Alleghany Highlands Public Schools

Public school district · Alleghany County · Virginia · NCES district ID 5100152

Alleghany Highlands Public Schools spent $14,827 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23, below the middle: 55% of the other Virginia districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 spent more (median $14,972). Its 6 schools enrolled 2,804 students in 2024-25; 58.3% of its revenue came from the state. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $15,721 per student, up 6.0% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year). Its four-year graduation rate for the class of 2023 was 84% (Virginia: 88.8%).

Spending per student among Virginia districts of similar size

Current spending per student excludes construction and debt. The 9 districts closest to Alleghany Highlands Public Schools in enrollment (2,549 to 3,041 students) and Alleghany Highlands Public Schools itself.

Current spending per student, Virginia districts closest in size to Alleghany Highlands Public Schools, FY23Staunton City Public Schools $16,422; Waynesboro City Public Schools $16,393; Colonial Heights City Public Schools $15,988; Rockbridge County $15,836; Lee County Public Schools $15,131; Southampton County Public Schools $15,083; Goochland County Public Schools $15,045; Alleghany Highlands Public Schools $14,827; Greene County Public Schools $14,377; Page County Public Schools $14,343; State median, 1,000+ students $14,972.12k14k16k18kStaunton City Public Schools$16,422Waynesboro City Public Schools$16,393Colonial Heights City Public S…$15,988Rockbridge County$15,836Lee County Public Schools$15,131Southampton County Public Scho…$15,083Goochland County Public Schools$15,045Alleghany Highlands Public Sch…$14,827Greene County Public Schools$14,377Page County Public Schools$14,343State median, 1,000+ students $14,972
Current spending per student, Virginia districts closest in size to Alleghany Highlands Public Schools, FY23Staunton City Public Schools $16,422; Waynesboro City Public Schools $16,393; Colonial Heights City Public Schools $15,988; Rockbridge County $15,836; Lee County Public Schools $15,131; Southampton County Public Schools $15,083; Goochland County Public Schools $15,045; Alleghany Highlands Public Schools $14,827; Greene County Public Schools $14,377; Page County Public Schools $14,343; State median, 1,000+ students $14,972.12k14k16k18kStaunton City Public Schools$16,422Waynesboro City Public Schools$16,393Colonial Heights City Public Schools$15,988Rockbridge County$15,836Lee County Public Schools$15,131Southampton County Public Schools$15,083Goochland County Public Schools$15,045Alleghany Highlands Public Schools$14,827Greene County Public Schools$14,377Page County Public Schools$14,343State median, 1,000+ students $14,972
Current spending per student, Virginia districts closest in size to Alleghany Highlands Public Schools, FY23Staunton City Public Schools $16,422; Waynesboro City Public Schools $16,393; Colonial Heights City Public Schools $15,988; Rockbridge County $15,836; Lee County Public Schools $15,131; Southampton County Public Schools $15,083; Goochland County Public Schools $15,045; Alleghany Highlands Public Schools $14,827; Greene County Public Schools $14,377; Page County Public Schools $14,343; State median, 1,000+ students $14,972.12k14k16k18kStaunton City Public Schools$16,422Waynesboro City Public Schools$16,393Colonial Heights City Public Schools$15,988Rockbridge County$15,836Lee County Public Schools$15,131Southampton County Public Schools$15,083Goochland County Public Schools$15,045Alleghany Highlands Public Schools$14,827Greene County Public Schools$14,377Page County Public Schools$14,343State median, 1,000+ students $14,972
Current spending per student, Virginia districts closest in size to Alleghany Highlands Public Schools, FY23Staunton City Public Schools $16,422; Waynesboro City Public Schools $16,393; Colonial Heights City Public Schools $15,988; Rockbridge County $15,836; Lee County Public Schools $15,131; Southampton County Public Schools $15,083; Goochland County Public Schools $15,045; Alleghany Highlands Public Schools $14,827; Greene County Public Schools $14,377; Page County Public Schools $14,343; State median, 1,000+ students $14,972.12k14k16k18kStaunton City Public Schools$16,422Waynesboro City Public Schools$16,393Colonial Heights City Public Schools$15,988Rockbridge County$15,836Lee County Public Schools$15,131Southampton County Public Schools$15,083Goochland County Public Schools$15,045Alleghany Highlands Public Schools$14,827Greene County Public Schools$14,377Page County Public Schools$14,343State median, 1,000+ students $14,972

Where the money came from

$49,034,000 in revenue: 58.3% state, 27.3% local and 14.3% federal. Total spending including $2,252,000 of capital outlay was $45,087,000, or $15,666 per student; the figure above leaves capital out.

Alleghany Highlands Public Schools revenue by source, fiscal year 2022-23State $28,606,000; Local $13,392,000; Federal $7,036,000; total $49,034,000.
  • State$28,606,000 58%
  • Local$13,392,000 27%
  • Federal$7,036,000 14%

Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23: current expenditures for elementary and secondary education divided by fall membership; the state median covers 116 districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022. Revenue by source (TOTALREV, TFEDREV, TSTREV, TLOCREV).

