Harding Grade School

Public elementary school, pre-kindergarten to grade 4 · Earlville, Illinois

Harding Grade School in Earlville, Illinois enrolled 130 students in 2024-25 with 9.0 full-time teachers, 14.4 students per teacher against the Illinois elementary-school median of 13.1. It ran a targeted Title I program in 2021-22; it takes part in the National School Lunch Program (2024-25). On the state tests, 50-59% of its students tested were proficient in reading in 2021-22 and 40-49% proficient in math in 2022-23 (Illinois: 29.9% and 26.6%).

Enrollment fell 7% from 2022-23 to 2024-25; full-time teachers rose 7%

140 students in 2022-23, 126 students in 2023-24, 130 students in 2024-25. Full-time teachers went from 8.4 to 9.0.

Students enrolled at Harding Grade School by school year2022-23: 140, 2023-24: 126, 2024-25: 1300501001502022-231402023-241262024-25130
Students enrolled at Harding Grade School by school year2022-23: 140, 2023-24: 126, 2024-25: 1300501001502022-231402023-241262024-25130
Students enrolled at Harding Grade School by school year2022-23: 140, 2023-24: 126, 2024-25: 1300501001502022-231402023-241262024-25130
Students enrolled at Harding Grade School by school year2022-23: 140, 2023-24: 126, 2024-25: 1300501001502022-231402023-241262024-25130
The numbers as a table
School yearStudentsTeachers (FTE)Per teacher
2022-231408.416.7
2023-241269.513.3
2024-251309.014.4

14.4 students per teacher, a higher ratio than 70 of every 100 Illinois elementary schools

Among the 2,300 Illinois elementary schools that reported teachers for 2024-25 the median is 13.1; the national median for elementary schools is 14.6. A ratio counts every teacher, so it is not the size of a class.

Students per teacher, Illinois elementary schools, 2024-25240 values from 4.6 to 49.9; Harding Grade School 14.4; state median 13.1.1 more above 30.0 →0102030students per full-time teacherHarding Grade School 14.4state median 13.1U.S. 14.6
Students per teacher, Illinois elementary schools, 2024-25240 values from 4.6 to 49.9; Harding Grade School 14.4; state median 13.1.1 more above 30.0 →0102030students per full-time teacherHarding Grade School 14.4state median 13.1U.S. 14.6
Students per teacher, Illinois elementary schools, 2024-25240 values from 4.6 to 49.9; Harding Grade School 14.4; state median 13.1.1 more above 30.0 →0102030students per full-time teacherHarding Grade School 14.4state median 13.1U.S. 14.6
Students per teacher, Illinois elementary schools, 2024-25240 values from 4.6 to 49.9; Harding Grade School 14.4; state median 13.1.1 more above 30.0 →0102030students per full-time teacherHarding Grade School 14.4state median 13.1U.S. 14.6

Source: NCES Common Core of Data membership and staff files, 2022-23, 2023-24, 2024-25; the comparison counts schools with a 2024-25 teacher count and a ratio from 3 to 99 (lower values are reporting errors).

One counselor per 119 students in 2021-22

In the 2021-22 civil rights collection Harding Grade School enrolled 119 students and had 1.0 counselor (full-time equivalent); it reported 0 out-of-school suspensions that year.

  • Advanced Placement coursesNone
  • Gifted and talented programNo
  • Counselors (FTE)1.0, one per 119 of the 119 students enrolled in 2021-22
  • Out-of-school suspensions0
  • Chronically absent15.7% (2022-23)

Who attends

85.4% of students were White, 8.5% Hispanic, 4.6% of two or more races in 2024-25.

  1. White85.4%
  2. Hispanic8.5%
  3. Two or more races4.6%
  4. Black0.8%
  5. Asian0.8%

Source: U.S. Department of Education, Civil Rights Data Collection 2021-22; chronic absenteeism from EDFacts 2022-23; every count and the counselor ratio are for that school year. Who attends: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25, membership by race and ethnicity.

