Zane Trace Local Schools

Listed by NCES as Zane Trace Local (district ID 3904954)

Public school district · Ross County · Ohio · NCES district ID 3904954

Zane Trace Local Schools spent $13,719 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23, below the middle: 60% of the other Ohio districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 spent more (median $14,273). Its 3 schools enrolled 1,195 students in 2024-25; 38.8% of its revenue came from the state. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $14,364 per student, up 4.7% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year). Its four-year graduation rate for the class of 2023 was 90-94% (Ohio: 86.2%).

Spending per student among Ohio districts of similar size

Current spending per student excludes construction and debt. The 9 districts closest to Zane Trace Local Schools in enrollment (1,264 to 1,300 students) and Zane Trace Local Schools itself.

Current spending per student, Ohio districts closest in size to Zane Trace Local Schools, FY23Wellston City Schools $16,921; Sandy Valley Local Schools $16,894; Washington-Nile Local $16,244; Manchester Local $13,788; Zane Trace Local Schools $13,719; Greeneview Local $13,244; Northwestern Local $12,921; Tuscarawas Valley Local Schools $12,832; Ridgewood Local $12,144; Chippewa Local $11,667; State median, 1,000+ students $14,273.10k12k14k16k18kWellston City Schools$16,921Sandy Valley Local Schools$16,894Washington-Nile Local$16,244Manchester Local$13,788Zane Trace Local Schools$13,719Greeneview Local$13,244Northwestern Local$12,921Tuscarawas Valley Local Schools$12,832Ridgewood Local$12,144Chippewa Local$11,667State median, 1,000+ students $14,273
Current spending per student, Ohio districts closest in size to Zane Trace Local Schools, FY23Wellston City Schools $16,921; Sandy Valley Local Schools $16,894; Washington-Nile Local $16,244; Manchester Local $13,788; Zane Trace Local Schools $13,719; Greeneview Local $13,244; Northwestern Local $12,921; Tuscarawas Valley Local Schools $12,832; Ridgewood Local $12,144; Chippewa Local $11,667; State median, 1,000+ students $14,273.10k12k14k16k18kWellston City Schools$16,921Sandy Valley Local Schools$16,894Washington-Nile Local$16,244Manchester Local$13,788Zane Trace Local Schools$13,719Greeneview Local$13,244Northwestern Local$12,921Tuscarawas Valley Local Schools$12,832Ridgewood Local$12,144Chippewa Local$11,667State median, 1,000+ students $14,273
Current spending per student, Ohio districts closest in size to Zane Trace Local Schools, FY23Wellston City Schools $16,921; Sandy Valley Local Schools $16,894; Washington-Nile Local $16,244; Manchester Local $13,788; Zane Trace Local Schools $13,719; Greeneview Local $13,244; Northwestern Local $12,921; Tuscarawas Valley Local Schools $12,832; Ridgewood Local $12,144; Chippewa Local $11,667; State median, 1,000+ students $14,273.10k14k18kWellston City Schools$16,921Sandy Valley Local Schools$16,894Washington-Nile Local$16,244Manchester Local$13,788Zane Trace Local Schools$13,719Greeneview Local$13,244Northwestern Local$12,921Tuscarawas Valley Local Schools$12,832Ridgewood Local$12,144Chippewa Local$11,667State median, 1,000+ students $14,273
Current spending per student, Ohio districts closest in size to Zane Trace Local Schools, FY23Wellston City Schools $16,921; Sandy Valley Local Schools $16,894; Washington-Nile Local $16,244; Manchester Local $13,788; Zane Trace Local Schools $13,719; Greeneview Local $13,244; Northwestern Local $12,921; Tuscarawas Valley Local Schools $12,832; Ridgewood Local $12,144; Chippewa Local $11,667; State median, 1,000+ students $14,273.10k14k18kWellston City Schools$16,921Sandy Valley Local Schools$16,894Washington-Nile Local$16,244Manchester Local$13,788Zane Trace Local Schools$13,719Greeneview Local$13,244Northwestern Local$12,921Tuscarawas Valley Local Schools$12,832Ridgewood Local$12,144Chippewa Local$11,667State median, 1,000+ students $14,273

Where the money came from

$18,481,000 in revenue: 38.8% state, 51.8% local and 9.4% federal. Total spending including $155,000 of capital outlay was $18,172,000, or $14,175 per student; the figure above leaves capital out.

Zane Trace Local Schools revenue by source, fiscal year 2022-23State $7,170,000; Local $9,568,000; Federal $1,743,000; total $18,481,000.
  • State$7,170,000 39%
  • Local$9,568,000 52%
  • Federal$1,743,000 9%

Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23: current expenditures for elementary and secondary education divided by fall membership; the state median covers 452 districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022. Revenue by source (TOTALREV, TFEDREV, TSTREV, TLOCREV).

Enrollment fell from 2022-23 to 2024-25

1,282 students in 2022-23, 1,219 students in 2023-24, 1,195 students in 2024-25, counted across the schools that reported each year.

