Anacostia High School
Public high school, grades 9 to 12 · Washington, District of Columbia
Anacostia High School in Washington, District of Columbia enrolled 246 students in 2024-25 with 32.0 full-time teachers, 7.7 students per teacher against the District of Columbia high-school median of 10.3. It ran a schoolwide Title I program in 2021-22; every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision (2024-25). On the state tests, 5% or less of its students tested were proficient in reading in 2021-22 and 5% or less proficient in math in 2022-23 (District of Columbia: 30.6% and 21.8%). Its four-year graduation rate for the class of 2023 was 50-59% (District of Columbia: 76.5%).
NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 · Civil Rights Data Collection 2021-22 · Title I status CCD 2021-22 · method
Enrollment fell 14% from 2022-23 to 2024-25; full-time teachers fell 14%
287 students in 2022-23, 244 students in 2023-24, 246 students in 2024-25. Full-time teachers went from 37.0 to 32.0.
The numbers as a table
| School year | Students | Teachers (FTE) | Per teacher |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2022-23 | 287 | 37.0 | 7.8 |
| 2023-24 | 244 | 31.5 | 7.7 |
| 2024-25 | 246 | 32.0 | 7.7 |
7.7 students per teacher, a lower ratio than 93 of every 100 District of Columbia high schools
Among the 43 District of Columbia high schools that reported teachers for 2024-25 the median is 10.3; the national median for high schools is 14.5. A ratio counts every teacher, so it is not the size of a class.
Source: NCES Common Core of Data membership and staff files, 2022-23, 2023-24, 2024-25; the comparison counts schools with a 2024-25 teacher count and a ratio from 3 to 99 (lower values are reporting errors).
7 AP courses and one counselor per 160 students in 2021-22
In the 2021-22 civil rights collection Anacostia High School enrolled 319 students and had 2.0 counselors (full-time equivalent); it reported 84 out-of-school suspensions that year.
- Advanced Placement courses7
- Gifted and talented programNo
- Counselors (FTE)2.0, one per 160 of the 319 students enrolled in 2021-22
- Out-of-school suspensions84
- Chronically absent97.6% (2022-23)
Who attends
92.3% of students were Black, 5.7% Hispanic, 2.0% of two or more races in 2024-25.
- Black92.3%
- Hispanic5.7%
- Two or more races2.0%
Source: U.S. Department of Education, Civil Rights Data Collection 2021-22; chronic absenteeism from EDFacts 2022-23; every count and the counselor ratio are for that school year. Who attends: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25, membership by race and ethnicity.
State test results, 2021-22 and 2022-23
The students tested at Anacostia High School scored proficient or above: 5% or less in reading in 2021-22 and 5% or less in math in 2022-23, against 30.6% in reading in 2021-22 and 21.8% in math in 2022-23 across District of Columbia. Each state writes its own test and sets its own proficiency bar, so compare these within District of Columbia, not across states. ED Data Express holds no district results after 2021-22, so the district column gives its 2021-22 figure.
| Subject and year | This school | Its district | District of Columbia |
|---|---|---|---|
| Reading and language arts, 2021-22 | 5% or less | 35% | 30.6% |
| Math, 2022-23 | 5% or less | 22% (2021-22) | 21.8% |
Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results 2021-22 and 2022-23, all students, from ED Data Express (2021-22 through the Data Rescue Project archive); for 2022-23 ED published math by school and reading only by state: ED shows school and district results as ranges (for example 20-24%) to protect small groups.
Graduation rate, class of 2023
50-59% of the 52 students in Anacostia High School's class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 76.5% across District of Columbia. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out, and counts those who earned a regular diploma by 2023. Every state computes it the same way under federal law, though each sets its own diploma requirements.
| This school | Its district | District of Columbia | |
|---|---|---|---|
| Four-year graduation rate | 50‑59% | 76% | 76.5% |
| Students in the class | 52 | 3,129 | 4,759 |
Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates 2022-23, all students, from ED Data Express: ED shows school and district rates as ranges (for example 90-94%) and leaves out small classes.
