9,492Imagine International Academy of North Texas$8,679Compass Academy Charter School$7,401State median, 1,000+ students $12,244
Current spending per student, Texas districts closest in size to Bishop CISD, FY23Lyford CISD $16,721; Bishop CISD $14,962; Westwood ISD $12,562; Breckenridge ISD $12,038; Luling ISD $11,902; High Point Academy $10,429; Grandview ISD $10,391; Beta Academy $9,492; Imagine International Academy of North Texas $8,679; Compass Academy Charter School $7,401; State median, 1,000+ students $12,244.5k10k15k20kLyford CISD$16,721Bishop CISD$14,962Westwood ISD$12,562Breckenridge ISD$12,038Luling ISD$11,902High Point Academy$10,429Grandview ISD$10,391Beta Academy$9,492Imagine International Academy of North…$8,679Compass Academy Charter School$7,401State median, 1,000+ students $12,244

Where the money came from

$23,505,000 in revenue: 34.0% state, 49.7% local and 16.3% federal. Total spending including $1,849,000 of capital outlay was $24,186,000, or $17,153 per student; the figure above leaves capital out.

Bishop CISD revenue by source, fiscal year 2022-23State $7,991,000; Local $11,671,000; Federal $3,843,000; total $23,505,000.
  • State$7,991,000 34%
  • Local$11,671,000 50%
  • Federal$3,843,000 16%

Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23: current expenditures for elementary and secondary education divided by fall membership; the state median covers 577 districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022. Revenue by source (TOTALREV, TFEDREV, TSTREV, TLOCREV).

Enrollment rose from 2022-23 to 2024-25

1,410 students in 2022-23, 1,362 students in 2023-24, 1,463 students in 2024-25, counted across the schools that reported each year.

Bishop CISD enrollment by school year2022-23: 1,410, 2023-24: 1,362, 2024-25: 1,46305001k1.5k2022-231,4102023-241,3622024-251,463
Bishop CISD enrollment by school year2022-23: 1,410, 2023-24: 1,362, 2024-25: 1,46305001k1.5k2022-231,4102023-241,3622024-251,463
Bishop CISD enrollment by school year2022-23: 1,410, 2023-24: 1,362, 2024-25: 1,46305001k1.5k2022-231,4102023-241,3622024-251,463
Bishop CISD enrollment by school year2022-23: 1,410, 2023-24: 1,362, 2024-25: 1,46305001k1.5k2022-231,4102023-241,3622024-251,463

Teachers and students per teacher

School yearStudentsTeachers (FTE)Per teacher
2022-231,410108.613.0
2023-241,362104.013.1
2024-251,463101.314.4

Source: NCES Common Core of Data membership and staff files, 2022-23, 2023-24, 2024-25; sums over the schools reporting each year.

$6,034,000 in teacher salaries in fiscal year 2022-23, $4,279 per student

Bishop CISD booked $6,034,000 of teacher salaries in its 2022-23 finance report and counted 109 full-time teachers in its Common Core of Data district staff file for 2022-23 (the school files behind the staffing figures on this page count teachers separately, so the two can differ), or $55,546 of salary spending per teacher. That is more than 76 in 100 Texas districts with a figure (state median $50,660, 1,054 districts). It is spending, not what a teacher is paid: the salary lines and the teacher count come from different files, so the result can differ widely from the average salary the district publishes (its salary schedule gives pay); benefits are left out, and states book salaries differently, so compare districts within one state. For pay, the National Education Association put the average Texas teacher salary at $58,887 in 2021-22 (NCES Digest table 211.60).

ProgramTeacher salariesShare
Regular programs$4,356,00072.2%
Special education$532,0008.8%
Vocational$645,00010.7%
Other programs$501,0008.3%

Teacher salaries per student, fiscal years 2018-19 to 2022-23

The district's teacher salary bill divided by its fall enrollment each year: $3,521 in 2018-19, $3,531 in 2019-20, $3,901 in 2020-21, $4,025 in 2021-22, $4,279 in 2022-23.

Bishop CISD teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $3,521, 2019-20: $3,531, 2020-21: $3,901, 2021-22: $4,025, 2022-23: $4,27902k4k6k2018-19$3,5212019-20$3,5312020-21$3,9012021-22$4,0252022-23$4,279
Bishop CISD teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $3,521, 2019-20: $3,531, 2020-21: $3,901, 2021-22: $4,025, 2022-23: $4,27902k4k6k2018-19$3,5212019-20$3,5312020-21$3,9012021-22$4,0252022-23$4,279
Bishop CISD teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $3,521, 2019-20: $3,531, 2020-21: $3,901, 2021-22: $4,025, 2022-23: $4,27902k4k6k2018-19$3,5212019-20$3,5312020-21$3,9012021-22$4,0252022-23$4,279
Bishop CISD teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $3,521, 2019-20: $3,531, 2020-21: $3,901, 2021-22: $4,025, 2022-23: $4,27902k4k6k2018-19$3,5212019-20$3,5312020-21$3,9012021-22$4,0252022-23$4,279

Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal years 2019 to 2023: teacher salaries in regular, special, vocational and other programs (Z35 to Z38) and fall membership (V33); NCES Common Core of Data LEA staff file 2022-23, teachers (full-time equivalent).

State test results, 2021-22

In 2021-22, the students tested in Bishop CISD scored proficient or above: 55-59% in reading and 50-54% in math, against 52% in reading and 42% in math across Texas. Each state writes its own test and sets its own proficiency bar, so compare these within Texas, not across states. Where a state published results by grade only, the grades tested are combined, weighted by the students tested in each.

