Sierra-Plumas Joint Unified

Public school district · Sierra County · California · NCES district ID 0636780

Sierra-Plumas Joint Unified spent $19,640 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23, more than 68% of the other California districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022 (median $17,666). Its 5 schools enrolled 414 students in 2024-25; 51.9% of its revenue came from the state. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $21,015 per student, up 7.0% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year). Its four-year graduation rate for the class of 2023 was 80% or more (California: 86.2%).

Spending per student among California districts of similar size

Current spending per student excludes construction and debt. The 9 districts closest to Sierra-Plumas Joint Unified in enrollment (398 to 402 students) and Sierra-Plumas Joint Unified itself.

Current spending per student, California districts closest in size to Sierra-Plumas Joint Unified, FY23Sierra-Plumas Joint Unified $19,640; Alliance Jack H. Skirball Middle District $19,595; e3 Civic High District $17,505; Gerber Elementary School $16,855; Bella Mente Montessori Academy $16,116; San Diego Virtual District $14,686; Alameda Community Learning Center District $14,188; Watts Learning Center Charter Middle District $14,003; Sparrow Academy $12,654; Primary Charter District $11,527; State median, under 1,000 students $17,666.10k15k20k25kSierra-Plumas Joint Unified$19,640Alliance Jack H. Skirball Midd…$19,595e3 Civic High District$17,505Gerber Elementary School$16,855Bella Mente Montessori Academy$16,116San Diego Virtual District$14,686Alameda Community Learning Cen…$14,188Watts Learning Center Charter …$14,003Sparrow Academy$12,654Primary Charter District$11,527State median, under 1,000 students $17,666
Current spending per student, California districts closest in size to Sierra-Plumas Joint Unified, FY23Sierra-Plumas Joint Unified $19,640; Alliance Jack H. Skirball Middle District $19,595; e3 Civic High District $17,505; Gerber Elementary School $16,855; Bella Mente Montessori Academy $16,116; San Diego Virtual District $14,686; Alameda Community Learning Center District $14,188; Watts Learning Center Charter Middle District $14,003; Sparrow Academy $12,654; Primary Charter District $11,527; State median, under 1,000 students $17,666.10k15k20k25kSierra-Plumas Joint Unified$19,640Alliance Jack H. Skirball Middle Di…$19,595e3 Civic High District$17,505Gerber Elementary School$16,855Bella Mente Montessori Academy$16,116San Diego Virtual District$14,686Alameda Community Learning Center D…$14,188Watts Learning Center Charter Middl…$14,003Sparrow Academy$12,654Primary Charter District$11,527State median, under 1,000 students $17,666
Current spending per student, California districts closest in size to Sierra-Plumas Joint Unified, FY23Sierra-Plumas Joint Unified $19,640; Alliance Jack H. Skirball Middle District $19,595; e3 Civic High District $17,505; Gerber Elementary School $16,855; Bella Mente Montessori Academy $16,116; San Diego Virtual District $14,686; Alameda Community Learning Center District $14,188; Watts Learning Center Charter Middle District $14,003; Sparrow Academy $12,654; Primary Charter District $11,527; State median, under 1,000 students $17,666.10k15k20k25kSierra-Plumas Joint Unified$19,640Alliance Jack H. Skirball Middle District$19,595e3 Civic High District$17,505Gerber Elementary School$16,855Bella Mente Montessori Academy$16,116San Diego Virtual District$14,686Alameda Community Learning Center District$14,188Watts Learning Center Charter Middle Distri…$14,003Sparrow Academy$12,654Primary Charter District$11,527State median, under 1,000 students $17,666
Current spending per student, California districts closest in size to Sierra-Plumas Joint Unified, FY23Sierra-Plumas Joint Unified $19,640; Alliance Jack H. Skirball Middle District $19,595; e3 Civic High District $17,505; Gerber Elementary School $16,855; Bella Mente Montessori Academy $16,116; San Diego Virtual District $14,686; Alameda Community Learning Center District $14,188; Watts Learning Center Charter Middle District $14,003; Sparrow Academy $12,654; Primary Charter District $11,527; State median, under 1,000 students $17,666.10k15k20k25kSierra-Plumas Joint Unified$19,640Alliance Jack H. Skirball Middle Distri…$19,595e3 Civic High District$17,505Gerber Elementary School$16,855Bella Mente Montessori Academy$16,116San Diego Virtual District$14,686Alameda Community Learning Center Distr…$14,188Watts Learning Center Charter Middle Di…$14,003Sparrow Academy$12,654Primary Charter District$11,527State median, under 1,000 students $17,666

