West Parish

Public elementary school, kindergarten to grade 5 · Gloucester, Massachusetts

West Parish in Gloucester, Massachusetts enrolled 382 students in 2024-25 with 29.0 full-time teachers, 13.2 students per teacher against the Massachusetts elementary-school median of 12.1. It ran a schoolwide Title I program in 2021-22; every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision (2024-25). On the state tests, 40-44% of its students tested were proficient in reading in 2021-22 and 30-34% proficient in math in 2022-23 (Massachusetts: 43.7% and 42%).

Enrollment rose 2% from 2022-23 to 2024-25; full-time teachers held steady

374 students in 2022-23, 370 students in 2023-24, 382 students in 2024-25. Full-time teachers went from 29.0 to 29.0.

Students enrolled at West Parish by school year2022-23: 374, 2023-24: 370, 2024-25: 38201002003004002022-233742023-243702024-25382
Students enrolled at West Parish by school year2022-23: 374, 2023-24: 370, 2024-25: 38201002003004002022-233742023-243702024-25382
Students enrolled at West Parish by school year2022-23: 374, 2023-24: 370, 2024-25: 38201002003004002022-233742023-243702024-25382
Students enrolled at West Parish by school year2022-23: 374, 2023-24: 370, 2024-25: 38201002003004002022-233742023-243702024-25382
The numbers as a table
School yearStudentsTeachers (FTE)Per teacher
2022-2337429.012.9
2023-2437029.012.8
2024-2538229.013.2

13.2 students per teacher, a higher ratio than 71 of every 100 Massachusetts elementary schools

Among the 1,012 Massachusetts elementary schools that reported teachers for 2024-25 the median is 12.1; the national median for elementary schools is 14.6. A ratio counts every teacher, so it is not the size of a class.

Students per teacher, Massachusetts elementary schools, 2024-25240 values from 3.2 to 21.2; West Parish 13.2; state median 12.1.1 more above 20.0 →05101520students per full-time teacherWest Parish 13.2state median 12.1U.S. 14.6
Students per teacher, Massachusetts elementary schools, 2024-25240 values from 3.2 to 21.2; West Parish 13.2; state median 12.1.1 more above 20.0 →05101520students per full-time teacherWest Parish 13.2state median 12.1U.S. 14.6
Students per teacher, Massachusetts elementary schools, 2024-25240 values from 3.2 to 21.2; West Parish 13.2; state median 12.1.1 more above 20.0 →05101520students per full-time teacherWest Parish 13.2state median 12.1U.S. 14.6
Students per teacher, Massachusetts elementary schools, 2024-25240 values from 3.2 to 21.2; West Parish 13.2; state median 12.1.1 more above 20.0 →05101520students per full-time teacherWest Parish 13.2state median 12.1U.S. 14.6

Source: NCES Common Core of Data membership and staff files, 2022-23, 2023-24, 2024-25; the comparison counts schools with a 2024-25 teacher count and a ratio from 3 to 99 (lower values are reporting errors).

One counselor per 328 students in 2021-22

In the 2021-22 civil rights collection West Parish enrolled 371 students and had 1.1 counselors (full-time equivalent); it reported 0 out-of-school suspensions that year.

  • Advanced Placement coursesNone
  • Gifted and talented programNo
  • Counselors (FTE)1.1, one per 328 of the 371 students enrolled in 2021-22
  • Out-of-school suspensions0
  • Chronically absent13.9% (2022-23)

Who attends

84.3% of students were White, 7.9% Hispanic, 5.0% of two or more races in 2024-25.

  1. White84.3%
  2. Hispanic7.9%
  3. Two or more races5.0%
  4. Asian1.3%
  5. Black0.8%
  6. Pacific Islander0.8%

Source: U.S. Department of Education, Civil Rights Data Collection 2021-22; chronic absenteeism from EDFacts 2022-23; every count and the counselor ratio are for that school year. Who attends: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25, membership by race and ethnicity.

State test results, 2021-22 and 2022-23

The students tested at West Parish scored proficient or above: 40-44% in reading in 2021-22 and 30-34% in math in 2022-23, against 43.7% in reading in 2021-22 and 42% in math in 2022-23 across Massachusetts. Each state writes its own test and sets its own proficiency bar, so compare these within Massachusetts, not across states. ED Data Express holds no district results after 2021-22, so the district column gives its 2021-22 figure.

