Westfield Academy and Central School

Listed by NCES as Westfield Central School District (district ID 3630990)

Public school district · Chautauqua County · New York · NCES district ID 3630990

Westfield Academy and Central School spent $27,258 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23, more than 55% of the other New York districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022 (median $26,657). Its 3 schools enrolled 624 students in 2024-25; 57.4% of its revenue came from the state. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $27,567 per student, up 1.1% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year). Its four-year graduation rate for the class of 2023 was 70-79% (New York: 87.2%).

Spending per student among New York districts of similar size

Current spending per student excludes construction and debt. The 9 districts closest to Westfield Academy and Central School in enrollment (649 to 660 students) and Westfield Academy and Central School itself.

Current spending per student, New York districts closest in size to Westfield Academy and Central School, FY23Hadley-Luzerne Central $32,610; East Moriches Union Free $31,863; Democracy Prep Endurance Charter School $30,640; Pavilion Central $27,519; Westfield Academy and Central School $27,258; The Renaissance Charter Schools $26,307; Leadership Preparatory Brownsville Charter School $25,547; Duanesburg Central $24,332; Buffalo United Charter School $15,322; Success Academy Charter School - Bensonhurst $14,558; State median, under 1,000 students $26,657.10k20k30k40kHadley-Luzerne Central$32,610East Moriches Union Free$31,863Democracy Prep Endurance Chart…$30,640Pavilion Central$27,519Westfield Academy and Central …$27,258The Renaissance Charter Schools$26,307Leadership Preparatory Brownsv…$25,547Duanesburg Central$24,332Buffalo United Charter School$15,322Success Academy Charter School…$14,558State median, under 1,000 students $26,657
Current spending per student, New York districts closest in size to Westfield Academy and Central School, FY23Hadley-Luzerne Central $32,610; East Moriches Union Free $31,863; Democracy Prep Endurance Charter School $30,640; Pavilion Central $27,519; Westfield Academy and Central School $27,258; The Renaissance Charter Schools $26,307; Leadership Preparatory Brownsville Charter School $25,547; Duanesburg Central $24,332; Buffalo United Charter School $15,322; Success Academy Charter School - Bensonhurst $14,558; State median, under 1,000 students $26,657.10k20k30k40kHadley-Luzerne Central$32,610East Moriches Union Free$31,863Democracy Prep Endurance Charter Sc…$30,640Pavilion Central$27,519Westfield Academy and Central School$27,258The Renaissance Charter Schools$26,307Leadership Preparatory Brownsville …$25,547Duanesburg Central$24,332Buffalo United Charter School$15,322Success Academy Charter School - Be…$14,558State median, under 1,000 students $26,657
Current spending per student, New York districts closest in size to Westfield Academy and Central School, FY23Hadley-Luzerne Central $32,610; East Moriches Union Free $31,863; Democracy Prep Endurance Charter School $30,640; Pavilion Central $27,519; Westfield Academy and Central School $27,258; The Renaissance Charter Schools $26,307; Leadership Preparatory Brownsville Charter School $25,547; Duanesburg Central $24,332; Buffalo United Charter School $15,322; Success Academy Charter School - Bensonhurst $14,558; State median, under 1,000 students $26,657.10k20k30k40kHadley-Luzerne Central$32,610East Moriches Union Free$31,863Democracy Prep Endurance Charter School$30,640Pavilion Central$27,519Westfield Academy and Central School$27,258The Renaissance Charter Schools$26,307Leadership Preparatory Brownsville Charter…$25,547Duanesburg Central$24,332Buffalo United Charter School$15,322Success Academy Charter School - Bensonhurst$14,558State median, under 1,000 students $26,657
Current spending per student, New York districts closest in size to Westfield Academy and Central School, FY23Hadley-Luzerne Central $32,610; East Moriches Union Free $31,863; Democracy Prep Endurance Charter School $30,640; Pavilion Central $27,519; Westfield Academy and Central School $27,258; The Renaissance Charter Schools $26,307; Leadership Preparatory Brownsville Charter School $25,547; Duanesburg Central $24,332; Buffalo United Charter School $15,322; Success Academy Charter School - Bensonhurst $14,558; State median, under 1,000 students $26,657.10k20k30k40kHadley-Luzerne Central$32,610East Moriches Union Free$31,863Democracy Prep Endurance Charter School$30,640Pavilion Central$27,519Westfield Academy and Central School$27,258The Renaissance Charter Schools$26,307Leadership Preparatory Brownsville Char…$25,547Duanesburg Central$24,332Buffalo United Charter School$15,322Success Academy Charter School - Benson…$14,558State median, under 1,000 students $26,657

Where the money came from

$20,502,000 in revenue: 57.4% state, 32.2% local and 10.4% federal. Total spending including $708,000 of capital outlay was $19,024,000, or $29,089 per student; the figure above leaves capital out.

