Ocean View School District
Listed by NCES as Ocean View (district ID 0628140)
Public school district · Orange County · California · NCES district ID 0628140
Ocean View School District spent $16,553 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23, below the middle: 55% of the other California districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 spent more (median $16,855). Its 13 schools enrolled 6,652 students in 2024-25; 42.1% of its revenue came from the state. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $17,745 per student, up 7.2% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year).
NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23 · Census Bureau school finances 2023-24 · NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 · method
Spending per student among California districts of similar size
Current spending per student excludes construction and debt. The 9 districts closest to Ocean View in enrollment (6,591 to 7,045 students) and Ocean View itself.
Where the money came from
$145,287,000 in revenue: 42.1% state, 51.3% local and 6.6% federal. Total spending including $37,814,000 of capital outlay was $156,905,000, or $23,044 per student; the figure above leaves capital out.
- State$61,184,000 42%
- Local$74,505,000 51%
- Federal$9,598,000 7%
Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23: current expenditures for elementary and secondary education divided by fall membership; the state median covers 646 districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022. Revenue by source (TOTALREV, TFEDREV, TSTREV, TLOCREV).
Enrollment fell from 2022-23 to 2024-25
6,801 students in 2022-23, 6,862 students in 2023-24, 6,652 students in 2024-25, counted across the schools that reported each year.
Teachers and students per teacher
| School year | Students | Teachers (FTE) | Per teacher |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2022-23 | 6,801 | 292.5 | 23.3 |
| 2023-24 | 6,862 | 294.2 | 23.3 |
| 2024-25 | 6,652 | 284.3 | 23.4 |
Source: NCES Common Core of Data membership and staff files, 2022-23, 2023-24, 2024-25; sums over the schools reporting each year.
$38,004,000 in teacher salaries in fiscal year 2022-23, $5,581 per student
Ocean View School District booked $38,004,000 of teacher salaries in its 2022-23 finance report and counted 292 full-time teachers in its Common Core of Data district staff file for 2022-23 (the school files behind the staffing figures on this page count teachers separately, so the two can differ), or $129,937 of salary spending per teacher. That is more than 91 in 100 California districts with a figure (state median $99,744, 1,149 districts). It is spending, not what a teacher is paid: the salary lines and the teacher count come from different files, so the result can differ widely from the average salary the district publishes (its salary schedule gives pay); benefits are left out, and states book salaries differently, so compare districts within one state. For pay, the National Education Association put the average California teacher salary at $87,275 in 2021-22 (NCES Digest table 211.60).
| Program | Teacher salaries | Share |
|---|---|---|
| Regular programs | $30,528,000 | 80.3% |
| Special education | $7,476,000 | 19.7% |
Teacher salaries per student, fiscal years 2018-19 to 2022-23
The district's teacher salary bill divided by its fall enrollment each year: $4,393 in 2018-19, $4,495 in 2019-20, $4,949 in 2020-21, $5,272 in 2021-22, $5,581 in 2022-23.
Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal years 2019 to 2023: teacher salaries in regular, special, vocational and other programs (Z35 to Z38) and fall membership (V33); NCES Common Core of Data LEA staff file 2022-23, teachers (full-time equivalent).
State test results, 2021-22
In 2021-22, the students tested in Ocean View School District scored proficient or above: 58% in reading and 49% in math, against 45% in reading and 34% in math across California. Each state writes its own test and sets its own proficiency bar, so compare these within California, not across states. Where a state published results by grade only, the grades tested are combined, weighted by the students tested in each.
| Subject | This district | California | Students tested |
|---|---|---|---|
| Reading and language arts | 58% | 45% | 4,653 |
| Math | 49% | 34% | 4,663 |
Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results 2021-22, all students, from ED Data Express (the Data Rescue Project archive; ED has no 2022-23 result for this district): ED shows district results as ranges (for example 20-24%) to protect small groups.
10 elementary schools, 4,375 students
| School | Students | Per teacher | Free lunch | Title I, 2021‑22 |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Harbour View Elementary | 677 | 23.8 | 32.5% | Not reported |
| Circle View Elementary | 582 | 23.3 | 25.9% | Not reported |
| Hope View Elementary | 546 | 24.8 | 20.0% | Not reported |
| Oak View Elementary | 458 | 24.1 | 92.1% | Not reported |
| Westmont Elementary | 441 | 23.8 | 65.8% | Not reported |
| Star View Elementary | 391 | 24.4 | 49.4% | Not reported |
| Lake View Elementary | 361 | 23.9 | 58.2% | Not reported |
| Golden View Elementary | 346 | 24.7 | 55.2% | Not reported |
| College View Elementary | 337 | 22.5 | 56.7% | Not reported |
| Village View Elementary | 236 | 26.2 | 29.2% | Not reported |
Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.
3 middle schools, 2,277 students
| School | Students | Per teacher | Free lunch | Title I, 2021‑22 |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Mesa View Middle | 817 | 23.2 | 34.8% | Not reported |
| Marine View Middle | 736 | 22.7 | 34.0% | Not reported |
| Vista View Middle | 724 | 21.0 | 73.2% | Not reported |
Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.
