Tri-Village School District

Listed by NCES as Tri-Village Local (district ID 3904668)

Public school district · Darke County · Ohio · NCES district ID 3904668

Tri-Village School District spent $12,141 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23, below the middle: 85% of the other Ohio districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022 spent more (median $15,201). Its 3 schools enrolled 817 students in 2024-25; 46.1% of its revenue came from the state. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $13,716 per student, up 13.0% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year). Its four-year graduation rate for the class of 2023 was 95% or more (Ohio: 86.2%).

Spending per student among Ohio districts of similar size

Current spending per student excludes construction and debt. The 9 districts closest to Tri-Village in enrollment (832 to 854 students) and Tri-Village itself.

Current spending per student, Ohio districts closest in size to Tri-Village, FY23Trumbull Career & Tech Ctr $23,338; Patrick Henry Local Schools $17,743; Hicksville Schools $16,294; Berne Union Local $16,146; Seneca East Local $15,249; Carey Exempted Village Schools $14,183; Minster Local Schools $13,850; Mapleton Local $13,481; Tri-Village $12,141; Columbus Preparatory Academy $8,863; State median, under 1,000 students $15,201.5k10k15k20k25kTrumbull Career & Tech Ctr$23,338Patrick Henry Local Schools$17,743Hicksville Schools$16,294Berne Union Local$16,146Seneca East Local$15,249Carey Exempted Village Schools$14,183Minster Local Schools$13,850Mapleton Local$13,481Tri-Village$12,141Columbus Preparatory Academy$8,863State median, under 1,000 students $15,201
Current spending per student, Ohio districts closest in size to Tri-Village, FY23Trumbull Career & Tech Ctr $23,338; Patrick Henry Local Schools $17,743; Hicksville Schools $16,294; Berne Union Local $16,146; Seneca East Local $15,249; Carey Exempted Village Schools $14,183; Minster Local Schools $13,850; Mapleton Local $13,481; Tri-Village $12,141; Columbus Preparatory Academy $8,863; State median, under 1,000 students $15,201.5k10k15k20k25kTrumbull Career & Tech Ctr$23,338Patrick Henry Local Schools$17,743Hicksville Schools$16,294Berne Union Local$16,146Seneca East Local$15,249Carey Exempted Village Schools$14,183Minster Local Schools$13,850Mapleton Local$13,481Tri-Village$12,141Columbus Preparatory Academy$8,863State median, under 1,000 students $15,201
Current spending per student, Ohio districts closest in size to Tri-Village, FY23Trumbull Career & Tech Ctr $23,338; Patrick Henry Local Schools $17,743; Hicksville Schools $16,294; Berne Union Local $16,146; Seneca East Local $15,249; Carey Exempted Village Schools $14,183; Minster Local Schools $13,850; Mapleton Local $13,481; Tri-Village $12,141; Columbus Preparatory Academy $8,863; State median, under 1,000 students $15,201.5k15k25kTrumbull Career & Tech Ctr$23,338Patrick Henry Local Schools$17,743Hicksville Schools$16,294Berne Union Local$16,146Seneca East Local$15,249Carey Exempted Village Schools$14,183Minster Local Schools$13,850Mapleton Local$13,481Tri-Village$12,141Columbus Preparatory Academy$8,863State median, under 1,000 students $15,201
Current spending per student, Ohio districts closest in size to Tri-Village, FY23Trumbull Career & Tech Ctr $23,338; Patrick Henry Local Schools $17,743; Hicksville Schools $16,294; Berne Union Local $16,146; Seneca East Local $15,249; Carey Exempted Village Schools $14,183; Minster Local Schools $13,850; Mapleton Local $13,481; Tri-Village $12,141; Columbus Preparatory Academy $8,863; State median, under 1,000 students $15,201.5k15k25kTrumbull Career & Tech Ctr$23,338Patrick Henry Local Schools$17,743Hicksville Schools$16,294Berne Union Local$16,146Seneca East Local$15,249Carey Exempted Village Schools$14,183Minster Local Schools$13,850Mapleton Local$13,481Tri-Village$12,141Columbus Preparatory Academy$8,863State median, under 1,000 students $15,201

Where the money came from

$13,362,000 in revenue: 46.1% state, 45.9% local and 8.0% federal. Total spending including $8,536,000 of capital outlay was $19,471,000, or $23,125 per student; the figure above leaves capital out.

Tri-Village School District revenue by source, fiscal year 2022-23State $6,163,000; Local $6,131,000; Federal $1,068,000; total $13,362,000.
  • State$6,163,000 46%
  • Local$6,131,000 46%
  • Federal$1,068,000 8%

Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23: current expenditures for elementary and secondary education divided by fall membership; the state median covers 529 districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022. Revenue by source (TOTALREV, TFEDREV, TSTREV, TLOCREV).