Westfield Academy and Central School revenue by source, fiscal year 2022-23State $11,770,000; Local $6,609,000; Federal $2,123,000; total $20,502,000.
  • State$11,770,000 57%
  • Local$6,609,000 32%
  • Federal$2,123,000 10%

Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23: current expenditures for elementary and secondary education divided by fall membership; the state median covers 540 districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022. Revenue by source (TOTALREV, TFEDREV, TSTREV, TLOCREV).

Enrollment fell from 2022-23 to 2024-25

637 students in 2022-23, 638 students in 2023-24, 624 students in 2024-25, counted across the schools that reported each year.

Westfield Academy and Central School enrollment by school year2022-23: 637, 2023-24: 638, 2024-25: 62402004006008002022-236372023-246382024-25624
Westfield Academy and Central School enrollment by school year2022-23: 637, 2023-24: 638, 2024-25: 62402004006008002022-236372023-246382024-25624
Westfield Academy and Central School enrollment by school year2022-23: 637, 2023-24: 638, 2024-25: 62402004006008002022-236372023-246382024-25624
Westfield Academy and Central School enrollment by school year2022-23: 637, 2023-24: 638, 2024-25: 62402004006008002022-236372023-246382024-25624

Teachers and students per teacher

School yearStudentsTeachers (FTE)Per teacher
2022-2363766.29.6
2023-2463871.88.9
2024-2562472.08.7

Source: NCES Common Core of Data membership and staff files, 2022-23, 2023-24, 2024-25; sums over the schools reporting each year.

$5,216,000 in teacher salaries in fiscal year 2022-23, $7,976 per student

Westfield Academy and Central School booked $5,216,000 of teacher salaries in its 2022-23 finance report and counted 66 full-time teachers in its Common Core of Data district staff file for 2022-23 (the school files behind the staffing figures on this page count teachers separately, so the two can differ), or $78,732 of salary spending per teacher. That is more than 45 in 100 New York districts with a figure (state median $80,291, 622 districts). It is spending, not what a teacher is paid: the salary lines and the teacher count come from different files, so the result can differ widely from the average salary the district publishes (its salary schedule gives pay); benefits are left out, and states book salaries differently, so compare districts within one state. For pay, the National Education Association put the average New York teacher salary at $92,222 in 2021-22 (NCES Digest table 211.60).

ProgramTeacher salariesShare
Regular programs$4,048,00077.6%
Special education$987,00018.9%
Other programs$181,0003.5%

Teacher salaries per student, fiscal years 2018-19 to 2022-23

The district's teacher salary bill divided by its fall enrollment each year: $7,701 in 2018-19, $7,675 in 2019-20, $8,108 in 2020-21, $7,669 in 2021-22, $7,976 in 2022-23.

Westfield Academy and Central School teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $7,701, 2019-20: $7,675, 2020-21: $8,108, 2021-22: $7,669, 2022-23: $7,97602.5k5k7.5k10k2018-19$7,7012019-20$7,6752020-21$8,1082021-22$7,6692022-23$7,976
Westfield Academy and Central School teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $7,701, 2019-20: $7,675, 2020-21: $8,108, 2021-22: $7,669, 2022-23: $7,97602.5k5k7.5k10k2018-19$7,7012019-20$7,6752020-21$8,1082021-22$7,6692022-23$7,976
Westfield Academy and Central School teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $7,701, 2019-20: $7,675, 2020-21: $8,108, 2021-22: $7,669, 2022-23: $7,97602.5k5k7.5k10k2018-19$7,7012019-20$7,6752020-21$8,1082021-22$7,6692022-23$7,976
Westfield Academy and Central School teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $7,701, 2019-20: $7,675, 2020-21: $8,108, 2021-22: $7,669, 2022-23: $7,97602.5k5k7.5k10k2018-19$7,7012019-20$7,6752020-21$8,1082021-22$7,6692022-23$7,976

Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal years 2019 to 2023: teacher salaries in regular, special, vocational and other programs (Z35 to Z38) and fall membership (V33); NCES Common Core of Data LEA staff file 2022-23, teachers (full-time equivalent).

State test results, 2021-22

In 2021-22, the students tested in Westfield Academy and Central School scored proficient or above: 44-53% in reading and 48-57% in math, against 47% in reading and 40% in math across New York. Each state writes its own test and sets its own proficiency bar, so compare these within New York, not across states. Where a state published results by grade only, the grades tested are combined, weighted by the students tested in each.

Students proficient or above, 2021-22
SubjectThis districtNew YorkStudents tested
Reading and language arts44-53%47%251
Math48-57%40%236

Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results 2021-22, all students, from ED Data Express (the Data Rescue Project archive; ED has no 2022-23 result for this district): ED shows district results as ranges (for example 20-24%) to protect small groups.

Graduation rate, class of 2023

70-79% of the 48 students in Westfield Academy and Central School's class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 87.2% across New York. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out, and counts those who earned a regular diploma by 2023. Every state computes it the same way under federal law, though each sets its own diploma requirements.

Four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rate, class of 2023
This districtNew York
Four-year graduation rate70‑79%87.2%
Students in the class48202,009

Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates 2022-23, all students, from ED Data Express: ED shows district rates as ranges (for example 90-94%) and leaves out small classes.

