Miami Public Schools

Listed by NCES as Miami (district ID 4019860)

Public school district · Ottawa County · Oklahoma · NCES district ID 4019860

Miami Public Schools spent $11,353 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23, more than 75% of the other Oklahoma districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 (median $10,548). Its 6 schools enrolled 1,997 students in 2024-25; 53.8% of its revenue came from the state. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $12,082 per student, up 6.4% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year). Its four-year graduation rate for the class of 2023 was 80-84% (Oklahoma: 81.2%).

Spending per student among Oklahoma districts of similar size

Current spending per student excludes construction and debt. The 9 districts closest to Miami Public Schools in enrollment (2,066 to 2,306 students) and Miami Public Schools itself.

Current spending per student, Oklahoma districts closest in size to Miami Public Schools, FY23Clinton Public Schools $12,263; Cache Public Schools $11,592; Chickasha Public Schools $11,407; Miami Public Schools $11,353; Wagoner $11,153; Poteau Public Schools $10,847; Elk City Public Schools $9,839; Skiatook Public Schools $9,511; Blanchard Public School $8,447; Harrah $8,320; State median, 1,000+ students $10,548.6k8k10k12k14kClinton Public Schools$12,263Cache Public Schools$11,592Chickasha Public Schools$11,407Miami Public Schools$11,353Wagoner$11,153Poteau Public Schools$10,847Elk City Public Schools$9,839Skiatook Public Schools$9,511Blanchard Public School$8,447Harrah$8,320State median, 1,000+ students $10,548
Current spending per student, Oklahoma districts closest in size to Miami Public Schools, FY23Clinton Public Schools $12,263; Cache Public Schools $11,592; Chickasha Public Schools $11,407; Miami Public Schools $11,353; Wagoner $11,153; Poteau Public Schools $10,847; Elk City Public Schools $9,839; Skiatook Public Schools $9,511; Blanchard Public School $8,447; Harrah $8,320; State median, 1,000+ students $10,548.6k8k10k12k14kClinton Public Schools$12,263Cache Public Schools$11,592Chickasha Public Schools$11,407Miami Public Schools$11,353Wagoner$11,153Poteau Public Schools$10,847Elk City Public Schools$9,839Skiatook Public Schools$9,511Blanchard Public School$8,447Harrah$8,320State median, 1,000+ students $10,548
Current spending per student, Oklahoma districts closest in size to Miami Public Schools, FY23Clinton Public Schools $12,263; Cache Public Schools $11,592; Chickasha Public Schools $11,407; Miami Public Schools $11,353; Wagoner $11,153; Poteau Public Schools $10,847; Elk City Public Schools $9,839; Skiatook Public Schools $9,511; Blanchard Public School $8,447; Harrah $8,320; State median, 1,000+ students $10,548.6k10k14kClinton Public Schools$12,263Cache Public Schools$11,592Chickasha Public Schools$11,407Miami Public Schools$11,353Wagoner$11,153Poteau Public Schools$10,847Elk City Public Schools$9,839Skiatook Public Schools$9,511Blanchard Public School$8,447Harrah$8,320State median, 1,000+ students $10,548
Current spending per student, Oklahoma districts closest in size to Miami Public Schools, FY23Clinton Public Schools $12,263; Cache Public Schools $11,592; Chickasha Public Schools $11,407; Miami Public Schools $11,353; Wagoner $11,153; Poteau Public Schools $10,847; Elk City Public Schools $9,839; Skiatook Public Schools $9,511; Blanchard Public School $8,447; Harrah $8,320; State median, 1,000+ students $10,548.6k10k14kClinton Public Schools$12,263Cache Public Schools$11,592Chickasha Public Schools$11,407Miami Public Schools$11,353Wagoner$11,153Poteau Public Schools$10,847Elk City Public Schools$9,839Skiatook Public Schools$9,511Blanchard Public School$8,447Harrah$8,320State median, 1,000+ students $10,548

Where the money came from

$26,687,000 in revenue: 53.8% state, 25.9% local and 20.3% federal. Total spending including $4,109,000 of capital outlay was $29,101,000, or $13,222 per student; the figure above leaves capital out.

Miami Public Schools revenue by source, fiscal year 2022-23State $14,347,000; Local $6,919,000; Federal $5,421,000; total $26,687,000.
  • State$14,347,000 54%
  • Local$6,919,000 26%
  • Federal$5,421,000 20%

Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23: current expenditures for elementary and secondary education divided by fall membership; the state median covers 132 districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022. Revenue by source (TOTALREV, TFEDREV, TSTREV, TLOCREV).

Enrollment fell from 2022-23 to 2024-25

2,201 students in 2022-23, 2,129 students in 2023-24, 1,997 students in 2024-25, counted across the schools that reported each year.

