Wise County Public Schools
Public school district · Wise County · Virginia · NCES district ID 5104080
Wise County Public Schools spent $13,973 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23, below the middle: 74% of the other Virginia districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 spent more (median $14,972). Its 11 schools enrolled 5,779 students in 2024-25; 56.0% of its revenue came from the state. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $13,256 per student, down 5.1% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year). Its four-year graduation rate for the class of 2023 was 97% (Virginia: 88.8%).
NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23 · Census Bureau school finances 2023-24 · NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 · method
Spending per student among Virginia districts of similar size
Current spending per student excludes construction and debt. The 9 districts closest to Wise County Public Schools in enrollment (5,165 to 6,682 students) and Wise County Public Schools itself.
Where the money came from
$94,251,000 in revenue: 56.0% state, 22.6% local and 21.4% federal. Total spending including $10,843,000 of capital outlay was $97,449,000, or $16,480 per student; the figure above leaves capital out.
- State$52,811,000 56%
- Local$21,289,000 23%
- Federal$20,151,000 21%
Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23: current expenditures for elementary and secondary education divided by fall membership; the state median covers 116 districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022. Revenue by source (TOTALREV, TFEDREV, TSTREV, TLOCREV).
Enrollment fell from 2022-23 to 2024-25
5,913 students in 2022-23, 5,883 students in 2023-24, 5,779 students in 2024-25, counted across the schools that reported each year.
Teachers and students per teacher
| School year | Students | Teachers (FTE) | Per teacher |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2022-23 | 5,913 | 447.3 | 13.2 |
| 2023-24 | 5,883 | 445.9 | 13.2 |
| 2024-25 | 5,779 | 439.7 | 13.1 |
Source: NCES Common Core of Data membership and staff files, 2022-23, 2023-24, 2024-25; sums over the schools reporting each year.
$28,183,000 in teacher salaries in fiscal year 2022-23, $4,766 per student
Wise County Public Schools booked $28,183,000 of teacher salaries in its 2022-23 finance report and counted 479 full-time teachers in its Common Core of Data district staff file for 2022-23 (the school files behind the staffing figures on this page count teachers separately, so the two can differ), or $58,806 of salary spending per teacher. That is more than 31 in 100 Virginia districts with a figure (state median $61,899, 129 districts). It is spending, not what a teacher is paid: the salary lines and the teacher count come from different files, so the result can differ widely from the average salary the district publishes (its salary schedule gives pay); benefits are left out, and states book salaries differently, so compare districts within one state. For pay, the National Education Association put the average Virginia teacher salary at $59,965 in 2021-22 (NCES Digest table 211.60).
| Program | Teacher salaries | Share |
|---|---|---|
| Regular programs | $21,342,000 | 75.7% |
| Special education | $5,089,000 | 18.1% |
| Vocational | $1,752,000 | 6.2% |
Teacher salaries per student, fiscal years 2018-19 to 2022-23
The district's teacher salary bill divided by its fall enrollment each year: $3,708 in 2018-19, $4,021 in 2019-20, $4,195 in 2020-21, $4,407 in 2021-22, $4,766 in 2022-23.
Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal years 2019 to 2023: teacher salaries in regular, special, vocational and other programs (Z35 to Z38) and fall membership (V33); NCES Common Core of Data LEA staff file 2022-23, teachers (full-time equivalent).
Graduation rate, class of 2023
97% of the 404 students in Wise County Public Schools' class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 88.8% across Virginia. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out, and counts those who earned a regular diploma by 2023. Every state computes it the same way under federal law, though each sets its own diploma requirements.
| This district | Virginia | |
|---|---|---|
| Four-year graduation rate | 97% | 88.8% |
| Students in the class | 404 | 99,059 |
Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates 2022-23, all students, from ED Data Express: ED shows district rates as ranges (for example 90-94%) and leaves out small classes.
5 elementary schools, 2,869 students
| School | Students | Per teacher | Free lunch | Title I, 2021‑22 |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Union Primary | 809 | 13.3 | 90.1% | Schoolwide program |
| Wise Primary | 603 | 13.4 | 87.2% | Schoolwide program |
| J.W. Adams Combined | 523 | 12.6 | 85.7% | Schoolwide program |
| St. Paul Elementary | 514 | 11.6 | 86.8% | Schoolwide program |
| Coeburn Primary | 420 | 12.0 | 87.6% | Schoolwide program |
Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.
3 middle schools, 1,252 students
| School | Students | Per teacher | Free lunch | Title I, 2021‑22 |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Union Middle | 561 | 12.1 | 93.8% | Not Title I |
| L.F. Addington Middle | 387 | 11.2 | All free (CEP) | Not Title I |
| Coeburn Middle | 304 | 11.0 | 92.8% | Not Title I |
Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.
