Moorefield Intermediate School

Public elementary school, grades 3 to 5 · Moorefield, West Virginia

Moorefield Intermediate School in Moorefield, West Virginia enrolled 308 students in 2024-25 with 19.6 full-time teachers, 15.7 students per teacher against the West Virginia elementary-school median of 13.1. It ran a schoolwide Title I program in 2021-22; every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision (2024-25). On the state tests, 38% of its students tested were proficient in reading in 2021-22 and 43% proficient in math in 2022-23 (West Virginia: 41.3% and 34.4%).

Enrollment rose 2% from 2022-23 to 2024-25; full-time teachers fell 3%

302 students in 2022-23, 299 students in 2023-24, 308 students in 2024-25. Full-time teachers went from 20.2 to 19.6.

Students enrolled at Moorefield Intermediate School by school year2022-23: 302, 2023-24: 299, 2024-25: 30801002003004002022-233022023-242992024-25308
Students enrolled at Moorefield Intermediate School by school year2022-23: 302, 2023-24: 299, 2024-25: 30801002003004002022-233022023-242992024-25308
Students enrolled at Moorefield Intermediate School by school year2022-23: 302, 2023-24: 299, 2024-25: 30801002003004002022-233022023-242992024-25308
Students enrolled at Moorefield Intermediate School by school year2022-23: 302, 2023-24: 299, 2024-25: 30801002003004002022-233022023-242992024-25308
The numbers as a table
School yearStudentsTeachers (FTE)Per teacher
2022-2330220.215.0
2023-2429919.515.3
2024-2530819.615.7

15.7 students per teacher, a higher ratio than 90 of every 100 West Virginia elementary schools

Among the 392 West Virginia elementary schools that reported teachers for 2024-25 the median is 13.1; the national median for elementary schools is 14.6. A ratio counts every teacher, so it is not the size of a class.

Students per teacher, West Virginia elementary schools, 2024-25240 values from 6.6 to 20.5; This school 15.7; state median 13.1.1 more above 20.0 →5101520students per full-time teacherThis school 15.7state median 13.1U.S. 14.6
Students per teacher, West Virginia elementary schools, 2024-25240 values from 6.6 to 20.5; This school 15.7; state median 13.1.1 more above 20.0 →5101520students per full-time teacherThis school 15.7state median 13.1U.S. 14.6
Students per teacher, West Virginia elementary schools, 2024-25240 values from 6.6 to 20.5; This school 15.7; state median 13.1.1 more above 20.0 →5101520students per full-time teacherThis school 15.7state median 13.1U.S. 14.6
Students per teacher, West Virginia elementary schools, 2024-25240 values from 6.6 to 20.5; This school 15.7; state median 13.1.1 more above 20.0 →5101520students per full-time teacherThis school 15.7state median 13.1U.S. 14.6

Source: NCES Common Core of Data membership and staff files, 2022-23, 2023-24, 2024-25; the comparison counts schools with a 2024-25 teacher count and a ratio from 3 to 99 (lower values are reporting errors).

Programs and staff in 2021-22

In the 2021-22 civil rights collection Moorefield Intermediate School enrolled 295 students and reported no counselor; it reported 4 out-of-school suspensions that year.

  • Advanced Placement coursesNone
  • Gifted and talented programYes
  • Counselors (FTE)0.0
  • Out-of-school suspensions4
  • Chronically absent27.2% (2022-23)

Who attends

81.5% of students were White, 11.0% Hispanic, 3.9% Black in 2024-25.

  1. White81.5%
  2. Hispanic11.0%
  3. Black3.9%
  4. Two or more races3.6%

Source: U.S. Department of Education, Civil Rights Data Collection 2021-22; chronic absenteeism from EDFacts 2022-23; every count and the counselor ratio are for that school year. Who attends: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25, membership by race and ethnicity.

State test results, 2021-22 and 2022-23

The students tested at Moorefield Intermediate School scored proficient or above: 38% in reading in 2021-22 and 43% in math in 2022-23, against 41.3% in reading in 2021-22 and 34.4% in math in 2022-23 across West Virginia. Each state writes its own test and sets its own proficiency bar, so compare these within West Virginia, not across states. ED Data Express holds no district results after 2021-22, so the district column gives its 2021-22 figure.

