Vallecito Union
Public school district · Calaveras County · California · NCES district ID 0640680
Vallecito Union spent $17,854 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23, more than 51% of the other California districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022 (median $17,666). Its 3 schools enrolled 597 students in 2024-25; 23.4% of its revenue came from the state. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $20,247 per student, up 13.4% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year).
NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23 · Census Bureau school finances 2023-24 · NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 · method
Spending per student among California districts of similar size
Current spending per student excludes construction and debt. The 9 districts closest to Vallecito Union in enrollment (583 to 596 students) and Vallecito Union itself.
Where the money came from
$13,278,000 in revenue: 23.4% state, 67.9% local and 8.6% federal. Total spending was $11,971,000, or $20,290 per student; the district reported no capital outlay that year.
- State$3,108,000 23%
- Local$9,022,000 68%
- Federal$1,148,000 9%
Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23: current expenditures for elementary and secondary education divided by fall membership; the state median covers 1,238 districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022. Revenue by source (TOTALREV, TFEDREV, TSTREV, TLOCREV).
Enrollment rose from 2022-23 to 2024-25
590 students in 2022-23, 580 students in 2023-24, 597 students in 2024-25, counted across the schools that reported each year.
Teachers and students per teacher
| School year | Students | Teachers (FTE) | Per teacher |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2022-23 | 590 | 31.0 | 19.1 |
| 2023-24 | 580 | 31.4 | 18.5 |
| 2024-25 | 597 | 30.9 | 19.3 |
Source: NCES Common Core of Data membership and staff files, 2022-23, 2023-24, 2024-25; sums over the schools reporting each year.
$2,834,000 in teacher salaries in fiscal year 2022-23, $4,803 per student
Vallecito Union booked $2,834,000 of teacher salaries in its 2022-23 finance report and counted 31 full-time teachers in its Common Core of Data district staff file for 2022-23 (the school files behind the staffing figures on this page count teachers separately, so the two can differ), or $91,537 of salary spending per teacher. That is more than 36 in 100 California districts with a figure (state median $99,744, 1,149 districts). It is spending, not what a teacher is paid: the salary lines and the teacher count come from different files, so the result can differ widely from the average salary the district publishes (its salary schedule gives pay); benefits are left out, and states book salaries differently, so compare districts within one state. For pay, the National Education Association put the average California teacher salary at $87,275 in 2021-22 (NCES Digest table 211.60).
| Program | Teacher salaries | Share |
|---|---|---|
| Regular programs | $2,522,000 | 89.0% |
| Special education | $312,000 | 11.0% |
Teacher salaries per student, fiscal years 2018-19 to 2022-23
The district's teacher salary bill divided by its fall enrollment each year: $4,348 in 2018-19, $4,007 in 2019-20, $4,287 in 2020-21, $4,759 in 2021-22, $4,803 in 2022-23.
Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal years 2019 to 2023: teacher salaries in regular, special, vocational and other programs (Z35 to Z38) and fall membership (V33); NCES Common Core of Data LEA staff file 2022-23, teachers (full-time equivalent).
State test results, 2021-22
In 2021-22, the students tested in Vallecito Union scored proficient or above: 51-57% in reading and 39-45% in math, against 45% in reading and 34% in math across California. Each state writes its own test and sets its own proficiency bar, so compare these within California, not across states. Where a state published results by grade only, the grades tested are combined, weighted by the students tested in each.
| Subject | This district | California | Students tested |
|---|---|---|---|
| Reading and language arts | 51-57% | 45% | 362 |
| Math | 39-45% | 34% | 361 |
Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results 2021-22, all students, from ED Data Express (the Data Rescue Project archive; ED has no 2022-23 result for this district): ED shows district results as ranges (for example 20-24%) to protect small groups.
2 elementary schools, 398 students
| School | Students | Per teacher | Free lunch | Title I, 2021‑22 |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Albert A. Michelson Elementary | 226 | 18.8 | 41.2% | Not reported |
| Hazel Fischer Elementary | 172 | 22.6 | 40.1% | Not reported |
Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.
1 middle school, 199 students
| School | Students | Per teacher | Free lunch | Title I, 2021‑22 |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Avery Middle | 199 | 17.6 | 41.2% | Not reported |
Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.
One more school on file: small, closed or in an earlier directory
These records carry fewer federal fields than a full school page needs, so each is summarized here with what NCES reports.
Vallecito Independent Study (Alternative)
Elementary school in Avery; last listed in the 2024-25 NCES directory (closed); 3 students.
Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 and earlier directories: the last year each school was listed, its students and its teachers.