State test results, 2021-22 and 2022-23

The students tested at Harding Grade School scored proficient or above: 50-59% in reading in 2021-22 and 40-49% in math in 2022-23, against 29.9% in reading in 2021-22 and 26.6% in math in 2022-23 across Illinois. Each state writes its own test and sets its own proficiency bar, so compare these within Illinois, not across states.

Students proficient or above, 2021-22 and 2022-23
Subject and yearThis schoolIts districtIllinois
Reading and language arts, 2021-2250‑59%31%29.9%
Math, 2022-2340‑49%not published26.6%

Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results 2021-22 and 2022-23, all students, from ED Data Express (2021-22 through the Data Rescue Project archive); for 2022-23 ED published math by school and reading only by state: ED shows school and district results as ranges (for example 20-24%) to protect small groups.

Elementary schools in Earlville

2 public elementary schools in Earlville report 2024-25 enrollment; Harding Grade School is number 2 by size.

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunch
Earlville Elementary School25310.1not reported
Harding Grade School13014.4not reported

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25.

What to look at next about Harding Grade School

  1. Earlville Elementary SchoolThe nearest public elementary school, 6.4 miles away: 253 students, 10.1 per teacher (2024-25).6.4 mi
  2. Leland Elementary SchoolThe next nearest public elementary school, 7.5 miles away: 175 students, 9.9 per teacher (2024-25).7.5 mi
  3. Compare Harding Grade School with Earlville Elementary SchoolStudents, teachers, meals, test results and who attends, side by side.
  4. How much Serena CUSD 2 spends per student$20,003 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23 (U.S. $16,260), with its revenue sources and teacher pay.$20,003
  5. The largest public schools in IllinoisHarding Grade School is the number 2,192 by size of 2,314 Illinois elementary schools open in 2024-25.#2,192 of 2,314
  6. Illinois schools by students per teacher14.4 students per teacher here against the Illinois median of 13.1 for elementary schools.14.4:1
  7. Find the school district for an addressA home's district, not its city, decides which public schools it can enroll in.

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (locations, enrollment, teachers); NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23. Distances are straight lines between the schools' NCES coordinates, not travel routes.

Questions about Harding Grade School

  1. How many students attend Harding Grade School?
    130 in the 2024-25 school year, according to the NCES Common Core of Data; 140 in 2022-23. It is an elementary school in Earlville, IL.
  2. What is the student-teacher ratio at Harding Grade School?
    14.4 students per full-time teacher (2024-25); the Illinois median for elementary schools is 13.1. A ratio counts every teacher, so it is not the size of a class.
  3. Is Harding Grade School a Title I school?
    Harding Grade School ran a targeted assistance Title I program in 2021-22, the last year NCES published school Title I status.
  4. How do students at Harding Grade School do on state tests?
    The students tested at Harding Grade School scored proficient or above: 50-59% in reading in 2021-22 and 40-49% in math in 2022-23, against 29.9% in reading in 2021-22 and 26.6% in math in 2022-23 across Illinois. Illinois's own test sets what proficient means, so results compare within the state, not across states. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22 and 2022-23; ED publishes school results as ranges to protect small groups.
  5. What district is Harding Grade School in?
    Serena CUSD 2, NCES district ID 1715880. The first seven digits of the school's NCES ID 171588001893 are the district's.

Reading these figures: how to choose a school district, what Title I means and what an absenteeism rate means. They are for information and are not a substitute for the school's or district's own records.

Sources

Every federal file behind this record
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2024-25: directory, membership, staff and lunch files. nces.ed.gov
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2021-22 school characteristics: Title I status. nces.ed.gov
  • Civil Rights Data Collection, 2021-22: AP courses, gifted programs, counselors, discipline. civilrightsdata.ed.gov
  • EDFacts, 2022-23: chronic absenteeism. ed.gov
  • EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22 and 2022-23: reading and math proficiency for the school, its district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
  • NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey, fiscal year 2022-23: district spending and revenue. nces.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau geocoder and TIGER school districts: the district boundary used by the district finder. census.gov

Source: NCES Common Core of Data Directory, membership, staff and lunch files · 2024-25

Source: Civil Rights Data Collection School-level files (AP, gifted, counselors, discipline) · 2021-22