Smith Elementary School

Public elementary school, pre-kindergarten to grade 6 · Dayton, Ohio

Smith Elementary School in Dayton, Ohio enrolled 494 students in 2024-25 with 33.0 full-time teachers, 15.0 students per teacher against the Ohio elementary-school median of 17.4. It ran a targeted Title I program in 2021-22; it takes part in the National School Lunch Program (2024-25). On the state tests, 90-94% of its students tested were proficient in reading in 2021-22 and 82% proficient in math in 2022-23 (Ohio: 59% and 54.3%).

Enrollment fell 5% from 2022-23 to 2024-25; full-time teachers rose 12%

520 students in 2022-23, 514 students in 2023-24, 494 students in 2024-25. Full-time teachers went from 29.5 to 33.0.

Students enrolled at Smith Elementary School by school year2022-23: 520, 2023-24: 514, 2024-25: 49402004006002022-235202023-245142024-25494
Students enrolled at Smith Elementary School by school year2022-23: 520, 2023-24: 514, 2024-25: 49402004006002022-235202023-245142024-25494
Students enrolled at Smith Elementary School by school year2022-23: 520, 2023-24: 514, 2024-25: 49402004006002022-235202023-245142024-25494
Students enrolled at Smith Elementary School by school year2022-23: 520, 2023-24: 514, 2024-25: 49402004006002022-235202023-245142024-25494
The numbers as a table
School yearStudentsTeachers (FTE)Per teacher
2022-2352029.517.6
2023-2451431.516.3
2024-2549433.015.0

15.0 students per teacher, a lower ratio than 80 of every 100 Ohio elementary schools

Among the 1,708 Ohio elementary schools that reported teachers for 2024-25 the median is 17.4; the national median for elementary schools is 14.6. A ratio counts every teacher, so it is not the size of a class.

Students per teacher, Ohio elementary schools, 2024-25240 values from 4.9 to 87.0; This school 15.0; state median 17.4.3 more above 30.0 →0102030students per full-time teacherThis school 15.0state median 17.4U.S. 14.6
Students per teacher, Ohio elementary schools, 2024-25240 values from 4.9 to 87.0; This school 15.0; state median 17.4.3 more above 30.0 →0102030students per full-time teacherThis school 15.0state median 17.4U.S. 14.6
Students per teacher, Ohio elementary schools, 2024-25240 values from 4.9 to 87.0; This school 15.0; state median 17.4.3 more above 30.0 →0102030students per full-time teacherThis school 15.0state median 17.4U.S. 14.6
Students per teacher, Ohio elementary schools, 2024-25240 values from 4.9 to 87.0; This school 15.0; state median 17.4.3 more above 30.0 →0102030students per full-time teacherThis school 15.0state median 17.4U.S. 14.6

Source: NCES Common Core of Data membership and staff files, 2022-23, 2023-24, 2024-25; the comparison counts schools with a 2024-25 teacher count and a ratio from 3 to 99 (lower values are reporting errors).

Programs and staff in 2021-22

In the 2021-22 civil rights collection Smith Elementary School enrolled 513 students and reported no counselor; it reported 0 out-of-school suspensions that year.

  • Advanced Placement coursesNone
  • Gifted and talented programYes
  • Counselors (FTE)0.0
  • Out-of-school suspensions0
  • Chronically absent8.3% (2022-23)

Who attends

79.1% of students were White, 7.9% of two or more races, 6.5% Hispanic in 2024-25.

  1. White79.1%
  2. Two or more races7.9%
  3. Hispanic6.5%
  4. Asian5.1%
  5. Black1.0%
  6. American Indian0.4%

Source: U.S. Department of Education, Civil Rights Data Collection 2021-22; chronic absenteeism from EDFacts 2022-23; every count and the counselor ratio are for that school year. Who attends: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25, membership by race and ethnicity.

State test results, 2021-22 and 2022-23

The students tested at Smith Elementary School scored proficient or above: 90-94% in reading in 2021-22 and 82% in math in 2022-23, against 59% in reading in 2021-22 and 54.3% in math in 2022-23 across Ohio. Each state writes its own test and sets its own proficiency bar, so compare these within Ohio, not across states. ED Data Express holds no district results after 2021-22, so the district column gives its 2021-22 figure. Where a state published results by grade only, the grades tested are combined, weighted by the students tested in each.