One more school on file: small, closed or in an earlier directory
These records carry fewer federal fields than a full school page needs, so each is summarized here with what NCES reports.
Spring View Middle
Middle school in Huntington Beach; last listed in the 2024-25 NCES directory (closed); 487 students; 19.2 students per teacher.
Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 and earlier directories: the last year each school was listed, its students and its teachers.
Contact Ocean View School District
- Website: ovsd.org
- Phone: (714) 847-2551
- Office: 17200 Pinehurst Ln., Huntington Beach, CA 92647
Source: NCES Common Core of Data, local education agency directory 2024-25. Enrollment, boundaries and school assignment are the district's to confirm.
What to look at next about Ocean View School District
- California districts by spending per studentOcean View School District ranks 352 of 646 California districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 on current spending per student in fiscal year 2022-23 ($16,553).#352 of 646
- Every school district in CaliforniaOcean View School District is the number 216 by size of 1,991 California districts, with 6,809 students in fall 2022 (F-33).#216 of 1,991
- Culver City UnifiedThe next larger California district: 6,826 students in fall 2022, $16,956 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$16,956
- Azusa UnifiedThe next smaller California district: 6,754 students in fall 2022, $20,674 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$20,674
- Compare Ocean View School District with Culver City UnifiedEnrollment, spending, revenue sources and schools, side by side.
- Teacher salary spending across CaliforniaOcean View School District spent $129,937 in salaries per full-time teacher in fiscal year 2022-23 (state median $99,744); spending, not a salary.$129,937
- Find the school district for an addressA home's district decides which public schools it can enroll in.
Source: NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23 (spending per student and fall 2022 membership; ranks among the state's districts that reported them); NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (schools).
Questions about Ocean View School District
How many schools and students are in Ocean View School District?
13 schools were open in 2024-25 (10 elementary, 3 middle), enrolling 6,652 students, according to the NCES Common Core of Data.How much does Ocean View School District spend per student?
$16,553 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), which leaves out construction and debt; the California median for districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 is $16,855 and the U.S. figure is $16,260. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $17,745 per student, up 7.2% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year).Where does Ocean View School District's money come from?
$145,287,000 in revenue in fiscal year 2022-23: 42.1% state, 51.3% local and 6.6% federal (NCES F-33).How many children in Ocean View School District live in poverty?
The Census Bureau estimates that 990 of the 8,944 children aged 5 to 17 living within the district's boundaries in 2024, 11.1%, were in families in poverty (Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates). It is a model-based estimate for everyone living in the district, not a count of its students; the free-meal shares in the school tables are counts of enrolled students.How much does Ocean View School District spend on teacher salaries?
$38,004,000 in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), or $5,581 per student. Divided by the 292 full-time teachers in the NCES Common Core of Data for 2022-23 that is $129,937 per teacher, more than 91 in 100 California districts (state median $99,744). That is spending, not what a teacher is paid: the salary lines and the teacher count come from different files, and the result can differ widely from the average salary a district publishes. The district's salary schedule gives pay. For pay, the National Education Association put the average California teacher salary at $87,275 in 2021-22 (NCES Digest table 211.60).How do students in Ocean View School District do on state tests?
In 2021-22, the students tested in Ocean View School District scored proficient or above: 58% in reading and 49% in math, against 45% in reading and 34% in math across California. California's own test sets what proficient means, so results compare within the state, not across states. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22.What is Ocean View School District's NCES district ID?
0628140. Each of its schools' 12-digit NCES IDs begins with these seven digits.
Reading these figures: how to choose a school district, what Title I means and what an absenteeism rate means. They are for information and are not a substitute for the school's or district's own records.
Sources
Every federal file behind this record
- NCES Common Core of Data, 2024-25: directory, membership, staff and lunch files. nces.ed.gov
- NCES Common Core of Data, 2021-22 school characteristics: Title I status. nces.ed.gov
- Civil Rights Data Collection, 2021-22: AP courses, gifted programs, counselors, discipline. civilrightsdata.ed.gov
- EDFacts, 2022-23: chronic absenteeism. ed.gov
- EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22: reading and math proficiency for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
- NCES Digest of Education Statistics, table 211.60 (2021-22): the state's average teacher salary, from the National Education Association. nces.ed.gov
- U.S. Census Bureau, Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates, 2024: children aged 5 to 17 and those in families in poverty, by school district. census.gov
- U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances, fiscal year 2023-24: per pupil current spending for 2023-24 and 2022-23. census.gov
- NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey, fiscal year 2022-23: district spending and revenue. nces.ed.gov
- U.S. Census Bureau geocoder and TIGER school districts: the district boundary used by the district finder. census.gov
Source: U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances Per pupil current spending by school system · FY 2023-24
Source: NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey Revenue and expenditures by district · FY 2022-23
Source: NCES Common Core of Data School directory, membership, staff and lunch files · 2024-25