White Bear Lake Area Schools
Listed by NCES as White Bear Lake School District (district ID 2742360)
Public school district · Ramsey County · Minnesota · NCES district ID 2742360
White Bear Lake Area Schools spent $15,111 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23, more than 73% of the other Minnesota districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 (median $14,091). Its 15 schools enrolled 5,201 students in 2024-25; 51.6% of its revenue came from the state. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $16,146 per student, up 6.8% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year). Its four-year graduation rate for the class of 2023 was 89% (Minnesota: 83.3%).
NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23 · Census Bureau school finances 2023-24 · NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 · method
Spending per student among Minnesota districts of similar size
Current spending per student excludes construction and debt. The 9 districts closest to White Bear Lake Area Schools in enrollment (7,822 to 9,286 students) and White Bear Lake Area Schools itself.
Where the money came from
$172,211,000 in revenue: 51.6% state, 43.3% local and 5.1% federal. Total spending including $111,286,000 of capital outlay was $261,665,000, or $30,629 per student; the figure above leaves capital out.
- State$88,884,000 52%
- Local$74,564,000 43%
- Federal$8,763,000 5%
Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23: current expenditures for elementary and secondary education divided by fall membership; the state median covers 163 districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022. Revenue by source (TOTALREV, TFEDREV, TSTREV, TLOCREV).
Enrollment fell from 2022-23 to 2024-25
8,543 students in 2022-23, 8,549 students in 2023-24, 5,117 students in 2024-25, counted across the schools that reported each year.
Teachers and students per teacher
| School year | Students | Teachers (FTE) | Per teacher |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2022-23 | 8,543 | 556.8 | 15.3 |
| 2023-24 | 8,549 | 519.2 | 16.5 |
| 2024-25 | 5,117 | 351.8 | 14.5 |
Source: NCES Common Core of Data membership and staff files, 2022-23, 2023-24, 2024-25; sums over the schools reporting each year.
$42,229,000 in teacher salaries in fiscal year 2022-23, $4,943 per student
White Bear Lake Area Schools booked $42,229,000 of teacher salaries in its 2022-23 finance report and counted 563 full-time teachers in its Common Core of Data district staff file for 2022-23 (the school files behind the staffing figures on this page count teachers separately, so the two can differ), or $75,003 of salary spending per teacher. That is more than 82 in 100 Minnesota districts with a figure (state median $62,418, 464 districts). It is spending, not what a teacher is paid: the salary lines and the teacher count come from different files, so the result can differ widely from the average salary the district publishes (its salary schedule gives pay); benefits are left out, and states book salaries differently, so compare districts within one state. For pay, the National Education Association put the average Minnesota teacher salary at $68,491 in 2021-22 (NCES Digest table 211.60).
| Program | Teacher salaries | Share |
|---|---|---|
| Regular programs | $33,227,000 | 78.7% |
| Special education | $7,699,000 | 18.2% |
| Vocational | $1,046,000 | 2.5% |
| Other programs | $257,000 | 0.6% |
Teacher salaries per student, fiscal years 2018-19 to 2022-23
The district's teacher salary bill divided by its fall enrollment each year: $4,320 in 2018-19, $4,626 in 2019-20, $4,891 in 2020-21, $4,987 in 2021-22, $4,943 in 2022-23.
Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal years 2019 to 2023: teacher salaries in regular, special, vocational and other programs (Z35 to Z38) and fall membership (V33); NCES Common Core of Data LEA staff file 2022-23, teachers (full-time equivalent).
State test results, 2021-22
In 2021-22, the students tested in White Bear Lake Area Schools scored proficient or above: 55% in reading and 48% in math, against 51.1% in reading and 44.8% in math across Minnesota. Each state writes its own test and sets its own proficiency bar, so compare these within Minnesota, not across states.
| Subject | This district | Minnesota | Students tested |
|---|---|---|---|
| Reading and language arts | 55% | 51.1% | 4,122 |
| Math | 48% | 44.8% | 3,973 |
Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results 2021-22, all students, from ED Data Express (the Data Rescue Project archive; ED has no 2022-23 result for this district): ED shows district results as ranges (for example 20-24%) to protect small groups.