Students proficient or above, 2021-22 and 2022-23
Subject and yearThis schoolIts districtOhio
Reading and language arts, 2021-2290‑94%88‑92%59%
Math, 2022-2382%86‑90% (2021-22)54.3%

Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results 2021-22 and 2022-23, all students, from ED Data Express (2021-22 through the Data Rescue Project archive); for 2022-23 ED published math by school and reading only by state: ED shows school and district results as ranges (for example 20-24%) to protect small groups.

Elementary schools in Dayton

44 public elementary schools in Dayton report 2024-25 enrollment.

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunch
Deca Prep95017.439.5%
Pathway School of Discovery84316.977.7%
Northridge Elementary School79619.0not reported
Emerson Academy67417.4not reported
Smith Middle School64217.835.0%
North Dayton School Of Science & Discovery58611.4not reported
Valerie Elementary School56619.5not reported
Ruskin Elementary School55319.8not reported

All public schools in Dayton →

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25.

What to look at next about Smith Elementary School

  1. Julian & Marjorie Lange School Elementary SchoolThe nearest public elementary school, 0.7 miles away: 130 students, 14.8 per teacher (2024-25).0.7 mi
  2. Harman Elementary SchoolThe next nearest public elementary school, 0.7 miles away: 403 students, 16.1 per teacher (2024-25).0.7 mi
  3. Compare Smith Elementary School with Julian & Marjorie Lange School Elementary SchoolStudents, teachers, meals, test results and who attends, side by side.
  4. How much Oakwood City School District spends per student$15,315 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23 (U.S. $16,260), with its revenue sources and teacher pay.$15,315
  5. The largest public schools in OhioSmith Elementary School is the number 494 by size of 1,715 Ohio elementary schools open in 2024-25.#494 of 1,715
  6. Ohio schools by students per teacher15.0 students per teacher here against the Ohio median of 17.4 for elementary schools.15.0:1
  7. Find the school district for an addressA home's district, not its city, decides which public schools it can enroll in.

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (locations, enrollment, teachers); NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23. Distances are straight lines between the schools' NCES coordinates, not travel routes.

Questions about Smith Elementary School

  1. How many students attend Smith Elementary School?
    494 in the 2024-25 school year, according to the NCES Common Core of Data; 520 in 2022-23. It is an elementary school in Dayton, OH.
  2. What is the student-teacher ratio at Smith Elementary School?
    15.0 students per full-time teacher (2024-25); the Ohio median for elementary schools is 17.4. A ratio counts every teacher, so it is not the size of a class.
  3. Is Smith Elementary School a Title I school?
    Smith Elementary School ran a targeted assistance Title I program in 2021-22, the last year NCES published school Title I status.
  4. How do students at Smith Elementary School do on state tests?
    The students tested at Smith Elementary School scored proficient or above: 90-94% in reading in 2021-22 and 82% in math in 2022-23, against 59% in reading in 2021-22 and 54.3% in math in 2022-23 across Ohio. Ohio's own test sets what proficient means, so results compare within the state, not across states. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22 and 2022-23; ED publishes school results as ranges to protect small groups.
  5. What district is Smith Elementary School in?
    Oakwood City School District, NCES district ID 3904458. The first seven digits of the school's NCES ID 390445801469 are the district's.

Reading these figures: how to choose a school district, what Title I means and what an absenteeism rate means. They are for information and are not a substitute for the school's or district's own records.

Sources

Every federal file behind this record
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2024-25: directory, membership, staff and lunch files. nces.ed.gov
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2021-22 school characteristics: Title I status. nces.ed.gov
  • Civil Rights Data Collection, 2021-22: AP courses, gifted programs, counselors, discipline. civilrightsdata.ed.gov
  • EDFacts, 2022-23: chronic absenteeism. ed.gov
  • EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22 and 2022-23: reading and math proficiency for the school, its district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
  • NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey, fiscal year 2022-23: district spending and revenue. nces.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau geocoder and TIGER school districts: the district boundary used by the district finder. census.gov

Source: NCES Common Core of Data Directory, membership, staff and lunch files · 2024-25

Source: Civil Rights Data Collection School-level files (AP, gifted, counselors, discipline) · 2021-22