Amqui Elementary
Public elementary school, pre-kindergarten to grade 7 · Madison, Tennessee
Amqui Elementary in Madison, Tennessee enrolled 626 students in 2024-25. It ran a schoolwide Title I program in 2021-22; every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision (2024-25). On the state tests, 12-16% of its students tested were proficient in reading in 2021-22 and 20-24% proficient in math in 2022-23 (Tennessee: 35% and 34.3%).
NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 · Civil Rights Data Collection 2021-22 · Title I status CCD 2021-22 · method
Enrollment rose 13% from 2022-23 to 2023-24; full-time teachers rose 30%
510 students in 2022-23, 577 students in 2023-24. Full-time teachers went from 34.0 to 44.0.
The numbers as a table
| School year | Students | Teachers (FTE) | Per teacher |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2022-23 | 510 | 34.0 | 15.0 |
| 2023-24 | 577 | 44.0 | 13.1 |
Source: NCES Common Core of Data membership and staff files, 2022-23, 2023-24.
One counselor per 398 students in 2021-22
In the 2021-22 civil rights collection Amqui Elementary enrolled 398 students and had 1.0 counselor (full-time equivalent); it reported 1 out-of-school suspensions that year.
- Advanced Placement coursesNone
- Gifted and talented programYes
- Counselors (FTE)1.0, one per 398 of the 398 students enrolled in 2021-22
- Out-of-school suspensions1
- Chronically absent37.5% (2022-23)
Who attends
51.0% of students were Hispanic, 35.5% Black, 7.8% White in 2024-25.
- Hispanic51.0%
- Black35.5%
- White7.8%
- Two or more races5.0%
- American Indian0.5%
- Asian0.3%
Source: U.S. Department of Education, Civil Rights Data Collection 2021-22; chronic absenteeism from EDFacts 2022-23; every count and the counselor ratio are for that school year. Who attends: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25, membership by race and ethnicity.
State test results, 2021-22 and 2022-23
The students tested at Amqui Elementary scored proficient or above: 12-16% in reading in 2021-22 and 20-24% in math in 2022-23, against 35% in reading in 2021-22 and 34.3% in math in 2022-23 across Tennessee. Each state writes its own test and sets its own proficiency bar, so compare these within Tennessee, not across states. ED Data Express holds no district results after 2021-22, so the district column gives its 2021-22 figure. Where a state published results by grade only, the grades tested are combined, weighted by the students tested in each.
| Subject and year | This school | Its district | Tennessee |
|---|---|---|---|
| Reading and language arts, 2021-22 | 12‑16% | 26% | 35% |
| Math, 2022-23 | 20‑24% | 23% (2021-22) | 34.3% |
Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results 2021-22 and 2022-23, all students, from ED Data Express (2021-22 through the Data Rescue Project archive); for 2022-23 ED published math by school and reading only by state: ED shows school and district results as ranges (for example 20-24%) to protect small groups.
Elementary schools in Madison
7 public elementary schools in Madison report 2024-25 enrollment; Amqui Elementary is the largest.
| School | Students | Per teacher | Free lunch |
|---|---|---|---|
| Amqui Elementary | 626 | 15.0 | not reported |
| Neely's Bend Elementary | 491 | 15.0 | not reported |
| Chadwell Elementary | 478 | 19.5 | not reported |
| Stratton Elementary | 478 | 13.2 | not reported |
| Neely's Bend: A LEAD Public School | 367 | 20.4 | not reported |
| Smithson Craighead Academy | 319 | 19.8 | not reported |
| Gateway Elementary | 317 | 13.3 | not reported |
Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25.
What to look at next about Amqui Elementary
- Stratton ElementaryThe nearest public elementary school, 1.0 miles away: 478 students, 13.2 per teacher (2024-25).1.0 mi
- Gateway ElementaryThe next nearest public elementary school, 1.3 miles away: 317 students, 13.3 per teacher (2024-25).1.3 mi
- Compare Amqui Elementary with Stratton ElementaryStudents, teachers, meals, test results and who attends, side by side.
- How much Metropolitan Nashville Public Schools spends per student$17,808 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23 (U.S. $16,260), with its revenue sources and teacher pay.$17,808
- The largest public schools in TennesseeAmqui Elementary is the number 221 by size of 998 Tennessee elementary schools open in 2024-25.#221 of 998
- Find the school district for an addressA home's district, not its city, decides which public schools it can enroll in.
Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (locations, enrollment, teachers); NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23. Distances are straight lines between the schools' NCES coordinates, not travel routes.
Questions about Amqui Elementary
How many students attend Amqui Elementary?
626 in the 2024-25 school year, according to the NCES Common Core of Data; 510 in 2022-23. It is an elementary school in Madison, TN.What is the student-teacher ratio at Amqui Elementary?
15.0 students per full-time teacher (2022-23). A ratio counts every teacher, so it is not the size of a class.Is Amqui Elementary a Title I school?
Amqui Elementary ran a schoolwide Title I program in 2021-22, the last year NCES published school Title I status.How do students at Amqui Elementary do on state tests?
The students tested at Amqui Elementary scored proficient or above: 12-16% in reading in 2021-22 and 20-24% in math in 2022-23, against 35% in reading in 2021-22 and 34.3% in math in 2022-23 across Tennessee. Tennessee's own test sets what proficient means, so results compare within the state, not across states. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22 and 2022-23; ED publishes school results as ranges to protect small groups.What district is Amqui Elementary in?
Metropolitan Nashville Public Schools, NCES district ID 4703180. The first seven digits of the school's NCES ID 470318001255 are the district's.
Reading these figures: how to choose a school district, what Title I means and what an absenteeism rate means. They are for information and are not a substitute for the school's or district's own records.
Sources
Every federal file behind this record
- NCES Common Core of Data, 2024-25: directory, membership, staff and lunch files. nces.ed.gov
- NCES Common Core of Data, 2021-22 school characteristics: Title I status. nces.ed.gov
- Civil Rights Data Collection, 2021-22: AP courses, gifted programs, counselors, discipline. civilrightsdata.ed.gov
- EDFacts, 2022-23: chronic absenteeism. ed.gov
- EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22 and 2022-23: reading and math proficiency for the school, its district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
- NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey, fiscal year 2022-23: district spending and revenue. nces.ed.gov
- U.S. Census Bureau geocoder and TIGER school districts: the district boundary used by the district finder. census.gov
Source: NCES Common Core of Data Directory, membership, staff and lunch files · 2024-25
Source: Civil Rights Data Collection School-level files (AP, gifted, counselors, discipline) · 2021-22
District spending on the district page is from the NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23.