University Preparatory Academy (PSAD)

Public school district · Wayne County · Michigan · NCES district ID 2600956

University Preparatory Academy (PSAD) spent $13,271 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23, below the middle: 73% of the other Michigan districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 spent more (median $14,214). Its 4 schools enrolled 1,848 students in 2024-25; 72.2% of its revenue came from the state. Its four-year graduation rate for the class of 2023 was 95% or more (Michigan: 81.8%).

Spending per student among Michigan districts of similar size

Current spending per student excludes construction and debt. The 9 districts closest to University Preparatory Academy (PSAD) in enrollment (1,785 to 1,823 students) and University Preparatory Academy (PSAD) itself.

Current spending per student, Michigan districts closest in size to University Preparatory Academy (PSAD), FY23Clintondale Community Schools $18,162; Comstock Public Schools $15,581; Chippewa Hills $15,181; South Haven Public Schools $14,855; Dundee Community Schools $13,667; University Preparatory Academy (PSAD) $13,271; Shepherd Public Schools $12,837; Birch Run Area Schools $12,800; Swan Valley $11,828; Success Virtual Learning Centers of Michigan $10,024; State median, 1,000+ students $14,214.7.5k10k12.5k15k17.5k20kClintondale Community Schools$18,162Comstock Public Schools$15,581Chippewa Hills$15,181South Haven Public Schools$14,855Dundee Community Schools$13,667University Preparatory Academy…$13,271Shepherd Public Schools$12,837Birch Run Area Schools$12,800Swan Valley$11,828Success Virtual Learning Cente…$10,024State median, 1,000+ students $14,214
Current spending per student, Michigan districts closest in size to University Preparatory Academy (PSAD), FY23Clintondale Community Schools $18,162; Comstock Public Schools $15,581; Chippewa Hills $15,181; South Haven Public Schools $14,855; Dundee Community Schools $13,667; University Preparatory Academy (PSAD) $13,271; Shepherd Public Schools $12,837; Birch Run Area Schools $12,800; Swan Valley $11,828; Success Virtual Learning Centers of Michigan $10,024; State median, 1,000+ students $14,214.7.5k10k12.5k15k17.5k20kClintondale Community Schools$18,162Comstock Public Schools$15,581Chippewa Hills$15,181South Haven Public Schools$14,855Dundee Community Schools$13,667University Preparatory Academy (PSA…$13,271Shepherd Public Schools$12,837Birch Run Area Schools$12,800Swan Valley$11,828Success Virtual Learning Centers of…$10,024State median, 1,000+ students $14,214
Current spending per student, Michigan districts closest in size to University Preparatory Academy (PSAD), FY23Clintondale Community Schools $18,162; Comstock Public Schools $15,581; Chippewa Hills $15,181; South Haven Public Schools $14,855; Dundee Community Schools $13,667; University Preparatory Academy (PSAD) $13,271; Shepherd Public Schools $12,837; Birch Run Area Schools $12,800; Swan Valley $11,828; Success Virtual Learning Centers of Michigan $10,024; State median, 1,000+ students $14,214.7.5k12.5k17.5k20kClintondale Community Schools$18,162Comstock Public Schools$15,581Chippewa Hills$15,181South Haven Public Schools$14,855Dundee Community Schools$13,667University Preparatory Academy (PSAD)$13,271Shepherd Public Schools$12,837Birch Run Area Schools$12,800Swan Valley$11,828Success Virtual Learning Centers of Michigan$10,024State median, 1,000+ students $14,214
Current spending per student, Michigan districts closest in size to University Preparatory Academy (PSAD), FY23Clintondale Community Schools $18,162; Comstock Public Schools $15,581; Chippewa Hills $15,181; South Haven Public Schools $14,855; Dundee Community Schools $13,667; University Preparatory Academy (PSAD) $13,271; Shepherd Public Schools $12,837; Birch Run Area Schools $12,800; Swan Valley $11,828; Success Virtual Learning Centers of Michigan $10,024; State median, 1,000+ students $14,214.7.5k12.5k17.5k20kClintondale Community Schools$18,162Comstock Public Schools$15,581Chippewa Hills$15,181South Haven Public Schools$14,855Dundee Community Schools$13,667University Preparatory Academy (PSAD)$13,271Shepherd Public Schools$12,837Birch Run Area Schools$12,800Swan Valley$11,828Success Virtual Learning Centers of Mic…$10,024State median, 1,000+ students $14,214

Where the money came from

$25,354,000 in revenue: 72.2% state, 4.2% local and 23.5% federal. Total spending including $310,000 of capital outlay was $24,353,000, or $13,470 per student; the figure above leaves capital out.

