Appleton City R-II

Public school district · St. Clair County · Missouri · NCES district ID 2903120

Appleton City R-II spent $14,870 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23, more than 66% of the other Missouri districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022 (median $13,479). Its 2 schools enrolled 331 students in 2024-25; 32.1% of its revenue came from the state. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $31,639 per student, up 112.8% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year). Its four-year graduation rate for the class of 2023 was 80% or more (Missouri: 89.3%).

Spending per student among Missouri districts of similar size

Current spending per student excludes construction and debt. The 9 districts closest to Appleton City R-II in enrollment (300 to 316 students) and Appleton City R-II itself.

Current spending per student, Missouri districts closest in size to Appleton City R-II, FY23Liberal R-II $14,877; Appleton City R-II $14,870; La Plata R-II $14,617; North Andrew Co. R-Vi $14,613; Wellsville-Middletown R-1 $14,000; Community R-Vi $13,408; La Monte R-IV $13,124; Wheatland R-II $12,532; Glasgow $12,408; Exeter R-VI $10,994; State median, under 1,000 students $13,479.8k10k12k14k16kLiberal R-II$14,877Appleton City R-II$14,870La Plata R-II$14,617North Andrew Co. R-Vi$14,613Wellsville-Middletown R-1$14,000Community R-Vi$13,408La Monte R-IV$13,124Wheatland R-II$12,532Glasgow$12,408Exeter R-VI$10,994State median, under 1,000 students $13,479
Current spending per student, Missouri districts closest in size to Appleton City R-II, FY23Liberal R-II $14,877; Appleton City R-II $14,870; La Plata R-II $14,617; North Andrew Co. R-Vi $14,613; Wellsville-Middletown R-1 $14,000; Community R-Vi $13,408; La Monte R-IV $13,124; Wheatland R-II $12,532; Glasgow $12,408; Exeter R-VI $10,994; State median, under 1,000 students $13,479.8k10k12k14k16kLiberal R-II$14,877Appleton City R-II$14,870La Plata R-II$14,617North Andrew Co. R-Vi$14,613Wellsville-Middletown R-1$14,000Community R-Vi$13,408La Monte R-IV$13,124Wheatland R-II$12,532Glasgow$12,408Exeter R-VI$10,994State median, under 1,000 students $13,479
Current spending per student, Missouri districts closest in size to Appleton City R-II, FY23Liberal R-II $14,877; Appleton City R-II $14,870; La Plata R-II $14,617; North Andrew Co. R-Vi $14,613; Wellsville-Middletown R-1 $14,000; Community R-Vi $13,408; La Monte R-IV $13,124; Wheatland R-II $12,532; Glasgow $12,408; Exeter R-VI $10,994; State median, under 1,000 students $13,479.8k12k16kLiberal R-II$14,877Appleton City R-II$14,870La Plata R-II$14,617North Andrew Co. R-Vi$14,613Wellsville-Middletown R-1$14,000Community R-Vi$13,408La Monte R-IV$13,124Wheatland R-II$12,532Glasgow$12,408Exeter R-VI$10,994State median, under 1,000 students $13,479
Current spending per student, Missouri districts closest in size to Appleton City R-II, FY23Liberal R-II $14,877; Appleton City R-II $14,870; La Plata R-II $14,617; North Andrew Co. R-Vi $14,613; Wellsville-Middletown R-1 $14,000; Community R-Vi $13,408; La Monte R-IV $13,124; Wheatland R-II $12,532; Glasgow $12,408; Exeter R-VI $10,994; State median, under 1,000 students $13,479.8k12k16kLiberal R-II$14,877Appleton City R-II$14,870La Plata R-II$14,617North Andrew Co. R-Vi$14,613Wellsville-Middletown R-1$14,000Community R-Vi$13,408La Monte R-IV$13,124Wheatland R-II$12,532Glasgow$12,408Exeter R-VI$10,994State median, under 1,000 students $13,479

Where the money came from

$4,817,000 in revenue: 32.1% state, 47.8% local and 20.0% federal. Total spending including $164,000 of capital outlay was $4,801,000, or $15,638 per student; the figure above leaves capital out.

Appleton City R-II revenue by source, fiscal year 2022-23State $1,548,000; Local $2,304,000; Federal $965,000; total $4,817,000.
  • State$1,548,000 32%
  • Local$2,304,000 48%
  • Federal$965,000 20%

Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23: current expenditures for elementary and secondary education divided by fall membership; the state median covers 376 districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022. Revenue by source (TOTALREV, TFEDREV, TSTREV, TLOCREV).

Enrollment rose from 2022-23 to 2024-25

307 students in 2022-23, 158 students in 2023-24, 331 students in 2024-25, counted across the schools that reported each year.