Enrollment fell from 2022-23 to 2024-25

2,878 students in 2022-23, 2,835 students in 2023-24, 2,804 students in 2024-25, counted across the schools that reported each year.

Alleghany Highlands Public Schools enrollment by school year2022-23: 2,878, 2023-24: 2,835, 2024-25: 2,80401k2k3k2022-232,8782023-242,8352024-252,804
Alleghany Highlands Public Schools enrollment by school year2022-23: 2,878, 2023-24: 2,835, 2024-25: 2,80401k2k3k2022-232,8782023-242,8352024-252,804
Alleghany Highlands Public Schools enrollment by school year2022-23: 2,878, 2023-24: 2,835, 2024-25: 2,80401k2k3k2022-232,8782023-242,8352024-252,804
Alleghany Highlands Public Schools enrollment by school year2022-23: 2,878, 2023-24: 2,835, 2024-25: 2,80401k2k3k2022-232,8782023-242,8352024-252,804

Teachers and students per teacher

School yearStudentsTeachers (FTE)Per teacher
2022-232,878228.512.6
2023-242,835222.012.8
2024-252,804213.013.2

Source: NCES Common Core of Data membership and staff files, 2022-23, 2023-24, 2024-25; sums over the schools reporting each year.

$12,556,000 in teacher salaries in fiscal year 2022-23, $4,363 per student

Alleghany Highlands Public Schools booked $12,556,000 of teacher salaries in its 2022-23 finance report and counted 229 full-time teachers in its Common Core of Data district staff file for 2022-23 (the school files behind the staffing figures on this page count teachers separately, so the two can differ), or $54,950 of salary spending per teacher. That is more than 17 in 100 Virginia districts with a figure (state median $61,899, 129 districts). It is spending, not what a teacher is paid: the salary lines and the teacher count come from different files, so the result can differ widely from the average salary the district publishes (its salary schedule gives pay); benefits are left out, and states book salaries differently, so compare districts within one state. For pay, the National Education Association put the average Virginia teacher salary at $59,965 in 2021-22 (NCES Digest table 211.60).

ProgramTeacher salariesShare
Regular programs$9,370,00074.6%
Special education$2,225,00017.7%
Vocational$879,0007.0%
Other programs$82,0000.7%

Teacher salaries per student, fiscal years 2018-19 to 2022-23

The district's teacher salary bill divided by its fall enrollment each year: $4,065 in 2018-19, $4,200 in 2019-20, $4,253 in 2020-21, $4,340 in 2021-22, $4,363 in 2022-23.

Alleghany Highlands Public Schools teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $4,065, 2019-20: $4,200, 2020-21: $4,253, 2021-22: $4,340, 2022-23: $4,36302k4k6k2018-19$4,0652019-20$4,2002020-21$4,2532021-22$4,3402022-23$4,363
Alleghany Highlands Public Schools teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $4,065, 2019-20: $4,200, 2020-21: $4,253, 2021-22: $4,340, 2022-23: $4,36302k4k6k2018-19$4,0652019-20$4,2002020-21$4,2532021-22$4,3402022-23$4,363
Alleghany Highlands Public Schools teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $4,065, 2019-20: $4,200, 2020-21: $4,253, 2021-22: $4,340, 2022-23: $4,36302k4k6k2018-19$4,0652019-20$4,2002020-21$4,2532021-22$4,3402022-23$4,363
Alleghany Highlands Public Schools teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $4,065, 2019-20: $4,200, 2020-21: $4,253, 2021-22: $4,340, 2022-23: $4,36302k4k6k2018-19$4,0652019-20$4,2002020-21$4,2532021-22$4,3402022-23$4,363

Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal years 2019 to 2023: teacher salaries in regular, special, vocational and other programs (Z35 to Z38) and fall membership (V33); NCES Common Core of Data LEA staff file 2022-23, teachers (full-time equivalent).

Graduation rate, class of 2023

84% of the 223 students in Alleghany Highlands Public Schools' class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 88.8% across Virginia. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out, and counts those who earned a regular diploma by 2023. Every state computes it the same way under federal law, though each sets its own diploma requirements.

Four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rate, class of 2023
This districtVirginia
Four-year graduation rate84%88.8%
Students in the class22399,059

Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates 2022-23, all students, from ED Data Express: ED shows district rates as ranges (for example 90-94%) and leaves out small classes.

4 elementary schools, 1,392 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Jeter-Watson Elementary49112.983.3%Not reported
Mountain View Elementary41510.982.7%Schoolwide program
Callaghan Elementary27015.083.3%Schoolwide program
Sharon Elementary21613.584.3%Schoolwide program

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

1 middle school, 594 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Clifton Middle59413.882.3%Not Title I

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

1 high school, 818 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Alleghany High81813.681.8%Not Title I

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

One more school on file: small, closed or in an earlier directory

These records carry fewer federal fields than a full school page needs, so each is summarized here with what NCES reports.

