Warren-Alvarado-Oslo School Dist.

Public school district · Marshall County · Minnesota · NCES district ID 2700024

Warren-Alvarado-Oslo School Dist. spent $14,862 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23, below the middle: 54% of the other Minnesota districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022 spent more (median $15,094). Its 2 schools enrolled 589 students in 2024-25; 63.0% of its revenue came from the state. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $16,576 per student, up 11.5% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year). Its four-year graduation rate for the class of 2023 was 90% or more (Minnesota: 83.3%).

Spending per student among Minnesota districts of similar size

Current spending per student excludes construction and debt. The 9 districts closest to Warren-Alvarado-Oslo School Dist. in enrollment (573 to 599 students) and Warren-Alvarado-Oslo School Dist. itself.

Current spending per student, Minnesota districts closest in size to Warren-Alvarado-Oslo School Dist., FY23Nashwauk-Keewatin $15,096; Warren-Alvarado-Oslo School Dist. $14,862; Adrian Independent School District 511 $14,567; Renville County West Public Schools $14,472; Fillmore Central Schools $14,087; Sleepy Eye Public Schools $14,041; Springfield School District 85 $13,227; Nevis Public School $13,054; North Lakes Academy $11,426; Noble Academy $11,297; State median, under 1,000 students $15,094.10k12k14k16kNashwauk-Keewatin$15,096Warren-Alvarado-Oslo School Di…$14,862Adrian Independent School Dist…$14,567Renville County West Public Sc…$14,472Fillmore Central Schools$14,087Sleepy Eye Public Schools$14,041Springfield School District 85$13,227Nevis Public School$13,054North Lakes Academy$11,426Noble Academy$11,297State median, under 1,000 students $15,094
Current spending per student, Minnesota districts closest in size to Warren-Alvarado-Oslo School Dist., FY23Nashwauk-Keewatin $15,096; Warren-Alvarado-Oslo School Dist. $14,862; Adrian Independent School District 511 $14,567; Renville County West Public Schools $14,472; Fillmore Central Schools $14,087; Sleepy Eye Public Schools $14,041; Springfield School District 85 $13,227; Nevis Public School $13,054; North Lakes Academy $11,426; Noble Academy $11,297; State median, under 1,000 students $15,094.10k12k14k16kNashwauk-Keewatin$15,096Warren-Alvarado-Oslo School Dist.$14,862Adrian Independent School District …$14,567Renville County West Public Schools$14,472Fillmore Central Schools$14,087Sleepy Eye Public Schools$14,041Springfield School District 85$13,227Nevis Public School$13,054North Lakes Academy$11,426Noble Academy$11,297State median, under 1,000 students $15,094
Current spending per student, Minnesota districts closest in size to Warren-Alvarado-Oslo School Dist., FY23Nashwauk-Keewatin $15,096; Warren-Alvarado-Oslo School Dist. $14,862; Adrian Independent School District 511 $14,567; Renville County West Public Schools $14,472; Fillmore Central Schools $14,087; Sleepy Eye Public Schools $14,041; Springfield School District 85 $13,227; Nevis Public School $13,054; North Lakes Academy $11,426; Noble Academy $11,297; State median, under 1,000 students $15,094.10k12k14k16kNashwauk-Keewatin$15,096Warren-Alvarado-Oslo School Dist.$14,862Adrian Independent School District 511$14,567Renville County West Public Schools$14,472Fillmore Central Schools$14,087Sleepy Eye Public Schools$14,041Springfield School District 85$13,227Nevis Public School$13,054North Lakes Academy$11,426Noble Academy$11,297State median, under 1,000 students $15,094
Current spending per student, Minnesota districts closest in size to Warren-Alvarado-Oslo School Dist., FY23Nashwauk-Keewatin $15,096; Warren-Alvarado-Oslo School Dist. $14,862; Adrian Independent School District 511 $14,567; Renville County West Public Schools $14,472; Fillmore Central Schools $14,087; Sleepy Eye Public Schools $14,041; Springfield School District 85 $13,227; Nevis Public School $13,054; North Lakes Academy $11,426; Noble Academy $11,297; State median, under 1,000 students $15,094.10k12k14k16kNashwauk-Keewatin$15,096Warren-Alvarado-Oslo School Dist.$14,862Adrian Independent School District 511$14,567Renville County West Public Schools$14,472Fillmore Central Schools$14,087Sleepy Eye Public Schools$14,041Springfield School District 85$13,227Nevis Public School$13,054North Lakes Academy$11,426Noble Academy$11,297State median, under 1,000 students $15,094