Where the money came from

$8,505,000 in revenue: 51.9% state, 38.7% local and 9.4% federal. Total spending including $182,000 of capital outlay was $8,147,000, or $20,368 per student; the figure above leaves capital out.

Sierra-Plumas Joint Unified revenue by source, fiscal year 2022-23State $4,413,000; Local $3,290,000; Federal $802,000; total $8,505,000.
  • State$4,413,000 52%
  • Local$3,290,000 39%
  • Federal$802,000 9%

Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23: current expenditures for elementary and secondary education divided by fall membership; the state median covers 1,238 districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022. Revenue by source (TOTALREV, TFEDREV, TSTREV, TLOCREV).

Enrollment rose from 2022-23 to 2024-25

400 students in 2022-23, 403 students in 2023-24, 414 students in 2024-25, counted across the schools that reported each year.

Sierra-Plumas Joint Unified enrollment by school year2022-23: 400, 2023-24: 403, 2024-25: 41402004006002022-234002023-244032024-25414
Sierra-Plumas Joint Unified enrollment by school year2022-23: 400, 2023-24: 403, 2024-25: 41402004006002022-234002023-244032024-25414
Sierra-Plumas Joint Unified enrollment by school year2022-23: 400, 2023-24: 403, 2024-25: 41402004006002022-234002023-244032024-25414
Sierra-Plumas Joint Unified enrollment by school year2022-23: 400, 2023-24: 403, 2024-25: 41402004006002022-234002023-244032024-25414

Teachers and students per teacher

School yearStudentsTeachers (FTE)Per teacher
2022-2340024.916.1
2023-2440328.214.3
2024-2541428.514.6

Source: NCES Common Core of Data membership and staff files, 2022-23, 2023-24, 2024-25; sums over the schools reporting each year.

$2,124,000 in teacher salaries in fiscal year 2022-23, $5,310 per student

Sierra-Plumas Joint Unified booked $2,124,000 of teacher salaries in its 2022-23 finance report and counted 25 full-time teachers in its Common Core of Data district staff file for 2022-23 (the school files behind the staffing figures on this page count teachers separately, so the two can differ), or $85,301 of salary spending per teacher. That is more than 26 in 100 California districts with a figure (state median $99,744, 1,149 districts). It is spending, not what a teacher is paid: the salary lines and the teacher count come from different files, so the result can differ widely from the average salary the district publishes (its salary schedule gives pay); benefits are left out, and states book salaries differently, so compare districts within one state. For pay, the National Education Association put the average California teacher salary at $87,275 in 2021-22 (NCES Digest table 211.60).

ProgramTeacher salariesShare
Regular programs$1,942,00091.4%
Vocational$108,0005.1%
Other programs$74,0003.5%

Teacher salaries per student, fiscal years 2018-19 to 2022-23

The district's teacher salary bill divided by its fall enrollment each year: $4,292 in 2018-19, $4,190 in 2019-20, $4,762 in 2020-21, $4,718 in 2021-22, $5,310 in 2022-23.

