Global Learning Charter Public School

Public high school, grades 5 to 12 · New Bedford, Massachusetts

Global Learning Charter Public School in New Bedford, Massachusetts enrolled 508 students in 2024-25 with 48.3 full-time teachers, 10.5 students per teacher against the Massachusetts high-school median of 11.2. It ran a schoolwide Title I program in 2021-22; every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision (2024-25). On the state tests, 34% of its students tested were proficient in reading in 2021-22 and 21% proficient in math in 2022-23 (Massachusetts: 43.7% and 42%). Its four-year graduation rate for the class of 2023 was 90% or more (Massachusetts: 89.2%).

Enrollment rose 2% from 2022-23 to 2024-25; full-time teachers rose 12%

499 students in 2022-23, 502 students in 2023-24, 508 students in 2024-25. Full-time teachers went from 43.2 to 48.3.

Students enrolled at Global Learning Charter Public School by school year2022-23: 499, 2023-24: 502, 2024-25: 50802004006002022-234992023-245022024-25508
Students enrolled at Global Learning Charter Public School by school year2022-23: 499, 2023-24: 502, 2024-25: 50802004006002022-234992023-245022024-25508
Students enrolled at Global Learning Charter Public School by school year2022-23: 499, 2023-24: 502, 2024-25: 50802004006002022-234992023-245022024-25508
Students enrolled at Global Learning Charter Public School by school year2022-23: 499, 2023-24: 502, 2024-25: 50802004006002022-234992023-245022024-25508
The numbers as a table
School yearStudentsTeachers (FTE)Per teacher
2022-2349943.211.6
2023-2450243.411.6
2024-2550848.310.5

10.5 students per teacher, a lower ratio than 67 of every 100 Massachusetts high schools

Among the 373 Massachusetts high schools that reported teachers for 2024-25 the median is 11.2; the national median for high schools is 14.5. A ratio counts every teacher, so it is not the size of a class.

Students per teacher, Massachusetts high schools, 2024-25240 values from 3.0 to 66.5; This school 10.5; state median 11.2.1 more above 30.0 →0102030students per full-time teacherThis school 10.5state median 11.2U.S. 14.5
Students per teacher, Massachusetts high schools, 2024-25240 values from 3.0 to 66.5; This school 10.5; state median 11.2.1 more above 30.0 →0102030students per full-time teacherThis school 10.5state median 11.2U.S. 14.5
Students per teacher, Massachusetts high schools, 2024-25240 values from 3.0 to 66.5; This school 10.5; state median 11.2.1 more above 30.0 →0102030students per full-time teacherThis school 10.5state median 11.2U.S. 14.5
Students per teacher, Massachusetts high schools, 2024-25240 values from 3.0 to 66.5; This school 10.5; state median 11.2.1 more above 30.0 →0102030students per full-time teacherThis school 10.5state median 11.2U.S. 14.5

Source: NCES Common Core of Data membership and staff files, 2022-23, 2023-24, 2024-25; the comparison counts schools with a 2024-25 teacher count and a ratio from 3 to 99 (lower values are reporting errors).

5 AP courses and one counselor per 252 students in 2021-22

In the 2021-22 civil rights collection Global Learning Charter Public School enrolled 504 students and had 2.0 counselors (full-time equivalent); it reported 36 out-of-school suspensions that year.

  • Advanced Placement courses5
  • Gifted and talented programNo
  • Counselors (FTE)2.0, one per 252 of the 504 students enrolled in 2021-22
  • Out-of-school suspensions36
  • Chronically absent14.0% (2022-23)

Who attends

49.8% of students were Hispanic, 31.9% White, 13.6% Black in 2024-25.

  1. Hispanic49.8%
  2. White31.9%
  3. Black13.6%
  4. Two or more races3.3%
  5. Asian1.0%
  6. American Indian0.4%

Source: U.S. Department of Education, Civil Rights Data Collection 2021-22; chronic absenteeism from EDFacts 2022-23; every count and the counselor ratio are for that school year. Who attends: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25, membership by race and ethnicity.

State test results, 2021-22 and 2022-23

The students tested at Global Learning Charter Public School scored proficient or above: 34% in reading in 2021-22 and 21% in math in 2022-23, against 43.7% in reading in 2021-22 and 42% in math in 2022-23 across Massachusetts. Each state writes its own test and sets its own proficiency bar, so compare these within Massachusetts, not across states. ED Data Express holds no district results after 2021-22, so the district column gives its 2021-22 figure.

Students proficient or above, 2021-22 and 2022-23
Subject and yearThis schoolIts districtMassachusetts
Reading and language arts, 2021-2234%34%43.7%
Math, 2022-2321%21% (2021-22)42%

Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results 2021-22 and 2022-23, all students, from ED Data Express (2021-22 through the Data Rescue Project archive); for 2022-23 ED published math by school and reading only by state: ED shows school and district results as ranges (for example 20-24%) to protect small groups.