3 high schools, 1,658 students
| School | Students | Per teacher | Free lunch | Title I, 2021‑22 |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Central High | 676 | 16.5 | 90.7% | Not Title I |
| Union High | 564 | 15.2 | 90.6% | Not Title I |
| Eastside High | 418 | 15.9 | 88.3% | Not Title I |
Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.
Contact Wise County Public Schools
- Website: wisek12.org
- Phone: (276) 328-8017
- Office: 628 Lake Street NE, Wise, VA 24293
Source: NCES Common Core of Data, local education agency directory 2024-25. Enrollment, boundaries and school assignment are the district's to confirm.
What to look at next about Wise County Public Schools
- Virginia districts by spending per studentWise County Public Schools ranks 86 of 116 Virginia districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 on current spending per student in fiscal year 2022-23 ($13,973).#86 of 116
- Every school district in VirginiaWise County Public Schools is the number 40 by size of 132 Virginia districts, with 5,913 students in fall 2022 (F-33).#40 of 132
- Prince George County Public SchoolsThe next larger Virginia district: 6,106 students in fall 2022, $13,299 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$13,299
- Danville Public SchoolsThe next smaller Virginia district: 5,684 students in fall 2022, $18,424 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$18,424
- Compare Wise County Public Schools with Prince George County Public SchoolsEnrollment, spending, revenue sources and schools, side by side.
- Central High, its largest high school676 students in 2024-25, 16.5 per teacher.676
- Teacher salary spending across VirginiaWise County Public Schools spent $58,806 in salaries per full-time teacher in fiscal year 2022-23 (state median $61,899); spending, not a salary.$58,806
- Find the school district for an addressA home's district decides which public schools it can enroll in.
Source: NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23 (spending per student and fall 2022 membership; ranks among the state's districts that reported them); NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (schools).
Questions about Wise County Public Schools
How many schools and students are in Wise County Public Schools?
11 schools were open in 2024-25 (5 elementary, 3 middle, 3 high), enrolling 5,779 students, according to the NCES Common Core of Data.How much does Wise County Public Schools spend per student?
$13,973 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), which leaves out construction and debt; the Virginia median for districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 is $14,972 and the U.S. figure is $16,260. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $13,256 per student, down 5.1% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year).Where does Wise County Public Schools' money come from?
$94,251,000 in revenue in fiscal year 2022-23: 56.0% state, 22.6% local and 21.4% federal (NCES F-33).How many children in Wise County Public Schools live in poverty?
The Census Bureau estimates that 1,198 of the 5,074 children aged 5 to 17 living within the district's boundaries in 2024, 23.6%, were in families in poverty (Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates). It is a model-based estimate for everyone living in the district, not a count of its students; the free-meal shares in the school tables are counts of enrolled students.How much does Wise County Public Schools spend on teacher salaries?
$28,183,000 in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), or $4,766 per student. Divided by the 479 full-time teachers in the NCES Common Core of Data for 2022-23 that is $58,806 per teacher, more than 31 in 100 Virginia districts (state median $61,899). That is spending, not what a teacher is paid: the salary lines and the teacher count come from different files, and the result can differ widely from the average salary a district publishes. The district's salary schedule gives pay. For pay, the National Education Association put the average Virginia teacher salary at $59,965 in 2021-22 (NCES Digest table 211.60).What is the graduation rate in Wise County Public Schools?
97% of the 404 students in Wise County Public Schools' class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 88.8% across Virginia. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23.What is Wise County Public Schools' NCES district ID?
5104080. Each of its schools' 12-digit NCES IDs begins with these seven digits.
Reading these figures: how to choose a school district, what Title I means and what an absenteeism rate means. They are for information and are not a substitute for the school's or district's own records.
Sources
Every federal file behind this record
- NCES Common Core of Data, 2024-25: directory, membership, staff and lunch files. nces.ed.gov
- NCES Common Core of Data, 2021-22 school characteristics: Title I status. nces.ed.gov
- Civil Rights Data Collection, 2021-22: AP courses, gifted programs, counselors, discipline. civilrightsdata.ed.gov
- EDFacts, 2022-23: chronic absenteeism. ed.gov
- EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23: the class of 2023 for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
- NCES Digest of Education Statistics, table 211.60 (2021-22): the state's average teacher salary, from the National Education Association. nces.ed.gov
- U.S. Census Bureau, Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates, 2024: children aged 5 to 17 and those in families in poverty, by school district. census.gov
- U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances, fiscal year 2023-24: per pupil current spending for 2023-24 and 2022-23. census.gov
- NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey, fiscal year 2022-23: district spending and revenue. nces.ed.gov
- U.S. Census Bureau geocoder and TIGER school districts: the district boundary used by the district finder. census.gov
Source: U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances Per pupil current spending by school system · FY 2023-24
Source: NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey Revenue and expenditures by district · FY 2022-23
Source: NCES Common Core of Data School directory, membership, staff and lunch files · 2024-25