Zane Trace Local Schools enrollment by school year2022-23: 1,282, 2023-24: 1,219, 2024-25: 1,19505001k1.5k2022-231,2822023-241,2192024-251,195
Zane Trace Local Schools enrollment by school year2022-23: 1,282, 2023-24: 1,219, 2024-25: 1,19505001k1.5k2022-231,2822023-241,2192024-251,195
Zane Trace Local Schools enrollment by school year2022-23: 1,282, 2023-24: 1,219, 2024-25: 1,19505001k1.5k2022-231,2822023-241,2192024-251,195
Zane Trace Local Schools enrollment by school year2022-23: 1,282, 2023-24: 1,219, 2024-25: 1,19505001k1.5k2022-231,2822023-241,2192024-251,195

Teachers and students per teacher

School yearStudentsTeachers (FTE)Per teacher
2022-231,28266.019.4
2023-241,21970.017.4
2024-251,19567.017.8

Source: NCES Common Core of Data membership and staff files, 2022-23, 2023-24, 2024-25; sums over the schools reporting each year.

$5,605,000 in teacher salaries in fiscal year 2022-23, $4,372 per student

Zane Trace Local Schools booked $5,605,000 of teacher salaries in its 2022-23 finance report and counted 70 full-time teachers in its Common Core of Data district staff file for 2022-23 (the school files behind the staffing figures on this page count teachers separately, so the two can differ), or $79,877 of salary spending per teacher. That is more than 53 in 100 Ohio districts with a figure (state median $78,983, 642 districts). It is spending, not what a teacher is paid: the salary lines and the teacher count come from different files, so the result can differ widely from the average salary the district publishes (its salary schedule gives pay); benefits are left out, and states book salaries differently, so compare districts within one state. For pay, the National Education Association put the average Ohio teacher salary at $63,153 in 2021-22 (NCES Digest table 211.60).

ProgramTeacher salariesShare
Regular programs$4,782,00085.3%
Special education$823,00014.7%

Teacher salaries per student, fiscal years 2018-19 to 2022-23

The district's teacher salary bill divided by its fall enrollment each year: $3,965 in 2018-19, $4,022 in 2019-20, $4,242 in 2020-21, $4,147 in 2021-22, $4,372 in 2022-23.

Zane Trace Local Schools teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $3,965, 2019-20: $4,022, 2020-21: $4,242, 2021-22: $4,147, 2022-23: $4,37202k4k6k2018-19$3,9652019-20$4,0222020-21$4,2422021-22$4,1472022-23$4,372
Zane Trace Local Schools teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $3,965, 2019-20: $4,022, 2020-21: $4,242, 2021-22: $4,147, 2022-23: $4,37202k4k6k2018-19$3,9652019-20$4,0222020-21$4,2422021-22$4,1472022-23$4,372
Zane Trace Local Schools teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $3,965, 2019-20: $4,022, 2020-21: $4,242, 2021-22: $4,147, 2022-23: $4,37202k4k6k2018-19$3,9652019-20$4,0222020-21$4,2422021-22$4,1472022-23$4,372
Zane Trace Local Schools teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $3,965, 2019-20: $4,022, 2020-21: $4,242, 2021-22: $4,147, 2022-23: $4,37202k4k6k2018-19$3,9652019-20$4,0222020-21$4,2422021-22$4,1472022-23$4,372

Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal years 2019 to 2023: teacher salaries in regular, special, vocational and other programs (Z35 to Z38) and fall membership (V33); NCES Common Core of Data LEA staff file 2022-23, teachers (full-time equivalent).

State test results, 2021-22

In 2021-22, the students tested in Zane Trace Local Schools scored proficient or above: 65-69% in reading and 57-61% in math, against 59% in reading and 54% in math across Ohio. Each state writes its own test and sets its own proficiency bar, so compare these within Ohio, not across states. Where a state published results by grade only, the grades tested are combined, weighted by the students tested in each.

Students proficient or above, 2021-22
SubjectThis districtOhioStudents tested
Reading and language arts65-69%59%597
Math57-61%54%599

Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results 2021-22, all students, from ED Data Express (the Data Rescue Project archive; ED has no 2022-23 result for this district): ED shows district results as ranges (for example 20-24%) to protect small groups.

Graduation rate, class of 2023

90-94% of the 117 students in Zane Trace Local Schools' class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 86.2% across Ohio. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out, and counts those who earned a regular diploma by 2023. Every state computes it the same way under federal law, though each sets its own diploma requirements.

Four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rate, class of 2023
This districtOhio
Four-year graduation rate90‑94%86.2%
Students in the class117132,008

Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates 2022-23, all students, from ED Data Express: ED shows district rates as ranges (for example 90-94%) and leaves out small classes.

