Coshocton High School

Public high school, grades 7 to 12 · Coshocton, Ohio

Coshocton High School in Coshocton, Ohio enrolled 608 students in 2024-25 with 36.0 full-time teachers, 16.9 students per teacher against the Ohio high-school median of 15.9. It ran a schoolwide Title I program in 2021-22; every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision (2024-25). On the state tests, 48-52% of its students tested were proficient in reading in 2021-22 and 39% proficient in math in 2022-23 (Ohio: 59% and 54.3%). Its four-year graduation rate for the class of 2023 was 95% or more (Ohio: 86.2%).

Enrollment fell 8% from 2022-23 to 2024-25; full-time teachers fell 5%

659 students in 2022-23, 639 students in 2023-24, 608 students in 2024-25. Full-time teachers went from 38.0 to 36.0.

Students enrolled at Coshocton High School by school year2022-23: 659, 2023-24: 639, 2024-25: 60802004006008002022-236592023-246392024-25608
Students enrolled at Coshocton High School by school year2022-23: 659, 2023-24: 639, 2024-25: 60802004006008002022-236592023-246392024-25608
Students enrolled at Coshocton High School by school year2022-23: 659, 2023-24: 639, 2024-25: 60802004006008002022-236592023-246392024-25608
Students enrolled at Coshocton High School by school year2022-23: 659, 2023-24: 639, 2024-25: 60802004006008002022-236592023-246392024-25608
The numbers as a table
School yearStudentsTeachers (FTE)Per teacher
2022-2365938.017.3
2023-2463939.016.4
2024-2560836.016.9

16.9 students per teacher, a higher ratio than 57 of every 100 Ohio high schools

Among the 886 Ohio high schools that reported teachers for 2024-25 the median is 15.9; the national median for high schools is 14.5. A ratio counts every teacher, so it is not the size of a class.

Students per teacher, Ohio high schools, 2024-25240 values from 3.6 to 91.5; Coshocton High School 16.9; state median 15.9.1 more above 60.0 →0204060students per full-time teacherCoshocton High School 16.9state median 15.9U.S. 14.5
Students per teacher, Ohio high schools, 2024-25240 values from 3.6 to 91.5; Coshocton High School 16.9; state median 15.9.1 more above 60.0 →0204060students per full-time teacherCoshocton High School 16.9state median 15.9U.S. 14.5
Students per teacher, Ohio high schools, 2024-25240 values from 3.6 to 91.5; Coshocton High School 16.9; state median 15.9.1 more above 60.0 →0204060students per full-time teacherCoshocton High School 16.9state median 15.9U.S. 14.5
Students per teacher, Ohio high schools, 2024-25240 values from 3.6 to 91.5; Coshocton High School 16.9; state median 15.9.1 more above 60.0 →0204060students per full-time teacherCoshocton High School 16.9state median 15.9U.S. 14.5

Source: NCES Common Core of Data membership and staff files, 2022-23, 2023-24, 2024-25; the comparison counts schools with a 2024-25 teacher count and a ratio from 3 to 99 (lower values are reporting errors).

One counselor per 307 students in 2021-22

In the 2021-22 civil rights collection Coshocton High School enrolled 614 students and had 2.0 counselors (full-time equivalent); it reported 107 out-of-school suspensions that year.

  • Advanced Placement coursesNone
  • Gifted and talented programYes
  • Counselors (FTE)2.0, one per 307 of the 614 students enrolled in 2021-22
  • Out-of-school suspensions107
  • Chronically absent35.1% (2022-23)

Who attends

86.2% of students were White, 7.1% of two or more races, 3.6% Black in 2024-25.

  1. White86.2%
  2. Two or more races7.1%
  3. Black3.6%
  4. Hispanic3.0%
  5. Asian0.2%

Source: U.S. Department of Education, Civil Rights Data Collection 2021-22; chronic absenteeism from EDFacts 2022-23; every count and the counselor ratio are for that school year. Who attends: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25, membership by race and ethnicity.

State test results, 2021-22 and 2022-23

The students tested at Coshocton High School scored proficient or above: 48-52% in reading in 2021-22 and 39% in math in 2022-23, against 59% in reading in 2021-22 and 54.3% in math in 2022-23 across Ohio. Each state writes its own test and sets its own proficiency bar, so compare these within Ohio, not across states. ED Data Express holds no district results after 2021-22, so the district column gives its 2021-22 figure. Where a state published results by grade only, the grades tested are combined, weighted by the students tested in each.