Sierra-Plumas Joint Unified teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $4,292, 2019-20: $4,190, 2020-21: $4,762, 2021-22: $4,718, 2022-23: $5,31002k4k6k2018-19$4,2922019-20$4,1902020-21$4,7622021-22$4,7182022-23$5,310
Sierra-Plumas Joint Unified teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $4,292, 2019-20: $4,190, 2020-21: $4,762, 2021-22: $4,718, 2022-23: $5,31002k4k6k2018-19$4,2922019-20$4,1902020-21$4,7622021-22$4,7182022-23$5,310
Sierra-Plumas Joint Unified teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $4,292, 2019-20: $4,190, 2020-21: $4,762, 2021-22: $4,718, 2022-23: $5,31002k4k6k2018-19$4,2922019-20$4,1902020-21$4,7622021-22$4,7182022-23$5,310
Sierra-Plumas Joint Unified teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $4,292, 2019-20: $4,190, 2020-21: $4,762, 2021-22: $4,718, 2022-23: $5,31002k4k6k2018-19$4,2922019-20$4,1902020-21$4,7622021-22$4,7182022-23$5,310

Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal years 2019 to 2023: teacher salaries in regular, special, vocational and other programs (Z35 to Z38) and fall membership (V33); NCES Common Core of Data LEA staff file 2022-23, teachers (full-time equivalent).

State test results, 2021-22

In 2021-22, the students tested in Sierra-Plumas Joint Unified scored proficient or above: 24-38% in reading and 25-40% in math, against 45% in reading and 34% in math across California. Each state writes its own test and sets its own proficiency bar, so compare these within California, not across states. Where a state published results by grade only, the grades tested are combined, weighted by the students tested in each.

Students proficient or above, 2021-22
SubjectThis districtCaliforniaStudents tested
Reading and language arts24-38%45%174
Math25-40%34%175

Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results 2021-22, all students, from ED Data Express (the Data Rescue Project archive; ED has no 2022-23 result for this district): ED shows district results as ranges (for example 20-24%) to protect small groups.

Graduation rate, class of 2023

80% or more of the 29 students in Sierra-Plumas Joint Unified's class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 86.2% across California. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out, and counts those who earned a regular diploma by 2023. Every state computes it the same way under federal law, though each sets its own diploma requirements.

Four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rate, class of 2023
This districtCalifornia
Four-year graduation rate80% or more86.2%
Students in the class29495,492

Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates 2022-23, all students, from ED Data Express: ED shows district rates as ranges (for example 90-94%) and leaves out small classes.

2 elementary schools, 225 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Loyalton Elementary19923.135.2%Not reported
Downieville Elementary2617.376.9%Not reported

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

3 high schools, 189 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Loyalton High16513.527.3%Not reported
Downieville Junior-Senior High193.242.1%Not reported
Sierra Pass (Continuation)520.8not reportedNot reported

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

One more school on file: small, closed or in an earlier directory

These records carry fewer federal fields than a full school page needs, so each is summarized here with what NCES reports.

Sierra Pass (Continuation)

High school in Loyalton; open in 2024-25; 5 students; 20.8 students per teacher.

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 and earlier directories: the last year each school was listed, its students and its teachers.

Contact Sierra-Plumas Joint Unified

Source: NCES Common Core of Data, local education agency directory 2024-25. Enrollment, boundaries and school assignment are the district's to confirm.

What to look at next about Sierra-Plumas Joint Unified

  1. California districts by spending per studentSierra-Plumas Joint Unified ranks 403 of 1,238 California districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022 on current spending per student in fiscal year 2022-23 ($19,640).#403 of 1,238
  2. Every school district in CaliforniaSierra-Plumas Joint Unified is the number 1,171 by size of 1,991 California districts, with 400 students in fall 2022 (F-33).#1,171 of 1,991
  3. Primary Charter DistrictThe next larger California district: 402 students in fall 2022, $11,527 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$11,527
  4. Watts Learning Center Charter Middle DistrictThe next smaller California district: 399 students in fall 2022, $14,003 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$14,003
  5. Compare Sierra-Plumas Joint Unified with Primary Charter DistrictEnrollment, spending, revenue sources and schools, side by side.
  6. Loyalton High, its largest high school165 students in 2024-25, 13.5 per teacher.165
  7. Teacher salary spending across CaliforniaSierra-Plumas Joint Unified spent $85,301 in salaries per full-time teacher in fiscal year 2022-23 (state median $99,744); spending, not a salary.$85,301
  8. Find the school district for an addressA home's district decides which public schools it can enroll in.

