Boutwell
Public elementary school, pre-kindergarten to kindergarten · Wilmington, Massachusetts
Boutwell in Wilmington, Massachusetts enrolled 128 students in 2024-25 with 10.1 full-time teachers, 12.6 students per teacher against the Massachusetts elementary-school median of 12.1. It was not a Title I school in 2021-22; it takes part in the National School Lunch Program (2024-25).
NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 · Civil Rights Data Collection 2021-22 · Title I status CCD 2021-22 · method
Enrollment fell 10% from 2022-23 to 2024-25; full-time teachers fell 9%
143 students in 2022-23, 144 students in 2023-24, 128 students in 2024-25. Full-time teachers went from 11.2 to 10.1.
The numbers as a table
| School year | Students | Teachers (FTE) | Per teacher |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2022-23 | 143 | 11.2 | 12.8 |
| 2023-24 | 144 | 9.9 | 14.5 |
| 2024-25 | 128 | 10.1 | 12.6 |
12.6 students per teacher, a higher ratio than 59 of every 100 Massachusetts elementary schools
Among the 1,012 Massachusetts elementary schools that reported teachers for 2024-25 the median is 12.1; the national median for elementary schools is 14.6. A ratio counts every teacher, so it is not the size of a class.
Source: NCES Common Core of Data membership and staff files, 2022-23, 2023-24, 2024-25; the comparison counts schools with a 2024-25 teacher count and a ratio from 3 to 99 (lower values are reporting errors).
One counselor per 94 students in 2021-22
In the 2021-22 civil rights collection Boutwell enrolled 94 students and had 1.0 counselor (full-time equivalent); it reported 0 out-of-school suspensions that year.
- Advanced Placement coursesNone
- Gifted and talented programNo
- Counselors (FTE)1.0, one per 94 of the 94 students enrolled in 2021-22
- Out-of-school suspensions0
- Chronically absent10.5% (2022-23)
Who attends
79.7% of students were White, 9.4% Hispanic, 4.7% Asian in 2024-25.
- White79.7%
- Hispanic9.4%
- Asian4.7%
- Two or more races3.9%
- Black2.3%
Source: U.S. Department of Education, Civil Rights Data Collection 2021-22; chronic absenteeism from EDFacts 2022-23; every count and the counselor ratio are for that school year. Who attends: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25, membership by race and ethnicity.
Elementary schools in Wilmington
5 public elementary schools in Wilmington report 2024-25 enrollment; Boutwell is number 5 by size.
| School | Students | Per teacher | Free lunch |
|---|---|---|---|
| Woburn Street | 368 | 11.8 | not reported |
| West Intermediate | 309 | 11.5 | not reported |
| Shawsheen Elementary | 304 | 10.0 | not reported |
| North Intermediate | 246 | 11.5 | not reported |
| Boutwell | 128 | 12.6 | not reported |
Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25.
What to look at next about Boutwell
- West IntermediateThe nearest public elementary school, 0.2 miles away: 309 students, 11.5 per teacher (2024-25).0.2 mi
- Fox HillThe next nearest public elementary school, 1.2 miles away: 437 students, 10.7 per teacher (2024-25).1.2 mi
- Compare Boutwell with West IntermediateStudents, teachers, meals, test results and who attends, side by side.
- How much Wilmington Public Schools spends per student$24,408 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23 (U.S. $16,260), with its revenue sources and teacher pay.$24,408
- The largest public schools in MassachusettsBoutwell is the number 979 by size of 1,014 Massachusetts elementary schools open in 2024-25.#979 of 1,014
- Massachusetts schools by students per teacher12.6 students per teacher here against the Massachusetts median of 12.1 for elementary schools.12.6:1
- Find the school district for an addressA home's district, not its city, decides which public schools it can enroll in.
Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (locations, enrollment, teachers); NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23. Distances are straight lines between the schools' NCES coordinates, not travel routes.
Questions about Boutwell
How many students attend Boutwell?
128 in the 2024-25 school year, according to the NCES Common Core of Data; 143 in 2022-23. It is an elementary school in Wilmington, MA.What is the student-teacher ratio at Boutwell?
12.6 students per full-time teacher (2024-25); the Massachusetts median for elementary schools is 12.1. A ratio counts every teacher, so it is not the size of a class.Is Boutwell a Title I school?
Boutwell was not a Title I school in 2021-22, the last year NCES published school Title I status.What district is Boutwell in?
Wilmington Public Schools, NCES district ID 2513050. The first seven digits of the school's NCES ID 251305000802 are the district's.
Reading these figures: how to choose a school district, what Title I means and what an absenteeism rate means. They are for information and are not a substitute for the school's or district's own records.
Sources
Every federal file behind this record
- NCES Common Core of Data, 2024-25: directory, membership, staff and lunch files. nces.ed.gov
- NCES Common Core of Data, 2021-22 school characteristics: Title I status. nces.ed.gov
- Civil Rights Data Collection, 2021-22: AP courses, gifted programs, counselors, discipline. civilrightsdata.ed.gov
- EDFacts, 2022-23: chronic absenteeism. ed.gov
- NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey, fiscal year 2022-23: district spending and revenue. nces.ed.gov
- U.S. Census Bureau geocoder and TIGER school districts: the district boundary used by the district finder. census.gov
Source: NCES Common Core of Data Directory, membership, staff and lunch files · 2024-25
Source: Civil Rights Data Collection School-level files (AP, gifted, counselors, discipline) · 2021-22
District spending on the district page is from the NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23.