Phoenix Academy Public Charter High School Lawrence

Public high school, grades 9 to 12 · Lawrence, Massachusetts

Phoenix Academy Public Charter High School Lawrence in Lawrence, Massachusetts enrolled 140 students in 2024-25 with 5.0 full-time teachers, 27.9 students per teacher against the Massachusetts high-school median of 11.2. It ran a schoolwide Title I program in 2021-22; every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision (2024-25). Its four-year graduation rate for the class of 2023 was 21-39% (Massachusetts: 89.2%).

Enrollment rose 12% from 2022-23 to 2024-25; full-time teachers fell 58%

125 students in 2022-23, 114 students in 2023-24, 140 students in 2024-25. Full-time teachers went from 12.0 to 5.0.

Students enrolled at Phoenix Academy Public Charter High School Lawrence by school year2022-23: 125, 2023-24: 114, 2024-25: 1400501001502022-231252023-241142024-25140
Students enrolled at Phoenix Academy Public Charter High School Lawrence by school year2022-23: 125, 2023-24: 114, 2024-25: 1400501001502022-231252023-241142024-25140
Students enrolled at Phoenix Academy Public Charter High School Lawrence by school year2022-23: 125, 2023-24: 114, 2024-25: 1400501001502022-231252023-241142024-25140
Students enrolled at Phoenix Academy Public Charter High School Lawrence by school year2022-23: 125, 2023-24: 114, 2024-25: 1400501001502022-231252023-241142024-25140
The numbers as a table
School yearStudentsTeachers (FTE)Per teacher
2022-2312512.010.4
2023-2411412.49.2
2024-251405.027.9

27.9 students per teacher, a higher ratio than 99 of every 100 Massachusetts high schools

Among the 373 Massachusetts high schools that reported teachers for 2024-25 the median is 11.2; the national median for high schools is 14.5. A ratio counts every teacher, so it is not the size of a class.

Students per teacher, Massachusetts high schools, 2024-25240 values from 3.0 to 66.5; This school 27.9; state median 11.2.1 more above 30.0 →0102030students per full-time teacherThis school 27.9state median 11.2U.S. 14.5
Students per teacher, Massachusetts high schools, 2024-25240 values from 3.0 to 66.5; This school 27.9; state median 11.2.1 more above 30.0 →0102030students per full-time teacherThis school 27.9state median 11.2U.S. 14.5
Students per teacher, Massachusetts high schools, 2024-25240 values from 3.0 to 66.5; This school 27.9; state median 11.2.1 more above 30.0 →0102030students per full-time teacherThis school 27.9state median 11.2U.S. 14.5
Students per teacher, Massachusetts high schools, 2024-25240 values from 3.0 to 66.5; This school 27.9; state median 11.2.1 more above 30.0 →0102030students per full-time teacherThis school 27.9state median 11.2U.S. 14.5

Source: NCES Common Core of Data membership and staff files, 2022-23, 2023-24, 2024-25; the comparison counts schools with a 2024-25 teacher count and a ratio from 3 to 99 (lower values are reporting errors).

One counselor per 138 students in 2021-22

In the 2021-22 civil rights collection Phoenix Academy Public Charter High School Lawrence enrolled 138 students and had 1.0 counselor (full-time equivalent); it reported 10 out-of-school suspensions that year.

  • Advanced Placement coursesNone
  • Gifted and talented programNo
  • Counselors (FTE)1.0, one per 138 of the 138 students enrolled in 2021-22
  • Out-of-school suspensions10
  • Chronically absentnot reported for this school

Who attends

80.0% of students were Hispanic, 10.0% White, 4.3% Black in 2024-25.

  1. Hispanic80.0%
  2. White10.0%
  3. Black4.3%
  4. Two or more races3.6%
  5. American Indian2.1%

Source: U.S. Department of Education, Civil Rights Data Collection 2021-22; chronic absenteeism from EDFacts 2022-23; every count and the counselor ratio are for that school year. Who attends: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25, membership by race and ethnicity.

Graduation rate, class of 2023

21-39% of the 24 students in Phoenix Academy Public Charter High School Lawrence's class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 89.2% across Massachusetts. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out, and counts those who earned a regular diploma by 2023. Every state computes it the same way under federal law, though each sets its own diploma requirements.