Miami Public Schools enrollment by school year2022-23: 2,201, 2023-24: 2,129, 2024-25: 1,99701k2k3k2022-232,2012023-242,1292024-251,997
Miami Public Schools enrollment by school year2022-23: 2,201, 2023-24: 2,129, 2024-25: 1,99701k2k3k2022-232,2012023-242,1292024-251,997
Miami Public Schools enrollment by school year2022-23: 2,201, 2023-24: 2,129, 2024-25: 1,99701k2k3k2022-232,2012023-242,1292024-251,997
Miami Public Schools enrollment by school year2022-23: 2,201, 2023-24: 2,129, 2024-25: 1,99701k2k3k2022-232,2012023-242,1292024-251,997

Teachers and students per teacher

School yearStudentsTeachers (FTE)Per teacher
2022-232,201142.315.5
2023-242,129133.216.0
2024-251,997105.618.9

Source: NCES Common Core of Data membership and staff files, 2022-23, 2023-24, 2024-25; sums over the schools reporting each year.

$6,619,000 in teacher salaries in fiscal year 2022-23, $3,007 per student

Miami Public Schools booked $6,619,000 of teacher salaries in its 2022-23 finance report and counted 142 full-time teachers in its Common Core of Data district staff file for 2022-23 (the school files behind the staffing figures on this page count teachers separately, so the two can differ), or $46,527 of salary spending per teacher. That is more than 30 in 100 Oklahoma districts with a figure (state median $48,166, 514 districts). It is spending, not what a teacher is paid: the salary lines and the teacher count come from different files, so the result can differ widely from the average salary the district publishes (its salary schedule gives pay); benefits are left out, and states book salaries differently, so compare districts within one state. For pay, the National Education Association put the average Oklahoma teacher salary at $54,804 in 2021-22 (NCES Digest table 211.60).

ProgramTeacher salariesShare
Regular programs$5,108,00077.2%
Special education$856,00012.9%
Vocational$165,0002.5%
Other programs$490,0007.4%

Teacher salaries per student, fiscal years 2018-19 to 2022-23

The district's teacher salary bill divided by its fall enrollment each year: $2,850 in 2018-19, $2,890 in 2019-20, $2,999 in 2020-21, $3,031 in 2021-22, $3,007 in 2022-23.

Miami Public Schools teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $2,850, 2019-20: $2,890, 2020-21: $2,999, 2021-22: $3,031, 2022-23: $3,00701k2k3k4k2018-19$2,8502019-20$2,8902020-21$2,9992021-22$3,0312022-23$3,007
Miami Public Schools teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $2,850, 2019-20: $2,890, 2020-21: $2,999, 2021-22: $3,031, 2022-23: $3,00701k2k3k4k2018-19$2,8502019-20$2,8902020-21$2,9992021-22$3,0312022-23$3,007
Miami Public Schools teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $2,850, 2019-20: $2,890, 2020-21: $2,999, 2021-22: $3,031, 2022-23: $3,00701k2k3k4k2018-19$2,8502019-20$2,8902020-21$2,9992021-22$3,0312022-23$3,007
Miami Public Schools teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $2,850, 2019-20: $2,890, 2020-21: $2,999, 2021-22: $3,031, 2022-23: $3,00701k2k3k4k2018-19$2,8502019-20$2,8902020-21$2,9992021-22$3,0312022-23$3,007

Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal years 2019 to 2023: teacher salaries in regular, special, vocational and other programs (Z35 to Z38) and fall membership (V33); NCES Common Core of Data LEA staff file 2022-23, teachers (full-time equivalent).

State test results, 2021-22

In 2021-22, the students tested in Miami Public Schools scored proficient or above: 25% in reading and 18% in math, against 27.2% in reading and 24.9% in math across Oklahoma. Each state writes its own test and sets its own proficiency bar, so compare these within Oklahoma, not across states.

Students proficient or above, 2021-22
SubjectThis districtOklahomaStudents tested
Reading and language arts25%27.2%1,073
Math18%24.9%1,072

Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results 2021-22, all students, from ED Data Express (the Data Rescue Project archive; ED has no 2022-23 result for this district): ED shows district results as ranges (for example 20-24%) to protect small groups.

Graduation rate, class of 2023

80-84% of the 137 students in Miami Public Schools' class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 81.2% across Oklahoma. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out, and counts those who earned a regular diploma by 2023. Every state computes it the same way under federal law, though each sets its own diploma requirements.

Four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rate, class of 2023
This districtOklahoma
Four-year graduation rate80‑84%81.2%
Students in the class13752,179

Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates 2022-23, all students, from ED Data Express: ED shows district rates as ranges (for example 90-94%) and leaves out small classes.

3 elementary schools, 688 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Wilson Elementary School25022.7not reportedSchoolwide program
Washington Elementary School23116.6not reportedSchoolwide program
Roosevelt Elementary School20723.4not reportedSchoolwide program

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

2 middle schools, 850 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Nichols Upper Elementary School45419.7not reportedSchoolwide program
Miami Junior High School39621.8not reportedSchoolwide program

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

1 high school, 459 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Miami High School45915.0not reportedNot Title I

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

Contact Miami Public Schools

Source: NCES Common Core of Data, local education agency directory 2024-25. Enrollment, boundaries and school assignment are the district's to confirm.

