Brainerd High School
Public high school, grades 9 to 12 · Chattanooga, Tennessee
Brainerd High School in Chattanooga, Tennessee enrolled 739 students in 2024-25. It ran a schoolwide Title I program in 2021-22; every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision (2024-25). On the state tests, 4% of its students tested were proficient in math in 2022-23 (Tennessee: 34.3%). Its four-year graduation rate for the class of 2023 was 75-79% (Tennessee: 87.3%).
NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 · Civil Rights Data Collection 2021-22 · Title I status CCD 2021-22 · method
Enrollment rose 15% from 2022-23 to 2023-24; full-time teachers fell 7%
635 students in 2022-23, 732 students in 2023-24. Full-time teachers went from 49.5 to 46.1.
The numbers as a table
| School year | Students | Teachers (FTE) | Per teacher |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2022-23 | 635 | 49.5 | 12.8 |
| 2023-24 | 732 | 46.1 | 15.9 |
Source: NCES Common Core of Data membership and staff files, 2022-23, 2023-24.
One counselor per 209 students in 2021-22
In the 2021-22 civil rights collection Brainerd High School enrolled 626 students and had 3.0 counselors (full-time equivalent); it reported 179 out-of-school suspensions that year.
- Advanced Placement coursesNone
- Gifted and talented programYes
- Counselors (FTE)3.0, one per 209 of the 626 students enrolled in 2021-22
- Out-of-school suspensions179
- Chronically absent59.1% (2022-23)
Who attends
67.8% of students were Black, 21.5% Hispanic, 6.5% of two or more races in 2024-25.
- Black67.8%
- Hispanic21.5%
- Two or more races6.5%
- White4.1%
- Asian0.1%
Source: U.S. Department of Education, Civil Rights Data Collection 2021-22; chronic absenteeism from EDFacts 2022-23; every count and the counselor ratio are for that school year. Who attends: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25, membership by race and ethnicity.
State test results, 2022-23
In 2022-23, the students tested at Brainerd High School scored proficient or above: 4% in math, against 34.3% in math across Tennessee. Each state writes its own test and sets its own proficiency bar, so compare these within Tennessee, not across states. ED Data Express holds no district results after 2021-22, so the district column gives its 2021-22 figure. No whole-school reading result is shown: ED's files give none for this school for 2021-22 or 2022-23. Where a state published results by grade only, the grades tested are combined, weighted by the students tested in each.
| Subject | This school | Its district | Tennessee |
|---|---|---|---|
| Math | 4% | 37% (2021-22) | 34.3% |
Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results 2022-23, all students, from ED Data Express (2021-22 through the Data Rescue Project archive); for 2022-23 ED published math by school and reading only by state: ED shows school and district results as ranges (for example 20-24%) to protect small groups.
Graduation rate, class of 2023
75-79% of the 174 students in Brainerd High School's class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 87.3% across Tennessee. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out, and counts those who earned a regular diploma by 2023. Every state computes it the same way under federal law, though each sets its own diploma requirements.
| This school | Its district | Tennessee | |
|---|---|---|---|
| Four-year graduation rate | 75‑79% | 88% | 87.3% |
| Students in the class | 174 | 3,131 | 71,510 |
Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates 2022-23, all students, from ED Data Express: ED shows school and district rates as ranges (for example 90-94%) and leaves out small classes.
High schools in Chattanooga
13 public high schools in Chattanooga report 2024-25 enrollment; Brainerd High School is number 5 by size.
| School | Students | Per teacher | Free lunch |
|---|---|---|---|
| The Howard School | 1,329 | 16.1 | not reported |
| East Ridge High School | 867 | 16.8 | not reported |
| Red Bank High School | 772 | 15.3 | not reported |
| Chattanooga School For Arts And Sciences Upper | 741 | 17.1 | not reported |
| Brainerd High School | 739 | 12.8 | not reported |
| Chatt High Center For Creative Arts | 717 | 16.2 | not reported |
| Tyner Academy | 632 | 13.2 | not reported |
| Chattanooga Preparatory School | 539 | 10.9 | not reported |
Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25.
What to look at next about Brainerd High School
- East Ridge High SchoolThe nearest public high school, 3.2 miles away: 867 students, 16.8 per teacher (2024-25).3.2 mi
- Chattanooga Preparatory SchoolThe next nearest public high school, 3.4 miles away: 539 students, 10.9 per teacher (2024-25).3.4 mi
- Compare Brainerd High School with East Ridge High SchoolStudents, teachers, meals, test results and who attends, side by side.
- How much Hamilton County Schools spends per student$14,785 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23 (U.S. $16,260), with its revenue sources and teacher pay.$14,785
- The largest public schools in TennesseeBrainerd High School is the number 157 by size of 384 Tennessee high schools open in 2024-25.#157 of 384
- Find the school district for an addressA home's district, not its city, decides which public schools it can enroll in.
Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (locations, enrollment, teachers); NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23. Distances are straight lines between the schools' NCES coordinates, not travel routes.
Questions about Brainerd High School
How many students attend Brainerd High School?
739 in the 2024-25 school year, according to the NCES Common Core of Data; 635 in 2022-23. It is a high school in Chattanooga, TN.What is the student-teacher ratio at Brainerd High School?
12.8 students per full-time teacher (2022-23). A ratio counts every teacher, so it is not the size of a class.Is Brainerd High School a Title I school?
Brainerd High School ran a schoolwide Title I program in 2021-22, the last year NCES published school Title I status.How do students at Brainerd High School do on state tests?
In 2022-23, the students tested at Brainerd High School scored proficient or above: 4% in math, against 34.3% in math across Tennessee. Tennessee's own test sets what proficient means, so results compare within the state, not across states. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results, 2022-23; ED publishes school results as ranges to protect small groups.What is the graduation rate at Brainerd High School?
75-79% of the 174 students in Brainerd High School's class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 87.3% across Tennessee. The rate counts the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out, and the share of them with a regular diploma by 2023. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23; ED publishes school rates as ranges to protect small groups.What district is Brainerd High School in?
Hamilton County Schools, NCES district ID 4701590. The first seven digits of the school's NCES ID 470159000626 are the district's.
Reading these figures: how to choose a school district, what Title I means and what an absenteeism rate means. They are for information and are not a substitute for the school's or district's own records.
Sources
Every federal file behind this record
- NCES Common Core of Data, 2024-25: directory, membership, staff and lunch files. nces.ed.gov
- NCES Common Core of Data, 2021-22 school characteristics: Title I status. nces.ed.gov
- Civil Rights Data Collection, 2021-22: AP courses, gifted programs, counselors, discipline. civilrightsdata.ed.gov
- EDFacts, 2022-23: chronic absenteeism. ed.gov
- EDFacts state assessment results, 2022-23: reading and math proficiency for the school, its district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
- EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23: the class of 2023 for the school, its district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
- NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey, fiscal year 2022-23: district spending and revenue. nces.ed.gov
- U.S. Census Bureau geocoder and TIGER school districts: the district boundary used by the district finder. census.gov
Source: NCES Common Core of Data Directory, membership, staff and lunch files · 2024-25
Source: Civil Rights Data Collection School-level files (AP, gifted, counselors, discipline) · 2021-22
District spending on the district page is from the NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23.