West Harrison Comm School District
Public school district · Harrison County · Iowa · NCES district ID 1930960
West Harrison Comm School District spent $16,515 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23, more than 89% of the other Iowa districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022 (median $13,276). Its 2 schools enrolled 282 students in 2024-25; 41.0% of its revenue came from the state. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $16,674 per student, up 1.0% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year). Its four-year graduation rate for the class of 2023 was 80% or more (Iowa: 87.5%).
NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23 · Census Bureau school finances 2023-24 · NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 · method
Spending per student among Iowa districts of similar size
Current spending per student excludes construction and debt. The 9 districts closest to West Harrison Comm in enrollment (290 to 330 students) and West Harrison Comm itself.
Where the money came from
$6,474,000 in revenue: 41.0% state, 52.3% local and 6.7% federal. Total spending including $588,000 of capital outlay was $6,594,000, or $21,340 per student; the figure above leaves capital out.
- State$2,655,000 41%
- Local$3,386,000 52%
- Federal$433,000 7%
Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23: current expenditures for elementary and secondary education divided by fall membership; the state median covers 202 districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022. Revenue by source (TOTALREV, TFEDREV, TSTREV, TLOCREV).
Enrollment fell from 2022-23 to 2024-25
309 students in 2022-23, 298 students in 2023-24, 282 students in 2024-25, counted across the schools that reported each year.
Teachers and students per teacher
| School year | Students | Teachers (FTE) | Per teacher |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2022-23 | 309 | 20.2 | 15.3 |
| 2023-24 | 298 | 20.5 | 14.5 |
| 2024-25 | 282 | 19.2 | 14.7 |
Source: NCES Common Core of Data membership and staff files, 2022-23, 2023-24, 2024-25; sums over the schools reporting each year.
$1,697,000 in teacher salaries in fiscal year 2022-23, $5,492 per student
West Harrison Comm School District booked $1,697,000 of teacher salaries in its 2022-23 finance report and counted 23 full-time teachers in its Common Core of Data district staff file for 2022-23 (the school files behind the staffing figures on this page count teachers separately, so the two can differ), or $73,210 of salary spending per teacher. That is more than 93 in 100 Iowa districts with a figure (state median $63,361, 318 districts). It is spending, not what a teacher is paid: the salary lines and the teacher count come from different files, so the result can differ widely from the average salary the district publishes (its salary schedule gives pay); benefits are left out, and states book salaries differently, so compare districts within one state. For pay, the National Education Association put the average Iowa teacher salary at $59,262 in 2021-22 (NCES Digest table 211.60).
| Program | Teacher salaries | Share |
|---|---|---|
| Regular programs | $1,032,000 | 60.8% |
| Special education | $221,000 | 13.0% |
| Vocational | $156,000 | 9.2% |
| Other programs | $288,000 | 17.0% |
Teacher salaries per student, fiscal years 2018-19 to 2022-23
The district's teacher salary bill divided by its fall enrollment each year: $4,543 in 2018-19, $4,902 in 2019-20, $5,368 in 2020-21, $5,517 in 2021-22, $5,492 in 2022-23.
Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal years 2019 to 2023: teacher salaries in regular, special, vocational and other programs (Z35 to Z38) and fall membership (V33); NCES Common Core of Data LEA staff file 2022-23, teachers (full-time equivalent).
State test results, 2021-22
In 2021-22, the students tested in West Harrison Comm School District scored proficient or above: 65-69% in reading and 60-64% in math, against 69.7% in reading and 63.8% in math across Iowa. Each state writes its own test and sets its own proficiency bar, so compare these within Iowa, not across states.
| Subject | This district | Iowa | Students tested |
|---|---|---|---|
| Reading and language arts | 65-69% | 69.7% | 182 |
| Math | 60-64% | 63.8% | 182 |
Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results 2021-22, all students, from ED Data Express (the Data Rescue Project archive; ED has no 2022-23 result for this district): ED shows district results as ranges (for example 20-24%) to protect small groups.
Graduation rate, class of 2023
80% or more of the 19 students in West Harrison Comm School District's class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 87.5% across Iowa. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out, and counts those who earned a regular diploma by 2023. Every state computes it the same way under federal law, though each sets its own diploma requirements.
| This district | Iowa | |
|---|---|---|
| Four-year graduation rate | 80% or more | 87.5% |
| Students in the class | 19 | 38,026 |
Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates 2022-23, all students, from ED Data Express: ED shows district rates as ranges (for example 90-94%) and leaves out small classes.
1 elementary school, 126 students
| School | Students | Per teacher | Free lunch | Title I, 2021‑22 |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| West Harrison Elementary | 126 | 14.0 | 44.4% | Targeted program |
Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.
1 high school, 156 students
| School | Students | Per teacher | Free lunch | Title I, 2021‑22 |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| West Harrison Middle School/High School | 156 | 15.2 | 38.5% | Eligible, no program |
Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.