High schools in Washington
43 public high schools in Washington report 2024-25 enrollment.
| School | Students | Per teacher | Free lunch |
|---|---|---|---|
| Jackson-Reed High School | 1,855 | 13.6 | not reported |
| District of Columbia International School | 1,654 | 10.3 | not reported |
| Columbia Heights Education Campus | 1,563 | 10.5 | not reported |
| Coolidge High School | 1,029 | 12.6 | not reported |
| Roosevelt High School | 943 | 11.7 | not reported |
| Eastern High School | 909 | 10.7 | not reported |
| Dunbar High School | 892 | 10.3 | not reported |
| Friendship PCS - Collegiate Academy | 745 | 11.0 | not reported |
Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25.
What to look at next about Anacostia High School
- Thurgood Marshall Academy PCSThe nearest public high school, 0.8 miles away: 373 students, 11.0 per teacher (2024-25).0.8 mi
- Digital Pioneers Academy PCS - Capitol HillThe next nearest public high school, 0.9 miles away: 387 students, 15.8 per teacher (2024-25).0.9 mi
- Compare Anacostia High School with Thurgood Marshall Academy PCSStudents, teachers, meals, test results and who attends, side by side.
- How much District of Columbia Public Schools spends per student$31,629 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23 (U.S. $16,260), with its revenue sources and teacher pay.$31,629
- The largest public schools in District of ColumbiaAnacostia High School is the number 38 by size of 43 District of Columbia high schools open in 2024-25.#38 of 43
- District of Columbia schools by students per teacher7.7 students per teacher here against the District of Columbia median of 10.3 for high schools.7.7:1
- Find the school district for an addressA home's district, not its city, decides which public schools it can enroll in.
Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (locations, enrollment, teachers); NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23. Distances are straight lines between the schools' NCES coordinates, not travel routes.
Questions about Anacostia High School
How many students attend Anacostia High School?
246 in the 2024-25 school year, according to the NCES Common Core of Data; 287 in 2022-23. It is a high school in Washington, DC.What is the student-teacher ratio at Anacostia High School?
7.7 students per full-time teacher (2024-25); the District of Columbia median for high schools is 10.3. A ratio counts every teacher, so it is not the size of a class.Is Anacostia High School a Title I school?
Anacostia High School ran a schoolwide Title I program in 2021-22, the last year NCES published school Title I status.How do students at Anacostia High School do on state tests?
The students tested at Anacostia High School scored proficient or above: 5% or less in reading in 2021-22 and 5% or less in math in 2022-23, against 30.6% in reading in 2021-22 and 21.8% in math in 2022-23 across District of Columbia. District of Columbia's own test sets what proficient means, so results compare within the state, not across states. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22 and 2022-23; ED publishes school results as ranges to protect small groups.What is the graduation rate at Anacostia High School?
50-59% of the 52 students in Anacostia High School's class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 76.5% across District of Columbia. The rate counts the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out, and the share of them with a regular diploma by 2023. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23; ED publishes school rates as ranges to protect small groups.What district is Anacostia High School in?
District of Columbia Public Schools, NCES district ID 1100030. The first seven digits of the school's NCES ID 110003000085 are the district's.
Reading these figures: how to choose a school district, what Title I means and what an absenteeism rate means. They are for information and are not a substitute for the school's or district's own records.
Sources
Every federal file behind this record
- NCES Common Core of Data, 2024-25: directory, membership, staff and lunch files. nces.ed.gov
- NCES Common Core of Data, 2021-22 school characteristics: Title I status. nces.ed.gov
- Civil Rights Data Collection, 2021-22: AP courses, gifted programs, counselors, discipline. civilrightsdata.ed.gov
- EDFacts, 2022-23: chronic absenteeism. ed.gov
- EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22 and 2022-23: reading and math proficiency for the school, its district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
- EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23: the class of 2023 for the school, its district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
- NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey, fiscal year 2022-23: district spending and revenue. nces.ed.gov
- U.S. Census Bureau geocoder and TIGER school districts: the district boundary used by the district finder. census.gov
Source: NCES Common Core of Data Directory, membership, staff and lunch files · 2024-25
Source: Civil Rights Data Collection School-level files (AP, gifted, counselors, discipline) · 2021-22
District spending on the district page is from the NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23.