Lakeside Junior High School

Public middle school, grades 7 to 8 · Ashtabula, Ohio

Lakeside Junior High School in Ashtabula, Ohio enrolled 398 students in 2024-25 with 23.0 full-time teachers, 17.3 students per teacher against the Ohio middle-school median of 16.4. It ran a schoolwide Title I program in 2021-22; every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision (2024-25). On the state tests, 40-44% of its students tested were proficient in reading in 2021-22 and 27% proficient in math in 2022-23 (Ohio: 59% and 54.3%).

Enrollment fell 21% from 2022-23 to 2024-25; full-time teachers fell 4%

505 students in 2022-23, 482 students in 2023-24, 398 students in 2024-25. Full-time teachers went from 24.0 to 23.0.

Students enrolled at Lakeside Junior High School by school year2022-23: 505, 2023-24: 482, 2024-25: 39802004006002022-235052023-244822024-25398
Students enrolled at Lakeside Junior High School by school year2022-23: 505, 2023-24: 482, 2024-25: 39802004006002022-235052023-244822024-25398
Students enrolled at Lakeside Junior High School by school year2022-23: 505, 2023-24: 482, 2024-25: 39802004006002022-235052023-244822024-25398
Students enrolled at Lakeside Junior High School by school year2022-23: 505, 2023-24: 482, 2024-25: 39802004006002022-235052023-244822024-25398
The numbers as a table
School yearStudentsTeachers (FTE)Per teacher
2022-2350524.021.0
2023-2448224.020.1
2024-2539823.017.3

17.3 students per teacher, a higher ratio than 58 of every 100 Ohio middle schools

Among the 640 Ohio middle schools that reported teachers for 2024-25 the median is 16.4; the national median for middle schools is 14.6. A ratio counts every teacher, so it is not the size of a class.

Students per teacher, Ohio middle schools, 2024-25240 values from 8.8 to 54.0; This school 17.3; state median 16.4.3 more above 30.0 →51015202530students per full-time teacherThis school 17.3state median 16.4U.S. 14.6
Students per teacher, Ohio middle schools, 2024-25240 values from 8.8 to 54.0; This school 17.3; state median 16.4.3 more above 30.0 →51015202530students per full-time teacherThis school 17.3state median 16.4U.S. 14.6
Students per teacher, Ohio middle schools, 2024-25240 values from 8.8 to 54.0; This school 17.3; state median 16.4.3 more above 30.0 →5152530students per full-time teacherThis school 17.3state median 16.4U.S. 14.6
Students per teacher, Ohio middle schools, 2024-25240 values from 8.8 to 54.0; This school 17.3; state median 16.4.3 more above 30.0 →5152530students per full-time teacherThis school 17.3state median 16.4U.S. 14.6

Source: NCES Common Core of Data membership and staff files, 2022-23, 2023-24, 2024-25; the comparison counts schools with a 2024-25 teacher count and a ratio from 3 to 99 (lower values are reporting errors).

One counselor per 426 students in 2021-22

In the 2021-22 civil rights collection Lakeside Junior High School enrolled 426 students and had 1.0 counselor (full-time equivalent); it reported 63 out-of-school suspensions that year.

  • Advanced Placement coursesNone
  • Gifted and talented programYes
  • Counselors (FTE)1.0, one per 426 of the 426 students enrolled in 2021-22
  • Out-of-school suspensions63
  • Chronically absent54.1% (2022-23)

Who attends

60.3% of students were White, 16.3% Hispanic, 15.3% of two or more races in 2024-25.

  1. White60.3%
  2. Hispanic16.3%
  3. Two or more races15.3%
  4. Black6.5%
  5. Asian1.0%
  6. American Indian0.5%

Source: U.S. Department of Education, Civil Rights Data Collection 2021-22; chronic absenteeism from EDFacts 2022-23; every count and the counselor ratio are for that school year. Who attends: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25, membership by race and ethnicity.

State test results, 2021-22 and 2022-23

The students tested at Lakeside Junior High School scored proficient or above: 40-44% in reading in 2021-22 and 27% in math in 2022-23, against 59% in reading in 2021-22 and 54.3% in math in 2022-23 across Ohio. Each state writes its own test and sets its own proficiency bar, so compare these within Ohio, not across states. ED Data Express holds no district results after 2021-22, so the district column gives its 2021-22 figure. Where a state published results by grade only, the grades tested are combined, weighted by the students tested in each.

