The Greater Amsterdam School District

Listed by NCES as Amsterdam City School District (district ID 3602970)

Public school district · Montgomery County · New York · NCES district ID 3602970

The Greater Amsterdam School District spent $20,102 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23, below the middle: 93% of the other New York districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 spent more (median $26,567). Its 6 schools enrolled 3,663 students in 2024-25; 63.9% of its revenue came from the state. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $23,055 per student, up 14.7% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year). Its four-year graduation rate for the class of 2023 was 84% (New York: 87.2%).

Spending per student among New York districts of similar size

Current spending per student excludes construction and debt. The 9 districts closest to The Greater Amsterdam in enrollment (3,675 to 3,860 students) and The Greater Amsterdam itself.

Current spending per student, New York districts closest in size to The Greater Amsterdam, FY23West Babylon Union Free $33,403; Carmel Central $33,329; Mahopac Central $32,227; Troy City $29,395; Gates Chili Central $28,498; Peekskill City Schools $27,949; Warwick Valley Central $25,546; Union-Endicott Central $23,655; Churchville-Chili Central $21,039; The Greater Amsterdam $20,102; State median, 1,000+ students $26,567.15k20k25k30k35kWest Babylon Union Free$33,403Carmel Central$33,329Mahopac Central$32,227Troy City$29,395Gates Chili Central$28,498Peekskill City Schools$27,949Warwick Valley Central$25,546Union-Endicott Central$23,655Churchville-Chili Central$21,039The Greater Amsterdam$20,102State median, 1,000+ students $26,567
Current spending per student, New York districts closest in size to The Greater Amsterdam, FY23West Babylon Union Free $33,403; Carmel Central $33,329; Mahopac Central $32,227; Troy City $29,395; Gates Chili Central $28,498; Peekskill City Schools $27,949; Warwick Valley Central $25,546; Union-Endicott Central $23,655; Churchville-Chili Central $21,039; The Greater Amsterdam $20,102; State median, 1,000+ students $26,567.15k20k25k30k35kWest Babylon Union Free$33,403Carmel Central$33,329Mahopac Central$32,227Troy City$29,395Gates Chili Central$28,498Peekskill City Schools$27,949Warwick Valley Central$25,546Union-Endicott Central$23,655Churchville-Chili Central$21,039The Greater Amsterdam$20,102State median, 1,000+ students $26,567
Current spending per student, New York districts closest in size to The Greater Amsterdam, FY23West Babylon Union Free $33,403; Carmel Central $33,329; Mahopac Central $32,227; Troy City $29,395; Gates Chili Central $28,498; Peekskill City Schools $27,949; Warwick Valley Central $25,546; Union-Endicott Central $23,655; Churchville-Chili Central $21,039; The Greater Amsterdam $20,102; State median, 1,000+ students $26,567.15k25k35kWest Babylon Union Free$33,403Carmel Central$33,329Mahopac Central$32,227Troy City$29,395Gates Chili Central$28,498Peekskill City Schools$27,949Warwick Valley Central$25,546Union-Endicott Central$23,655Churchville-Chili Central$21,039The Greater Amsterdam$20,102State median, 1,000+ students $26,567
Current spending per student, New York districts closest in size to The Greater Amsterdam, FY23West Babylon Union Free $33,403; Carmel Central $33,329; Mahopac Central $32,227; Troy City $29,395; Gates Chili Central $28,498; Peekskill City Schools $27,949; Warwick Valley Central $25,546; Union-Endicott Central $23,655; Churchville-Chili Central $21,039; The Greater Amsterdam $20,102; State median, 1,000+ students $26,567.15k25k35kWest Babylon Union Free$33,403Carmel Central$33,329Mahopac Central$32,227Troy City$29,395Gates Chili Central$28,498Peekskill City Schools$27,949Warwick Valley Central$25,546Union-Endicott Central$23,655Churchville-Chili Central$21,039The Greater Amsterdam$20,102State median, 1,000+ students $26,567

Where the money came from

$102,509,000 in revenue: 63.9% state, 22.5% local and 13.6% federal. Total spending including $10,873,000 of capital outlay was $93,586,000, or $24,850 per student; the figure above leaves capital out.

The Greater Amsterdam School District revenue by source, fiscal year 2022-23State $65,456,000; Local $23,089,000; Federal $13,964,000; total $102,509,000.
  • State$65,456,000 64%
  • Local$23,089,000 23%
  • Federal$13,964,000 14%

Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23: current expenditures for elementary and secondary education divided by fall membership; the state median covers 440 districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022. Revenue by source (TOTALREV, TFEDREV, TSTREV, TLOCREV).

Enrollment held steady from 2022-23 to 2024-25

3,652 students in 2022-23, 3,648 students in 2023-24, 3,663 students in 2024-25, counted across the schools that reported each year.

