Whittier Independent Study

Public elementary school, kindergarten to grade 8 · Whittier, California

Whittier Independent Study in Whittier, California enrolled 67 students in 2024-25 with 2.0 full-time teachers, 33.5 students per teacher against the California elementary-school median of 22.4. It has no Title I status on file for 2021-22.

Enrollment fell 26% from 2022-23 to 2024-25; full-time teachers fell 42%

90 students in 2022-23, 74 students in 2023-24, 67 students in 2024-25. Full-time teachers went from 3.5 to 2.0.

Students enrolled at Whittier Independent Study by school year2022-23: 90, 2023-24: 74, 2024-25: 6702550751002022-23902023-24742024-2567
Students enrolled at Whittier Independent Study by school year2022-23: 90, 2023-24: 74, 2024-25: 6702550751002022-23902023-24742024-2567
Students enrolled at Whittier Independent Study by school year2022-23: 90, 2023-24: 74, 2024-25: 6702550751002022-23902023-24742024-2567
Students enrolled at Whittier Independent Study by school year2022-23: 90, 2023-24: 74, 2024-25: 6702550751002022-23902023-24742024-2567
The numbers as a table
School yearStudentsTeachers (FTE)Per teacher
2022-23903.525.9
2023-24743.521.3
2024-25672.033.5

33.5 students per teacher, a higher ratio than 100 of every 100 California elementary schools

Among the 5,878 California elementary schools that reported teachers for 2024-25 the median is 22.4; the national median for elementary schools is 14.6. A ratio counts every teacher, so it is not the size of a class.

Students per teacher, California elementary schools, 2024-25240 values from 3.0 to 93.0; This school 33.5; state median 22.4.1 more above 40.0 →010203040students per full-time teacherThis school 33.5state median 22.4U.S. 14.6
Students per teacher, California elementary schools, 2024-25240 values from 3.0 to 93.0; This school 33.5; state median 22.4.1 more above 40.0 →010203040students per full-time teacherThis school 33.5state median 22.4U.S. 14.6
Students per teacher, California elementary schools, 2024-25240 values from 3.0 to 93.0; This school 33.5; state median 22.4.1 more above 40.0 →010203040students per full-time teacherThis school 33.5state median 22.4U.S. 14.6
Students per teacher, California elementary schools, 2024-25240 values from 3.0 to 93.0; This school 33.5; state median 22.4.1 more above 40.0 →010203040students per full-time teacherThis school 33.5state median 22.4U.S. 14.6

Source: NCES Common Core of Data membership and staff files, 2022-23, 2023-24, 2024-25; the comparison counts schools with a 2024-25 teacher count and a ratio from 3 to 99 (lower values are reporting errors).

Programs and staff in 2021-22

In the 2021-22 civil rights collection Whittier Independent Study reported.

  • Advanced Placement coursesnot reported
  • Gifted and talented programnot reported
  • Counselors (FTE)not reported
  • Out-of-school suspensionsnot reported
  • Chronically absent87.8% (2022-23)

Who attends

83.6% of students were Hispanic, 4.5% White, 4.5% Black in 2024-25.

  1. Hispanic83.6%
  2. White4.5%
  3. Black4.5%
  4. Two or more races3.0%
  5. Asian1.5%
  6. American Indian1.5%
  7. Pacific Islander1.5%

Source: U.S. Department of Education, Civil Rights Data Collection 2021-22; chronic absenteeism from EDFacts 2022-23; every count and the counselor ratio are for that school year. Who attends: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25, membership by race and ethnicity.

Elementary schools in Whittier

29 public elementary schools in Whittier report 2024-25 enrollment.

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunch
Ocean View Elementary66826.234.7%
Leffingwell Elementary55124.534.3%
Wallen L. Andrews Elementary54220.844.3%
Jordan Elementary51624.641.5%
Daniel Phelan Elementary50724.648.3%
Longfellow Elementary49923.261.5%
Scott Avenue Elementary49424.540.3%
Ceres Elementary49222.449.8%

All public schools in Whittier →

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25.

What to look at next about Whittier Independent Study

  1. Longfellow ElementaryThe nearest public elementary school, 0.3 miles away: 499 students, 23.2 per teacher (2024-25).0.3 mi
  2. Orange Grove ElementaryThe next nearest public elementary school, 0.5 miles away: 324 students, 21.1 per teacher (2024-25).0.5 mi
  3. Compare Whittier Independent Study with Longfellow ElementaryStudents, teachers, meals, test results and who attends, side by side.
  4. How much Whittier City Elementary spends per student$18,539 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23 (U.S. $16,260), with its revenue sources and teacher pay.$18,539
  5. The largest public schools in CaliforniaWhittier Independent Study is the number 5,698 by size of 5,904 California elementary schools open in 2024-25.#5,698 of 5,904
  6. California schools by students per teacher33.5 students per teacher here against the California median of 22.4 for elementary schools.33.5:1
  7. Find the school district for an addressA home's district, not its city, decides which public schools it can enroll in.

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (locations, enrollment, teachers); NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23. Distances are straight lines between the schools' NCES coordinates, not travel routes.

Questions about Whittier Independent Study

  1. How many students attend Whittier Independent Study?
    67 in the 2024-25 school year, according to the NCES Common Core of Data; 90 in 2022-23. It is an elementary school in Whittier, CA.
  2. What is the student-teacher ratio at Whittier Independent Study?
    33.5 students per full-time teacher (2024-25); the California median for elementary schools is 22.4. A ratio counts every teacher, so it is not the size of a class.
  3. Is Whittier Independent Study a Title I school?
    Whittier Independent Study has no Title I status in the NCES school files, because California did not report school Title I status for 2021-22; the California Department of Education lists each school's current Title I status.
  4. What district is Whittier Independent Study in?
    Whittier City Elementary, NCES district ID 0642450. The first seven digits of the school's NCES ID 064245013047 are the district's.

Reading these figures: how to choose a school district, what Title I means and what an absenteeism rate means. They are for information and are not a substitute for the school's or district's own records.

Sources

Every federal file behind this record
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2024-25: directory, membership, staff and lunch files. nces.ed.gov
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2021-22 school characteristics: Title I status. nces.ed.gov
  • Civil Rights Data Collection, 2021-22: AP courses, gifted programs, counselors, discipline. civilrightsdata.ed.gov
  • EDFacts, 2022-23: chronic absenteeism. ed.gov
  • NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey, fiscal year 2022-23: district spending and revenue. nces.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau geocoder and TIGER school districts: the district boundary used by the district finder. census.gov

Source: NCES Common Core of Data Directory, membership, staff and lunch files · 2024-25

Source: Civil Rights Data Collection School-level files (AP, gifted, counselors, discipline) · 2021-22