Students proficient or above, 2021-22 and 2022-23
Subject and yearThis schoolIts districtMassachusetts
Reading and language arts, 2021-2240‑44%38%43.7%
Math, 2022-2330‑34%35% (2021-22)42%

Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results 2021-22 and 2022-23, all students, from ED Data Express (2021-22 through the Data Rescue Project archive); for 2022-23 ED published math by school and reading only by state: ED shows school and district results as ranges (for example 20-24%) to protect small groups.

Elementary schools in Gloucester

5 public elementary schools in Gloucester report 2024-25 enrollment; West Parish is the largest.

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunch
West Parish38213.2not reported
Beeman Memorial2929.6not reported
Plum Cove School21713.0not reported
Veterans Memorial2168.5not reported
East Gloucester Elementary1819.3not reported

All public schools in Gloucester →

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25.

What to look at next about West Parish

  1. Beeman MemorialThe nearest public elementary school, 2.3 miles away: 292 students, 9.6 per teacher (2024-25).2.3 mi
  2. Manchester Memorial ElementaryThe next nearest public elementary school, 3.9 miles away: 304 students, 9.9 per teacher (2024-25).3.9 mi
  3. Compare West Parish with Beeman MemorialStudents, teachers, meals, test results and who attends, side by side.
  4. How much Gloucester Public Schools spends per student$23,755 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23 (U.S. $16,260), with its revenue sources and teacher pay.$23,755
  5. The largest public schools in MassachusettsWest Parish is the number 484 by size of 1,014 Massachusetts elementary schools open in 2024-25.#484 of 1,014
  6. Massachusetts schools by students per teacher13.2 students per teacher here against the Massachusetts median of 12.1 for elementary schools.13.2:1
  7. Find the school district for an addressA home's district, not its city, decides which public schools it can enroll in.

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (locations, enrollment, teachers); NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23. Distances are straight lines between the schools' NCES coordinates, not travel routes.

Questions about West Parish

  1. How many students attend West Parish?
    382 in the 2024-25 school year, according to the NCES Common Core of Data; 374 in 2022-23. It is an elementary school in Gloucester, MA.
  2. What is the student-teacher ratio at West Parish?
    13.2 students per full-time teacher (2024-25); the Massachusetts median for elementary schools is 12.1. A ratio counts every teacher, so it is not the size of a class.
  3. Is West Parish a Title I school?
    West Parish ran a schoolwide Title I program in 2021-22, the last year NCES published school Title I status.
  4. How do students at West Parish do on state tests?
    The students tested at West Parish scored proficient or above: 40-44% in reading in 2021-22 and 30-34% in math in 2022-23, against 43.7% in reading in 2021-22 and 42% in math in 2022-23 across Massachusetts. Massachusetts's own test sets what proficient means, so results compare within the state, not across states. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22 and 2022-23; ED publishes school results as ranges to protect small groups.
  5. What district is West Parish in?
    Gloucester Public Schools, NCES district ID 2505280. The first seven digits of the school's NCES ID 250528000781 are the district's.

Reading these figures: how to choose a school district, what Title I means and what an absenteeism rate means. They are for information and are not a substitute for the school's or district's own records.

Sources

Every federal file behind this record
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2024-25: directory, membership, staff and lunch files. nces.ed.gov
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2021-22 school characteristics: Title I status. nces.ed.gov
  • Civil Rights Data Collection, 2021-22: AP courses, gifted programs, counselors, discipline. civilrightsdata.ed.gov
  • EDFacts, 2022-23: chronic absenteeism. ed.gov
  • EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22 and 2022-23: reading and math proficiency for the school, its district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
  • NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey, fiscal year 2022-23: district spending and revenue. nces.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau geocoder and TIGER school districts: the district boundary used by the district finder. census.gov

Source: NCES Common Core of Data Directory, membership, staff and lunch files · 2024-25

Source: Civil Rights Data Collection School-level files (AP, gifted, counselors, discipline) · 2021-22