Enrollment fell from 2022-23 to 2024-25

842 students in 2022-23, 802 students in 2023-24, 817 students in 2024-25, counted across the schools that reported each year.

Tri-Village School District enrollment by school year2022-23: 842, 2023-24: 802, 2024-25: 81702505007501k2022-238422023-248022024-25817
Tri-Village School District enrollment by school year2022-23: 842, 2023-24: 802, 2024-25: 81702505007501k2022-238422023-248022024-25817
Tri-Village School District enrollment by school year2022-23: 842, 2023-24: 802, 2024-25: 81702505007501k2022-238422023-248022024-25817
Tri-Village School District enrollment by school year2022-23: 842, 2023-24: 802, 2024-25: 81702505007501k2022-238422023-248022024-25817

Teachers and students per teacher

School yearStudentsTeachers (FTE)Per teacher
2022-2384245.018.7
2023-2480248.316.6
2024-2581748.816.8

Source: NCES Common Core of Data membership and staff files, 2022-23, 2023-24, 2024-25; sums over the schools reporting each year.

$3,499,000 in teacher salaries in fiscal year 2022-23, $4,156 per student

Tri-Village School District booked $3,499,000 of teacher salaries in its 2022-23 finance report and counted 49 full-time teachers in its Common Core of Data district staff file for 2022-23 (the school files behind the staffing figures on this page count teachers separately, so the two can differ), or $71,996 of salary spending per teacher. That is more than 28 in 100 Ohio districts with a figure (state median $78,983, 642 districts). It is spending, not what a teacher is paid: the salary lines and the teacher count come from different files, so the result can differ widely from the average salary the district publishes (its salary schedule gives pay); benefits are left out, and states book salaries differently, so compare districts within one state. For pay, the National Education Association put the average Ohio teacher salary at $63,153 in 2021-22 (NCES Digest table 211.60).

ProgramTeacher salariesShare
Regular programs$2,973,00085.0%
Special education$526,00015.0%

Teacher salaries per student, fiscal years 2018-19 to 2022-23

The district's teacher salary bill divided by its fall enrollment each year: $3,489 in 2018-19, $3,677 in 2019-20, $3,992 in 2020-21, $3,944 in 2021-22, $4,156 in 2022-23.

Tri-Village School District teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $3,489, 2019-20: $3,677, 2020-21: $3,992, 2021-22: $3,944, 2022-23: $4,15602k4k6k2018-19$3,4892019-20$3,6772020-21$3,9922021-22$3,9442022-23$4,156
Tri-Village School District teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $3,489, 2019-20: $3,677, 2020-21: $3,992, 2021-22: $3,944, 2022-23: $4,15602k4k6k2018-19$3,4892019-20$3,6772020-21$3,9922021-22$3,9442022-23$4,156
Tri-Village School District teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $3,489, 2019-20: $3,677, 2020-21: $3,992, 2021-22: $3,944, 2022-23: $4,15602k4k6k2018-19$3,4892019-20$3,6772020-21$3,9922021-22$3,9442022-23$4,156
Tri-Village School District teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $3,489, 2019-20: $3,677, 2020-21: $3,992, 2021-22: $3,944, 2022-23: $4,15602k4k6k2018-19$3,4892019-20$3,6772020-21$3,9922021-22$3,9442022-23$4,156

Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal years 2019 to 2023: teacher salaries in regular, special, vocational and other programs (Z35 to Z38) and fall membership (V33); NCES Common Core of Data LEA staff file 2022-23, teachers (full-time equivalent).

State test results, 2021-22

In 2021-22, the students tested in Tri-Village School District scored proficient or above: 72-78% in reading and 73-79% in math, against 59% in reading and 54% in math across Ohio. Each state writes its own test and sets its own proficiency bar, so compare these within Ohio, not across states. Where a state published results by grade only, the grades tested are combined, weighted by the students tested in each.

Students proficient or above, 2021-22
SubjectThis districtOhioStudents tested
Reading and language arts72-78%59%371
Math73-79%54%371

Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results 2021-22, all students, from ED Data Express (the Data Rescue Project archive; ED has no 2022-23 result for this district): ED shows district results as ranges (for example 20-24%) to protect small groups.

Graduation rate, class of 2023

95% or more of the 82 students in Tri-Village School District's class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 86.2% across Ohio. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out, and counts those who earned a regular diploma by 2023. Every state computes it the same way under federal law, though each sets its own diploma requirements.

Four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rate, class of 2023
This districtOhio
Four-year graduation rate95% or more86.2%
Students in the class82132,008

Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates 2022-23, all students, from ED Data Express: ED shows district rates as ranges (for example 90-94%) and leaves out small classes.

1 elementary school, 381 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Tri-Village Elementary School38114.952.5%Schoolwide program

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

2 other schools, 436 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Tri-Village High School36415.737.4%Not Title I
Wee Patriots Preschool72not reportednot reportedNot Title I

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

One more school on file: small, closed or in an earlier directory

These records carry fewer federal fields than a full school page needs, so each is summarized here with what NCES reports.