Where the money came from

$10,393,000 in revenue: 63.0% state, 25.4% local and 11.6% federal. Total spending including $2,530,000 of capital outlay was $11,646,000, or $19,908 per student; the figure above leaves capital out.

Warren-Alvarado-Oslo School Dist. revenue by source, fiscal year 2022-23State $6,545,000; Local $2,645,000; Federal $1,203,000; total $10,393,000.
  • State$6,545,000 63%
  • Local$2,645,000 25%
  • Federal$1,203,000 12%

Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23: current expenditures for elementary and secondary education divided by fall membership; the state median covers 346 districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022. Revenue by source (TOTALREV, TFEDREV, TSTREV, TLOCREV).

Enrollment held steady from 2022-23 to 2024-25

585 students in 2022-23, 580 students in 2023-24, 589 students in 2024-25, counted across the schools that reported each year.

Warren-Alvarado-Oslo School Dist. enrollment by school year2022-23: 585, 2023-24: 580, 2024-25: 58902004006002022-235852023-245802024-25589
Warren-Alvarado-Oslo School Dist. enrollment by school year2022-23: 585, 2023-24: 580, 2024-25: 58902004006002022-235852023-245802024-25589
Warren-Alvarado-Oslo School Dist. enrollment by school year2022-23: 585, 2023-24: 580, 2024-25: 58902004006002022-235852023-245802024-25589
Warren-Alvarado-Oslo School Dist. enrollment by school year2022-23: 585, 2023-24: 580, 2024-25: 58902004006002022-235852023-245802024-25589

Teachers and students per teacher

School yearStudentsTeachers (FTE)Per teacher
2022-2358543.913.3
2023-2458039.814.6
2024-2558936.316.2

Source: NCES Common Core of Data membership and staff files, 2022-23, 2023-24, 2024-25; sums over the schools reporting each year.

$2,544,000 in teacher salaries in fiscal year 2022-23, $4,349 per student

Warren-Alvarado-Oslo School Dist. booked $2,544,000 of teacher salaries in its 2022-23 finance report and counted 45 full-time teachers in its Common Core of Data district staff file for 2022-23 (the school files behind the staffing figures on this page count teachers separately, so the two can differ), or $56,684 of salary spending per teacher. That is more than 27 in 100 Minnesota districts with a figure (state median $62,418, 464 districts). It is spending, not what a teacher is paid: the salary lines and the teacher count come from different files, so the result can differ widely from the average salary the district publishes (its salary schedule gives pay); benefits are left out, and states book salaries differently, so compare districts within one state. For pay, the National Education Association put the average Minnesota teacher salary at $68,491 in 2021-22 (NCES Digest table 211.60).

ProgramTeacher salariesShare
Regular programs$1,941,00076.3%
Special education$329,00012.9%
Vocational$100,0003.9%
Other programs$174,0006.8%

Teacher salaries per student, fiscal years 2018-19 to 2022-23

The district's teacher salary bill divided by its fall enrollment each year: $4,287 in 2018-19, $4,204 in 2019-20, $4,978 in 2020-21, $4,752 in 2021-22, $4,349 in 2022-23.

