Plains Elementary

Public elementary school, pre-kindergarten to grade 1 · South Hadley, Massachusetts

Plains Elementary in South Hadley, Massachusetts enrolled 271 students in 2024-25 with 19.7 full-time teachers, 13.8 students per teacher against the Massachusetts elementary-school median of 12.1. It ran a targeted Title I program in 2021-22; every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision (2024-25).

Enrollment fell 12% from 2022-23 to 2024-25; full-time teachers fell 26%

307 students in 2022-23, 265 students in 2023-24, 271 students in 2024-25. Full-time teachers went from 26.5 to 19.7.

Students enrolled at Plains Elementary by school year2022-23: 307, 2023-24: 265, 2024-25: 27101002003004002022-233072023-242652024-25271
Students enrolled at Plains Elementary by school year2022-23: 307, 2023-24: 265, 2024-25: 27101002003004002022-233072023-242652024-25271
Students enrolled at Plains Elementary by school year2022-23: 307, 2023-24: 265, 2024-25: 27101002003004002022-233072023-242652024-25271
Students enrolled at Plains Elementary by school year2022-23: 307, 2023-24: 265, 2024-25: 27101002003004002022-233072023-242652024-25271
The numbers as a table
School yearStudentsTeachers (FTE)Per teacher
2022-2330726.511.6
2023-2426524.011.0
2024-2527119.713.8

13.8 students per teacher, a higher ratio than 81 of every 100 Massachusetts elementary schools

Among the 1,012 Massachusetts elementary schools that reported teachers for 2024-25 the median is 12.1; the national median for elementary schools is 14.6. A ratio counts every teacher, so it is not the size of a class.

Students per teacher, Massachusetts elementary schools, 2024-25240 values from 3.2 to 21.2; Plains Elementary 13.8; state median 12.1.1 more above 20.0 →05101520students per full-time teacherPlains Elementary 13.8state median 12.1U.S. 14.6
Students per teacher, Massachusetts elementary schools, 2024-25240 values from 3.2 to 21.2; Plains Elementary 13.8; state median 12.1.1 more above 20.0 →05101520students per full-time teacherPlains Elementary 13.8state median 12.1U.S. 14.6
Students per teacher, Massachusetts elementary schools, 2024-25240 values from 3.2 to 21.2; Plains Elementary 13.8; state median 12.1.1 more above 20.0 →05101520students per full-time teacherPlains Elementary 13.8state median 12.1U.S. 14.6
Students per teacher, Massachusetts elementary schools, 2024-25240 values from 3.2 to 21.2; Plains Elementary 13.8; state median 12.1.1 more above 20.0 →05101520students per full-time teacherPlains Elementary 13.8state median 12.1U.S. 14.6

Source: NCES Common Core of Data membership and staff files, 2022-23, 2023-24, 2024-25; the comparison counts schools with a 2024-25 teacher count and a ratio from 3 to 99 (lower values are reporting errors).

One counselor per 223 students in 2021-22

In the 2021-22 civil rights collection Plains Elementary enrolled 223 students and had 1.0 counselor (full-time equivalent); it reported 0 out-of-school suspensions that year.

  • Advanced Placement coursesNone
  • Gifted and talented programNo
  • Counselors (FTE)1.0, one per 223 of the 223 students enrolled in 2021-22
  • Out-of-school suspensions0
  • Chronically absent18.2% (2022-23)

Who attends

68.3% of students were White, 22.5% Hispanic, 5.2% of two or more races in 2024-25.

  1. White68.3%
  2. Hispanic22.5%
  3. Two or more races5.2%
  4. Black2.2%
  5. Asian1.8%

Source: U.S. Department of Education, Civil Rights Data Collection 2021-22; chronic absenteeism from EDFacts 2022-23; every count and the counselor ratio are for that school year. Who attends: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25, membership by race and ethnicity.

Elementary schools in South Hadley

2 public elementary schools in South Hadley report 2024-25 enrollment; Plains Elementary is number 2 by size.

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunch
Mosier36513.4not reported
Plains Elementary27113.8not reported

All public schools in South Hadley →

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25.

What to look at next about Plains Elementary

  1. MosierThe nearest public elementary school, 1.2 miles away: 365 students, 13.4 per teacher (2024-25).1.2 mi
  2. Fairview ElementaryThe next nearest public elementary school, 1.3 miles away: 387 students, 10.7 per teacher (2024-25).1.3 mi
  3. Compare Plains Elementary with MosierStudents, teachers, meals, test results and who attends, side by side.
  4. How much South Hadley Public Schools spends per student$19,400 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23 (U.S. $16,260), with its revenue sources and teacher pay.$19,400
  5. The largest public schools in MassachusettsPlains Elementary is the number 789 by size of 1,014 Massachusetts elementary schools open in 2024-25.#789 of 1,014
  6. Massachusetts schools by students per teacher13.8 students per teacher here against the Massachusetts median of 12.1 for elementary schools.13.8:1
  7. Find the school district for an addressA home's district, not its city, decides which public schools it can enroll in.

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (locations, enrollment, teachers); NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23. Distances are straight lines between the schools' NCES coordinates, not travel routes.

Questions about Plains Elementary

  1. How many students attend Plains Elementary?
    271 in the 2024-25 school year, according to the NCES Common Core of Data; 307 in 2022-23. It is an elementary school in South Hadley, MA.
  2. What is the student-teacher ratio at Plains Elementary?
    13.8 students per full-time teacher (2024-25); the Massachusetts median for elementary schools is 12.1. A ratio counts every teacher, so it is not the size of a class.
  3. Is Plains Elementary a Title I school?
    Plains Elementary ran a targeted assistance Title I program in 2021-22, the last year NCES published school Title I status.
  4. What district is Plains Elementary in?
    South Hadley Public Schools, NCES district ID 2510920. The first seven digits of the school's NCES ID 251092001753 are the district's.

Reading these figures: how to choose a school district, what Title I means and what an absenteeism rate means. They are for information and are not a substitute for the school's or district's own records.

Sources

Every federal file behind this record
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2024-25: directory, membership, staff and lunch files. nces.ed.gov
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2021-22 school characteristics: Title I status. nces.ed.gov
  • Civil Rights Data Collection, 2021-22: AP courses, gifted programs, counselors, discipline. civilrightsdata.ed.gov
  • EDFacts, 2022-23: chronic absenteeism. ed.gov
  • NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey, fiscal year 2022-23: district spending and revenue. nces.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau geocoder and TIGER school districts: the district boundary used by the district finder. census.gov

Source: NCES Common Core of Data Directory, membership, staff and lunch files · 2024-25

Source: Civil Rights Data Collection School-level files (AP, gifted, counselors, discipline) · 2021-22