Graduation rate, class of 2023
89% of the 610 students in White Bear Lake Area Schools' class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 83.3% across Minnesota. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out, and counts those who earned a regular diploma by 2023. Every state computes it the same way under federal law, though each sets its own diploma requirements.
| This district | Minnesota | |
|---|---|---|
| Four-year graduation rate | 89% | 83.3% |
| Students in the class | 610 | 69,945 |
Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates 2022-23, all students, from ED Data Express: ED shows district rates as ranges (for example 90-94%) and leaves out small classes.
10 elementary schools, 3,907 students
| School | Students | Per teacher | Free lunch | Title I, 2021‑22 |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Matoska International | 543 | 16.0 | 24.1% | Eligible, no program |
| Otter Lake Elementary | 492 | 13.3 | 15.9% | Eligible, no program |
| Lincoln Elementary | 469 | 19.1 | 15.8% | Eligible, no program |
| North Star Elementary | 467 | 15.6 | 18.0% | Not reported |
| Oneka Elementary School | 463 | 13.6 | 21.2% | Eligible, no program |
| Vadnais Heights Elementary | 405 | 15.6 | 37.5% | Schoolwide program |
| Lakeaires Elementary | 396 | 14.6 | 37.1% | Schoolwide program |
| Willow Lane Elementary | 279 | 10.1 | 64.5% | Schoolwide program |
| Birch Lake Elementary | 239 | 10.8 | 37.7% | Schoolwide program |
| Normandy Park Education Center | 154 | 6.7 | 29.2% | Not Title I |
Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.
2 middle schools, 1,006 students
| School | Students | Per teacher | Free lunch | Title I, 2021‑22 |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Central Middle | 922 | 19.6 | 16.3% | Eligible, no program |
| Sunrise Park Area Learning Center | 84 | not reported | 50.0% | Not Title I |
Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.
2 high schools, 191 students
| School | Students | Per teacher | Free lunch | Title I, 2021‑22 |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| White Bear Area Learning Center | 140 | 10.8 | 53.6% | Eligible, no program |
| White Bear Transition Plus Program | 51 | 7.6 | 47.1% | Eligible, no program |
Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.
1 other school, 97 students
| School | Students | Per teacher | Free lunch | Title I, 2021‑22 |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| White Bear Lake District Center | 97 | not reported | 30.9% | Not Title I |
Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.
5 more schools on file: small, closed or in an earlier directory
These records carry fewer federal fields than a full school page needs, so each is summarized here with what NCES reports.
White Bear North Campus Senior
High school in White Bear Lake; last listed in the 2024-25 NCES directory (closed); 1,359 students; 17.1 students per teacher.
White Bear South Campus Senior
High school in White Bear Lake; last listed in the 2024-25 NCES directory (closed); 1,111 students; 19.3 students per teacher.
Sunrise Park Middle
Middle school in White Bear Lake; last listed in the 2024-25 NCES directory (closed); 743 students; 14.7 students per teacher.
White Bear Lake District Center
School in White Bear Lake; open in 2024-25; 97 students.
Sunrise Park Area Learning Center
Middle school in White Bear Lake; open in 2024-25; 84 students.
Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 and earlier directories: the last year each school was listed, its students and its teachers.
Contact White Bear Lake Area Schools
- Website: isd624.org
- Phone: (651) 407-7500
- Office: 2399 Cedar Avenue, White Bear Lake, MN 55110
Source: NCES Common Core of Data, local education agency directory 2024-25. Enrollment, boundaries and school assignment are the district's to confirm.
What to look at next about White Bear Lake Area Schools
- Minnesota districts by spending per studentWhite Bear Lake Area Schools ranks 44 of 163 Minnesota districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 on current spending per student in fiscal year 2022-23 ($15,111).#44 of 163
- Every school district in MinnesotaWhite Bear Lake Area Schools is the number 22 by size of 543 Minnesota districts, with 8,543 students in fall 2022 (F-33).#22 of 543
- Duluth Public SchoolsThe next larger Minnesota district: 8,554 students in fall 2022, $16,081 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$16,081
- Mankato Area Public SchoolsThe next smaller Minnesota district: 8,398 students in fall 2022, $14,091 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$14,091
- Compare White Bear Lake Area Schools with Duluth Public SchoolsEnrollment, spending, revenue sources and schools, side by side.