Students proficient or above, 2021-22
SubjectThis districtTexasStudents tested
Reading and language arts55-59%52%615
Math50-54%42%616

Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results 2021-22, all students, from ED Data Express (the Data Rescue Project archive; ED has no 2022-23 result for this district): ED shows district results as ranges (for example 20-24%) to protect small groups.

Graduation rate, class of 2023

95% or more of the 115 students in Bishop CISD's class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 90.3% across Texas. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out, and counts those who earned a regular diploma by 2023. Every state computes it the same way under federal law, though each sets its own diploma requirements.

Four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rate, class of 2023
This districtTexas
Four-year graduation rate95% or more90.3%
Students in the class115403,301

Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates 2022-23, all students, from ED Data Express: ED shows district rates as ranges (for example 90-94%) and leaves out small classes.

3 elementary schools, 600 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Bishop Primary25817.569.0%Schoolwide program
Bishop Elementary23216.160.8%Schoolwide program
Petronila Elementary11014.465.5%Schoolwide program

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

1 middle school, 330 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Lillion E Luehrs Junior High33012.458.8%Schoolwide program

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

1 high school, 533 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Bishop High School53314.153.5%Schoolwide program

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

Contact Bishop CISD

Source: NCES Common Core of Data, local education agency directory 2024-25. Enrollment, boundaries and school assignment are the district's to confirm.

What to look at next about Bishop CISD

  1. Texas districts by spending per studentBishop CISD ranks 44 of 577 Texas districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 on current spending per student in fiscal year 2022-23 ($14,962).#44 of 577
  2. Every school district in TexasBishop CISD is the number 472 by size of 1,212 Texas districts, with 1,410 students in fall 2022 (F-33).#472 of 1,212
  3. Westwood ISDThe next larger Texas district: 1,414 students in fall 2022, $12,562 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$12,562
  4. Breckenridge ISDThe next smaller Texas district: 1,409 students in fall 2022, $12,038 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$12,038
  5. Compare Bishop CISD with Westwood ISDEnrollment, spending, revenue sources and schools, side by side.
  6. Bishop High School, its largest high school533 students in 2024-25, 14.1 per teacher.533
  7. Teacher salary spending across TexasBishop CISD spent $55,546 in salaries per full-time teacher in fiscal year 2022-23 (state median $50,660); spending, not a salary.$55,546
  8. Find the school district for an addressA home's district decides which public schools it can enroll in.

Source: NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23 (spending per student and fall 2022 membership; ranks among the state's districts that reported them); NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (schools).

Questions about Bishop CISD

  1. How many schools and students are in Bishop CISD?
    5 schools were open in 2024-25 (3 elementary, 1 middle, 1 high), enrolling 1,463 students, according to the NCES Common Core of Data.
  2. How much does Bishop CISD spend per student?
    $14,962 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), which leaves out construction and debt; the Texas median for districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 is $12,244 and the U.S. figure is $16,260. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $15,819 per student, up 5.7% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year).
  3. Where does Bishop CISD's money come from?
    $23,505,000 in revenue in fiscal year 2022-23: 34.0% state, 49.7% local and 16.3% federal (NCES F-33).
  4. How many children in Bishop CISD live in poverty?
    The Census Bureau estimates that 192 of the 1,042 children aged 5 to 17 living within the district's boundaries in 2024, 18.4%, were in families in poverty (Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates). It is a model-based estimate for everyone living in the district, not a count of its students; the free-meal shares in the school tables are counts of enrolled students.
  5. How much does Bishop CISD spend on teacher salaries?
    $6,034,000 in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), or $4,279 per student. Divided by the 109 full-time teachers in the NCES Common Core of Data for 2022-23 that is $55,546 per teacher, more than 76 in 100 Texas districts (state median $50,660). That is spending, not what a teacher is paid: the salary lines and the teacher count come from different files, and the result can differ widely from the average salary a district publishes. The district's salary schedule gives pay. For pay, the National Education Association put the average Texas teacher salary at $58,887 in 2021-22 (NCES Digest table 211.60).
  6. How do students in Bishop CISD do on state tests?
    In 2021-22, the students tested in Bishop CISD scored proficient or above: 55-59% in reading and 50-54% in math, against 52% in reading and 42% in math across Texas. Texas's own test sets what proficient means, so results compare within the state, not across states. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22.
  7. What is the graduation rate in Bishop CISD?
    95% or more of the 115 students in Bishop CISD's class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 90.3% across Texas. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23.
  8. What is Bishop CISD's NCES district ID?
    4810260. Each of its schools' 12-digit NCES IDs begins with these seven digits.

Reading these figures: how to choose a school district, what Title I means and what an absenteeism rate means. They are for information and are not a substitute for the school's or district's own records.

Sources

Every federal file behind this record
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2024-25: directory, membership, staff and lunch files. nces.ed.gov
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2021-22 school characteristics: Title I status. nces.ed.gov
  • Civil Rights Data Collection, 2021-22: AP courses, gifted programs, counselors, discipline. civilrightsdata.ed.gov
  • EDFacts, 2022-23: chronic absenteeism. ed.gov
  • EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23: the class of 2023 for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
  • EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22: reading and math proficiency for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
  • NCES Digest of Education Statistics, table 211.60 (2021-22): the state's average teacher salary, from the National Education Association. nces.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau, Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates, 2024: children aged 5 to 17 and those in families in poverty, by school district. census.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances, fiscal year 2023-24: per pupil current spending for 2023-24 and 2022-23. census.gov
  • NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey, fiscal year 2022-23: district spending and revenue. nces.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau geocoder and TIGER school districts: the district boundary used by the district finder. census.gov

Source: U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances Per pupil current spending by school system · FY 2023-24

Source: NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey Revenue and expenditures by district · FY 2022-23

Source: NCES Common Core of Data School directory, membership, staff and lunch files · 2024-25