North Wasco County SD 21

Public school district · Wasco County · Oregon · NCES district ID 4100048

North Wasco County SD 21 spent $16,322 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23, more than 68% of the other Oregon districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 (median $15,368). Its 7 schools enrolled 2,834 students in 2024-25; 52.3% of its revenue came from the state. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $16,590 per student, up 1.6% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year). Its four-year graduation rate for the class of 2023 was 76% (Oregon: 81.3%).

Spending per student among Oregon districts of similar size

Current spending per student excludes construction and debt. The 9 districts closest to North Wasco County SD 21 in enrollment (2,617 to 3,030 students) and North Wasco County SD 21 itself.

Current spending per student, Oregon districts closest in size to North Wasco County SD 21, FY23Jefferson County SD 509J $19,104; Klamath Falls City Schools $16,678; North Wasco County SD 21 $16,322; Cascade School District 05 $16,042; Parkrose $15,887; South Lane $15,558; St. Helens $15,027; Pendleton $14,683; Dallas SD 2 $14,159; Santiam Canyon $4,458; State median, 1,000+ students $15,368.05k10k15k20kJefferson County SD 509J$19,104Klamath Falls City Schools$16,678North Wasco County SD 21$16,322Cascade School District 05$16,042Parkrose$15,887South Lane$15,558St. Helens$15,027Pendleton$14,683Dallas SD 2$14,159Santiam Canyon$4,458State median, 1,000+ students $15,368
Current spending per student, Oregon districts closest in size to North Wasco County SD 21, FY23Jefferson County SD 509J $19,104; Klamath Falls City Schools $16,678; North Wasco County SD 21 $16,322; Cascade School District 05 $16,042; Parkrose $15,887; South Lane $15,558; St. Helens $15,027; Pendleton $14,683; Dallas SD 2 $14,159; Santiam Canyon $4,458; State median, 1,000+ students $15,368.05k10k15k20kJefferson County SD 509J$19,104Klamath Falls City Schools$16,678North Wasco County SD 21$16,322Cascade School District 05$16,042Parkrose$15,887South Lane$15,558St. Helens$15,027Pendleton$14,683Dallas SD 2$14,159Santiam Canyon$4,458State median, 1,000+ students $15,368
Current spending per student, Oregon districts closest in size to North Wasco County SD 21, FY23Jefferson County SD 509J $19,104; Klamath Falls City Schools $16,678; North Wasco County SD 21 $16,322; Cascade School District 05 $16,042; Parkrose $15,887; South Lane $15,558; St. Helens $15,027; Pendleton $14,683; Dallas SD 2 $14,159; Santiam Canyon $4,458; State median, 1,000+ students $15,368.010k20kJefferson County SD 509J$19,104Klamath Falls City Schools$16,678North Wasco County SD 21$16,322Cascade School District 05$16,042Parkrose$15,887South Lane$15,558St. Helens$15,027Pendleton$14,683Dallas SD 2$14,159Santiam Canyon$4,458State median, 1,000+ students $15,368
Current spending per student, Oregon districts closest in size to North Wasco County SD 21, FY23Jefferson County SD 509J $19,104; Klamath Falls City Schools $16,678; North Wasco County SD 21 $16,322; Cascade School District 05 $16,042; Parkrose $15,887; South Lane $15,558; St. Helens $15,027; Pendleton $14,683; Dallas SD 2 $14,159; Santiam Canyon $4,458; State median, 1,000+ students $15,368.010k20kJefferson County SD 509J$19,104Klamath Falls City Schools$16,678North Wasco County SD 21$16,322Cascade School District 05$16,042Parkrose$15,887South Lane$15,558St. Helens$15,027Pendleton$14,683Dallas SD 2$14,159Santiam Canyon$4,458State median, 1,000+ students $15,368

Where the money came from

$49,925,000 in revenue: 52.3% state, 29.3% local and 18.4% federal. Total spending including $824,000 of capital outlay was $51,051,000, or $17,969 per student; the figure above leaves capital out.

North Wasco County SD 21 revenue by source, fiscal year 2022-23State $26,119,000; Local $14,627,000; Federal $9,179,000; total $49,925,000.
  • State$26,119,000 52%
  • Local$14,627,000 29%
  • Federal$9,179,000 18%

Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23: current expenditures for elementary and secondary education divided by fall membership; the state median covers 93 districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022. Revenue by source (TOTALREV, TFEDREV, TSTREV, TLOCREV).

Enrollment held steady from 2022-23 to 2024-25

2,841 students in 2022-23, 2,847 students in 2023-24, 2,834 students in 2024-25, counted across the schools that reported each year.