1 elementary school, 288 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Westfield Elementary School2888.769.1%Schoolwide program

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

2 high schools, 336 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Westfield High School2038.447.8%Targeted program
Westfield Middle School1339.057.9%Targeted program

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

Contact Westfield Academy and Central School

Source: NCES Common Core of Data, local education agency directory 2024-25. Enrollment, boundaries and school assignment are the district's to confirm.

What to look at next about Westfield Academy and Central School

  1. New York districts by spending per studentWestfield Academy and Central School ranks 245 of 540 New York districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022 on current spending per student in fiscal year 2022-23 ($27,258).#245 of 540
  2. Every school district in New YorkWestfield Academy and Central School is the number 663 by size of 1,104 New York districts, with 654 students in fall 2022 (F-33).#663 of 1,104
  3. The Renaissance Charter SchoolsThe next larger New York district: 655 students in fall 2022, $26,307 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$26,307
  4. Democracy Prep Endurance Charter SchoolThe next smaller New York district: 653 students in fall 2022, $30,640 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$30,640
  5. Compare Westfield Academy and Central School with The Renaissance Charter SchoolsEnrollment, spending, revenue sources and schools, side by side.
  6. Westfield High School, its largest high school203 students in 2024-25, 8.4 per teacher.203
  7. Teacher salary spending across New YorkWestfield Academy and Central School spent $78,732 in salaries per full-time teacher in fiscal year 2022-23 (state median $80,291); spending, not a salary.$78,732
  8. Find the school district for an addressA home's district decides which public schools it can enroll in.

Source: NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23 (spending per student and fall 2022 membership; ranks among the state's districts that reported them); NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (schools).

Questions about Westfield Academy and Central School

  1. How many schools and students are in Westfield Academy and Central School?
    3 schools were open in 2024-25 (1 elementary, 2 high), enrolling 624 students, according to the NCES Common Core of Data.
  2. How much does Westfield Academy and Central School spend per student?
    $27,258 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), which leaves out construction and debt; the New York median for districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022 is $26,657 and the U.S. figure is $16,260. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $27,567 per student, up 1.1% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year).
  3. Where does Westfield Academy and Central School's money come from?
    $20,502,000 in revenue in fiscal year 2022-23: 57.4% state, 32.2% local and 10.4% federal (NCES F-33).
  4. How many children in Westfield Academy and Central School live in poverty?
    The Census Bureau estimates that 120 of the 645 children aged 5 to 17 living within the district's boundaries in 2024, 18.6%, were in families in poverty (Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates). It is a model-based estimate for everyone living in the district, not a count of its students; the free-meal shares in the school tables are counts of enrolled students.
  5. How much does Westfield Academy and Central School spend on teacher salaries?
    $5,216,000 in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), or $7,976 per student. Divided by the 66 full-time teachers in the NCES Common Core of Data for 2022-23 that is $78,732 per teacher, more than 45 in 100 New York districts (state median $80,291). That is spending, not what a teacher is paid: the salary lines and the teacher count come from different files, and the result can differ widely from the average salary a district publishes. The district's salary schedule gives pay. For pay, the National Education Association put the average New York teacher salary at $92,222 in 2021-22 (NCES Digest table 211.60).
  6. How do students in Westfield Academy and Central School do on state tests?
    In 2021-22, the students tested in Westfield Academy and Central School scored proficient or above: 44-53% in reading and 48-57% in math, against 47% in reading and 40% in math across New York. New York's own test sets what proficient means, so results compare within the state, not across states. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22.
  7. What is the graduation rate in Westfield Academy and Central School?
    70-79% of the 48 students in Westfield Academy and Central School's class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 87.2% across New York. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23.
  8. What is Westfield Academy and Central School's NCES district ID?
    3630990. Each of its schools' 12-digit NCES IDs begins with these seven digits.

Reading these figures: how to choose a school district, what Title I means and what an absenteeism rate means. They are for information and are not a substitute for the school's or district's own records.

Sources

Every federal file behind this record
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2024-25: directory, membership, staff and lunch files. nces.ed.gov
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2021-22 school characteristics: Title I status. nces.ed.gov
  • Civil Rights Data Collection, 2021-22: AP courses, gifted programs, counselors, discipline. civilrightsdata.ed.gov
  • EDFacts, 2022-23: chronic absenteeism. ed.gov
  • EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23: the class of 2023 for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
  • EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22: reading and math proficiency for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
  • NCES Digest of Education Statistics, table 211.60 (2021-22): the state's average teacher salary, from the National Education Association. nces.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau, Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates, 2024: children aged 5 to 17 and those in families in poverty, by school district. census.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances, fiscal year 2023-24: per pupil current spending for 2023-24 and 2022-23. census.gov
  • NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey, fiscal year 2022-23: district spending and revenue. nces.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau geocoder and TIGER school districts: the district boundary used by the district finder. census.gov

Source: U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances Per pupil current spending by school system · FY 2023-24

Source: NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey Revenue and expenditures by district · FY 2022-23

Source: NCES Common Core of Data School directory, membership, staff and lunch files · 2024-25