Covington High

School in Covington; 339 students; 12.6 students per teacher.

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 and earlier directories: the last year each school was listed, its students and its teachers.

Contact Alleghany Highlands Public Schools

Source: NCES Common Core of Data, local education agency directory 2024-25. Enrollment, boundaries and school assignment are the district's to confirm.

What to look at next about Alleghany Highlands Public Schools

  1. Virginia districts by spending per studentAlleghany Highlands Public Schools ranks 64 of 116 Virginia districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 on current spending per student in fiscal year 2022-23 ($14,827).#64 of 116
  2. Every school district in VirginiaAlleghany Highlands Public Schools is the number 78 by size of 132 Virginia districts, with 2,878 students in fall 2022 (F-33).#78 of 132
  3. Lee County Public SchoolsThe next larger Virginia district: 2,949 students in fall 2022, $15,131 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$15,131
  4. Colonial Heights City Public SchoolsThe next smaller Virginia district: 2,843 students in fall 2022, $15,988 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$15,988
  5. Compare Alleghany Highlands Public Schools with Lee County Public SchoolsEnrollment, spending, revenue sources and schools, side by side.
  6. Alleghany High, its largest high school818 students in 2024-25, 13.6 per teacher.818
  7. Teacher salary spending across VirginiaAlleghany Highlands Public Schools spent $54,950 in salaries per full-time teacher in fiscal year 2022-23 (state median $61,899); spending, not a salary.$54,950
  8. Find the school district for an addressA home's district decides which public schools it can enroll in.

Source: NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23 (spending per student and fall 2022 membership; ranks among the state's districts that reported them); NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (schools).

Questions about Alleghany Highlands Public Schools

  1. How many schools and students are in Alleghany Highlands Public Schools?
    6 schools were open in 2024-25 (4 elementary, 1 middle, 1 high), enrolling 2,804 students, according to the NCES Common Core of Data.
  2. How much does Alleghany Highlands Public Schools spend per student?
    $14,827 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), which leaves out construction and debt; the Virginia median for districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 is $14,972 and the U.S. figure is $16,260. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $15,721 per student, up 6.0% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year).
  3. Where does Alleghany Highlands Public Schools' money come from?
    $49,034,000 in revenue in fiscal year 2022-23: 58.3% state, 27.3% local and 14.3% federal (NCES F-33).
  4. How many children in Alleghany Highlands Public Schools live in poverty?
    The Census Bureau estimates that 478 of the 2,970 children aged 5 to 17 living within the district's boundaries in 2024, 16.1%, were in families in poverty (Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates). It is a model-based estimate for everyone living in the district, not a count of its students; the free-meal shares in the school tables are counts of enrolled students.
  5. How much does Alleghany Highlands Public Schools spend on teacher salaries?
    $12,556,000 in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), or $4,363 per student. Divided by the 229 full-time teachers in the NCES Common Core of Data for 2022-23 that is $54,950 per teacher, more than 17 in 100 Virginia districts (state median $61,899). That is spending, not what a teacher is paid: the salary lines and the teacher count come from different files, and the result can differ widely from the average salary a district publishes. The district's salary schedule gives pay. For pay, the National Education Association put the average Virginia teacher salary at $59,965 in 2021-22 (NCES Digest table 211.60).
  6. What is the graduation rate in Alleghany Highlands Public Schools?
    84% of the 223 students in Alleghany Highlands Public Schools' class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 88.8% across Virginia. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23.
  7. What is Alleghany Highlands Public Schools' NCES district ID?
    5100152. Each of its schools' 12-digit NCES IDs begins with these seven digits.

Reading these figures: how to choose a school district, what Title I means and what an absenteeism rate means. They are for information and are not a substitute for the school's or district's own records.

Sources

Every federal file behind this record
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2024-25: directory, membership, staff and lunch files. nces.ed.gov
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2021-22 school characteristics: Title I status. nces.ed.gov
  • Civil Rights Data Collection, 2021-22: AP courses, gifted programs, counselors, discipline. civilrightsdata.ed.gov
  • EDFacts, 2022-23: chronic absenteeism. ed.gov
  • EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23: the class of 2023 for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
  • NCES Digest of Education Statistics, table 211.60 (2021-22): the state's average teacher salary, from the National Education Association. nces.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau, Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates, 2024: children aged 5 to 17 and those in families in poverty, by school district. census.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances, fiscal year 2023-24: per pupil current spending for 2023-24 and 2022-23. census.gov
  • NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey, fiscal year 2022-23: district spending and revenue. nces.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau geocoder and TIGER school districts: the district boundary used by the district finder. census.gov

Source: U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances Per pupil current spending by school system · FY 2023-24

Source: NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey Revenue and expenditures by district · FY 2022-23

Source: NCES Common Core of Data School directory, membership, staff and lunch files · 2024-25