North Wasco County SD 21 enrollment by school year2022-23: 2,841, 2023-24: 2,847, 2024-25: 2,83401k2k3k2022-232,8412023-242,8472024-252,834
North Wasco County SD 21 enrollment by school year2022-23: 2,841, 2023-24: 2,847, 2024-25: 2,83401k2k3k2022-232,8412023-242,8472024-252,834
North Wasco County SD 21 enrollment by school year2022-23: 2,841, 2023-24: 2,847, 2024-25: 2,83401k2k3k2022-232,8412023-242,8472024-252,834
North Wasco County SD 21 enrollment by school year2022-23: 2,841, 2023-24: 2,847, 2024-25: 2,83401k2k3k2022-232,8412023-242,8472024-252,834

Teachers and students per teacher

School yearStudentsTeachers (FTE)Per teacher
2022-232,841176.216.1
2023-242,847174.416.3
2024-252,834166.417.0

Source: NCES Common Core of Data membership and staff files, 2022-23, 2023-24, 2024-25; sums over the schools reporting each year.

$13,274,000 in teacher salaries in fiscal year 2022-23, $4,672 per student

North Wasco County SD 21 booked $13,274,000 of teacher salaries in its 2022-23 finance report and counted 178 full-time teachers in its Common Core of Data district staff file for 2022-23 (the school files behind the staffing figures on this page count teachers separately, so the two can differ), or $74,506 of salary spending per teacher. That is more than 78 in 100 Oregon districts with a figure (state median $65,110, 168 districts). It is spending, not what a teacher is paid: the salary lines and the teacher count come from different files, so the result can differ widely from the average salary the district publishes (its salary schedule gives pay); benefits are left out, and states book salaries differently, so compare districts within one state. For pay, the National Education Association put the average Oregon teacher salary at $69,671 in 2021-22 (NCES Digest table 211.60).

ProgramTeacher salariesShare
Regular programs$10,096,00076.1%
Special education$1,278,0009.6%
Vocational$394,0003.0%
Other programs$1,506,00011.3%

Teacher salaries per student, fiscal years 2018-19 to 2022-23

The district's teacher salary bill divided by its fall enrollment each year: $3,084 in 2018-19, $3,186 in 2019-20, $3,497 in 2020-21, $3,864 in 2021-22, $4,672 in 2022-23.

North Wasco County SD 21 teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $3,084, 2019-20: $3,186, 2020-21: $3,497, 2021-22: $3,864, 2022-23: $4,67202k4k6k2018-19$3,0842019-20$3,1862020-21$3,4972021-22$3,8642022-23$4,672
North Wasco County SD 21 teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $3,084, 2019-20: $3,186, 2020-21: $3,497, 2021-22: $3,864, 2022-23: $4,67202k4k6k2018-19$3,0842019-20$3,1862020-21$3,4972021-22$3,8642022-23$4,672
North Wasco County SD 21 teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $3,084, 2019-20: $3,186, 2020-21: $3,497, 2021-22: $3,864, 2022-23: $4,67202k4k6k2018-19$3,0842019-20$3,1862020-21$3,4972021-22$3,8642022-23$4,672
North Wasco County SD 21 teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $3,084, 2019-20: $3,186, 2020-21: $3,497, 2021-22: $3,864, 2022-23: $4,67202k4k6k2018-19$3,0842019-20$3,1862020-21$3,4972021-22$3,8642022-23$4,672

Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal years 2019 to 2023: teacher salaries in regular, special, vocational and other programs (Z35 to Z38) and fall membership (V33); NCES Common Core of Data LEA staff file 2022-23, teachers (full-time equivalent).

State test results, 2021-22

In 2021-22, the students tested in North Wasco County SD 21 scored proficient or above: 36% in reading and 19% in math, against 44% in reading and 30.6% in math across Oregon. Each state writes its own test and sets its own proficiency bar, so compare these within Oregon, not across states.

Students proficient or above, 2021-22
SubjectThis districtOregonStudents tested
Reading and language arts36%44%1,355
Math19%30.6%1,348

Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results 2021-22, all students, from ED Data Express (the Data Rescue Project archive; ED has no 2022-23 result for this district): ED shows district results as ranges (for example 20-24%) to protect small groups.

Graduation rate, class of 2023

76% of the 231 students in North Wasco County SD 21's class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 81.3% across Oregon. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out, and counts those who earned a regular diploma by 2023. Every state computes it the same way under federal law, though each sets its own diploma requirements.

Four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rate, class of 2023
This districtOregon
Four-year graduation rate76%81.3%
Students in the class23146,371

Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates 2022-23, all students, from ED Data Express: ED shows district rates as ranges (for example 90-94%) and leaves out small classes.

4 elementary schools, 1,294 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Dry Hollow Elementary School42419.399.5%Schoolwide program
Chenowith Elementary School41814.9100.0%Schoolwide program
Colonel Wright Elementary School29116.298.6%Schoolwide program
Mosier Community School16111.591.9%Targeted program

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

1 middle school, 513 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
The Dalles Middle School51317.199.0%Not Title I

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

1 high school, 795 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
The Dalles High School79519.799.2%Not Title I

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

1 other school, 232 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Innovations Academy23216.647.4%Not Title I

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

Contact North Wasco County SD 21

Source: NCES Common Core of Data, local education agency directory 2024-25. Enrollment, boundaries and school assignment are the district's to confirm.

