Etna Road Elementary School

Public elementary school, grades 2 to 5 · Whitehall, Ohio

Etna Road Elementary School in Whitehall, Ohio enrolled 505 students in 2024-25 with 28.0 full-time teachers, 18.0 students per teacher against the Ohio elementary-school median of 17.4. It ran a schoolwide Title I program in 2021-22; every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision (2024-25). On the state tests, 40-44% of its students tested were proficient in reading in 2021-22 and 49% proficient in math in 2022-23 (Ohio: 59% and 54.3%).

Enrollment held steady from 2022-23 to 2024-25

505 students in 2022-23, 519 students in 2023-24, 505 students in 2024-25.

Students enrolled at Etna Road Elementary School by school year2022-23: 505, 2023-24: 519, 2024-25: 50502004006002022-235052023-245192024-25505
Students enrolled at Etna Road Elementary School by school year2022-23: 505, 2023-24: 519, 2024-25: 50502004006002022-235052023-245192024-25505
Students enrolled at Etna Road Elementary School by school year2022-23: 505, 2023-24: 519, 2024-25: 50502004006002022-235052023-245192024-25505
Students enrolled at Etna Road Elementary School by school year2022-23: 505, 2023-24: 519, 2024-25: 50502004006002022-235052023-245192024-25505
The numbers as a table
School yearStudentsTeachers (FTE)Per teacher
2022-23505not reportednot reported
2023-2451927.019.2
2024-2550528.018.0

18.0 students per teacher, a higher ratio than 58 of every 100 Ohio elementary schools

Among the 1,708 Ohio elementary schools that reported teachers for 2024-25 the median is 17.4; the national median for elementary schools is 14.6. A ratio counts every teacher, so it is not the size of a class.

Students per teacher, Ohio elementary schools, 2024-25240 values from 4.9 to 87.0; This school 18.0; state median 17.4.3 more above 30.0 →0102030students per full-time teacherThis school 18.0state median 17.4U.S. 14.6
Students per teacher, Ohio elementary schools, 2024-25240 values from 4.9 to 87.0; This school 18.0; state median 17.4.3 more above 30.0 →0102030students per full-time teacherThis school 18.0state median 17.4U.S. 14.6
Students per teacher, Ohio elementary schools, 2024-25240 values from 4.9 to 87.0; This school 18.0; state median 17.4.3 more above 30.0 →0102030students per full-time teacherThis school 18.0state median 17.4U.S. 14.6
Students per teacher, Ohio elementary schools, 2024-25240 values from 4.9 to 87.0; This school 18.0; state median 17.4.3 more above 30.0 →0102030students per full-time teacherThis school 18.0state median 17.4U.S. 14.6

Source: NCES Common Core of Data membership and staff files, 2022-23, 2023-24, 2024-25; the comparison counts schools with a 2024-25 teacher count and a ratio from 3 to 99 (lower values are reporting errors).

Programs and staff in 2021-22

In the 2021-22 civil rights collection Etna Road Elementary School enrolled 497 students and reported no counselor; it reported 37 out-of-school suspensions that year.

  • Advanced Placement coursesNone
  • Gifted and talented programYes
  • Counselors (FTE)0.0
  • Out-of-school suspensions37
  • Chronically absent23.8% (2022-23)

Who attends

39.2% of students were Black, 36.4% Hispanic, 13.7% White in 2024-25.

  1. Black39.2%
  2. Hispanic36.4%
  3. White13.7%
  4. Two or more races10.3%
  5. American Indian0.2%
  6. Pacific Islander0.2%

Source: U.S. Department of Education, Civil Rights Data Collection 2021-22; chronic absenteeism from EDFacts 2022-23; every count and the counselor ratio are for that school year. Who attends: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25, membership by race and ethnicity.

State test results, 2021-22 and 2022-23

The students tested at Etna Road Elementary School scored proficient or above: 40-44% in reading in 2021-22 and 49% in math in 2022-23, against 59% in reading in 2021-22 and 54.3% in math in 2022-23 across Ohio. Each state writes its own test and sets its own proficiency bar, so compare these within Ohio, not across states. ED Data Express holds no district results after 2021-22, so the district column gives its 2021-22 figure. Where a state published results by grade only, the grades tested are combined, weighted by the students tested in each.

