Bancroft Elementary

Public elementary school, kindergarten to grade 5 · Andover, Massachusetts

Bancroft Elementary in Andover, Massachusetts enrolled 522 students in 2024-25 with 42.9 full-time teachers, 12.2 students per teacher against the Massachusetts elementary-school median of 12.1. It was not a Title I school in 2021-22; it takes part in the National School Lunch Program (2024-25). On the state tests, 64% of its students tested were proficient in reading in 2021-22 and 53% proficient in math in 2022-23 (Massachusetts: 43.7% and 42%).

Enrollment fell 4% from 2022-23 to 2024-25; full-time teachers fell 4%

543 students in 2022-23, 522 students in 2023-24, 522 students in 2024-25. Full-time teachers went from 44.8 to 42.9.

Students enrolled at Bancroft Elementary by school year2022-23: 543, 2023-24: 522, 2024-25: 52202004006002022-235432023-245222024-25522
Students enrolled at Bancroft Elementary by school year2022-23: 543, 2023-24: 522, 2024-25: 52202004006002022-235432023-245222024-25522
Students enrolled at Bancroft Elementary by school year2022-23: 543, 2023-24: 522, 2024-25: 52202004006002022-235432023-245222024-25522
Students enrolled at Bancroft Elementary by school year2022-23: 543, 2023-24: 522, 2024-25: 52202004006002022-235432023-245222024-25522
The numbers as a table
School yearStudentsTeachers (FTE)Per teacher
2022-2354344.812.1
2023-2452245.011.6
2024-2552242.912.2

12.2 students per teacher, a higher ratio than 51 of every 100 Massachusetts elementary schools

Among the 1,012 Massachusetts elementary schools that reported teachers for 2024-25 the median is 12.1; the national median for elementary schools is 14.6. A ratio counts every teacher, so it is not the size of a class.

Students per teacher, Massachusetts elementary schools, 2024-25240 values from 3.2 to 21.2; Bancroft Elementary 12.2; state median 12.1.1 more above 20.0 →05101520students per full-time teacherBancroft Elementary 12.2state median 12.1U.S. 14.6
Students per teacher, Massachusetts elementary schools, 2024-25240 values from 3.2 to 21.2; Bancroft Elementary 12.2; state median 12.1.1 more above 20.0 →05101520students per full-time teacherBancroft Elementary 12.2state median 12.1U.S. 14.6
Students per teacher, Massachusetts elementary schools, 2024-25240 values from 3.2 to 21.2; Bancroft Elementary 12.2; state median 12.1.1 more above 20.0 →05101520students per full-time teacherBancroft Elementary 12.2state median 12.1U.S. 14.6
Students per teacher, Massachusetts elementary schools, 2024-25240 values from 3.2 to 21.2; Bancroft Elementary 12.2; state median 12.1.1 more above 20.0 →05101520students per full-time teacherBancroft Elementary 12.2state median 12.1U.S. 14.6

Source: NCES Common Core of Data membership and staff files, 2022-23, 2023-24, 2024-25; the comparison counts schools with a 2024-25 teacher count and a ratio from 3 to 99 (lower values are reporting errors).

Programs and staff in 2021-22

In the 2021-22 civil rights collection Bancroft Elementary enrolled 515 students and reported no counselor; it reported 0 out-of-school suspensions that year.

  • Advanced Placement coursesNone
  • Gifted and talented programNo
  • Counselors (FTE)0.0
  • Out-of-school suspensions0
  • Chronically absent7.4% (2022-23)

Who attends

76.4% of students were White, 9.2% Hispanic, 8.2% Asian in 2024-25.

  1. White76.4%
  2. Hispanic9.2%
  3. Asian8.2%
  4. Two or more races5.2%
  5. Black0.8%
  6. Pacific Islander0.2%

Source: U.S. Department of Education, Civil Rights Data Collection 2021-22; chronic absenteeism from EDFacts 2022-23; every count and the counselor ratio are for that school year. Who attends: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25, membership by race and ethnicity.

State test results, 2021-22 and 2022-23

The students tested at Bancroft Elementary scored proficient or above: 64% in reading in 2021-22 and 53% in math in 2022-23, against 43.7% in reading in 2021-22 and 42% in math in 2022-23 across Massachusetts. Each state writes its own test and sets its own proficiency bar, so compare these within Massachusetts, not across states. ED Data Express holds no district results after 2021-22, so the district column gives its 2021-22 figure.