Students proficient or above, 2021-22 and 2022-23
Subject and yearThis schoolIts districtOhio
Reading and language arts, 2021-2248‑52%49‑53%59%
Math, 2022-2339%44‑48% (2021-22)54.3%

Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results 2021-22 and 2022-23, all students, from ED Data Express (2021-22 through the Data Rescue Project archive); for 2022-23 ED published math by school and reading only by state: ED shows school and district results as ranges (for example 20-24%) to protect small groups.

Graduation rate, class of 2023

95% or more of the 103 students in Coshocton High School's class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 86.2% across Ohio. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out, and counts those who earned a regular diploma by 2023. Every state computes it the same way under federal law, though each sets its own diploma requirements.

Four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rate, class of 2023
This schoolIts districtOhio
Four-year graduation rate95% or more90‑94%86.2%
Students in the class103105132,008

Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates 2022-23, all students, from ED Data Express: ED shows school and district rates as ranges (for example 90-94%) and leaves out small classes.

High schools in Coshocton

3 public high schools in Coshocton report 2024-25 enrollment; Coshocton High School is the largest.

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunch
Coshocton High School60816.9not reported
Coshocton County Career Center2178.376.8%
Coshocton Opportunity School5211.6not reported

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25.

What to look at next about Coshocton High School

  1. Coshocton Opportunity SchoolThe nearest public high school, under 0.1 miles away: 52 students, 11.6 per teacher (2024-25).under 0.1 mi
  2. Coshocton County Career CenterThe next nearest public high school, 2.8 miles away: 217 students, 8.3 per teacher (2024-25).2.8 mi
  3. Compare Coshocton High School with Coshocton Opportunity SchoolStudents, teachers, meals, test results and who attends, side by side.
  4. How much Coshocton City Schools spends per student$14,839 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23 (U.S. $16,260), with its revenue sources and teacher pay.$14,839
  5. The largest public schools in OhioCoshocton High School is the number 307 by size of 924 Ohio high schools open in 2024-25.#307 of 924
  6. Ohio schools by students per teacher16.9 students per teacher here against the Ohio median of 15.9 for high schools.16.9:1
  7. Find the school district for an addressA home's district, not its city, decides which public schools it can enroll in.

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (locations, enrollment, teachers); NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23. Distances are straight lines between the schools' NCES coordinates, not travel routes.

Questions about Coshocton High School

  1. How many students attend Coshocton High School?
    608 in the 2024-25 school year, according to the NCES Common Core of Data; 659 in 2022-23. It is a high school in Coshocton, OH.
  2. What is the student-teacher ratio at Coshocton High School?
    16.9 students per full-time teacher (2024-25); the Ohio median for high schools is 15.9. A ratio counts every teacher, so it is not the size of a class.
  3. Is Coshocton High School a Title I school?
    Coshocton High School ran a schoolwide Title I program in 2021-22, the last year NCES published school Title I status.
  4. How do students at Coshocton High School do on state tests?
    The students tested at Coshocton High School scored proficient or above: 48-52% in reading in 2021-22 and 39% in math in 2022-23, against 59% in reading in 2021-22 and 54.3% in math in 2022-23 across Ohio. Ohio's own test sets what proficient means, so results compare within the state, not across states. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22 and 2022-23; ED publishes school results as ranges to protect small groups.
  5. What is the graduation rate at Coshocton High School?
    95% or more of the 103 students in Coshocton High School's class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 86.2% across Ohio. The rate counts the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out, and the share of them with a regular diploma by 2023. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23; ED publishes school rates as ranges to protect small groups.
  6. What district is Coshocton High School in?
    Coshocton City Schools, NCES district ID 3904382. The first seven digits of the school's NCES ID 390438200754 are the district's.

Reading these figures: how to choose a school district, what Title I means and what an absenteeism rate means. They are for information and are not a substitute for the school's or district's own records.

Sources

Every federal file behind this record
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2024-25: directory, membership, staff and lunch files. nces.ed.gov
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2021-22 school characteristics: Title I status. nces.ed.gov
  • Civil Rights Data Collection, 2021-22: AP courses, gifted programs, counselors, discipline. civilrightsdata.ed.gov
  • EDFacts, 2022-23: chronic absenteeism. ed.gov
  • EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22 and 2022-23: reading and math proficiency for the school, its district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
  • EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23: the class of 2023 for the school, its district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
  • NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey, fiscal year 2022-23: district spending and revenue. nces.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau geocoder and TIGER school districts: the district boundary used by the district finder. census.gov

Source: NCES Common Core of Data Directory, membership, staff and lunch files · 2024-25

Source: Civil Rights Data Collection School-level files (AP, gifted, counselors, discipline) · 2021-22