The Greater Amsterdam School District enrollment by school year2022-23: 3,652, 2023-24: 3,648, 2024-25: 3,66301k2k3k4k2022-233,6522023-243,6482024-253,663
The Greater Amsterdam School District enrollment by school year2022-23: 3,652, 2023-24: 3,648, 2024-25: 3,66301k2k3k4k2022-233,6522023-243,6482024-253,663
The Greater Amsterdam School District enrollment by school year2022-23: 3,652, 2023-24: 3,648, 2024-25: 3,66301k2k3k4k2022-233,6522023-243,6482024-253,663
The Greater Amsterdam School District enrollment by school year2022-23: 3,652, 2023-24: 3,648, 2024-25: 3,66301k2k3k4k2022-233,6522023-243,6482024-253,663

Teachers and students per teacher

School yearStudentsTeachers (FTE)Per teacher
2022-233,652244.814.9
2023-243,648253.014.4
2024-253,663249.314.7

Source: NCES Common Core of Data membership and staff files, 2022-23, 2023-24, 2024-25; sums over the schools reporting each year.

$23,279,000 in teacher salaries in fiscal year 2022-23, $6,181 per student

The Greater Amsterdam School District booked $23,279,000 of teacher salaries in its 2022-23 finance report and counted 245 full-time teachers in its Common Core of Data district staff file for 2022-23 (the school files behind the staffing figures on this page count teachers separately, so the two can differ), or $95,082 of salary spending per teacher. That is more than 66 in 100 New York districts with a figure (state median $80,291, 622 districts). It is spending, not what a teacher is paid: the salary lines and the teacher count come from different files, so the result can differ widely from the average salary the district publishes (its salary schedule gives pay); benefits are left out, and states book salaries differently, so compare districts within one state. For pay, the National Education Association put the average New York teacher salary at $92,222 in 2021-22 (NCES Digest table 211.60).

ProgramTeacher salariesShare
Regular programs$17,784,00076.4%
Special education$5,052,00021.7%
Vocational$105,0000.5%
Other programs$338,0001.5%

Teacher salaries per student, fiscal years 2018-19 to 2022-23

The district's teacher salary bill divided by its fall enrollment each year: $5,251 in 2018-19, $5,609 in 2019-20, $5,571 in 2020-21, $5,815 in 2021-22, $6,181 in 2022-23.

The Greater Amsterdam School District teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $5,251, 2019-20: $5,609, 2020-21: $5,571, 2021-22: $5,815, 2022-23: $6,18102k4k6k8k2018-19$5,2512019-20$5,6092020-21$5,5712021-22$5,8152022-23$6,181
The Greater Amsterdam School District teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $5,251, 2019-20: $5,609, 2020-21: $5,571, 2021-22: $5,815, 2022-23: $6,18102k4k6k8k2018-19$5,2512019-20$5,6092020-21$5,5712021-22$5,8152022-23$6,181
The Greater Amsterdam School District teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $5,251, 2019-20: $5,609, 2020-21: $5,571, 2021-22: $5,815, 2022-23: $6,18102k4k6k8k2018-19$5,2512019-20$5,6092020-21$5,5712021-22$5,8152022-23$6,181
The Greater Amsterdam School District teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $5,251, 2019-20: $5,609, 2020-21: $5,571, 2021-22: $5,815, 2022-23: $6,18102k4k6k8k2018-19$5,2512019-20$5,6092020-21$5,5712021-22$5,8152022-23$6,181

Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal years 2019 to 2023: teacher salaries in regular, special, vocational and other programs (Z35 to Z38) and fall membership (V33); NCES Common Core of Data LEA staff file 2022-23, teachers (full-time equivalent).

State test results, 2021-22

In 2021-22, the students tested in The Greater Amsterdam School District scored proficient or above: 20-24% in reading and 13-16% in math, against 47% in reading and 40% in math across New York. Each state writes its own test and sets its own proficiency bar, so compare these within New York, not across states. Where a state published results by grade only, the grades tested are combined, weighted by the students tested in each.

Students proficient or above, 2021-22
SubjectThis districtNew YorkStudents tested
Reading and language arts20-24%47%1,535
Math13-16%40%1,490

Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results 2021-22, all students, from ED Data Express (the Data Rescue Project archive; ED has no 2022-23 result for this district): ED shows district results as ranges (for example 20-24%) to protect small groups.

Graduation rate, class of 2023

84% of the 281 students in The Greater Amsterdam School District's class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 87.2% across New York. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out, and counts those who earned a regular diploma by 2023. Every state computes it the same way under federal law, though each sets its own diploma requirements.

Four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rate, class of 2023
This districtNew York
Four-year graduation rate84%87.2%
Students in the class281202,009

Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates 2022-23, all students, from ED Data Express: ED shows district rates as ranges (for example 90-94%) and leaves out small classes.

4 elementary schools, 1,699 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Raphael J Mcnulty Academy for Intern Studies & Literacy50315.787.3%Schoolwide program
William B Tecler Arts in Education46516.662.8%Schoolwide program
Marie Curie Institute of Engineering and Communication44618.678.0%Schoolwide program
William H Barkley Microsociety28513.670.9%Schoolwide program

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

1 middle school, 772 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Wilbur H Lynch Literacy Academy77212.073.7%Schoolwide program

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

1 high school, 1,192 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Amsterdam High School1,19214.972.0%Schoolwide program

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

Contact The Greater Amsterdam School District

Source: NCES Common Core of Data, local education agency directory 2024-25. Enrollment, boundaries and school assignment are the district's to confirm.

