Southern Arizona Community Academy Inc. (79000)

Public school district · Pima County · Arizona · NCES district ID 0400254

Southern Arizona Community Academy Inc. (79000) spent $10,969 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23, below the middle: 64% of the other Arizona districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022 spent more (median $11,993). Its 2 schools enrolled 89 students in 2024-25; 85.2% of its revenue came from the state. Its four-year graduation rate for the class of 2023 was 20% or less (Arizona: 77.8%).

Spending per student among Arizona districts of similar size

Current spending per student excludes construction and debt. The 9 districts closest to Southern Arizona Community Academy Inc. (79000) in enrollment (122 to 131 students) and Southern Arizona Community Academy Inc. (79000) itself.

Current spending per student, Arizona districts closest in size to Southern Arizona Community Academy Inc. (79000), FY23Mcnary Elementary District (4163) $29,492; Vernon Elementary District (4162) $23,557; Coconino County Accommodation School District (10386) $20,664; Salome Consolidated Elementary District (4514) $20,336; Canon Elementary District (4484) $19,603; Bicentennial Union High School District (4515) $19,079; CPLC Community Schools dba Toltecalli High School (80032) $16,824; Educational Impact Inc. (81123) $13,764; Southern Arizona Community Academy Inc. (79000) $10,969; Montessori Schoolhouse of Tucson Inc. (4428) $8,705; State median, under 1,000 students $11,993.010k20k30k40kMcnary Elementary District (41…$29,492Vernon Elementary District (41…$23,557Coconino County Accommodation …$20,664Salome Consolidated Elementary…$20,336Canon Elementary District (448…$19,603Bicentennial Union High School…$19,079CPLC Community Schools dba Tol…$16,824Educational Impact Inc. (81123)$13,764Southern Arizona Community Aca…$10,969Montessori Schoolhouse of Tucs…$8,705State median, under 1,000 students $11,993
Current spending per student, Arizona districts closest in size to Southern Arizona Community Academy Inc. (79000), FY23Mcnary Elementary District (4163) $29,492; Vernon Elementary District (4162) $23,557; Coconino County Accommodation School District (10386) $20,664; Salome Consolidated Elementary District (4514) $20,336; Canon Elementary District (4484) $19,603; Bicentennial Union High School District (4515) $19,079; CPLC Community Schools dba Toltecalli High School (80032) $16,824; Educational Impact Inc. (81123) $13,764; Southern Arizona Community Academy Inc. (79000) $10,969; Montessori Schoolhouse of Tucson Inc. (4428) $8,705; State median, under 1,000 students $11,993.010k20k30k40kMcnary Elementary District (4163)$29,492Vernon Elementary District (4162)$23,557Coconino County Accommodation Schoo…$20,664Salome Consolidated Elementary Dist…$20,336Canon Elementary District (4484)$19,603Bicentennial Union High School Dist…$19,079CPLC Community Schools dba Toltecal…$16,824Educational Impact Inc. (81123)$13,764Southern Arizona Community Academy …$10,969Montessori Schoolhouse of Tucson In…$8,705State median, under 1,000 students $11,993
Current spending per student, Arizona districts closest in size to Southern Arizona Community Academy Inc. (79000), FY23Mcnary Elementary District (4163) $29,492; Vernon Elementary District (4162) $23,557; Coconino County Accommodation School District (10386) $20,664; Salome Consolidated Elementary District (4514) $20,336; Canon Elementary District (4484) $19,603; Bicentennial Union High School District (4515) $19,079; CPLC Community Schools dba Toltecalli High School (80032) $16,824; Educational Impact Inc. (81123) $13,764; Southern Arizona Community Academy Inc. (79000) $10,969; Montessori Schoolhouse of Tucson Inc. (4428) $8,705; State median, under 1,000 students $11,993.020k40kMcnary Elementary District (4163)$29,492Vernon Elementary District (4162)$23,557Coconino County Accommodation School Distri…$20,664Salome Consolidated Elementary District (45…$20,336Canon Elementary District (4484)$19,603Bicentennial Union High School District (45…$19,079CPLC Community Schools dba Toltecalli High…$16,824Educational Impact Inc. (81123)$13,764Southern Arizona Community Academy Inc. (79…$10,969Montessori Schoolhouse of Tucson Inc. (4428)$8,705State median, under 1,000 students $11,993
Current spending per student, Arizona districts closest in size to Southern Arizona Community Academy Inc. (79000), FY23Mcnary Elementary District (4163) $29,492; Vernon Elementary District (4162) $23,557; Coconino County Accommodation School District (10386) $20,664; Salome Consolidated Elementary District (4514) $20,336; Canon Elementary District (4484) $19,603; Bicentennial Union High School District (4515) $19,079; CPLC Community Schools dba Toltecalli High School (80032) $16,824; Educational Impact Inc. (81123) $13,764; Southern Arizona Community Academy Inc. (79000) $10,969; Montessori Schoolhouse of Tucson Inc. (4428) $8,705; State median, under 1,000 students $11,993.020k40kMcnary Elementary District (4163)$29,492Vernon Elementary District (4162)$23,557Coconino County Accommodation School Di…$20,664Salome Consolidated Elementary District…$20,336Canon Elementary District (4484)$19,603Bicentennial Union High School District…$19,079CPLC Community Schools dba Toltecalli H…$16,824Educational Impact Inc. (81123)$13,764Southern Arizona Community Academy Inc.…$10,969Montessori Schoolhouse of Tucson Inc. (…$8,705State median, under 1,000 students $11,993