Students proficient or above, 2021-22 and 2022-23
Subject and yearThis schoolIts districtMassachusetts
Reading and language arts, 2021-2264%66%43.7%
Math, 2022-2353%65% (2021-22)42%

Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results 2021-22 and 2022-23, all students, from ED Data Express (2021-22 through the Data Rescue Project archive); for 2022-23 ED published math by school and reading only by state: ED shows school and district results as ranges (for example 20-24%) to protect small groups.

Elementary schools in Andover

5 public elementary schools in Andover report 2024-25 enrollment; Bancroft Elementary is number 2 by size.

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunch
West Elementary60510.9not reported
Bancroft Elementary52212.2not reported
High Plain Elementary50511.5not reported
South Elementary43813.0not reported
Henry C Sanborn Elementary33213.9not reported

All public schools in Andover →

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25.

What to look at next about Bancroft Elementary

  1. South ElementaryThe nearest public elementary school, 1.4 miles away: 438 students, 13.0 per teacher (2024-25).1.4 mi
  2. Annie L Sargent SchoolThe next nearest public elementary school, 2.7 miles away: 441 students, 13.4 per teacher (2024-25).2.7 mi
  3. Compare Bancroft Elementary with South ElementaryStudents, teachers, meals, test results and who attends, side by side.
  4. How much Andover Public Schools spends per student$24,016 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23 (U.S. $16,260), with its revenue sources and teacher pay.$24,016
  5. The largest public schools in MassachusettsBancroft Elementary is the number 207 by size of 1,014 Massachusetts elementary schools open in 2024-25.#207 of 1,014
  6. Massachusetts schools by students per teacher12.2 students per teacher here against the Massachusetts median of 12.1 for elementary schools.12.2:1
  7. Find the school district for an addressA home's district, not its city, decides which public schools it can enroll in.

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (locations, enrollment, teachers); NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23. Distances are straight lines between the schools' NCES coordinates, not travel routes.

Questions about Bancroft Elementary

  1. How many students attend Bancroft Elementary?
    522 in the 2024-25 school year, according to the NCES Common Core of Data; 543 in 2022-23. It is an elementary school in Andover, MA.
  2. What is the student-teacher ratio at Bancroft Elementary?
    12.2 students per full-time teacher (2024-25); the Massachusetts median for elementary schools is 12.1. A ratio counts every teacher, so it is not the size of a class.
  3. Is Bancroft Elementary a Title I school?
    Bancroft Elementary was not a Title I school in 2021-22, the last year NCES published school Title I status.
  4. How do students at Bancroft Elementary do on state tests?
    The students tested at Bancroft Elementary scored proficient or above: 64% in reading in 2021-22 and 53% in math in 2022-23, against 43.7% in reading in 2021-22 and 42% in math in 2022-23 across Massachusetts. Massachusetts's own test sets what proficient means, so results compare within the state, not across states. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22 and 2022-23; ED publishes school results as ranges to protect small groups.
  5. What district is Bancroft Elementary in?
    Andover Public Schools, NCES district ID 2501950. The first seven digits of the school's NCES ID 250195000047 are the district's.

Reading these figures: how to choose a school district, what Title I means and what an absenteeism rate means. They are for information and are not a substitute for the school's or district's own records.

Sources

Every federal file behind this record
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2024-25: directory, membership, staff and lunch files. nces.ed.gov
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2021-22 school characteristics: Title I status. nces.ed.gov
  • Civil Rights Data Collection, 2021-22: AP courses, gifted programs, counselors, discipline. civilrightsdata.ed.gov
  • EDFacts, 2022-23: chronic absenteeism. ed.gov
  • EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22 and 2022-23: reading and math proficiency for the school, its district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
  • NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey, fiscal year 2022-23: district spending and revenue. nces.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau geocoder and TIGER school districts: the district boundary used by the district finder. census.gov

Source: NCES Common Core of Data Directory, membership, staff and lunch files · 2024-25

Source: Civil Rights Data Collection School-level files (AP, gifted, counselors, discipline) · 2021-22