Students proficient or above, 2021-22 and 2022-23
Subject and yearThis schoolIts districtOhio
Reading and language arts, 2021-2240‑44%36‑40%59%
Math, 2022-2349%27‑31% (2021-22)54.3%

Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results 2021-22 and 2022-23, all students, from ED Data Express (2021-22 through the Data Rescue Project archive); for 2022-23 ED published math by school and reading only by state: ED shows school and district results as ranges (for example 20-24%) to protect small groups.

Elementary schools in Whitehall

3 public elementary schools in Whitehall report 2024-25 enrollment; Etna Road Elementary School is number 3 by size.

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunch
Kae Avenue Elementary School65017.6not reported
Beechwood Elementary School50819.9not reported
Etna Road Elementary School50518.0not reported

All public schools in Whitehall →

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25.

What to look at next about Etna Road Elementary School

  1. Kae Avenue Elementary SchoolThe nearest public elementary school, 0.4 miles away: 650 students, 17.6 per teacher (2024-25).0.4 mi
  2. Beechwood Elementary SchoolThe next nearest public elementary school, 0.8 miles away: 508 students, 19.9 per teacher (2024-25).0.8 mi
  3. Compare Etna Road Elementary School with Kae Avenue Elementary SchoolStudents, teachers, meals, test results and who attends, side by side.
  4. How much Whitehall City spends per student$14,461 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23 (U.S. $16,260), with its revenue sources and teacher pay.$14,461
  5. The largest public schools in OhioEtna Road Elementary School is the number 465 by size of 1,715 Ohio elementary schools open in 2024-25.#465 of 1,715
  6. Ohio schools by students per teacher18.0 students per teacher here against the Ohio median of 17.4 for elementary schools.18.0:1
  7. Find the school district for an addressA home's district, not its city, decides which public schools it can enroll in.

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (locations, enrollment, teachers); NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23. Distances are straight lines between the schools' NCES coordinates, not travel routes.

Questions about Etna Road Elementary School

  1. How many students attend Etna Road Elementary School?
    505 in the 2024-25 school year, according to the NCES Common Core of Data; 505 in 2022-23. It is an elementary school in Whitehall, OH.
  2. What is the student-teacher ratio at Etna Road Elementary School?
    18.0 students per full-time teacher (2024-25); the Ohio median for elementary schools is 17.4. A ratio counts every teacher, so it is not the size of a class.
  3. Is Etna Road Elementary School a Title I school?
    Etna Road Elementary School ran a schoolwide Title I program in 2021-22, the last year NCES published school Title I status.
  4. How do students at Etna Road Elementary School do on state tests?
    The students tested at Etna Road Elementary School scored proficient or above: 40-44% in reading in 2021-22 and 49% in math in 2022-23, against 59% in reading in 2021-22 and 54.3% in math in 2022-23 across Ohio. Ohio's own test sets what proficient means, so results compare within the state, not across states. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22 and 2022-23; ED publishes school results as ranges to protect small groups.
  5. What district is Etna Road Elementary School in?
    Whitehall City, NCES district ID 3904507. The first seven digits of the school's NCES ID 390450701979 are the district's.

Reading these figures: how to choose a school district, what Title I means and what an absenteeism rate means. They are for information and are not a substitute for the school's or district's own records.

Sources

Every federal file behind this record
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2024-25: directory, membership, staff and lunch files. nces.ed.gov
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2021-22 school characteristics: Title I status. nces.ed.gov
  • Civil Rights Data Collection, 2021-22: AP courses, gifted programs, counselors, discipline. civilrightsdata.ed.gov
  • EDFacts, 2022-23: chronic absenteeism. ed.gov
  • EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22 and 2022-23: reading and math proficiency for the school, its district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
  • NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey, fiscal year 2022-23: district spending and revenue. nces.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau geocoder and TIGER school districts: the district boundary used by the district finder. census.gov

Source: NCES Common Core of Data Directory, membership, staff and lunch files · 2024-25

Source: Civil Rights Data Collection School-level files (AP, gifted, counselors, discipline) · 2021-22