Wee Patriots Preschool

School in New Madison; open in 2024-25; 72 students.

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 and earlier directories: the last year each school was listed, its students and its teachers.

Contact Tri-Village School District

Source: NCES Common Core of Data, local education agency directory 2024-25. Enrollment, boundaries and school assignment are the district's to confirm.

What to look at next about Tri-Village School District

  1. Ohio districts by spending per studentTri-Village School District ranks 452 of 529 Ohio districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022 on current spending per student in fiscal year 2022-23 ($12,141).#452 of 529
  2. Every school district in OhioTri-Village School District is the number 508 by size of 999 Ohio districts, with 842 students in fall 2022 (F-33).#508 of 999
  3. Minster Local SchoolsThe next larger Ohio district: 847 students in fall 2022, $13,850 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$13,850
  4. Columbus Preparatory AcademyThe next smaller Ohio district: 841 students in fall 2022, $8,863 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$8,863
  5. Compare Tri-Village School District with Minster Local SchoolsEnrollment, spending, revenue sources and schools, side by side.
  6. Teacher salary spending across OhioTri-Village School District spent $71,996 in salaries per full-time teacher in fiscal year 2022-23 (state median $78,983); spending, not a salary.$71,996
  7. Find the school district for an addressA home's district decides which public schools it can enroll in.

Source: NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23 (spending per student and fall 2022 membership; ranks among the state's districts that reported them); NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (schools).

Questions about Tri-Village School District

  1. How many schools and students are in Tri-Village School District?
    3 schools were open in 2024-25 (1 elementary, 2 other), enrolling 817 students, according to the NCES Common Core of Data.
  2. How much does Tri-Village School District spend per student?
    $12,141 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), which leaves out construction and debt; the Ohio median for districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022 is $15,201 and the U.S. figure is $16,260. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $13,716 per student, up 13.0% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year).
  3. Where does Tri-Village School District's money come from?
    $13,362,000 in revenue in fiscal year 2022-23: 46.1% state, 45.9% local and 8.0% federal (NCES F-33).
  4. How many children in Tri-Village School District live in poverty?
    The Census Bureau estimates that 79 of the 776 children aged 5 to 17 living within the district's boundaries in 2024, 10.2%, were in families in poverty (Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates). It is a model-based estimate for everyone living in the district, not a count of its students; the free-meal shares in the school tables are counts of enrolled students.
  5. How much does Tri-Village School District spend on teacher salaries?
    $3,499,000 in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), or $4,156 per student. Divided by the 49 full-time teachers in the NCES Common Core of Data for 2022-23 that is $71,996 per teacher, more than 28 in 100 Ohio districts (state median $78,983). That is spending, not what a teacher is paid: the salary lines and the teacher count come from different files, and the result can differ widely from the average salary a district publishes. The district's salary schedule gives pay. For pay, the National Education Association put the average Ohio teacher salary at $63,153 in 2021-22 (NCES Digest table 211.60).
  6. How do students in Tri-Village School District do on state tests?
    In 2021-22, the students tested in Tri-Village School District scored proficient or above: 72-78% in reading and 73-79% in math, against 59% in reading and 54% in math across Ohio. Ohio's own test sets what proficient means, so results compare within the state, not across states. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22.
  7. What is the graduation rate in Tri-Village School District?
    95% or more of the 82 students in Tri-Village School District's class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 86.2% across Ohio. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23.
  8. What is Tri-Village School District's NCES district ID?
    3904668. Each of its schools' 12-digit NCES IDs begins with these seven digits.

Reading these figures: how to choose a school district, what Title I means and what an absenteeism rate means. They are for information and are not a substitute for the school's or district's own records.

Sources

Every federal file behind this record
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2024-25: directory, membership, staff and lunch files. nces.ed.gov
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2021-22 school characteristics: Title I status. nces.ed.gov
  • Civil Rights Data Collection, 2021-22: AP courses, gifted programs, counselors, discipline. civilrightsdata.ed.gov
  • EDFacts, 2022-23: chronic absenteeism. ed.gov
  • EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23: the class of 2023 for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
  • EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22: reading and math proficiency for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
  • NCES Digest of Education Statistics, table 211.60 (2021-22): the state's average teacher salary, from the National Education Association. nces.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau, Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates, 2024: children aged 5 to 17 and those in families in poverty, by school district. census.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances, fiscal year 2023-24: per pupil current spending for 2023-24 and 2022-23. census.gov
  • NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey, fiscal year 2022-23: district spending and revenue. nces.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau geocoder and TIGER school districts: the district boundary used by the district finder. census.gov

Source: U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances Per pupil current spending by school system · FY 2023-24

Source: NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey Revenue and expenditures by district · FY 2022-23

Source: NCES Common Core of Data School directory, membership, staff and lunch files · 2024-25