- White Bear Area Learning Center, its largest high school140 students in 2024-25, 10.8 per teacher.140
- Teacher salary spending across MinnesotaWhite Bear Lake Area Schools spent $75,003 in salaries per full-time teacher in fiscal year 2022-23 (state median $62,418); spending, not a salary.$75,003
- Find the school district for an addressA home's district decides which public schools it can enroll in.
Source: NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23 (spending per student and fall 2022 membership; ranks among the state's districts that reported them); NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (schools).
Questions about White Bear Lake Area Schools
How many schools and students are in White Bear Lake Area Schools?
15 schools were open in 2024-25 (10 elementary, 2 middle, 2 high, 1 other), enrolling 5,201 students, according to the NCES Common Core of Data.How much does White Bear Lake Area Schools spend per student?
$15,111 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), which leaves out construction and debt; the Minnesota median for districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 is $14,091 and the U.S. figure is $16,260. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $16,146 per student, up 6.8% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year).Where does White Bear Lake Area Schools' money come from?
$172,211,000 in revenue in fiscal year 2022-23: 51.6% state, 43.3% local and 5.1% federal (NCES F-33).How many children in White Bear Lake Area Schools live in poverty?
The Census Bureau estimates that 533 of the 10,361 children aged 5 to 17 living within the district's boundaries in 2024, 5.1%, were in families in poverty (Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates). It is a model-based estimate for everyone living in the district, not a count of its students; the free-meal shares in the school tables are counts of enrolled students.How much does White Bear Lake Area Schools spend on teacher salaries?
$42,229,000 in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), or $4,943 per student. Divided by the 563 full-time teachers in the NCES Common Core of Data for 2022-23 that is $75,003 per teacher, more than 82 in 100 Minnesota districts (state median $62,418). That is spending, not what a teacher is paid: the salary lines and the teacher count come from different files, and the result can differ widely from the average salary a district publishes. The district's salary schedule gives pay. For pay, the National Education Association put the average Minnesota teacher salary at $68,491 in 2021-22 (NCES Digest table 211.60).How do students in White Bear Lake Area Schools do on state tests?
In 2021-22, the students tested in White Bear Lake Area Schools scored proficient or above: 55% in reading and 48% in math, against 51.1% in reading and 44.8% in math across Minnesota. Minnesota's own test sets what proficient means, so results compare within the state, not across states. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22.What is the graduation rate in White Bear Lake Area Schools?
89% of the 610 students in White Bear Lake Area Schools' class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 83.3% across Minnesota. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23.What is White Bear Lake Area Schools' NCES district ID?
2742360. Each of its schools' 12-digit NCES IDs begins with these seven digits.
Reading these figures: how to choose a school district, what Title I means and what an absenteeism rate means. They are for information and are not a substitute for the school's or district's own records.
Sources
Every federal file behind this record
- NCES Common Core of Data, 2024-25: directory, membership, staff and lunch files. nces.ed.gov
- NCES Common Core of Data, 2021-22 school characteristics: Title I status. nces.ed.gov
- Civil Rights Data Collection, 2021-22: AP courses, gifted programs, counselors, discipline. civilrightsdata.ed.gov
- EDFacts, 2022-23: chronic absenteeism. ed.gov
- EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23: the class of 2023 for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
- EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22: reading and math proficiency for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
- NCES Digest of Education Statistics, table 211.60 (2021-22): the state's average teacher salary, from the National Education Association. nces.ed.gov
- U.S. Census Bureau, Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates, 2024: children aged 5 to 17 and those in families in poverty, by school district. census.gov
- U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances, fiscal year 2023-24: per pupil current spending for 2023-24 and 2022-23. census.gov
- NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey, fiscal year 2022-23: district spending and revenue. nces.ed.gov
- U.S. Census Bureau geocoder and TIGER school districts: the district boundary used by the district finder. census.gov
Source: U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances Per pupil current spending by school system · FY 2023-24
Source: NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey Revenue and expenditures by district · FY 2022-23
Source: NCES Common Core of Data School directory, membership, staff and lunch files · 2024-25