What to look at next about The Greater Amsterdam School District

  1. New York districts by spending per studentThe Greater Amsterdam School District ranks 411 of 440 New York districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 on current spending per student in fiscal year 2022-23 ($20,102).#411 of 440
  2. Every school district in New YorkThe Greater Amsterdam School District is the number 151 by size of 1,104 New York districts, with 3,766 students in fall 2022 (F-33).#151 of 1,104
  3. Carmel Central School DistrictThe next larger New York district: 3,782 students in fall 2022, $33,329 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$33,329
  4. Gates Chili Central School DistrictThe next smaller New York district: 3,730 students in fall 2022, $28,498 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$28,498
  5. Compare The Greater Amsterdam School District with Carmel Central School DistrictEnrollment, spending, revenue sources and schools, side by side.
  6. Amsterdam High School, its largest high school1,192 students in 2024-25, 14.9 per teacher.1,192
  7. Teacher salary spending across New YorkThe Greater Amsterdam School District spent $95,082 in salaries per full-time teacher in fiscal year 2022-23 (state median $80,291); spending, not a salary.$95,082
  8. Find the school district for an addressA home's district decides which public schools it can enroll in.

Source: NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23 (spending per student and fall 2022 membership; ranks among the state's districts that reported them); NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (schools).

Questions about The Greater Amsterdam School District

  1. How many schools and students are in The Greater Amsterdam School District?
    6 schools were open in 2024-25 (4 elementary, 1 middle, 1 high), enrolling 3,663 students, according to the NCES Common Core of Data.
  2. How much does The Greater Amsterdam School District spend per student?
    $20,102 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), which leaves out construction and debt; the New York median for districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 is $26,567 and the U.S. figure is $16,260. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $23,055 per student, up 14.7% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year).
  3. Where does The Greater Amsterdam School District's money come from?
    $102,509,000 in revenue in fiscal year 2022-23: 63.9% state, 22.5% local and 13.6% federal (NCES F-33).
  4. How many children in The Greater Amsterdam School District live in poverty?
    The Census Bureau estimates that 984 of the 4,012 children aged 5 to 17 living within the district's boundaries in 2024, 24.5%, were in families in poverty (Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates). It is a model-based estimate for everyone living in the district, not a count of its students; the free-meal shares in the school tables are counts of enrolled students.
  5. How much does The Greater Amsterdam School District spend on teacher salaries?
    $23,279,000 in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), or $6,181 per student. Divided by the 245 full-time teachers in the NCES Common Core of Data for 2022-23 that is $95,082 per teacher, more than 66 in 100 New York districts (state median $80,291). That is spending, not what a teacher is paid: the salary lines and the teacher count come from different files, and the result can differ widely from the average salary a district publishes. The district's salary schedule gives pay. For pay, the National Education Association put the average New York teacher salary at $92,222 in 2021-22 (NCES Digest table 211.60).
  6. How do students in The Greater Amsterdam School District do on state tests?
    In 2021-22, the students tested in The Greater Amsterdam School District scored proficient or above: 20-24% in reading and 13-16% in math, against 47% in reading and 40% in math across New York. New York's own test sets what proficient means, so results compare within the state, not across states. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22.
  7. What is the graduation rate in The Greater Amsterdam School District?
    84% of the 281 students in The Greater Amsterdam School District's class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 87.2% across New York. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23.
  8. What is The Greater Amsterdam School District's NCES district ID?
    3602970. Each of its schools' 12-digit NCES IDs begins with these seven digits.

Reading these figures: how to choose a school district, what Title I means and what an absenteeism rate means. They are for information and are not a substitute for the school's or district's own records.

Sources

Every federal file behind this record
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2024-25: directory, membership, staff and lunch files. nces.ed.gov
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2021-22 school characteristics: Title I status. nces.ed.gov
  • Civil Rights Data Collection, 2021-22: AP courses, gifted programs, counselors, discipline. civilrightsdata.ed.gov
  • EDFacts, 2022-23: chronic absenteeism. ed.gov
  • EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23: the class of 2023 for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
  • EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22: reading and math proficiency for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
  • NCES Digest of Education Statistics, table 211.60 (2021-22): the state's average teacher salary, from the National Education Association. nces.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau, Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates, 2024: children aged 5 to 17 and those in families in poverty, by school district. census.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances, fiscal year 2023-24: per pupil current spending for 2023-24 and 2022-23. census.gov
  • NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey, fiscal year 2022-23: district spending and revenue. nces.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau geocoder and TIGER school districts: the district boundary used by the district finder. census.gov

Source: U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances Per pupil current spending by school system · FY 2023-24

Source: NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey Revenue and expenditures by district · FY 2022-23

Source: NCES Common Core of Data School directory, membership, staff and lunch files · 2024-25