Appleton City R-II enrollment by school year2022-23: 307, 2023-24: 158, 2024-25: 33101002003004002022-233072023-241582024-25331
Appleton City R-II enrollment by school year2022-23: 307, 2023-24: 158, 2024-25: 33101002003004002022-233072023-241582024-25331
Appleton City R-II enrollment by school year2022-23: 307, 2023-24: 158, 2024-25: 33101002003004002022-233072023-241582024-25331
Appleton City R-II enrollment by school year2022-23: 307, 2023-24: 158, 2024-25: 33101002003004002022-233072023-241582024-25331

Teachers and students per teacher

School yearStudentsTeachers (FTE)Per teacher
2022-2330729.410.4
2023-2415833.34.8
2024-2533132.810.1

Source: NCES Common Core of Data membership and staff files, 2022-23, 2023-24, 2024-25; sums over the schools reporting each year.

$1,500,000 in teacher salaries in fiscal year 2022-23, $4,886 per student

Appleton City R-II booked $1,500,000 of teacher salaries in its 2022-23 finance report and counted 29 full-time teachers in its Common Core of Data district staff file for 2022-23 (the school files behind the staffing figures on this page count teachers separately, so the two can differ), or $51,003 of salary spending per teacher. That is more than 54 in 100 Missouri districts with a figure (state median $50,410, 484 districts). It is spending, not what a teacher is paid: the salary lines and the teacher count come from different files, so the result can differ widely from the average salary the district publishes (its salary schedule gives pay); benefits are left out, and states book salaries differently, so compare districts within one state. For pay, the National Education Association put the average Missouri teacher salary at $52,481 in 2021-22 (NCES Digest table 211.60).

ProgramTeacher salariesShare
Regular programs$1,083,00072.2%
Special education$171,00011.4%
Vocational$89,0005.9%
Other programs$157,00010.5%

Teacher salaries per student, fiscal years 2018-19 to 2022-23

The district's teacher salary bill divided by its fall enrollment each year: $3,869 in 2018-19, $3,997 in 2019-20, $3,866 in 2020-21, $4,346 in 2021-22, $4,886 in 2022-23.

Appleton City R-II teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $3,869, 2019-20: $3,997, 2020-21: $3,866, 2021-22: $4,346, 2022-23: $4,88602k4k6k2018-19$3,8692019-20$3,9972020-21$3,8662021-22$4,3462022-23$4,886
Appleton City R-II teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $3,869, 2019-20: $3,997, 2020-21: $3,866, 2021-22: $4,346, 2022-23: $4,88602k4k6k2018-19$3,8692019-20$3,9972020-21$3,8662021-22$4,3462022-23$4,886
Appleton City R-II teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $3,869, 2019-20: $3,997, 2020-21: $3,866, 2021-22: $4,346, 2022-23: $4,88602k4k6k2018-19$3,8692019-20$3,9972020-21$3,8662021-22$4,3462022-23$4,886
Appleton City R-II teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $3,869, 2019-20: $3,997, 2020-21: $3,866, 2021-22: $4,346, 2022-23: $4,88602k4k6k2018-19$3,8692019-20$3,9972020-21$3,8662021-22$4,3462022-23$4,886

Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal years 2019 to 2023: teacher salaries in regular, special, vocational and other programs (Z35 to Z38) and fall membership (V33); NCES Common Core of Data LEA staff file 2022-23, teachers (full-time equivalent).

State test results, 2021-22

In 2021-22, the students tested in Appleton City R-II scored proficient or above: 30-34% in reading and 30-34% in math, against 43.2% in reading and 39.2% in math across Missouri. Each state writes its own test and sets its own proficiency bar, so compare these within Missouri, not across states.

Students proficient or above, 2021-22
SubjectThis districtMissouriStudents tested
Reading and language arts30-34%43.2%188
Math30-34%39.2%193

Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results 2021-22, all students, from ED Data Express (the Data Rescue Project archive; ED has no 2022-23 result for this district): ED shows district results as ranges (for example 20-24%) to protect small groups.

Graduation rate, class of 2023

80% or more of the 25 students in Appleton City R-II's class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 89.3% across Missouri. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out, and counts those who earned a regular diploma by 2023. Every state computes it the same way under federal law, though each sets its own diploma requirements.

Four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rate, class of 2023
This districtMissouri
Four-year graduation rate80% or more89.3%
Students in the class2567,017

Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates 2022-23, all students, from ED Data Express: ED shows district rates as ranges (for example 90-94%) and leaves out small classes.

1 elementary school, 161 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Appleton City Elementary16111.946.0%Schoolwide program

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

1 high school, 170 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Appleton City High1708.830.0%Eligible, no program

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

Contact Appleton City R-II

Source: NCES Common Core of Data, local education agency directory 2024-25. Enrollment, boundaries and school assignment are the district's to confirm.