What to look at next about North Wasco County SD 21

  1. Oregon districts by spending per studentNorth Wasco County SD 21 ranks 30 of 93 Oregon districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 on current spending per student in fiscal year 2022-23 ($16,322).#30 of 93
  2. Every school district in OregonNorth Wasco County SD 21 is the number 49 by size of 207 Oregon districts, with 2,841 students in fall 2022 (F-33).#49 of 207
  3. Parkrose School DistrictThe next larger Oregon district: 2,849 students in fall 2022, $15,887 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$15,887
  4. St. Helens School DistrictThe next smaller Oregon district: 2,829 students in fall 2022, $15,027 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$15,027
  5. Compare North Wasco County SD 21 with Parkrose School DistrictEnrollment, spending, revenue sources and schools, side by side.
  6. The Dalles High School, its largest high school795 students in 2024-25, 19.7 per teacher.795
  7. Teacher salary spending across OregonNorth Wasco County SD 21 spent $74,506 in salaries per full-time teacher in fiscal year 2022-23 (state median $65,110); spending, not a salary.$74,506
  8. Find the school district for an addressA home's district decides which public schools it can enroll in.

Source: NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23 (spending per student and fall 2022 membership; ranks among the state's districts that reported them); NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (schools).

Questions about North Wasco County SD 21

  1. How many schools and students are in North Wasco County SD 21?
    7 schools were open in 2024-25 (4 elementary, 1 middle, 1 high, 1 other), enrolling 2,834 students, according to the NCES Common Core of Data.
  2. How much does North Wasco County SD 21 spend per student?
    $16,322 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), which leaves out construction and debt; the Oregon median for districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 is $15,368 and the U.S. figure is $16,260. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $16,590 per student, up 1.6% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year).
  3. Where does North Wasco County SD 21's money come from?
    $49,925,000 in revenue in fiscal year 2022-23: 52.3% state, 29.3% local and 18.4% federal (NCES F-33).
  4. How many children in North Wasco County SD 21 live in poverty?
    The Census Bureau estimates that 548 of the 3,388 children aged 5 to 17 living within the district's boundaries in 2024, 16.2%, were in families in poverty (Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates). It is a model-based estimate for everyone living in the district, not a count of its students; the free-meal shares in the school tables are counts of enrolled students.
  5. How much does North Wasco County SD 21 spend on teacher salaries?
    $13,274,000 in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), or $4,672 per student. Divided by the 178 full-time teachers in the NCES Common Core of Data for 2022-23 that is $74,506 per teacher, more than 78 in 100 Oregon districts (state median $65,110). That is spending, not what a teacher is paid: the salary lines and the teacher count come from different files, and the result can differ widely from the average salary a district publishes. The district's salary schedule gives pay. For pay, the National Education Association put the average Oregon teacher salary at $69,671 in 2021-22 (NCES Digest table 211.60).
  6. How do students in North Wasco County SD 21 do on state tests?
    In 2021-22, the students tested in North Wasco County SD 21 scored proficient or above: 36% in reading and 19% in math, against 44% in reading and 30.6% in math across Oregon. Oregon's own test sets what proficient means, so results compare within the state, not across states. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22.
  7. What is the graduation rate in North Wasco County SD 21?
    76% of the 231 students in North Wasco County SD 21's class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 81.3% across Oregon. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23.
  8. What is North Wasco County SD 21's NCES district ID?
    4100048. Each of its schools' 12-digit NCES IDs begins with these seven digits.

Reading these figures: how to choose a school district, what Title I means and what an absenteeism rate means. They are for information and are not a substitute for the school's or district's own records.

Sources

Every federal file behind this record
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2024-25: directory, membership, staff and lunch files. nces.ed.gov
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2021-22 school characteristics: Title I status. nces.ed.gov
  • Civil Rights Data Collection, 2021-22: AP courses, gifted programs, counselors, discipline. civilrightsdata.ed.gov
  • EDFacts, 2022-23: chronic absenteeism. ed.gov
  • EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23: the class of 2023 for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
  • EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22: reading and math proficiency for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
  • NCES Digest of Education Statistics, table 211.60 (2021-22): the state's average teacher salary, from the National Education Association. nces.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau, Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates, 2024: children aged 5 to 17 and those in families in poverty, by school district. census.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances, fiscal year 2023-24: per pupil current spending for 2023-24 and 2022-23. census.gov
  • NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey, fiscal year 2022-23: district spending and revenue. nces.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau geocoder and TIGER school districts: the district boundary used by the district finder. census.gov

Source: U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances Per pupil current spending by school system · FY 2023-24

Source: NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey Revenue and expenditures by district · FY 2022-23

Source: NCES Common Core of Data School directory, membership, staff and lunch files · 2024-25