Warren-Alvarado-Oslo School Dist. teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $4,287, 2019-20: $4,204, 2020-21: $4,978, 2021-22: $4,752, 2022-23: $4,34902k4k6k2018-19$4,2872019-20$4,2042020-21$4,9782021-22$4,7522022-23$4,349
Warren-Alvarado-Oslo School Dist. teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $4,287, 2019-20: $4,204, 2020-21: $4,978, 2021-22: $4,752, 2022-23: $4,34902k4k6k2018-19$4,2872019-20$4,2042020-21$4,9782021-22$4,7522022-23$4,349
Warren-Alvarado-Oslo School Dist. teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $4,287, 2019-20: $4,204, 2020-21: $4,978, 2021-22: $4,752, 2022-23: $4,34902k4k6k2018-19$4,2872019-20$4,2042020-21$4,9782021-22$4,7522022-23$4,349
Warren-Alvarado-Oslo School Dist. teacher salaries per student by fiscal year2018-19: $4,287, 2019-20: $4,204, 2020-21: $4,978, 2021-22: $4,752, 2022-23: $4,34902k4k6k2018-19$4,2872019-20$4,2042020-21$4,9782021-22$4,7522022-23$4,349

Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal years 2019 to 2023: teacher salaries in regular, special, vocational and other programs (Z35 to Z38) and fall membership (V33); NCES Common Core of Data LEA staff file 2022-23, teachers (full-time equivalent).

State test results, 2021-22

In 2021-22, the students tested in Warren-Alvarado-Oslo School Dist. scored proficient or above: 51% in reading and 42% in math, against 51.1% in reading and 44.8% in math across Minnesota. Each state writes its own test and sets its own proficiency bar, so compare these within Minnesota, not across states.

Students proficient or above, 2021-22
SubjectThis districtMinnesotaStudents tested
Reading and language arts51%51.1%241
Math42%44.8%252

Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results 2021-22, all students, from ED Data Express (the Data Rescue Project archive; ED has no 2022-23 result for this district): ED shows district results as ranges (for example 20-24%) to protect small groups.

Graduation rate, class of 2023

90% or more of the 48 students in Warren-Alvarado-Oslo School Dist.'s class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 83.3% across Minnesota. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out, and counts those who earned a regular diploma by 2023. Every state computes it the same way under federal law, though each sets its own diploma requirements.

Four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rate, class of 2023
This districtMinnesota
Four-year graduation rate90% or more83.3%
Students in the class4869,945

Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates 2022-23, all students, from ED Data Express: ED shows district rates as ranges (for example 90-94%) and leaves out small classes.

1 elementary school, 316 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Warren Elementary31613.236.4%Targeted program

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

1 high school, 273 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
Warren-Alvarado-Oslo Secondary27322.031.5%Eligible, no program

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

Contact Warren-Alvarado-Oslo School Dist.

Source: NCES Common Core of Data, local education agency directory 2024-25. Enrollment, boundaries and school assignment are the district's to confirm.

What to look at next about Warren-Alvarado-Oslo School Dist.

  1. Minnesota districts by spending per studentWarren-Alvarado-Oslo School Dist. ranks 188 of 346 Minnesota districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022 on current spending per student in fiscal year 2022-23 ($14,862).#188 of 346
  2. Every school district in MinnesotaWarren-Alvarado-Oslo School Dist. is the number 267 by size of 543 Minnesota districts, with 585 students in fall 2022 (F-33).#267 of 543
  3. Fillmore Central SchoolsThe next larger Minnesota district: 589 students in fall 2022, $14,087 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$14,087
  4. Nashwauk-Keewatin School DistrictThe next smaller Minnesota district: 581 students in fall 2022, $15,096 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$15,096
  5. Compare Warren-Alvarado-Oslo School Dist. with Fillmore Central SchoolsEnrollment, spending, revenue sources and schools, side by side.
  6. Warren-Alvarado-Oslo Secondary, its largest high school273 students in 2024-25, 22.0 per teacher.273
  7. Teacher salary spending across MinnesotaWarren-Alvarado-Oslo School Dist. spent $56,684 in salaries per full-time teacher in fiscal year 2022-23 (state median $62,418); spending, not a salary.$56,684
  8. Find the school district for an addressA home's district decides which public schools it can enroll in.