Students proficient or above, 2021-22 and 2022-23
Subject and yearThis schoolIts districtWest Virginia
Reading and language arts, 2021-2238%40%41.3%
Math, 2022-2343%26% (2021-22)34.4%

Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results 2021-22 and 2022-23, all students, from ED Data Express (2021-22 through the Data Rescue Project archive); for 2022-23 ED published math by school and reading only by state: ED shows school and district results as ranges (for example 20-24%) to protect small groups.

Elementary schools in Moorefield

2 public elementary schools in Moorefield report 2024-25 enrollment; Moorefield Intermediate School is number 2 by size.

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunch
Moorefield Elementary School43117.6not reported
Moorefield Intermediate School30815.7not reported

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25.

What to look at next about Moorefield Intermediate School

  1. Moorefield Elementary SchoolThe nearest public elementary school, 1.1 miles away: 431 students, 17.6 per teacher (2024-25).1.1 mi
  2. Petersburg Elementary SchoolThe next nearest public elementary school, 10 miles away: 644 students, 14.6 per teacher (2024-25).10 mi
  3. Compare Moorefield Intermediate School with Moorefield Elementary SchoolStudents, teachers, meals, test results and who attends, side by side.
  4. How much Hardy County Schools spends per student$13,103 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23 (U.S. $16,260), with its revenue sources and teacher pay.$13,103
  5. The largest public schools in West VirginiaMoorefield Intermediate School is the number 141 by size of 393 West Virginia elementary schools open in 2024-25.#141 of 393
  6. West Virginia schools by students per teacher15.7 students per teacher here against the West Virginia median of 13.1 for elementary schools.15.7:1
  7. Find the school district for an addressA home's district, not its city, decides which public schools it can enroll in.

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (locations, enrollment, teachers); NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23. Distances are straight lines between the schools' NCES coordinates, not travel routes.

Questions about Moorefield Intermediate School

  1. How many students attend Moorefield Intermediate School?
    308 in the 2024-25 school year, according to the NCES Common Core of Data; 302 in 2022-23. It is an elementary school in Moorefield, WV.
  2. What is the student-teacher ratio at Moorefield Intermediate School?
    15.7 students per full-time teacher (2024-25); the West Virginia median for elementary schools is 13.1. A ratio counts every teacher, so it is not the size of a class.
  3. Is Moorefield Intermediate School a Title I school?
    Moorefield Intermediate School ran a schoolwide Title I program in 2021-22, the last year NCES published school Title I status.
  4. How do students at Moorefield Intermediate School do on state tests?
    The students tested at Moorefield Intermediate School scored proficient or above: 38% in reading in 2021-22 and 43% in math in 2022-23, against 41.3% in reading in 2021-22 and 34.4% in math in 2022-23 across West Virginia. West Virginia's own test sets what proficient means, so results compare within the state, not across states. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22 and 2022-23; ED publishes school results as ranges to protect small groups.
  5. What district is Moorefield Intermediate School in?
    Hardy County Schools, NCES district ID 5400480. The first seven digits of the school's NCES ID 540048001253 are the district's.

Reading these figures: how to choose a school district, what Title I means and what an absenteeism rate means. They are for information and are not a substitute for the school's or district's own records.

Sources

Every federal file behind this record
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2024-25: directory, membership, staff and lunch files. nces.ed.gov
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2021-22 school characteristics: Title I status. nces.ed.gov
  • Civil Rights Data Collection, 2021-22: AP courses, gifted programs, counselors, discipline. civilrightsdata.ed.gov
  • EDFacts, 2022-23: chronic absenteeism. ed.gov
  • EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22 and 2022-23: reading and math proficiency for the school, its district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
  • NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey, fiscal year 2022-23: district spending and revenue. nces.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau geocoder and TIGER school districts: the district boundary used by the district finder. census.gov

Source: NCES Common Core of Data Directory, membership, staff and lunch files · 2024-25

Source: Civil Rights Data Collection School-level files (AP, gifted, counselors, discipline) · 2021-22