Where the money came from

$1,644,000 in revenue: 85.2% state, not reported local and 14.8% federal. Total spending was $1,539,000, or $12,118 per student; the district reported no capital outlay that year.

Southern Arizona Community Academy Inc. (79000) revenue by source, fiscal year 2022-23State $1,400,000; Local $0; Federal $244,000; total $1,644,000.
  • State$1,400,000 85%
  • Local$0 0%
  • Federal$244,000 15%

Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23: current expenditures for elementary and secondary education divided by fall membership; the state median covers 475 districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022. Revenue by source (TOTALREV, TFEDREV, TSTREV, TLOCREV).

Enrollment held steady from 2022-23 to 2023-24

127 students in 2022-23, 128 students in 2023-24, counted across the schools that reported each year.

Southern Arizona Community Academy Inc. (79000) enrollment by school year2022-23: 127, 2023-24: 1280501001502022-231272023-24128
Southern Arizona Community Academy Inc. (79000) enrollment by school year2022-23: 127, 2023-24: 1280501001502022-231272023-24128
Southern Arizona Community Academy Inc. (79000) enrollment by school year2022-23: 127, 2023-24: 1280501001502022-231272023-24128
Southern Arizona Community Academy Inc. (79000) enrollment by school year2022-23: 127, 2023-24: 1280501001502022-231272023-24128

Teachers and students per teacher

School yearStudentsTeachers (FTE)Per teacher
2022-23127not reportednot reported
2023-24128not reportednot reported

Source: NCES Common Core of Data membership and staff files, 2022-23, 2023-24; sums over the schools reporting each year.

State test results, 2021-22

In 2021-22, the students tested in Southern Arizona Community Academy Inc. (79000) scored proficient or above: under 50% in reading and under 50% in math, against 40.4% in reading and 34.8% in math across Arizona. Each state writes its own test and sets its own proficiency bar, so compare these within Arizona, not across states.

Students proficient or above, 2021-22
SubjectThis districtArizonaStudents tested
Reading and language artsunder 50%40.4%9
Mathunder 50%34.8%9

Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results 2021-22, all students, from ED Data Express (the Data Rescue Project archive; ED has no 2022-23 result for this district): ED shows district results as ranges (for example 20-24%) to protect small groups.

Graduation rate, class of 2023

20% or less of the 20 students in Southern Arizona Community Academy Inc. (79000)'s class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 77.8% across Arizona. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out, and counts those who earned a regular diploma by 2023. Every state computes it the same way under federal law, though each sets its own diploma requirements.

Four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rate, class of 2023
This districtArizona
Four-year graduation rate20% or less77.8%
Students in the class2093,470

Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates 2022-23, all students, from ED Data Express: ED shows district rates as ranges (for example 90-94%) and leaves out small classes.

