Meadowview Middle School

Public middle school, grades 6 to 8 · Morristown, Tennessee

Meadowview Middle School in Morristown, Tennessee enrolled 611 students in 2024-25. It ran a schoolwide Title I program in 2021-22; every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision (2024-25). On the state tests, 22-26% of its students tested were proficient in reading in 2021-22 and 28% proficient in math in 2022-23 (Tennessee: 35% and 34.3%).

Enrollment fell 5% from 2022-23 to 2023-24; full-time teachers fell 18%

627 students in 2022-23, 597 students in 2023-24. Full-time teachers went from 45.0 to 37.0.

Students enrolled at Meadowview Middle School by school year2022-23: 627, 2023-24: 59702004006008002022-236272023-24597
Students enrolled at Meadowview Middle School by school year2022-23: 627, 2023-24: 59702004006008002022-236272023-24597
Students enrolled at Meadowview Middle School by school year2022-23: 627, 2023-24: 59702004006008002022-236272023-24597
Students enrolled at Meadowview Middle School by school year2022-23: 627, 2023-24: 59702004006008002022-236272023-24597
The numbers as a table
School yearStudentsTeachers (FTE)Per teacher
2022-2362745.013.9
2023-2459737.016.1

Source: NCES Common Core of Data membership and staff files, 2022-23, 2023-24.

One counselor per 612 students in 2021-22

In the 2021-22 civil rights collection Meadowview Middle School enrolled 612 students and had 1.0 counselor (full-time equivalent); it reported 128 out-of-school suspensions that year.

  • Advanced Placement coursesNone
  • Gifted and talented programNo
  • Counselors (FTE)1.0, one per 612 of the 612 students enrolled in 2021-22
  • Out-of-school suspensions128
  • Chronically absent5.6% (2022-23)

Who attends

65.0% of students were Hispanic, 27.8% White, 3.4% of two or more races in 2024-25.

  1. Hispanic65.0%
  2. White27.8%
  3. Two or more races3.4%
  4. Black1.8%
  5. Asian1.1%
  6. Pacific Islander0.8%

Source: U.S. Department of Education, Civil Rights Data Collection 2021-22; chronic absenteeism from EDFacts 2022-23; every count and the counselor ratio are for that school year. Who attends: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25, membership by race and ethnicity.

State test results, 2021-22 and 2022-23

The students tested at Meadowview Middle School scored proficient or above: 22-26% in reading in 2021-22 and 28% in math in 2022-23, against 35% in reading in 2021-22 and 34.3% in math in 2022-23 across Tennessee. Each state writes its own test and sets its own proficiency bar, so compare these within Tennessee, not across states. ED Data Express holds no district results after 2021-22, so the district column gives its 2021-22 figure. Where a state published results by grade only, the grades tested are combined, weighted by the students tested in each.

Students proficient or above, 2021-22 and 2022-23
Subject and yearThis schoolIts districtTennessee
Reading and language arts, 2021-2222‑26%34%35%
Math, 2022-2328%35% (2021-22)34.3%

Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results 2021-22 and 2022-23, all students, from ED Data Express (2021-22 through the Data Rescue Project archive); for 2022-23 ED published math by school and reading only by state: ED shows school and district results as ranges (for example 20-24%) to protect small groups.

Middle schools in Morristown

3 public middle schools in Morristown report 2024-25 enrollment; Meadowview Middle School is the largest.

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunch
Meadowview Middle School61113.9not reported
Lincoln Heights Middle School60215.4not reported
West View Middle School58116.3not reported

All public schools in Morristown →

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25.

What to look at next about Meadowview Middle School

  1. Lincoln Heights Middle SchoolThe nearest public middle school, 2.0 miles away: 602 students, 15.4 per teacher (2024-25).2.0 mi
  2. West View Middle SchoolThe next nearest public middle school, 5.6 miles away: 581 students, 16.3 per teacher (2024-25).5.6 mi
  3. Compare Meadowview Middle School with Lincoln Heights Middle SchoolStudents, teachers, meals, test results and who attends, side by side.
  4. How much Hamblen County Department of Education spends per student$10,596 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23 (U.S. $16,260), with its revenue sources and teacher pay.$10,596
  5. The largest public schools in TennesseeMeadowview Middle School is the number 116 by size of 332 Tennessee middle schools open in 2024-25.#116 of 332
  6. Find the school district for an addressA home's district, not its city, decides which public schools it can enroll in.

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (locations, enrollment, teachers); NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23. Distances are straight lines between the schools' NCES coordinates, not travel routes.

Questions about Meadowview Middle School

  1. How many students attend Meadowview Middle School?
    611 in the 2024-25 school year, according to the NCES Common Core of Data; 627 in 2022-23. It is a middle school in Morristown, TN.
  2. What is the student-teacher ratio at Meadowview Middle School?
    13.9 students per full-time teacher (2022-23). A ratio counts every teacher, so it is not the size of a class.
  3. Is Meadowview Middle School a Title I school?
    Meadowview Middle School ran a schoolwide Title I program in 2021-22, the last year NCES published school Title I status.
  4. How do students at Meadowview Middle School do on state tests?
    The students tested at Meadowview Middle School scored proficient or above: 22-26% in reading in 2021-22 and 28% in math in 2022-23, against 35% in reading in 2021-22 and 34.3% in math in 2022-23 across Tennessee. Tennessee's own test sets what proficient means, so results compare within the state, not across states. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22 and 2022-23; ED publishes school results as ranges to protect small groups.
  5. What district is Meadowview Middle School in?
    Hamblen County Department of Education, NCES district ID 4700001. The first seven digits of the school's NCES ID 470000101934 are the district's.

Reading these figures: how to choose a school district, what Title I means and what an absenteeism rate means. They are for information and are not a substitute for the school's or district's own records.

Sources

Every federal file behind this record
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2024-25: directory, membership, staff and lunch files. nces.ed.gov
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2021-22 school characteristics: Title I status. nces.ed.gov
  • Civil Rights Data Collection, 2021-22: AP courses, gifted programs, counselors, discipline. civilrightsdata.ed.gov
  • EDFacts, 2022-23: chronic absenteeism. ed.gov
  • EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22 and 2022-23: reading and math proficiency for the school, its district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
  • NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey, fiscal year 2022-23: district spending and revenue. nces.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau geocoder and TIGER school districts: the district boundary used by the district finder. census.gov

Source: NCES Common Core of Data Directory, membership, staff and lunch files · 2024-25

Source: Civil Rights Data Collection School-level files (AP, gifted, counselors, discipline) · 2021-22