University Preparatory Academy (PSAD) revenue by source, fiscal year 2022-23State $18,314,000; Local $1,077,000; Federal $5,963,000; total $25,354,000.
  • State$18,314,000 72%
  • Local$1,077,000 4%
  • Federal$5,963,000 24%

Source: NCES F-33 school district finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23: current expenditures for elementary and secondary education divided by fall membership; the state median covers 347 districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022. Revenue by source (TOTALREV, TFEDREV, TSTREV, TLOCREV).

Enrollment rose from 2022-23 to 2024-25

1,808 students in 2022-23, 1,848 students in 2023-24, 1,848 students in 2024-25, counted across the schools that reported each year.

University Preparatory Academy (PSAD) enrollment by school year2022-23: 1,808, 2023-24: 1,848, 2024-25: 1,84805001k1.5k2k2022-231,8082023-241,8482024-251,848
University Preparatory Academy (PSAD) enrollment by school year2022-23: 1,808, 2023-24: 1,848, 2024-25: 1,84805001k1.5k2k2022-231,8082023-241,8482024-251,848
University Preparatory Academy (PSAD) enrollment by school year2022-23: 1,808, 2023-24: 1,848, 2024-25: 1,84805001k1.5k2k2022-231,8082023-241,8482024-251,848
University Preparatory Academy (PSAD) enrollment by school year2022-23: 1,808, 2023-24: 1,848, 2024-25: 1,84805001k1.5k2k2022-231,8082023-241,8482024-251,848

Teachers and students per teacher

School yearStudentsTeachers (FTE)Per teacher
2022-231,808127.714.2
2023-241,848129.414.3
2024-251,848106.017.4

Source: NCES Common Core of Data membership and staff files, 2022-23, 2023-24, 2024-25; sums over the schools reporting each year.

State test results, 2021-22

In 2021-22, the students tested in University Preparatory Academy (PSAD) scored proficient or above: 20-24% in reading and 9-13% in math, against 44% in reading and 34% in math across Michigan. Each state writes its own test and sets its own proficiency bar, so compare these within Michigan, not across states. Where a state published results by grade only, the grades tested are combined, weighted by the students tested in each.

Students proficient or above, 2021-22
SubjectThis districtMichiganStudents tested
Reading and language arts20-24%44%822
Math9-13%34%819

Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results 2021-22, all students, from ED Data Express (the Data Rescue Project archive; ED has no 2022-23 result for this district): ED shows district results as ranges (for example 20-24%) to protect small groups.

Graduation rate, class of 2023

95% or more of the 141 students in University Preparatory Academy (PSAD)'s class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 81.8% across Michigan. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out, and counts those who earned a regular diploma by 2023. Every state computes it the same way under federal law, though each sets its own diploma requirements.

Four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rate, class of 2023
This districtMichigan
Four-year graduation rate95% or more81.8%
Students in the class141115,301

Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates 2022-23, all students, from ED Data Express: ED shows district rates as ranges (for example 90-94%) and leaves out small classes.

2 elementary schools, 905 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
University Preparatory Academy PSAD Elementary46720.369.6%Schoolwide program
University Preparatory Academy PSAD Elementary43819.977.2%Schoolwide program

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

1 middle school, 384 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
University Preparatory Academy PSAD Middle38417.572.9%Schoolwide program

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

1 high school, 559 students

SchoolStudentsPer teacherFree lunchTitle I, 2021‑22
University Preparatory Academy PSAD High School55914.363.7%Schoolwide program

Source: NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25; Title I status CCD 2021-22, the last year NCES published it. All free (CEP): every student eats free under the Community Eligibility Provision, so the school reports no free-lunch count; not reported: the school sent NCES no meal count.