Four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rate, class of 2023
This schoolIts districtMassachusetts
Four-year graduation rate21‑39%21‑39%89.2%
Students in the class242472,602

Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates 2022-23, all students, from ED Data Express: ED shows school and district rates as ranges (for example 90-94%) and leaves out small classes.

High schools in Lawrence

4 public high schools in Lawrence report 2024-25 enrollment; Phoenix Academy Public Charter High School Lawrence is number 3 by size.

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunch
Lawrence High School3,45313.6not reported
High School Learning Center19812.9not reported
Phoenix Academy Public Charter High School Lawrence14027.9not reported
RISE Academy747.8not reported

All public schools in Lawrence →

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25.

What to look at next about Phoenix Academy Public Charter High School Lawrence

  1. High School Learning CenterThe nearest public high school, 0.6 miles away: 198 students, 12.9 per teacher (2024-25).0.6 mi
  2. RISE AcademyThe next nearest public high school, 1.3 miles away: 74 students, 7.8 per teacher (2024-25).1.3 mi
  3. Compare Phoenix Academy Public Charter High School Lawrence with High School Learning CenterStudents, teachers, meals, test results and who attends, side by side.
  4. How much Phoenix Academy Public Charter High School Lawrence (Distric spends per student$28,984 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23 (U.S. $16,260), with its revenue sources and teacher pay.$28,984
  5. The largest public schools in MassachusettsPhoenix Academy Public Charter High School Lawrence is the number 335 by size of 378 Massachusetts high schools open in 2024-25.#335 of 378
  6. Massachusetts schools by students per teacher27.9 students per teacher here against the Massachusetts median of 11.2 for high schools.27.9:1
  7. Find the school district for an addressA home's district, not its city, decides which public schools it can enroll in.

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (locations, enrollment, teachers); NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23. Distances are straight lines between the schools' NCES coordinates, not travel routes.

Questions about Phoenix Academy Public Charter High School Lawrence

  1. How many students attend Phoenix Academy Public Charter High School Lawrence?
    140 in the 2024-25 school year, according to the NCES Common Core of Data; 125 in 2022-23. It is a high school in Lawrence, MA.
  2. What is the student-teacher ratio at Phoenix Academy Public Charter High School Lawrence?
    27.9 students per full-time teacher (2024-25); the Massachusetts median for high schools is 11.2. A ratio counts every teacher, so it is not the size of a class.
  3. Is Phoenix Academy Public Charter High School Lawrence a Title I school?
    Phoenix Academy Public Charter High School Lawrence ran a schoolwide Title I program in 2021-22, the last year NCES published school Title I status.
  4. What is the graduation rate at Phoenix Academy Public Charter High School Lawrence?
    21-39% of the 24 students in Phoenix Academy Public Charter High School Lawrence's class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 89.2% across Massachusetts. The rate counts the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out, and the share of them with a regular diploma by 2023. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23; ED publishes school rates as ranges to protect small groups.
  5. What district is Phoenix Academy Public Charter High School Lawrence in?
    Phoenix Academy Public Charter High School Lawrence (Distric, NCES district ID 2500590. The first seven digits of the school's NCES ID 250059002886 are the district's.

Reading these figures: how to choose a school district, what Title I means and what an absenteeism rate means. They are for information and are not a substitute for the school's or district's own records.

Sources

Every federal file behind this record
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2024-25: directory, membership, staff and lunch files. nces.ed.gov
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2021-22 school characteristics: Title I status. nces.ed.gov
  • Civil Rights Data Collection, 2021-22: AP courses, gifted programs, counselors, discipline. civilrightsdata.ed.gov
  • EDFacts, 2022-23: chronic absenteeism. ed.gov
  • EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23: the class of 2023 for the school, its district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
  • NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey, fiscal year 2022-23: district spending and revenue. nces.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau geocoder and TIGER school districts: the district boundary used by the district finder. census.gov

Source: NCES Common Core of Data Directory, membership, staff and lunch files · 2024-25

Source: Civil Rights Data Collection School-level files (AP, gifted, counselors, discipline) · 2021-22