What to look at next about Miami Public Schools

  1. Oklahoma districts by spending per studentMiami Public Schools ranks 34 of 132 Oklahoma districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 on current spending per student in fiscal year 2022-23 ($11,353).#34 of 132
  2. Every school district in OklahomaMiami Public Schools is the number 56 by size of 544 Oklahoma districts, with 2,201 students in fall 2022 (F-33).#56 of 544
  3. HarrahThe next larger Oklahoma district: 2,206 students in fall 2022, $8,320 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$8,320
  4. Poteau Public SchoolsThe next smaller Oklahoma district: 2,182 students in fall 2022, $10,847 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$10,847
  5. Compare Miami Public Schools with HarrahEnrollment, spending, revenue sources and schools, side by side.
  6. Miami High School, its largest high school459 students in 2024-25, 15.0 per teacher.459
  7. Teacher salary spending across OklahomaMiami Public Schools spent $46,527 in salaries per full-time teacher in fiscal year 2022-23 (state median $48,166); spending, not a salary.$46,527
  8. Find the school district for an addressA home's district decides which public schools it can enroll in.

Source: NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23 (spending per student and fall 2022 membership; ranks among the state's districts that reported them); NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (schools).

Questions about Miami Public Schools

  1. How many schools and students are in Miami Public Schools?
    6 schools were open in 2024-25 (3 elementary, 2 middle, 1 high), enrolling 1,997 students, according to the NCES Common Core of Data.
  2. How much does Miami Public Schools spend per student?
    $11,353 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), which leaves out construction and debt; the Oklahoma median for districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 is $10,548 and the U.S. figure is $16,260. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $12,082 per student, up 6.4% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year).
  3. Where does Miami Public Schools' money come from?
    $26,687,000 in revenue in fiscal year 2022-23: 53.8% state, 25.9% local and 20.3% federal (NCES F-33).
  4. How many children in Miami Public Schools live in poverty?
    The Census Bureau estimates that 659 of the 2,619 children aged 5 to 17 living within the district's boundaries in 2024, 25.2%, were in families in poverty (Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates). It is a model-based estimate for everyone living in the district, not a count of its students; the free-meal shares in the school tables are counts of enrolled students.
  5. How much does Miami Public Schools spend on teacher salaries?
    $6,619,000 in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), or $3,007 per student. Divided by the 142 full-time teachers in the NCES Common Core of Data for 2022-23 that is $46,527 per teacher, more than 30 in 100 Oklahoma districts (state median $48,166). That is spending, not what a teacher is paid: the salary lines and the teacher count come from different files, and the result can differ widely from the average salary a district publishes. The district's salary schedule gives pay. For pay, the National Education Association put the average Oklahoma teacher salary at $54,804 in 2021-22 (NCES Digest table 211.60).
  6. How do students in Miami Public Schools do on state tests?
    In 2021-22, the students tested in Miami Public Schools scored proficient or above: 25% in reading and 18% in math, against 27.2% in reading and 24.9% in math across Oklahoma. Oklahoma's own test sets what proficient means, so results compare within the state, not across states. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22.
  7. What is the graduation rate in Miami Public Schools?
    80-84% of the 137 students in Miami Public Schools' class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 81.2% across Oklahoma. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23.
  8. What is Miami Public Schools' NCES district ID?
    4019860. Each of its schools' 12-digit NCES IDs begins with these seven digits.

Reading these figures: how to choose a school district, what Title I means and what an absenteeism rate means. They are for information and are not a substitute for the school's or district's own records.

Sources

Every federal file behind this record
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2024-25: directory, membership, staff and lunch files. nces.ed.gov
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2021-22 school characteristics: Title I status. nces.ed.gov
  • Civil Rights Data Collection, 2021-22: AP courses, gifted programs, counselors, discipline. civilrightsdata.ed.gov
  • EDFacts, 2022-23: chronic absenteeism. ed.gov
  • EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23: the class of 2023 for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
  • EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22: reading and math proficiency for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
  • NCES Digest of Education Statistics, table 211.60 (2021-22): the state's average teacher salary, from the National Education Association. nces.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau, Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates, 2024: children aged 5 to 17 and those in families in poverty, by school district. census.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances, fiscal year 2023-24: per pupil current spending for 2023-24 and 2022-23. census.gov
  • NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey, fiscal year 2022-23: district spending and revenue. nces.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau geocoder and TIGER school districts: the district boundary used by the district finder. census.gov

Source: U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances Per pupil current spending by school system · FY 2023-24

Source: NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey Revenue and expenditures by district · FY 2022-23

Source: NCES Common Core of Data School directory, membership, staff and lunch files · 2024-25