Source: NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23 (spending per student and fall 2022 membership; ranks among the state's districts that reported them); NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (schools).

Questions about Sierra-Plumas Joint Unified

  1. How many schools and students are in Sierra-Plumas Joint Unified?
    5 schools were open in 2024-25 (2 elementary, 3 high), enrolling 414 students, according to the NCES Common Core of Data.
  2. How much does Sierra-Plumas Joint Unified spend per student?
    $19,640 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), which leaves out construction and debt; the California median for districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022 is $17,666 and the U.S. figure is $16,260. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $21,015 per student, up 7.0% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year).
  3. Where does Sierra-Plumas Joint Unified's money come from?
    $8,505,000 in revenue in fiscal year 2022-23: 51.9% state, 38.7% local and 9.4% federal (NCES F-33).
  4. How many children in Sierra-Plumas Joint Unified live in poverty?
    The Census Bureau estimates that 65 of the 496 children aged 5 to 17 living within the district's boundaries in 2024, 13.1%, were in families in poverty (Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates). It is a model-based estimate for everyone living in the district, not a count of its students; the free-meal shares in the school tables are counts of enrolled students.
  5. How much does Sierra-Plumas Joint Unified spend on teacher salaries?
    $2,124,000 in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), or $5,310 per student. Divided by the 25 full-time teachers in the NCES Common Core of Data for 2022-23 that is $85,301 per teacher, more than 26 in 100 California districts (state median $99,744). That is spending, not what a teacher is paid: the salary lines and the teacher count come from different files, and the result can differ widely from the average salary a district publishes. The district's salary schedule gives pay. For pay, the National Education Association put the average California teacher salary at $87,275 in 2021-22 (NCES Digest table 211.60).
  6. How do students in Sierra-Plumas Joint Unified do on state tests?
    In 2021-22, the students tested in Sierra-Plumas Joint Unified scored proficient or above: 24-38% in reading and 25-40% in math, against 45% in reading and 34% in math across California. California's own test sets what proficient means, so results compare within the state, not across states. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22.
  7. What is the graduation rate in Sierra-Plumas Joint Unified?
    80% or more of the 29 students in Sierra-Plumas Joint Unified's class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 86.2% across California. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23.
  8. What is Sierra-Plumas Joint Unified's NCES district ID?
    0636780. Each of its schools' 12-digit NCES IDs begins with these seven digits.

Reading these figures: how to choose a school district, what Title I means and what an absenteeism rate means. They are for information and are not a substitute for the school's or district's own records.

Sources

Every federal file behind this record
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2024-25: directory, membership, staff and lunch files. nces.ed.gov
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2021-22 school characteristics: Title I status. nces.ed.gov
  • Civil Rights Data Collection, 2021-22: AP courses, gifted programs, counselors, discipline. civilrightsdata.ed.gov
  • EDFacts, 2022-23: chronic absenteeism. ed.gov
  • EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23: the class of 2023 for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
  • EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22: reading and math proficiency for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
  • NCES Digest of Education Statistics, table 211.60 (2021-22): the state's average teacher salary, from the National Education Association. nces.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau, Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates, 2024: children aged 5 to 17 and those in families in poverty, by school district. census.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances, fiscal year 2023-24: per pupil current spending for 2023-24 and 2022-23. census.gov
  • NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey, fiscal year 2022-23: district spending and revenue. nces.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau geocoder and TIGER school districts: the district boundary used by the district finder. census.gov

Source: U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances Per pupil current spending by school system · FY 2023-24

Source: NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey Revenue and expenditures by district · FY 2022-23

Source: NCES Common Core of Data School directory, membership, staff and lunch files · 2024-25