Contact Vallecito Union
- Website: vallecitok12.com
- Phone: (209) 795-8500
- Office: 4545 B Moran Rd., Avery, CA 95224
Source: NCES Common Core of Data, local education agency directory 2024-25. Enrollment, boundaries and school assignment are the district's to confirm.
What to look at next about Vallecito Union
- California districts by spending per studentVallecito Union ranks 605 of 1,238 California districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022 on current spending per student in fiscal year 2022-23 ($17,854).#605 of 1,238
- Every school district in CaliforniaVallecito Union is the number 867 by size of 1,991 California districts, with 590 students in fall 2022 (F-33).#867 of 1,991
- Aspire Richmond Ca. College Preparatory Academy DistrictThe next larger California district: 591 students in fall 2022, $16,866 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$16,866
- Lennox Mathematics Science and Technology Academy DistrictThe next smaller California district: 583 students in fall 2022, $15,719 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$15,719
- Compare Vallecito Union with Aspire Richmond Ca. College Preparatory Academy DistrictEnrollment, spending, revenue sources and schools, side by side.
- Teacher salary spending across CaliforniaVallecito Union spent $91,537 in salaries per full-time teacher in fiscal year 2022-23 (state median $99,744); spending, not a salary.$91,537
- Find the school district for an addressA home's district decides which public schools it can enroll in.
Source: NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23 (spending per student and fall 2022 membership; ranks among the state's districts that reported them); NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (schools).
Questions about Vallecito Union
How many schools and students are in Vallecito Union?
3 schools were open in 2024-25 (2 elementary, 1 middle), enrolling 597 students, according to the NCES Common Core of Data.How much does Vallecito Union spend per student?
$17,854 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), which leaves out construction and debt; the California median for districts with fewer than 1,000 students in fall 2022 is $17,666 and the U.S. figure is $16,260. Census Bureau figures for 2023-24 put it at $20,247 per student, up 13.4% on the year before (U.S. $17,619 that year).Where does Vallecito Union's money come from?
$13,278,000 in revenue in fiscal year 2022-23: 23.4% state, 67.9% local and 8.6% federal (NCES F-33).How many children in Vallecito Union live in poverty?
The Census Bureau estimates that 133 of the 736 children aged 5 to 17 living within the district's boundaries in 2024, 18.1%, were in families in poverty (Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates). It is a model-based estimate for everyone living in the district, not a count of its students; the free-meal shares in the school tables are counts of enrolled students.How much does Vallecito Union spend on teacher salaries?
$2,834,000 in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), or $4,803 per student. Divided by the 31 full-time teachers in the NCES Common Core of Data for 2022-23 that is $91,537 per teacher, more than 36 in 100 California districts (state median $99,744). That is spending, not what a teacher is paid: the salary lines and the teacher count come from different files, and the result can differ widely from the average salary a district publishes. The district's salary schedule gives pay. For pay, the National Education Association put the average California teacher salary at $87,275 in 2021-22 (NCES Digest table 211.60).How do students in Vallecito Union do on state tests?
In 2021-22, the students tested in Vallecito Union scored proficient or above: 51-57% in reading and 39-45% in math, against 45% in reading and 34% in math across California. California's own test sets what proficient means, so results compare within the state, not across states. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22.What is Vallecito Union's NCES district ID?
0640680. Each of its schools' 12-digit NCES IDs begins with these seven digits.
Reading these figures: how to choose a school district, what Title I means and what an absenteeism rate means. They are for information and are not a substitute for the school's or district's own records.
Sources
Every federal file behind this record
- NCES Common Core of Data, 2024-25: directory, membership, staff and lunch files. nces.ed.gov
- NCES Common Core of Data, 2021-22 school characteristics: Title I status. nces.ed.gov
- Civil Rights Data Collection, 2021-22: AP courses, gifted programs, counselors, discipline. civilrightsdata.ed.gov
- EDFacts, 2022-23: chronic absenteeism. ed.gov
- EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22: reading and math proficiency for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
- NCES Digest of Education Statistics, table 211.60 (2021-22): the state's average teacher salary, from the National Education Association. nces.ed.gov
- U.S. Census Bureau, Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates, 2024: children aged 5 to 17 and those in families in poverty, by school district. census.gov
- U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances, fiscal year 2023-24: per pupil current spending for 2023-24 and 2022-23. census.gov
- NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey, fiscal year 2022-23: district spending and revenue. nces.ed.gov
- U.S. Census Bureau geocoder and TIGER school districts: the district boundary used by the district finder. census.gov
Source: U.S. Census Bureau, Annual Survey of School System Finances Per pupil current spending by school system · FY 2023-24
Source: NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey Revenue and expenditures by district · FY 2022-23
Source: NCES Common Core of Data School directory, membership, staff and lunch files · 2024-25