Argonia Public Schools
Public school district · Sumner County · Kansas · NCES district ID 2003430
Argonia Public Schools spent $21,093 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23, more than 90% of the other Kansas districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022 (median $16,054). Its 2 schools enrolled 149 students in 2024-25; 68.2% of its revenue came from the state. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $24,066 per student, up 14.1% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year). Its four-year graduation rate for the class of 2023 was 50% or more (Kansas: 88%).
NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23 · Census Bureau school finances 2023-24 · NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 · method
Spending per student among Kansas districts of similar size
Current spending per student excludes construction and debt. The 9 districts closest to Argonia Public Schools in enrollment (140 to 163 students) and Argonia Public Schools itself.
Where the money came from
$3,462,000 in revenue: 68.2% state, 25.1% local and 6.7% federal. Total spending including $134,000 of capital outlay was $3,305,000, or $22,033 per student; the figure above leaves capital out.
- State$2,360,000 68%
- Local$869,000 25%
- Federal$233,000 7%
Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23: current expenditures for elementary and secondary education divided by fall membership; the state median covers 203 districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022. Revenue by source (TOTALREV, TFEDREV, TSTREV, TLOCREV).
Enrollment held steady from 2022-23 to 2024-25
150 students in 2022-23, 137 students in 2023-24, 149 students in 2024-25, counted across the schools that reported each year.
Teachers and students per teacher
| School year | Students | Teachers (FTE) | Per teacher |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2022-23 | 150 | 18.0 | 8.3 |
| 2023-24 | 137 | 18.0 | 7.6 |
| 2024-25 | 149 | 17.7 | 8.4 |
Source: NCES Common Core of Data membership and staff files, 2022-23, 2023-24, 2024-25; sums over the schools reporting each year.
State test results, 2021-22
In 2021-22, the students tested in Argonia Public Schools scored proficient or above: 30-34% in reading and 25-29% in math, against 32.5% in reading and 29.4% in math across Kansas. Each state writes its own test and sets its own proficiency bar, so compare these within Kansas, not across states.
| Subject | This district | Kansas | Students tested |
|---|---|---|---|
| Reading and language arts | 30-34% | 32.5% | 93 |
| Math | 25-29% | 29.4% | 93 |
Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results 2021-22, all students, from ED Data Express (the Data Rescue Project archive; ED has no 2022-23 result for this district): ED shows district results as ranges (for example 20-24%) to protect small groups.
Graduation rate, class of 2023
50% or more of the 10 students in Argonia Public Schools' class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 88% across Kansas. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out, and counts those who earned a regular diploma by 2023. Every state computes it the same way under federal law, though each sets its own diploma requirements.
| This district | Kansas | |
|---|---|---|
| Four-year graduation rate | 50% or more | 88% |
| Students in the class | 10 | 36,783 |
Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates 2022-23, all students, from ED Data Express: ED shows district rates as ranges (for example 90-94%) and leaves out small classes.
1 elementary school, 65 students
| School | Students | Per teacher | Free lunch | Title I, 2021‑22 |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Argonia Elementary | 65 | 7.6 | 49.2% | Targeted program |
Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.
1 high school, 84 students
| School | Students | Per teacher | Free lunch | Title I, 2021‑22 |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Argonia High | 84 | 9.1 | 27.4% | Eligible, no program |
Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.
Contact Argonia Public Schools
- Website: argonia359.org
- Phone: (620) 435-6311
- Office: 202 E. Allen, Argonia, KS 67004
Source: NCES Common Core of Data, local education agency directory 2024-25. Enrollment, boundaries and school assignment are the district's to confirm.
What to look at next about Argonia Public Schools
- Kansas districts by spending per studentArgonia Public Schools ranks 21 of 203 Kansas districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022 on current spending per student in fiscal year 2022-23 ($21,093).#21 of 203
- Every school district in KansasArgonia Public Schools is the number 264 by size of 290 Kansas districts, with 150 students in fall 2022 (F-33).#264 of 290
- Northern ValleyThe next larger Kansas district: 156 students in fall 2022, $17,929 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$17,929
- Cedar ValeThe next smaller Kansas district: 149 students in fall 2022, $18,020 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$18,020
- Compare Argonia Public Schools with Northern ValleyEnrollment, spending, revenue sources and schools, side by side.
- Argonia High, its largest high school84 students in 2024-25, 9.1 per teacher.84
- Find the school district for an addressA home's district decides which public schools it can enroll in.
Source: NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23 (spending per student and fall 2022 membership; ranks among the state's districts that reported them); NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (schools).
Questions about Argonia Public Schools
How many schools and students are in Argonia Public Schools?
2 schools were open in 2024-25 (1 elementary, 1 high), enrolling 149 students, according to the NCES Common Core of Data.How much does Argonia Public Schools spend per student?
$21,093 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), which leaves out construction and debt; the Kansas median for districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022 is $16,054 and the U.S. figure is $16,260. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $24,066 per student, up 14.1% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year).Where does Argonia Public Schools' money come from?
$3,462,000 in revenue in fiscal year 2022-23: 68.2% state, 25.1% local and 6.7% federal (NCES F-33).How many children in Argonia Public Schools live in poverty?
The Census Bureau estimates that 31 of the 192 children aged 5 to 17 living within the district's boundaries in 2024, 16.1%, were in families in poverty (Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates). It is a model-based estimate for everyone living in the district, not a count of its students; the free-meal shares in the school tables are counts of enrolled students.How do students in Argonia Public Schools do on state tests?
In 2021-22, the students tested in Argonia Public Schools scored proficient or above: 30-34% in reading and 25-29% in math, against 32.5% in reading and 29.4% in math across Kansas. Kansas's own test sets what proficient means, so results compare within the state, not across states. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22.What is the graduation rate in Argonia Public Schools?
50% or more of the 10 students in Argonia Public Schools' class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 88% across Kansas. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23.What is Argonia Public Schools' NCES district ID?
2003430. Each of its schools' 12-digit NCES IDs begins with these seven digits.
Reading these figures: how to choose a school district, what Title I means and what an absenteeism rate means. They are for information and are not a substitute for the school's or district's own records.
Sources
Every federal file behind this record
- NCES Common Core of Data, 2024-25: directory, membership, staff and lunch files. nces.ed.gov
- NCES Common Core of Data, 2021-22 school characteristics: Title I status. nces.ed.gov
- Civil Rights Data Collection, 2021-22: AP courses, gifted programs, counselors, discipline. civilrightsdata.ed.gov
- EDFacts, 2022-23: chronic absenteeism. ed.gov
- EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23: the class of 2023 for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
- EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22: reading and math proficiency for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
- U.S. Census Bureau, Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates, 2024: children aged 5 to 17 and those in families in poverty, by school district. census.gov
- U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances, fiscal year 2023-24: per pupil current spending for 2023-24 and 2022-23. census.gov
- NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey, fiscal year 2022-23: district spending and revenue. nces.ed.gov
- U.S. Census Bureau geocoder and TIGER school districts: the district boundary used by the district finder. census.gov
Source: U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances Per pupil current spending by school system · FY 2023-24
Source: NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey Revenue and expenditures by district · FY 2022-23
Source: NCES Common Core of Data School directory, membership, staff and lunch files · 2024-25