Graduation rate, class of 2023

90% or more of the 44 students in Global Learning Charter Public School's class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 89.2% across Massachusetts. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out, and counts those who earned a regular diploma by 2023. Every state computes it the same way under federal law, though each sets its own diploma requirements.

Four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rate, class of 2023
This schoolIts districtMassachusetts
Four-year graduation rate90% or more90% or more89.2%
Students in the class444472,602

Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates 2022-23, all students, from ED Data Express: ED shows school and district rates as ranges (for example 90-94%) and leaves out small classes.

High schools in New Bedford

5 public high schools in New Bedford report 2024-25 enrollment; Global Learning Charter Public School is number 3 by size.

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunch
New Bedford High2,87813.5not reported
Gr New Bedford Vocational Technical2,15111.3not reported
Global Learning Charter Public School50810.5not reported
Whaling City Junior/Senior High School20011.5not reported
Trinity Day Academy936.5not reported

All public schools in New Bedford →

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25.

What to look at next about Global Learning Charter Public School

  1. New Bedford HighThe nearest public high school, 1.4 miles away: 2,878 students, 13.5 per teacher (2024-25).1.4 mi
  2. Trinity Day AcademyThe next nearest public high school, 1.5 miles away: 93 students, 6.5 per teacher (2024-25).1.5 mi
  3. Compare Global Learning Charter Public School with New Bedford HighStudents, teachers, meals, test results and who attends, side by side.
  4. How much Global Learning Charter Public (District) spends per student$20,319 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23 (U.S. $16,260), with its revenue sources and teacher pay.$20,319
  5. The largest public schools in MassachusettsGlobal Learning Charter Public School is the number 245 by size of 378 Massachusetts high schools open in 2024-25.#245 of 378
  6. Massachusetts schools by students per teacher10.5 students per teacher here against the Massachusetts median of 11.2 for high schools.10.5:1
  7. Find the school district for an addressA home's district, not its city, decides which public schools it can enroll in.

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (locations, enrollment, teachers); NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23. Distances are straight lines between the schools' NCES coordinates, not travel routes.

Questions about Global Learning Charter Public School

  1. How many students attend Global Learning Charter Public School?
    508 in the 2024-25 school year, according to the NCES Common Core of Data; 499 in 2022-23. It is a high school in New Bedford, MA.
  2. What is the student-teacher ratio at Global Learning Charter Public School?
    10.5 students per full-time teacher (2024-25); the Massachusetts median for high schools is 11.2. A ratio counts every teacher, so it is not the size of a class.
  3. Is Global Learning Charter Public School a Title I school?
    Global Learning Charter Public School ran a schoolwide Title I program in 2021-22, the last year NCES published school Title I status.
  4. How do students at Global Learning Charter Public School do on state tests?
    The students tested at Global Learning Charter Public School scored proficient or above: 34% in reading in 2021-22 and 21% in math in 2022-23, against 43.7% in reading in 2021-22 and 42% in math in 2022-23 across Massachusetts. Massachusetts's own test sets what proficient means, so results compare within the state, not across states. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22 and 2022-23; ED publishes school results as ranges to protect small groups.
  5. What is the graduation rate at Global Learning Charter Public School?
    90% or more of the 44 students in Global Learning Charter Public School's class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 89.2% across Massachusetts. The rate counts the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out, and the share of them with a regular diploma by 2023. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23; ED publishes school rates as ranges to protect small groups.
  6. What district is Global Learning Charter Public School in?
    Global Learning Charter Public (District), NCES district ID 2500519. The first seven digits of the school's NCES ID 250051902629 are the district's.

Reading these figures: how to choose a school district, what Title I means and what an absenteeism rate means. They are for information and are not a substitute for the school's or district's own records.

Sources

Every federal file behind this record
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2024-25: directory, membership, staff and lunch files. nces.ed.gov
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2021-22 school characteristics: Title I status. nces.ed.gov
  • Civil Rights Data Collection, 2021-22: AP courses, gifted programs, counselors, discipline. civilrightsdata.ed.gov
  • EDFacts, 2022-23: chronic absenteeism. ed.gov
  • EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22 and 2022-23: reading and math proficiency for the school, its district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
  • EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23: the class of 2023 for the school, its district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
  • NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey, fiscal year 2022-23: district spending and revenue. nces.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau geocoder and TIGER school districts: the district boundary used by the district finder. census.gov

Source: NCES Common Core of Data Directory, membership, staff and lunch files · 2024-25

Source: Civil Rights Data Collection School-level files (AP, gifted, counselors, discipline) · 2021-22