Contact West Harrison Comm School District
- Website: w-harrison.k12.ia.us
- Phone: (712) 646-2231
- Office: 410 Pine St, Mondamin, IA 51557
Source: NCES Common Core of Data, local education agency directory 2024-25. Enrollment, boundaries and school assignment are the district's to confirm.
What to look at next about West Harrison Comm School District
- Iowa districts by spending per studentWest Harrison Comm School District ranks 23 of 202 Iowa districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022 on current spending per student in fiscal year 2022-23 ($16,515).#23 of 202
- Every school district in IowaWest Harrison Comm School District is the number 292 by size of 328 Iowa districts, with 309 students in fall 2022 (F-33).#292 of 328
- Remsen-Union Comm School DistrictThe next larger Iowa district: 310 students in fall 2022, $15,626 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$15,626
- H-L-V Comm School DistrictThe next smaller Iowa district: 303 students in fall 2022, $16,964 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$16,964
- Compare West Harrison Comm School District with Remsen-Union Comm School DistrictEnrollment, spending, revenue sources and schools, side by side.
- West Harrison Middle School/High School, its largest high school156 students in 2024-25, 15.2 per teacher.156
- Teacher salary spending across IowaWest Harrison Comm School District spent $73,210 in salaries per full-time teacher in fiscal year 2022-23 (state median $63,361); spending, not a salary.$73,210
- Find the school district for an addressA home's district decides which public schools it can enroll in.
Source: NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23 (spending per student and fall 2022 membership; ranks among the state's districts that reported them); NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (schools).
Questions about West Harrison Comm School District
How many schools and students are in West Harrison Comm School District?
2 schools were open in 2024-25 (1 elementary, 1 high), enrolling 282 students, according to the NCES Common Core of Data.How much does West Harrison Comm School District spend per student?
$16,515 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), which leaves out construction and debt; the Iowa median for districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022 is $13,276 and the U.S. figure is $16,260. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $16,674 per student, up 1.0% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year).Where does West Harrison Comm School District's money come from?
$6,474,000 in revenue in fiscal year 2022-23: 41.0% state, 52.3% local and 6.7% federal (NCES F-33).How many children in West Harrison Comm School District live in poverty?
The Census Bureau estimates that 47 of the 431 children aged 5 to 17 living within the district's boundaries in 2024, 10.9%, were in families in poverty (Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates). It is a model-based estimate for everyone living in the district, not a count of its students; the free-meal shares in the school tables are counts of enrolled students.How much does West Harrison Comm School District spend on teacher salaries?
$1,697,000 in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), or $5,492 per student. Divided by the 23 full-time teachers in the NCES Common Core of Data for 2022-23 that is $73,210 per teacher, more than 93 in 100 Iowa districts (state median $63,361). That is spending, not what a teacher is paid: the salary lines and the teacher count come from different files, and the result can differ widely from the average salary a district publishes. The district's salary schedule gives pay. For pay, the National Education Association put the average Iowa teacher salary at $59,262 in 2021-22 (NCES Digest table 211.60).How do students in West Harrison Comm School District do on state tests?
In 2021-22, the students tested in West Harrison Comm School District scored proficient or above: 65-69% in reading and 60-64% in math, against 69.7% in reading and 63.8% in math across Iowa. Iowa's own test sets what proficient means, so results compare within the state, not across states. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22.What is the graduation rate in West Harrison Comm School District?
80% or more of the 19 students in West Harrison Comm School District's class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 87.5% across Iowa. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23.What is West Harrison Comm School District's NCES district ID?
1930960. Each of its schools' 12-digit NCES IDs begins with these seven digits.
Reading these figures: how to choose a school district, what Title I means and what an absenteeism rate means. They are for information and are not a substitute for the school's or district's own records.
Sources
Every federal file behind this record
- NCES Common Core of Data, 2024-25: directory, membership, staff and lunch files. nces.ed.gov
- NCES Common Core of Data, 2021-22 school characteristics: Title I status. nces.ed.gov
- Civil Rights Data Collection, 2021-22: AP courses, gifted programs, counselors, discipline. civilrightsdata.ed.gov
- EDFacts, 2022-23: chronic absenteeism. ed.gov
- EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23: the class of 2023 for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
- EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22: reading and math proficiency for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
- NCES Digest of Education Statistics, table 211.60 (2021-22): the state's average teacher salary, from the National Education Association. nces.ed.gov
- U.S. Census Bureau, Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates, 2024: children aged 5 to 17 and those in families in poverty, by school district. census.gov
- U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances, fiscal year 2023-24: per pupil current spending for 2023-24 and 2022-23. census.gov
- NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey, fiscal year 2022-23: district spending and revenue. nces.ed.gov
- U.S. Census Bureau geocoder and TIGER school districts: the district boundary used by the district finder. census.gov
Source: U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances Per pupil current spending by school system · FY 2023-24
Source: NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey Revenue and expenditures by district · FY 2022-23
Source: NCES Common Core of Data School directory, membership, staff and lunch files · 2024-25