Students proficient or above, 2021-22 and 2022-23
Subject and yearThis schoolIts districtOhio
Reading and language arts, 2021-2240‑44%38‑42%59%
Math, 2022-2327%30‑34% (2021-22)54.3%

Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results 2021-22 and 2022-23, all students, from ED Data Express (2021-22 through the Data Rescue Project archive); for 2022-23 ED published math by school and reading only by state: ED shows school and district results as ranges (for example 20-24%) to protect small groups.

Middle schools in Ashtabula

3 public middle schools in Ashtabula report 2024-25 enrollment; Lakeside Junior High School is number 2 by size.

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunch
Erie Intermediate School39926.6not reported
Lakeside Junior High School39817.3not reported
Wallace H Braden Middle School37321.937.9%

All public schools in Ashtabula →

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25.

What to look at next about Lakeside Junior High School

  1. Erie Intermediate SchoolThe nearest public middle school, 2.1 miles away: 399 students, 26.6 per teacher (2024-25).2.1 mi
  2. Wallace H Braden Middle SchoolThe next nearest public middle school, 3.4 miles away: 373 students, 21.9 per teacher (2024-25).3.4 mi
  3. Compare Lakeside Junior High School with Erie Intermediate SchoolStudents, teachers, meals, test results and who attends, side by side.
  4. How much Ashtabula Area City Schools spends per student$16,337 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23 (U.S. $16,260), with its revenue sources and teacher pay.$16,337
  5. The largest public schools in OhioLakeside Junior High School is the number 365 by size of 650 Ohio middle schools open in 2024-25.#365 of 650
  6. Ohio schools by students per teacher17.3 students per teacher here against the Ohio median of 16.4 for middle schools.17.3:1
  7. Find the school district for an addressA home's district, not its city, decides which public schools it can enroll in.

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (locations, enrollment, teachers); NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23. Distances are straight lines between the schools' NCES coordinates, not travel routes.

Questions about Lakeside Junior High School

  1. How many students attend Lakeside Junior High School?
    398 in the 2024-25 school year, according to the NCES Common Core of Data; 505 in 2022-23. It is a middle school in Ashtabula, OH.
  2. What is the student-teacher ratio at Lakeside Junior High School?
    17.3 students per full-time teacher (2024-25); the Ohio median for middle schools is 16.4. A ratio counts every teacher, so it is not the size of a class.
  3. Is Lakeside Junior High School a Title I school?
    Lakeside Junior High School ran a schoolwide Title I program in 2021-22, the last year NCES published school Title I status.
  4. How do students at Lakeside Junior High School do on state tests?
    The students tested at Lakeside Junior High School scored proficient or above: 40-44% in reading in 2021-22 and 27% in math in 2022-23, against 59% in reading in 2021-22 and 54.3% in math in 2022-23 across Ohio. Ohio's own test sets what proficient means, so results compare within the state, not across states. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22 and 2022-23; ED publishes school results as ranges to protect small groups.
  5. What district is Lakeside Junior High School in?
    Ashtabula Area City Schools, NCES district ID 3904351. The first seven digits of the school's NCES ID 390435100087 are the district's.

Reading these figures: how to choose a school district, what Title I means and what an absenteeism rate means. They are for information and are not a substitute for the school's or district's own records.

Sources

Every federal file behind this record
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2024-25: directory, membership, staff and lunch files. nces.ed.gov
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2021-22 school characteristics: Title I status. nces.ed.gov
  • Civil Rights Data Collection, 2021-22: AP courses, gifted programs, counselors, discipline. civilrightsdata.ed.gov
  • EDFacts, 2022-23: chronic absenteeism. ed.gov
  • EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22 and 2022-23: reading and math proficiency for the school, its district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
  • NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey, fiscal year 2022-23: district spending and revenue. nces.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau geocoder and TIGER school districts: the district boundary used by the district finder. census.gov

Source: NCES Common Core of Data Directory, membership, staff and lunch files · 2024-25

Source: Civil Rights Data Collection School-level files (AP, gifted, counselors, discipline) · 2021-22