1 elementary school, 473 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Zane Trace Elementary School47316.3not reportedSchoolwide program

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

1 middle school, 392 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Zane Trace Middle School39217.0not reportedEligible, no program

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

1 high school, 330 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Zane Trace High School33022.086.9%Not Title I

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

Contact Zane Trace Local Schools

Source: NCES Common Core of Data, local education agency directory 2024-25. Enrollment, boundaries and school assignment are the district's to confirm.

What to look at next about Zane Trace Local Schools

  1. Ohio districts by spending per studentZane Trace Local Schools ranks 271 of 452 Ohio districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 on current spending per student in fiscal year 2022-23 ($13,719).#271 of 452
  2. Every school district in OhioZane Trace Local Schools is the number 364 by size of 999 Ohio districts, with 1,282 students in fall 2022 (F-33).#364 of 999
  3. Chippewa LocalThe next larger Ohio district: 1,300 students in fall 2022, $11,667 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$11,667
  4. Greeneview Local School DistrictThe next smaller Ohio district: 1,280 students in fall 2022, $13,244 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$13,244
  5. Compare Zane Trace Local Schools with Chippewa LocalEnrollment, spending, revenue sources and schools, side by side.
  6. Zane Trace High School, its largest high school330 students in 2024-25, 22.0 per teacher.330
  7. Teacher salary spending across OhioZane Trace Local Schools spent $79,877 in salaries per full-time teacher in fiscal year 2022-23 (state median $78,983); spending, not a salary.$79,877
  8. Find the school district for an addressA home's district decides which public schools it can enroll in.

Source: NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23 (spending per student and fall 2022 membership; ranks among the state's districts that reported them); NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (schools).

Questions about Zane Trace Local Schools

  1. How many schools and students are in Zane Trace Local Schools?
    3 schools were open in 2024-25 (1 elementary, 1 middle, 1 high), enrolling 1,195 students, according to the NCES Common Core of Data.
  2. How much does Zane Trace Local Schools spend per student?
    $13,719 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), which leaves out construction and debt; the Ohio median for districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 is $14,273 and the U.S. figure is $16,260. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $14,364 per student, up 4.7% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year).
  3. Where does Zane Trace Local Schools' money come from?
    $18,481,000 in revenue in fiscal year 2022-23: 38.8% state, 51.8% local and 9.4% federal (NCES F-33).
  4. How many children in Zane Trace Local Schools live in poverty?
    The Census Bureau estimates that 155 of the 1,515 children aged 5 to 17 living within the district's boundaries in 2024, 10.2%, were in families in poverty (Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates). It is a model-based estimate for everyone living in the district, not a count of its students; the free-meal shares in the school tables are counts of enrolled students.
  5. How much does Zane Trace Local Schools spend on teacher salaries?
    $5,605,000 in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), or $4,372 per student. Divided by the 70 full-time teachers in the NCES Common Core of Data for 2022-23 that is $79,877 per teacher, more than 53 in 100 Ohio districts (state median $78,983). That is spending, not what a teacher is paid: the salary lines and the teacher count come from different files, and the result can differ widely from the average salary a district publishes. The district's salary schedule gives pay. For pay, the National Education Association put the average Ohio teacher salary at $63,153 in 2021-22 (NCES Digest table 211.60).
  6. How do students in Zane Trace Local Schools do on state tests?
    In 2021-22, the students tested in Zane Trace Local Schools scored proficient or above: 65-69% in reading and 57-61% in math, against 59% in reading and 54% in math across Ohio. Ohio's own test sets what proficient means, so results compare within the state, not across states. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22.
  7. What is the graduation rate in Zane Trace Local Schools?
    90-94% of the 117 students in Zane Trace Local Schools' class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 86.2% across Ohio. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23.
  8. What is Zane Trace Local Schools' NCES district ID?
    3904954. Each of its schools' 12-digit NCES IDs begins with these seven digits.

Reading these figures: how to choose a school district, what Title I means and what an absenteeism rate means. They are for information and are not a substitute for the school's or district's own records.

Sources

Every federal file behind this record
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2024-25: directory, membership, staff and lunch files. nces.ed.gov
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2021-22 school characteristics: Title I status. nces.ed.gov
  • Civil Rights Data Collection, 2021-22: AP courses, gifted programs, counselors, discipline. civilrightsdata.ed.gov
  • EDFacts, 2022-23: chronic absenteeism. ed.gov
  • EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23: the class of 2023 for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
  • EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22: reading and math proficiency for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
  • NCES Digest of Education Statistics, table 211.60 (2021-22): the state's average teacher salary, from the National Education Association. nces.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau, Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates, 2024: children aged 5 to 17 and those in families in poverty, by school district. census.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances, fiscal year 2023-24: per pupil current spending for 2023-24 and 2022-23. census.gov
  • NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey, fiscal year 2022-23: district spending and revenue. nces.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau geocoder and TIGER school districts: the district boundary used by the district finder. census.gov

Source: U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances Per pupil current spending by school system · FY 2023-24

Source: NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey Revenue and expenditures by district · FY 2022-23

Source: NCES Common Core of Data School directory, membership, staff and lunch files · 2024-25