Midland Elementary School
Public elementary school, pre-kindergarten to grade 5 · Elkins, West Virginia
Midland Elementary School in Elkins, West Virginia enrolled 164 students in 2024-25 with 14.0 full-time teachers, 11.7 students per teacher against the West Virginia elementary-school median of 13.1. It ran a schoolwide Title I program in 2021-22; every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision (2024-25). On the state tests, 60-64% of its students tested were proficient in reading in 2021-22 and 55-59% proficient in math in 2022-23 (West Virginia: 41.3% and 34.4%).
NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 · Civil Rights Data Collection 2021-22 · Title I status CCD 2021-22 · method
Enrollment fell 11% from 2022-23 to 2024-25; full-time teachers fell 7%
185 students in 2022-23, 168 students in 2023-24, 164 students in 2024-25. Full-time teachers went from 15.0 to 14.0.
The numbers as a table
| School year | Students | Teachers (FTE) | Per teacher |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2022-23 | 185 | 15.0 | 12.3 |
| 2023-24 | 168 | 14.0 | 12.0 |
| 2024-25 | 164 | 14.0 | 11.7 |
11.7 students per teacher, a lower ratio than 70 of every 100 West Virginia elementary schools
Among the 392 West Virginia elementary schools that reported teachers for 2024-25 the median is 13.1; the national median for elementary schools is 14.6. A ratio counts every teacher, so it is not the size of a class.
Source: NCES Common Core of Data membership and staff files, 2022-23, 2023-24, 2024-25; the comparison counts schools with a 2024-25 teacher count and a ratio from 3 to 99 (lower values are reporting errors).
One counselor per 212 students in 2021-22
In the 2021-22 civil rights collection Midland Elementary School enrolled 212 students and had 1.0 counselor (full-time equivalent); it reported 0 out-of-school suspensions that year.
- Advanced Placement coursesNone
- Gifted and talented programYes
- Counselors (FTE)1.0, one per 212 of the 212 students enrolled in 2021-22
- Out-of-school suspensions0
- Chronically absent15.1% (2022-23)
Who attends
95.7% of students were White, 2.4% of two or more races, 1.2% Hispanic in 2024-25.
- White95.7%
- Two or more races2.4%
- Hispanic1.2%
- Asian0.6%
Source: U.S. Department of Education, Civil Rights Data Collection 2021-22; chronic absenteeism from EDFacts 2022-23; every count and the counselor ratio are for that school year. Who attends: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25, membership by race and ethnicity.
State test results, 2021-22 and 2022-23
The students tested at Midland Elementary School scored proficient or above: 60-64% in reading in 2021-22 and 55-59% in math in 2022-23, against 41.3% in reading in 2021-22 and 34.4% in math in 2022-23 across West Virginia. Each state writes its own test and sets its own proficiency bar, so compare these within West Virginia, not across states. ED Data Express holds no district results after 2021-22, so the district column gives its 2021-22 figure.
| Subject and year | This school | Its district | West Virginia |
|---|---|---|---|
| Reading and language arts, 2021-22 | 60‑64% | 35% | 41.3% |
| Math, 2022-23 | 55‑59% | 25% (2021-22) | 34.4% |
Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results 2021-22 and 2022-23, all students, from ED Data Express (2021-22 through the Data Rescue Project archive); for 2022-23 ED published math by school and reading only by state: ED shows school and district results as ranges (for example 20-24%) to protect small groups.
Elementary schools in Elkins
4 public elementary schools in Elkins report 2024-25 enrollment; Midland Elementary School is number 4 by size.
| School | Students | Per teacher | Free lunch |
|---|---|---|---|
| Elkins Third Ward Elementary School | 318 | 14.5 | not reported |
| Jennings Randolph Elementary School | 212 | 14.1 | not reported |
| North Elementary School | 201 | 13.4 | not reported |
| Midland Elementary School | 164 | 11.7 | not reported |
Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25.
What to look at next about Midland Elementary School
- Jennings Randolph Elementary SchoolThe nearest public elementary school, 1.5 miles away: 212 students, 14.1 per teacher (2024-25).1.5 mi
- Elkins Third Ward Elementary SchoolThe next nearest public elementary school, 3.0 miles away: 318 students, 14.5 per teacher (2024-25).3.0 mi
- Compare Midland Elementary School with Jennings Randolph Elementary SchoolStudents, teachers, meals, test results and who attends, side by side.
- How much Randolph County School District spends per student$12,936 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23 (U.S. $16,260), with its revenue sources and teacher pay.$12,936
- The largest public schools in West VirginiaMidland Elementary School is the number 304 by size of 393 West Virginia elementary schools open in 2024-25.#304 of 393
- West Virginia schools by students per teacher11.7 students per teacher here against the West Virginia median of 13.1 for elementary schools.11.7:1
- Find the school district for an addressA home's district, not its city, decides which public schools it can enroll in.
Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (locations, enrollment, teachers); NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23. Distances are straight lines between the schools' NCES coordinates, not travel routes.
Questions about Midland Elementary School
How many students attend Midland Elementary School?
164 in the 2024-25 school year, according to the NCES Common Core of Data; 185 in 2022-23. It is an elementary school in Elkins, WV.What is the student-teacher ratio at Midland Elementary School?
11.7 students per full-time teacher (2024-25); the West Virginia median for elementary schools is 13.1. A ratio counts every teacher, so it is not the size of a class.Is Midland Elementary School a Title I school?
Midland Elementary School ran a schoolwide Title I program in 2021-22, the last year NCES published school Title I status.How do students at Midland Elementary School do on state tests?
The students tested at Midland Elementary School scored proficient or above: 60-64% in reading in 2021-22 and 55-59% in math in 2022-23, against 41.3% in reading in 2021-22 and 34.4% in math in 2022-23 across West Virginia. West Virginia's own test sets what proficient means, so results compare within the state, not across states. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22 and 2022-23; ED publishes school results as ranges to protect small groups.What district is Midland Elementary School in?
Randolph County School District, NCES district ID 5401260. The first seven digits of the school's NCES ID 540126001002 are the district's.
Reading these figures: how to choose a school district, what Title I means and what an absenteeism rate means. They are for information and are not a substitute for the school's or district's own records.
Sources
Every federal file behind this record
- NCES Common Core of Data, 2024-25: directory, membership, staff and lunch files. nces.ed.gov
- NCES Common Core of Data, 2021-22 school characteristics: Title I status. nces.ed.gov
- Civil Rights Data Collection, 2021-22: AP courses, gifted programs, counselors, discipline. civilrightsdata.ed.gov
- EDFacts, 2022-23: chronic absenteeism. ed.gov
- EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22 and 2022-23: reading and math proficiency for the school, its district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
- NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey, fiscal year 2022-23: district spending and revenue. nces.ed.gov
- U.S. Census Bureau geocoder and TIGER school districts: the district boundary used by the district finder. census.gov
Source: NCES Common Core of Data Directory, membership, staff and lunch files · 2024-25
Source: Civil Rights Data Collection School-level files (AP, gifted, counselors, discipline) · 2021-22
District spending on the district page is from the NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23.