2 high schools, 89 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Southern Arizona Community Academy64not reportednot reportedNot Title I
SACA Online25not reportednot reportedNot Title I

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

One more school on file: small, closed or in an earlier directory

These records carry fewer federal fields than a full school page needs, so each is summarized here with what NCES reports.

SACA Online

High school in Tucson; open in 2024-25; 25 students.

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 and earlier directories: the last year each school was listed, its students and its teachers.

Contact Southern Arizona Community Academy Inc. (79000)

Source: NCES Common Core of Data, local education agency directory 2024-25. Enrollment, boundaries and school assignment are the district's to confirm.

What to look at next about Southern Arizona Community Academy Inc. (79000)

  1. Arizona districts by spending per studentSouthern Arizona Community Academy Inc. (79000) ranks 304 of 475 Arizona districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022 on current spending per student in fiscal year 2022-23 ($10,969).#304 of 475
  2. Every school district in ArizonaSouthern Arizona Community Academy Inc. (79000) is the number 507 by size of 661 Arizona districts, with 127 students in fall 2022 (F-33).#507 of 661
  3. Canon Elementary District (4484)The next larger Arizona district: 131 students in fall 2022, $19,603 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$19,603
  4. Bicentennial Union High School District (4515)The next smaller Arizona district: 126 students in fall 2022, $19,079 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$19,079
  5. Compare Southern Arizona Community Academy Inc. (79000) with Canon Elementary District (4484)Enrollment, spending, revenue sources and schools, side by side.
  6. Southern Arizona Community Academy, its largest high school64 students in 2024-25.64
  7. Find the school district for an addressA home's district decides which public schools it can enroll in.

Source: NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23 (spending per student and fall 2022 membership; ranks among the state's districts that reported them); NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (schools).

Questions about Southern Arizona Community Academy Inc. (79000)

  1. How many schools and students are in Southern Arizona Community Academy Inc. (79000)?
    2 schools were open in 2024-25 (2 high), enrolling 89 students, according to the NCES Common Core of Data.
  2. How much does Southern Arizona Community Academy Inc. (79000) spend per student?
    $10,969 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), which leaves out construction and debt; the Arizona median for districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022 is $11,993 and the U.S. figure is $16,260.
  3. Where does Southern Arizona Community Academy Inc. (79000)'s money come from?
    $1,644,000 in revenue in fiscal year 2022-23: 85.2% state, not reported local and 14.8% federal (NCES F-33).
  4. How do students in Southern Arizona Community Academy Inc. (79000) do on state tests?
    In 2021-22, the students tested in Southern Arizona Community Academy Inc. (79000) scored proficient or above: under 50% in reading and under 50% in math, against 40.4% in reading and 34.8% in math across Arizona. Arizona's own test sets what proficient means, so results compare within the state, not across states. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22.
  5. What is the graduation rate in Southern Arizona Community Academy Inc. (79000)?
    20% or less of the 20 students in Southern Arizona Community Academy Inc. (79000)'s class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 77.8% across Arizona. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23.
  6. What is Southern Arizona Community Academy Inc. (79000)'s NCES district ID?
    0400254. Each of its schools' 12-digit NCES IDs begins with these seven digits.

Reading these figures: how to choose a school district, what Title I means and what an absenteeism rate means. They are for information and are not a substitute for the school's or district's own records.

Sources

Every federal file behind this record
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2024-25: directory, membership, staff and lunch files. nces.ed.gov
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2021-22 school characteristics: Title I status. nces.ed.gov
  • Civil Rights Data Collection, 2021-22: AP courses, gifted programs, counselors, discipline. civilrightsdata.ed.gov
  • EDFacts, 2022-23: chronic absenteeism. ed.gov
  • EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23: the class of 2023 for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
  • EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22: reading and math proficiency for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
  • NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey, fiscal year 2022-23: district spending and revenue. nces.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau geocoder and TIGER school districts: the district boundary used by the district finder. census.gov

Source: NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey Revenue and expenditures by district · FY 2022-23

Source: NCES Common Core of Data School directory, membership, staff and lunch files · 2024-25