What to look at next about Appleton City R-II

  1. Missouri districts by spending per studentAppleton City R-II ranks 130 of 376 Missouri districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022 on current spending per student in fiscal year 2022-23 ($14,870).#130 of 376
  2. Every school district in MissouriAppleton City R-II is the number 372 by size of 558 Missouri districts, with 307 students in fall 2022 (F-33).#372 of 558
  3. Exeter R-VI School DistrictThe next larger Missouri district: 310 students in fall 2022, $10,994 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$10,994
  4. La Monte R-IVThe next smaller Missouri district: 306 students in fall 2022, $13,124 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$13,124
  5. Compare Appleton City R-II with Exeter R-VI School DistrictEnrollment, spending, revenue sources and schools, side by side.
  6. Appleton City High, its largest high school170 students in 2024-25, 8.8 per teacher.170
  7. Teacher salary spending across MissouriAppleton City R-II spent $51,003 in salaries per full-time teacher in fiscal year 2022-23 (state median $50,410); spending, not a salary.$51,003
  8. Find the school district for an addressA home's district decides which public schools it can enroll in.

Source: NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23 (spending per student and fall 2022 membership; ranks among the state's districts that reported them); NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (schools).

Questions about Appleton City R-II

  1. How many schools and students are in Appleton City R-II?
    2 schools were open in 2024-25 (1 elementary, 1 high), enrolling 331 students, according to the NCES Common Core of Data.
  2. How much does Appleton City R-II spend per student?
    $14,870 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), which leaves out construction and debt; the Missouri median for districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022 is $13,479 and the U.S. figure is $16,260. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $31,639 per student, up 112.8% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year).
  3. Where does Appleton City R-II's money come from?
    $4,817,000 in revenue in fiscal year 2022-23: 32.1% state, 47.8% local and 20.0% federal (NCES F-33).
  4. How many children in Appleton City R-II live in poverty?
    The Census Bureau estimates that 76 of the 342 children aged 5 to 17 living within the district's boundaries in 2024, 22.2%, were in families in poverty (Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates). It is a model-based estimate for everyone living in the district, not a count of its students; the free-meal shares in the school tables are counts of enrolled students.
  5. How much does Appleton City R-II spend on teacher salaries?
    $1,500,000 in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), or $4,886 per student. Divided by the 29 full-time teachers in the NCES Common Core of Data for 2022-23 that is $51,003 per teacher, more than 54 in 100 Missouri districts (state median $50,410). That is spending, not what a teacher is paid: the salary lines and the teacher count come from different files, and the result can differ widely from the average salary a district publishes. The district's salary schedule gives pay. For pay, the National Education Association put the average Missouri teacher salary at $52,481 in 2021-22 (NCES Digest table 211.60).
  6. How do students in Appleton City R-II do on state tests?
    In 2021-22, the students tested in Appleton City R-II scored proficient or above: 30-34% in reading and 30-34% in math, against 43.2% in reading and 39.2% in math across Missouri. Missouri's own test sets what proficient means, so results compare within the state, not across states. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22.
  7. What is the graduation rate in Appleton City R-II?
    80% or more of the 25 students in Appleton City R-II's class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 89.3% across Missouri. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23.
  8. What is Appleton City R-II's NCES district ID?
    2903120. Each of its schools' 12-digit NCES IDs begins with these seven digits.

Reading these figures: how to choose a school district, what Title I means and what an absenteeism rate means. They are for information and are not a substitute for the school's or district's own records.

Sources

Every federal file behind this record
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2024-25: directory, membership, staff and lunch files. nces.ed.gov
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2021-22 school characteristics: Title I status. nces.ed.gov
  • Civil Rights Data Collection, 2021-22: AP courses, gifted programs, counselors, discipline. civilrightsdata.ed.gov
  • EDFacts, 2022-23: chronic absenteeism. ed.gov
  • EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23: the class of 2023 for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
  • EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22: reading and math proficiency for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
  • NCES Digest of Education Statistics, table 211.60 (2021-22): the state's average teacher salary, from the National Education Association. nces.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau, Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates, 2024: children aged 5 to 17 and those in families in poverty, by school district. census.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances, fiscal year 2023-24: per pupil current spending for 2023-24 and 2022-23. census.gov
  • NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey, fiscal year 2022-23: district spending and revenue. nces.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau geocoder and TIGER school districts: the district boundary used by the district finder. census.gov

Source: U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances Per pupil current spending by school system · FY 2023-24

Source: NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey Revenue and expenditures by district · FY 2022-23

Source: NCES Common Core of Data School directory, membership, staff and lunch files · 2024-25