Etowah Elementary

Public elementary school, pre-kindergarten to grade 8 · Etowah, Tennessee

Etowah Elementary in Etowah, Tennessee enrolled 332 students in 2024-25. It ran a schoolwide Title I program in 2021-22; every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision (2024-25). On the state tests, 27-38% of its students tested were proficient in reading in 2021-22 and 39% proficient in math in 2022-23 (Tennessee: 35% and 34.3%).

Enrollment rose 2% from 2022-23 to 2023-24; full-time teachers rose 17%

343 students in 2022-23, 351 students in 2023-24. Full-time teachers went from 18.0 to 21.0.

Students enrolled at Etowah Elementary by school year2022-23: 343, 2023-24: 35101002003004002022-233432023-24351
Students enrolled at Etowah Elementary by school year2022-23: 343, 2023-24: 35101002003004002022-233432023-24351
Students enrolled at Etowah Elementary by school year2022-23: 343, 2023-24: 35101002003004002022-233432023-24351
Students enrolled at Etowah Elementary by school year2022-23: 343, 2023-24: 35101002003004002022-233432023-24351
The numbers as a table
School yearStudentsTeachers (FTE)Per teacher
2022-2334318.019.1
2023-2435121.016.7

Source: NCES Common Core of Data membership and staff files, 2022-23, 2023-24.

One counselor per 331 students in 2021-22

In the 2021-22 civil rights collection Etowah Elementary enrolled 331 students and had 1.0 counselor (full-time equivalent); it reported 17 out-of-school suspensions that year.

  • Advanced Placement coursesNone
  • Gifted and talented programYes
  • Counselors (FTE)1.0, one per 331 of the 331 students enrolled in 2021-22
  • Out-of-school suspensions17
  • Chronically absent12.8% (2022-23)

Who attends

83.4% of students were White, 9.9% Hispanic, 5.7% of two or more races in 2024-25.

  1. White83.4%
  2. Hispanic9.9%
  3. Two or more races5.7%
  4. Black0.6%
  5. Asian0.3%

Source: U.S. Department of Education, Civil Rights Data Collection 2021-22; chronic absenteeism from EDFacts 2022-23; every count and the counselor ratio are for that school year. Who attends: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25, membership by race and ethnicity.

State test results, 2021-22 and 2022-23

The students tested at Etowah Elementary scored proficient or above: 27-38% in reading in 2021-22 and 39% in math in 2022-23, against 35% in reading in 2021-22 and 34.3% in math in 2022-23 across Tennessee. Each state writes its own test and sets its own proficiency bar, so compare these within Tennessee, not across states. ED Data Express holds no district results after 2021-22, so the district column gives its 2021-22 figure. Where a state published results by grade only, the grades tested are combined, weighted by the students tested in each.

Students proficient or above, 2021-22 and 2022-23
Subject and yearThis schoolIts districtTennessee
Reading and language arts, 2021-2227‑38%27‑38%35%
Math, 2022-2339%27‑38% (2021-22)34.3%

Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results 2021-22 and 2022-23, all students, from ED Data Express (2021-22 through the Data Rescue Project archive); for 2022-23 ED published math by school and reading only by state: ED shows school and district results as ranges (for example 20-24%) to protect small groups.

Elementary schools in Etowah

2 public elementary schools in Etowah report 2024-25 enrollment; Etowah Elementary is number 2 by size.

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunch
Mountain View Elementary56615.8not reported
Etowah Elementary33219.1not reported

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25.

What to look at next about Etowah Elementary

  1. Mountain View ElementaryThe nearest public elementary school, 0.5 miles away: 566 students, 15.8 per teacher (2024-25).0.5 mi
  2. Englewood ElementaryThe next nearest public elementary school, 7.3 miles away: 565 students, 17.1 per teacher (2024-25).7.3 mi
  3. Compare Etowah Elementary with Mountain View ElementaryStudents, teachers, meals, test results and who attends, side by side.
  4. How much Etowah City Elementary School District spends per student$11,615 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23 (U.S. $16,260), with its revenue sources and teacher pay.$11,615
  5. The largest public schools in TennesseeEtowah Elementary is the number 722 by size of 998 Tennessee elementary schools open in 2024-25.#722 of 998
  6. Find the school district for an addressA home's district, not its city, decides which public schools it can enroll in.

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (locations, enrollment, teachers); NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23. Distances are straight lines between the schools' NCES coordinates, not travel routes.

Questions about Etowah Elementary

  1. How many students attend Etowah Elementary?
    332 in the 2024-25 school year, according to the NCES Common Core of Data; 343 in 2022-23. It is an elementary school in Etowah, TN.
  2. What is the student-teacher ratio at Etowah Elementary?
    19.1 students per full-time teacher (2022-23). A ratio counts every teacher, so it is not the size of a class.
  3. Is Etowah Elementary a Title I school?
    Etowah Elementary ran a schoolwide Title I program in 2021-22, the last year NCES published school Title I status.
  4. How do students at Etowah Elementary do on state tests?
    The students tested at Etowah Elementary scored proficient or above: 27-38% in reading in 2021-22 and 39% in math in 2022-23, against 35% in reading in 2021-22 and 34.3% in math in 2022-23 across Tennessee. Tennessee's own test sets what proficient means, so results compare within the state, not across states. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22 and 2022-23; ED publishes school results as ranges to protect small groups.
  5. What district is Etowah Elementary in?
    Etowah City Elementary School District, NCES district ID 4701140. The first seven digits of the school's NCES ID 470114000356 are the district's.

Reading these figures: how to choose a school district, what Title I means and what an absenteeism rate means. They are for information and are not a substitute for the school's or district's own records.

Sources

Every federal file behind this record
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2024-25: directory, membership, staff and lunch files. nces.ed.gov
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2021-22 school characteristics: Title I status. nces.ed.gov
  • Civil Rights Data Collection, 2021-22: AP courses, gifted programs, counselors, discipline. civilrightsdata.ed.gov
  • EDFacts, 2022-23: chronic absenteeism. ed.gov
  • EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22 and 2022-23: reading and math proficiency for the school, its district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
  • NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey, fiscal year 2022-23: district spending and revenue. nces.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau geocoder and TIGER school districts: the district boundary used by the district finder. census.gov

Source: NCES Common Core of Data Directory, membership, staff and lunch files · 2024-25

Source: Civil Rights Data Collection School-level files (AP, gifted, counselors, discipline) · 2021-22