Source: NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23 (spending per student and fall 2022 membership; ranks among the state's districts that reported them); NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (schools).

Questions about Warren-Alvarado-Oslo School Dist.

  1. How many schools and students are in Warren-Alvarado-Oslo School Dist.?
    2 schools were open in 2024-25 (1 elementary, 1 high), enrolling 589 students, according to the NCES Common Core of Data.
  2. How much does Warren-Alvarado-Oslo School Dist. spend per student?
    $14,862 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), which leaves out construction and debt; the Minnesota median for districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022 is $15,094 and the U.S. figure is $16,260. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $16,576 per student, up 11.5% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year).
  3. Where does Warren-Alvarado-Oslo School Dist.'s money come from?
    $10,393,000 in revenue in fiscal year 2022-23: 63.0% state, 25.4% local and 11.6% federal (NCES F-33).
  4. How many children in Warren-Alvarado-Oslo School Dist. live in poverty?
    The Census Bureau estimates that 55 of the 676 children aged 5 to 17 living within the district's boundaries in 2024, 8.1%, were in families in poverty (Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates). It is a model-based estimate for everyone living in the district, not a count of its students; the free-meal shares in the school tables are counts of enrolled students.
  5. How much does Warren-Alvarado-Oslo School Dist. spend on teacher salaries?
    $2,544,000 in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), or $4,349 per student. Divided by the 45 full-time teachers in the NCES Common Core of Data for 2022-23 that is $56,684 per teacher, more than 27 in 100 Minnesota districts (state median $62,418). That is spending, not what a teacher is paid: the salary lines and the teacher count come from different files, and the result can differ widely from the average salary a district publishes. The district's salary schedule gives pay. For pay, the National Education Association put the average Minnesota teacher salary at $68,491 in 2021-22 (NCES Digest table 211.60).
  6. How do students in Warren-Alvarado-Oslo School Dist. do on state tests?
    In 2021-22, the students tested in Warren-Alvarado-Oslo School Dist. scored proficient or above: 51% in reading and 42% in math, against 51.1% in reading and 44.8% in math across Minnesota. Minnesota's own test sets what proficient means, so results compare within the state, not across states. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22.
  7. What is the graduation rate in Warren-Alvarado-Oslo School Dist.?
    90% or more of the 48 students in Warren-Alvarado-Oslo School Dist.'s class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 83.3% across Minnesota. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23.
  8. What is Warren-Alvarado-Oslo School Dist.'s NCES district ID?
    2700024. Each of its schools' 12-digit NCES IDs begins with these seven digits.

Reading these figures: how to choose a school district, what Title I means and what an absenteeism rate means. They are for information and are not a substitute for the school's or district's own records.

Sources

Every federal file behind this record
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2024-25: directory, membership, staff and lunch files. nces.ed.gov
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2021-22 school characteristics: Title I status. nces.ed.gov
  • Civil Rights Data Collection, 2021-22: AP courses, gifted programs, counselors, discipline. civilrightsdata.ed.gov
  • EDFacts, 2022-23: chronic absenteeism. ed.gov
  • EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23: the class of 2023 for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
  • EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22: reading and math proficiency for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
  • NCES Digest of Education Statistics, table 211.60 (2021-22): the state's average teacher salary, from the National Education Association. nces.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau, Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates, 2024: children aged 5 to 17 and those in families in poverty, by school district. census.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances, fiscal year 2023-24: per pupil current spending for 2023-24 and 2022-23. census.gov
  • NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey, fiscal year 2022-23: district spending and revenue. nces.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau geocoder and TIGER school districts: the district boundary used by the district finder. census.gov

Source: U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances Per pupil current spending by school system · FY 2023-24

Source: NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey Revenue and expenditures by district · FY 2022-23

Source: NCES Common Core of Data School directory, membership, staff and lunch files · 2024-25