Contact University Preparatory Academy (PSAD)

Source: NCES Common Core of Data, local education agency directory 2024-25. Enrollment, boundaries and school assignment are the district's to confirm.

What to look at next about University Preparatory Academy (PSAD)

  1. Michigan districts by spending per studentUniversity Preparatory Academy (PSAD) ranks 255 of 347 Michigan districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 on current spending per student in fiscal year 2022-23 ($13,271).#255 of 347
  2. Every school district in MichiganUniversity Preparatory Academy (PSAD) is the number 220 by size of 892 Michigan districts, with 1,808 students in fall 2022 (F-33).#220 of 892
  3. Chippewa Hills School DistrictThe next larger Michigan district: 1,814 students in fall 2022, $15,181 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$15,181
  4. South Haven Public SchoolsThe next smaller Michigan district: 1,798 students in fall 2022, $14,855 per student in fiscal year 2022-23.$14,855
  5. Compare University Preparatory Academy (PSAD) with Chippewa Hills School DistrictEnrollment, spending, revenue sources and schools, side by side.
  6. University Preparatory Academy PSAD High School, its largest high school559 students in 2024-25, 14.3 per teacher.559
  7. Find the school district for an addressA home's district decides which public schools it can enroll in.

Source: NCES F-33 finance survey, fiscal year 2022-23 (spending per student and fall 2022 membership; ranks among the state's districts that reported them); NCES Common Core of Data 2024-25 (schools).

Questions about University Preparatory Academy (PSAD)

  1. How many schools and students are in University Preparatory Academy (PSAD)?
    4 schools were open in 2024-25 (2 elementary, 1 middle, 1 high), enrolling 1,848 students, according to the NCES Common Core of Data.
  2. How much does University Preparatory Academy (PSAD) spend per student?
    $13,271 per student on current operations in fiscal year 2022-23 (NCES F-33), which leaves out construction and debt; the Michigan median for districts with at least 1,000 students in fall 2022 is $14,214 and the U.S. figure is $16,260.
  3. Where does University Preparatory Academy (PSAD)'s money come from?
    $25,354,000 in revenue in fiscal year 2022-23: 72.2% state, 4.2% local and 23.5% federal (NCES F-33).
  4. How do students in University Preparatory Academy (PSAD) do on state tests?
    In 2021-22, the students tested in University Preparatory Academy (PSAD) scored proficient or above: 20-24% in reading and 9-13% in math, against 44% in reading and 34% in math across Michigan. Michigan's own test sets what proficient means, so results compare within the state, not across states. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22.
  5. What is the graduation rate in University Preparatory Academy (PSAD)?
    95% or more of the 141 students in University Preparatory Academy (PSAD)'s class of 2023 graduated within four years, against 81.8% across Michigan. The four-year rate follows the students who started ninth grade in fall 2019, adjusted for those who moved in or out. Source: U.S. Department of Education, EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23.
  6. What is University Preparatory Academy (PSAD)'s NCES district ID?
    2600956. Each of its schools' 12-digit NCES IDs begins with these seven digits.

Reading these figures: how to choose a school district, what Title I means and what an absenteeism rate means. They are for information and are not a substitute for the school's or district's own records.

Sources

Every federal file behind this record
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2024-25: directory, membership, staff and lunch files. nces.ed.gov
  • NCES Common Core of Data, 2021-22 school characteristics: Title I status. nces.ed.gov
  • Civil Rights Data Collection, 2021-22: AP courses, gifted programs, counselors, discipline. civilrightsdata.ed.gov
  • EDFacts, 2022-23: chronic absenteeism. ed.gov
  • EDFacts four-year adjusted-cohort graduation rates, 2022-23: the class of 2023 for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
  • EDFacts state assessment results, 2021-22: reading and math proficiency for the district and its state (ED Data Express). eddataexpress.ed.gov
  • NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey, fiscal year 2022-23: district spending and revenue. nces.ed.gov
  • U.S. Census Bureau geocoder and TIGER school districts: the district boundary used by the district finder. census.gov

Source: NCES F-33 School District Finance Survey Revenue and expenditures by district · FY 2022-23

Source: NCES Common Core of Data School directory, membership, staff and lunch files · 2024-25